Fourier wrote: » "Aye master, it's just the house o'er there" she points across the road from the inn". A voice from behind Alexander says "Good day, I am the village tanner, Sallem, I notice you have talent in magic sir."
Banjo wrote: » Othegre grumbles to herself but acquiesces. She wanders off down the main Street, noting the speciality shops on either side, looking for anything of interest. She also peeks down any Ally's hoping to catch sight of a dice game. Or a cock fight. Or a footrace. There has to be a prayermeet round here somewhere.
Fourier wrote: » The temple has crude statues of the major gods of Soetrard outside it, as well as a larger one of Soet himself, a dower robed figure with no head beneath the hood. The city's native faith is the major one in this area. The temple also boasts a large central tower with four windows. Entering, BandyLegs sees a largely empty room with no windows and Cleric Othonos on the ground praying, typical Soet worship, wearing robes similar to Askit's. His face is that of a man in his early 40s with grey hair and thick eyebrows. Behind him sits a large chest with a padlock on it and a door leading up to the tower. He doesn't notice BandyLegs enter.
Lord TSC wrote: » Alexander: I know a thing or two. How can I help you?
Fourier wrote: » "There you go Sir, I hope ye enter the tournament today, you look like a real fighter."
Necrominus wrote: » 'Pardon me, cleric. I'm looking fer Othonos. Have ye seen him around? I didnae mean to interrupt yer worship. Me name be... (thinks for a moment) Bandylegs of clan McGillicuddy. I'm here for the festival of Thurmun and have travelled a great distance. I heard tell you be the man in charge around these parts.'
sKeith wrote: » " What kind of tournament are you speaking of, and where would one go to enter in this tournament? Do many folks die competing? And how much do I owe you? "
sKeith wrote: » OOC: torches come in 8 in manual, and im buying 16, does that mean 4sp? or is this another expensive shop?
Fourier wrote: » "I am Cleric Othonos noble dwarf" he says rising from his knees, "it is rare that somebody would seek me, as truth be told there are no major proscriptions in the veneration of Thurmun, Soet has never revealed any, so I rarely need to give council on matters of faith. What is it you want?"
Fourier wrote: » OOC: His torches burn three times as long.
Fourier wrote: » She comes across a dice game being played next to one of the houses, three men sit playing, rolling the dice onto the road and cheering every so often.
Fourier wrote: » "I work in rebinding spellbooks in addition to my usual craft, I'll replace the wooden cover with one made from drakeskin of two species. It'll make yer book resistant to fire and water. The skin of a drake is magic in itself, so you'll also gain some protection from fire. 50 GP, what do ye say? Previous customers have been right satisfied."
Necrominus wrote: » 'Aye, and normally I wudn't be seeking out no clerics mesel, te tell ye the truth. But I came from afar as I said for the festival. I was hopin to cast my eyes on the tomb of Thurmun, but folk in these parts say your...brotherhood? Order? guard it. I figured I'd better ask permission rather than wanderin' in there off the road like some crazed drunken lunatic.'
sKeith wrote: » Ekbard leaves the shop and goes back to Menace. He says hi to Arry and throws the 16 torches into the cart. He puts his shield and sword and polearm into his backpack and then grabs the barrel and begins to look for the field where blesssing is happening .
Banjo wrote: » "Gentlemen, may I join you? I have no coin but this mace has been imbued with great spirit and will confer a great magnetism on any man who wields it - would you put your gold against this magic weapon?"
OldGoat wrote: » I wander over, not taking part just yet. I'm watching and gauging which of the men might be the one best suited to making some bets on the tourney and who will give us details about how the tourney itself operates.
Lord TSC wrote: » Alexander: Drakeskins? That's quite an impressive little enterprise you've got going. Do you mind if I ask where you acquire these skins?Alexander draws his spellbook from his backback, but retains a firm hold on it for now.Alexander: How long does the process take, and where do you do it? I'd rather it not be out of sight for too long.
Fourier wrote: » "Of course you may enter the canyon where it is located, it's just around the western side of the bluff. In truth my order don't go there much any more. It'll take you about two hours walk from the center of town." He pauses, happy to see somebody take an interest. "The whole tomb and the plaza there were built by Thurmun's loyal followers shortly after he died. We know from the surviving writings that they entombed him and guarded the whole complex for over a hundred years, frequently fending off former minions of Thurmun's enemy, the dread priest Carax. Eventually they sealed the tomb, why we do not know. Centuries later it was found and my order protects it now. It is high blaspheme to enter the tomb itself, but only we know the exact location of the entrance and how to open it. In addition Thurmun loved your kind, one of your kings was his loyal adviser. So of course you may visit the canyon. None of the brotherhood will be there during the festival, so you will be undisturbed for quiet contemplation. May Thurmun smile upon you"
Fourier wrote: » The villagers are all preparing in the field, most of the maypoles are up and a cart lies in the center with heavy little boulders in it. The gathering of the village's most musclebound characters makes it fairly clear that today's event will be a weightlifting competition.
Fourier wrote: » OOC: Since you directly asked about the Drakeskins, roll Intelligence, -4. Arcane Lore again.
Lord TSC wrote: » (OOC: Rolled a 7, minus 4 is a 3, against a score of 14 so pass )