Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Fourier wrote: »
    "Aye master, it's just the house o'er there" she points across the road from the inn".

A voice from behind Alexander says "Good day, I am the village tanner, Sallem, I notice you have talent in magic sir."

Alexander moves his hands with a flourish, trying to mimic other magic users he has admired, trying to emulate a gesture he honks look wizardly. However, being as socially awkward as he is, it looks more like he's batting flies away from his face.

After a moment of silence, he blushes and nods.

Alexander: I know a thing or two. How can I help you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Banjo wrote: »
    Othegre grumbles to herself but acquiesces. She wanders off down the main Street, noting the speciality shops on either side, looking for anything of interest. She also peeks down any Ally's hoping to catch sight of a dice game. Or a cock fight. Or a footrace. There has to be a prayermeet round here somewhere.
    She comes across a dice game being played next to one of the houses, three men sit playing, rolling the dice onto the road and cheering every so often.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The temple has crude statues of the major gods of Soetrard outside it, as well as a larger one of Soet himself, a dower robed figure with no head beneath the hood. The city's native faith is the major one in this area. The temple also boasts a large central tower with four windows.

Entering, BandyLegs sees a largely empty room with no windows and Cleric Othonos on the ground praying, typical Soet worship, wearing robes similar to Askit's. His face is that of a man in his early 40s with grey hair and thick eyebrows. Behind him sits a large chest with a padlock on it and a door leading up to the tower.

He doesn't notice BandyLegs enter.

Bandylegs clears his throat and approaches Othonos.

'Pardon me, cleric. I'm looking fer Othonos. Have ye seen him around? I didnae mean to interrupt yer worship. Me name be... (thinks for a moment) Bandylegs of clan McGillicuddy. I'm here for the festival of Thurmun and have travelled a great distance. I heard tell you be the man in charge around these parts.'

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Alexander: I know a thing or two. How can I help you?
    "I work in rebinding spellbooks in addition to my usual craft, I'll replace the wooden cover with one made from drakeskin of two species. It'll make yer book resistant to fire and water. The skin of a drake is magic in itself, so you'll also gain some protection from fire. 50 GP, what do ye say? Previous customers have been right satisfied."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

"There you go Sir, I hope ye enter the tournament today, you look like a real fighter."

"
    What kind of tournament are you speaking of, and where would one go to enter in this tournament?
    Do many folks die competing?
    And how much do I owe you?
    "

Necrominus wrote: »
    'Pardon me, cleric. I'm looking fer Othonos. Have ye seen him around? I didnae mean to interrupt yer worship. Me name be... (thinks for a moment) Bandylegs of clan McGillicuddy. I'm here for the festival of Thurmun and have travelled a great distance. I heard tell you be the man in charge around these parts.'
    "I am Cleric Othonos noble dwarf" he says rising from his knees, "it is rare that somebody would seek me, as truth be told there are no major proscriptions in the veneration of Thurmun, Soet has never revealed any, so I rarely need to give council on matters of faith.

What is it you want?"

sKeith wrote: »
    "
    What kind of tournament are you speaking of, and where would one go to enter in this tournament?
    Do many folks die competing?
    And how much do I owe you?
    "
    It takes place in the field after the blessing. Different game everyday, but suited to fighters....and dwarfs when we have 'em.

2 sp per torch and nothing for those rations if you're buying a pole arm"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

OOC: Just skimming there to catch myself up

Xanthea climbs down off Shapsberg and accepts the necklace of flowers.

"Why thank you little one. You are most generous. This blessing and tournament do sound interesting, but first I have my own health to attend to. Would you be able to point me inn the direction of the local healer, please and thank you?"

OOC: torches come in 8 in manual, and im buying 16, does that mean 4sp? or is this another expensive shop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

OOC: torches come in 8 in manual, and im buying 16, does that mean 4sp? or is this another expensive shop?

ooc this iswhy i went back to donnies

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

"I am Cleric Othonos noble dwarf" he says rising from his knees, "it is rare that somebody would seek me, as truth be told there are no major proscriptions in the veneration of Thurmun, Soet has never revealed any, so I rarely need to give council on matters of faith.

What is it you want?"

'Aye, and normally I wudn't be seeking out no clerics mesel, te tell ye the truth. But I came from afar as I said for the festival. I was hopin to cast my eyes on the tomb of Thurmun, but folk in these parts say your...brotherhood? Order? guard it. I figured I'd better ask permission rather than wanderin' in there off the road like some crazed drunken lunatic.'

:ooc, well my pole arm is cheaper than blue book price ;)

OOC: His torches burn three times as long.

have bcaughtvupnyet ?

Ekbard hands over the 8gp 2 sp and thanks brathen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

She comes across a dice game being played next to one of the houses, three men sit playing, rolling the dice onto the road and cheering every so often.

Othegre moves close enough to watch the numbers on the dice, breathing as Feynman had instructed, clearing her mind and waiting for the rolling numbers to take over. The way forward was close... She feels Jammai's presence (cure light wounds, recharged!) but what to do about the festival without opposing the dwarf? Was it the little girl she should hinder? She needed more!

"Gentlemen, may I join you? I have no coin but this mace has been imbued with great spirit and will confer a great magnetism on any man who wields it - would you put your gold against this magic weapon?"

Ekbard leaves the shop and goes back to Menace. He says hi to Arry and throws the 16 torches into the cart. He puts his shield and sword and polearm into his backpack and then grabs the barrel and begins to look for the field where blesssing is happening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Searos nods to Ekbard.
    I'll find out more about the tourney and see what I can get set up for us. We'll meet in the tavern later I'm sure.

I stroll towards the shabbier areas of the village knowing that is where I'll find those folk interested in games of chance. Soon enough I spy Othegre among a group of gamblers.

I wander over, not taking part just yet. I'm watching and gauging which of the men might be the one best suited to making some bets on the tourney and who will give us details about how the tourney itself operates.

I pay a lot of attention to my traveling companion and I wonder to myself if Othegre might be persuaded to play along in scheme I'm building or is she too unpredictable. I really don't know her well enough to trust her.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

"I work in rebinding spellbooks in addition to my usual craft, I'll replace the wooden cover with one made from drakeskin of two species. It'll make yer book resistant to fire and water. The skin of a drake is magic in itself, so you'll also gain some protection from fire. 50 GP, what do ye say? Previous customers have been right satisfied."

Alexander: Drakeskins? That's quite an impressive little enterprise you've got going. Do you mind if I ask where you acquire these skins?

Alexander draws his spellbook from his backback, but retains a firm hold on it for now.

Alexander: How long does the process take, and where do you do it? I'd rather it not be out of sight for too long.

After riding hard all the way to Thurmunton Goodie needs a rest he makes for the nearest inn instructing the stab boy in how to mind Humility and his spare equipment for a decent tip and goes in for a hot meal and ale followed a sleep. He double checks his lodgings and takes the time to wash and condition his foot hair.
    items carried now are
    armour
    bow
    quiver 20 arrows on hip
    backpack
    remaining rations
    encumberance
    0-1

xp 444

gold
    50 + 10 + 300 + 100

spent 58 11 180 50
    balance available is 161

1. Name
    Ilberic Goodenough the Halfling Veteran

2. Stats/Six main attributes
    STR: 10
    DEX: 12
    CON: 9
    INT: 13
    WIS: 9
    CHA: 13

3. Class Halfling

4. Hit Points 6/6

5. Spells

6. Alignment Neutral

skills

riding 2
    balance 1
    disguise 1

armour class
    3 banded mail

Necrominus wrote: »
    'Aye, and normally I wudn't be seeking out no clerics mesel, te tell ye the truth. But I came from afar as I said for the festival. I was hopin to cast my eyes on the tomb of Thurmun, but folk in these parts say your...brotherhood? Order? guard it. I figured I'd better ask permission rather than wanderin' in there off the road like some crazed drunken lunatic.'
    "Of course you may enter the canyon where it is located, it's just around the western side of the bluff. In truth my order don't go there much any more. It'll take you about two hours walk from the center of town."

He pauses, happy to see somebody take an interest.

"The whole tomb and the plaza there were built by Thurmun's loyal followers shortly after he died. We know from the surviving writings that they entombed him and guarded the whole complex for over a hundred years, frequently fending off former minions of Thurmun's enemy, the dread priest Carax.

Eventually they sealed the tomb, why we do not know. Centuries later it was found and my order protects it now.

It is high blaspheme to enter the tomb itself, but only we know the exact location of the entrance and how to open it. In addition Thurmun loved your kind, one of your kings was his loyal adviser. So of course you may visit the canyon. None of the brotherhood will be there during the festival, so you will be undisturbed for quiet contemplation.

May Thurmun smile upon you"

Ekbard leaves the shop and goes back to Menace. He says hi to Arry and throws the 16 torches into the cart. He puts his shield and sword and polearm into his backpack and then grabs the barrel and begins to look for the field where blesssing is happening .
    The villagers are all preparing in the field, most of the maypoles are up and a cart lies in the center with heavy little boulders in it. The gathering of the village's most musclebound characters makes it fairly clear that today's event will be a weightlifting competition.

Banjo wrote: »
    "Gentlemen, may I join you? I have no coin but this mace has been imbued with great spirit and will confer a great magnetism on any man who wields it - would you put your gold against this magic weapon?"
    "I ye may" says a slightly drunk old man "tis a silly little game, wouldn't be right taken your mace missy. Besides it's a daft lookin' thing at any ra..." he receives a swift wallop from another member of the group.

"Garp you bloomin' rough oaf, dis ere is a Cleric a' some foreign religion, Soet knows how they take that kind of thing.
    Beggin yer pardon miss!"

OldGoat wrote: »
    I wander over, not taking part just yet. I'm watching and gauging which of the men might be the one best suited to making some bets on the tourney and who will give us details about how the tourney itself operates.
    OOC: Wisdom check to gauge the men. Given your age as an elf, you've experience, so -2.

"Oh ere" says one of the men "look at this lad, he's prettier than me bloody wife. You ere to gawk at us short lived mortals m'lord elf, bloody arrogant of ya you stuck up.." he receives another wallop

"Garp you idiot, dats a bloody high elf, he's got magic and all, could turn ye into a worm or shrink yer manhood
    Beggin yer pardon Sir!"

Alexander: Drakeskins? That's quite an impressive little enterprise you've got going. Do you mind if I ask where you acquire these skins?

Alexander draws his spellbook from his backback, but retains a firm hold on it for now.

Alexander: How long does the process take, and where do you do it? I'd rather it not be out of sight for too long.
    OOC: Since you directly asked about the Drakeskins, roll Intelligence, -4. Arcane Lore again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

"My thanks sir. I agree, this is a silly looking mace, never morse-so than when it's hurtling towards your face at a rate of knots!"

She mock-swings the mace at Garp, then claps him on the arm, more gently than his companion. She has no skill for languages but hopes this will translate into neanderthal as "me friend". She sits down and awaits her turn with the dice.

"Indeed I am a cleric, from very far away. I'm sure my ways are as strange to you as yours to me."

Her turn to roll. She mutters "aid the dwarf, hinder the girl, stop the tourney, 3-5-1" as she casts the die. They come up 3, 4, 4. Not bad, far more in tune than she felt. The position on the dwarf hadn't changed but the girl meant to hinder her in some way? And what of the tourney? Could she trust this reading without a wager?

Saeros approaches, earning Garp another dig on his beleaguered arm.

"Hail, good sir elf! Is the cobbler mending his own shoes today?"

"Of course you may enter the canyon where it is located, it's just around the western side of the bluff. In truth my order don't go there much any more. It'll take you about two hours walk from the center of town."

He pauses, happy to see somebody take an interest.

"The whole tomb and the plaza there were built by Thurmun's loyal followers shortly after he died. We know from the surviving writings that they entombed him and guarded the whole complex for over a hundred years, frequently fending off former minions of Thurmun's enemy, the dread priest Carax.

Eventually they sealed the tomb, why we do not know. Centuries later it was found and my order protects it now.

It is high blaspheme to enter the tomb itself, but only we know the exact location of the entrance and how to open it. In addition Thurmun loved your kind, one of your kings was his loyal adviser. So of course you may visit the canyon. None of the brotherhood will be there during the festival, so you will be undisturbed for quiet contemplation.

May Thurmun smile upon you"

Bandylegs takes all of this in, trying to mask his delight at the tomb being unguarded at present.

'Thankee, High Cleric, blessing of Thurmun to ya too. Now, I don't want to trouble you too much, I'll let you get back to your quiet reflection. Me own will follow later, once I've partaken in yer blessing ceremony this afternoon. Can ye describe what gifts great Thurmun bestows on fellows such as mesel'?'

Bandylegs pauses, not sure how to continue.

One last question and I'll let ye get back to yer worshippin'. Not tryin' ter intrude, hope ye understand. When I travel to the canyon, I'd wish to be as near to Thurmun's tomb as possible for me own worshippin', if ya catch me drift. Whereabouts in the ground should I pray would ye suggest that would have me close as possible to bask in Thurmun's presence....?'

The villagers are all preparing in the field, most of the maypoles are up and a cart lies in the center with heavy little boulders in it. The gathering of the village's most musclebound characters makes it fairly clear that today's event will be a weightlifting competition.

Ekbard takes note of the burly characters before him and seeks to find a conversational type. While taking note of his surroundings, he ventures towards the cart.

Ekbard places the barrel he is burdened with down near to the cart ladden with large boulders and rocks so that he is less encumbered. He grabs a couple of the smaller rocks from the cart of boulders and begins juggling them, not an easy feat, as these rocks are the size of water melons. Whist juggling these large rocks Ekbard encourages a fumble which causes one of the rocks to drop. This stray rock falls towards a person that Ekbard has decided, appears to be one of the more approachable possibly less secure of the musclar people that surrounding him in the field.

Ekbard throws the other rocks back in the cart and follows the path of the strayed rock to the feet of what he can identify as a musculary looking person of some description.

"Hello there, Are you here for the games? I've been told by the tavern keeper that these are games, and not duels to the death, I hope he has not mislead me.... "

Ekbard offers the strangers one of the chains of flowers that he has been gifted with.

"Blessings of Thurmon to be upon you... My name is Ekbard, the Devil Rider, I hail from far far away, and am pleased to make the aquaintance of pretty much anybody. I'm sorry that I almost damaged you with this boulder, but I am not sure what to do with myself, maybe you know what is going on here?"

OOC: Since you directly asked about the Drakeskins, roll Intelligence, -4. Arcane Lore again.

(OOC: Rolled a 7, minus 4 is a 3, against a score of 14 so pass :) )

Alexander remembers old tomes mentioning that having the skin retain the magical properties of a living drake requires a Theurgist or greater, this man is not just a tanner.

OOC: Theurgist is a Level 4 Magic User