Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Peatys wrote: »
    Or they're not just in it for the shock value/clicks/likes/views/cash. They think they're doing the right thing by children. Probably.

The group made it quite clear on the video that they were streaming the video so this guy's face would be known to all for the purposes of protecting other children.

This was after months of work where ample evidence was collected to show him as a perp with form.

It is normal that once charges are made such material cannot be broadcast. This individual was subsequently released on bail. Because of the live streaming - It is now highly unlikely he will get to groom or target other children.

I agree that such actions needs to be moderated however because of the inherently devious nature of paedophiles and child abusers - it would appear that sometimes such actions need to be taken in order to protect children from those who would abuse them.

Strazdas wrote: »
    There have been several articles about this in the UK press. That Stinson guy who featured in the Ch.4 documentary and was the head of the first main vigilante group was revealed in the wake of the airing of the programme to have spent ten years in prison for arson and it seems many other vigilante members have criminal records.

"Seems" does not cut it ....

You have been asked repeatedly for links to back your assertions. Please do so or just stop with the pedantry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Omackeral wrote: »
    Do you know any of the people in this particular group? Can you share their names with us? Have you got any links to their criminal histories?

I’m guessing he also believes that the cops never use touts too. Jesus, the levels of delusion are crazy in here.

....... wrote: »
    Well so far he hasnt been convicted of any crime that I am aware of.

However, dont let that get in the way of trial by social media.

This is exactly why this type of thing should not be allowed. We have due process for a reason.

You are right he hasn’t. He’s also been allowed come back to Ireland under his bail conditions. You’d be happy for him to move in next door to you and if you had a young family??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

PARlance wrote: »
    It's amazing how much sympathy a guy that groomed and traveled to have sex with a 13 can get.

he got none. why would that be amazing? the vast vast majority of people don't agree with grooming thankfully.
    PARlance wrote: »
    It's amazing how much negativity the people that alerted everyone about him can get.

not at all. the individuals contained within the video seem to be quite the undesirable. one of them being more concerned about the fact the suspect was irish.
    gozunda wrote: »

You have been asked repeatedly for links to back your assertions. Please do so or just stop with the pedantry...

it does cut it. he has provided the proof along with other posters.
    I’m guessing he also believes that the cops never use touts too. Jesus, the levels of delusion are crazy in here.

huge difference between touts being used by the police and these groups. have another go.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

A judge is never going to allow that. The paedo would be free then to move in beside and your family without you ever knowing what he was, once he was released.

Fair play to the vigilantes.

The amount of people defending the nonce is sickening, makes you wonder what skeletons they have.

1, I have no clue what your statement has to do with the post you quoted. How does only releasing the footage after there is a conviction mean that the paedo can move in beside my family? (edit, just read the other posts so I understand now. Still don't think it should be released. By all means name and shame him once arrested but the footage can backfire.

2, I didn't defend the nonce in any way. I said that the footage should not be streamed live. It carry the risk of naming the wrong person and also the risk of something being said or done that can harm rather than help the prosecution.

3, slyly claiming that anyone who disagrees with these groups must be up to no good themselves is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,824 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

gozunda wrote: »

Here's one about 'Stinson Hunter' (not his real name), the individual who appears to have started this online vigilante phenomenon :

http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/online-crime-fighter-stinson-hunter-6800023

And the story of how a man killed himself after being confronted by this charmer :

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2576429/Police-fire-links-paedophile-hunter-teenage-honeytrap-drives-man-kill-himself.html

This article also speaks of how police have repeatedly asked Hunter to stop his 'activities' and threatened him with legal action.

it does cut it. he has provided the proof along with other posters.
    No I for one have repeatedly ask for such links. None have been provided.

For a poster on record as shouting "proof" "proof" your attitude is amazingly versatile ...

huge difference between touts being used by the police and these groups. have another go.

Go on then please elaborate ...

Here's one about 'Stinson Hunter' (not his real name), the individual who appears to have started this online vigilante phenomenon :

http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/online-crime-fighter-stinson-hunter-6800023

And the story of how a man killed himself after being confronted by this charmer :

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2576429/Police-fire-links-paedophile-hunter-teenage-honeytrap-drives-man-kill-himself.html

This article also speaks of how police have repeatedly asked Hunter to stop his 'activities' and threatened him with legal action.

I clearly highlighted that which required some back up links and references. Out of context and random news stories are less than useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

"We can’t have people with their own vigilante groups going around. There’s only one police force in Ireland and that’s An Garda Sh."

“The view from An Garda Síochána in relation to vigilante groups is that we’d ask people to report anything suspicious, whether it be online or offline, to their local garda station who will then investigate the matter,” Detective Superintendent Michael Gubbins said to TheJournal.ie.

http://www.thejournal.ie/cyber-crime-superintendent-vigilante-groups-3708746-Nov2017/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

You mean the guy guilty of setting up a date with a kid ?
    There are no excuses for what Michael did – going on to a dating website and arranging to meet a 14-year-old is truly appalling and I will never forgive him for that,’ said the 37-year-old woman, who did not want to give her name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Chrongen wrote: »
    Then why not stay anonymous and just pass their findings on to law enforcement?

As with everyone in this thread I'm guessing as to their intentions. But no reason not to believe they're trying to drum up attention to their cause. Videos going viral will do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Discodog wrote: »
    "We can’t have people with their own vigilante groups going around. There’s only one police force in Ireland and that’s An Garda Sh."

“The view from An Garda Síochána in relation to vigilante groups is that we’d ask people to report anything suspicious, whether it be online or offline, to their local garda station who will then investigate the matter,” Detective Superintendent Michael Gubbins said to TheJournal.ie.

http://www.thejournal.ie/cyber-crime-superintendent-vigilante-groups-3708746-Nov2017/

Tried to pass on video of a crime to the local Garda station recently. They asked could I burn it onto a cd, had never heard of Dropbox.

20Cent wrote: »
    Tried to pass on video of a crime to the local Garda station recently. They asked could I burn it onto a cd, had never heard of Dropbox.

Asked for an email contact not too long ago - got blank stares ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,727 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

You are right he hasn’t. He’s also been allowed come back to Ireland under his bail conditions. You’d be happy for him to move in next door to you and if you had a young family??

How did he get bail to return to Ireland?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,358 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

watched the full video earlier on, the little weasel trying to talk his way out of it after being shown the pics he sent of his penis.

This group of people do amazing work, giving up their free time and having to spend days and sometimes months looking at the pics and reading the filth these perverts want to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Neil Issagum

watched the full video earlier on, the little weasel trying to talk his way out of it after being shown the pics he sent of his penis.

This group of people do amazing work, giving up their free time and having to spend days and sometimes months looking at the pics and reading the filth these perverts want to talk about.

He said he didn’t remember sending her a photo of his penis, then when they showed him the photo and asked was it his, he said he didn’t know as they all look the same!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...l-himself.html

Not many shed a tear I'd imagine.

Quick way out for him unlike his victims.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    How did he get bail to return to Ireland?

I’ve no idea. Just read that he was allowed return to Ireland under the terms of his bail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

"I've got now like 15 decoys and they're working around the clock, and they're getting hundreds of messages a day.

"By the way, we do state straight away 'I'm on 13-years-old - I'm a 13-year-old and I'm in school'.

"But you'll find that 80% of them carrying on talking".

http://www.newstalk.com/Investigation-into-child-grooming-allegations-in-Co-Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Neil Issagum

This is the point exactly. What if he gets a slap on the wrist, or gets away completely? This sick person had the werewithal and pre meditation to book a flight and get on a plane to another country with the sole intention of raping a minor. It’s not a one off, he’s into kids and that can’t be changed he needs to be monitored for life.

And for some bizarre reason people are getting hung up on the technicalities? “It’s Entrapment!” “The guys that caught him are criminals” Who cares, the guy’s intentions were clear and he will do it again. In my opinion

I’ve no idea. Just read that he was allowed return to Ireland under the terms of his bail.

As this is out of jurisdiction - I presume a condition will be to sign on at local Garda station. Which hopefully will mean that the Gardai at least will have been notified. I hope to dog that is the case ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

they aren't doing it because they care. they are doing it for social media likes. it's all they will have in life. the couple of such people interviewed don't come across as being the most desirable candidates by employers.
    also, do you find reading the posts of, and looking at the pics posted by perverts, off your own back and unpaid, normal behaviour? i don't personally.
    And for some bizarre reason people are getting hung up on the technicalities? “It’s Entrapment!” “The guys that caught him are criminals” Who cares

most rational people would care about these groups having criminals. i don't want criminals involved in the law in any way.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

He said he didn’t remember sending her a photo of his penis, then when they showed him the photo and asked was it his, he said he didn’t know as they all look the same!

Yeah and when they told him it was being streamed live on FB and people he knew were probably looking at it.

they aren't doing it because they care. they are doing it for social media likes. it's all they will have in life. the couple of such people interviewed don't come across as being the most desirable candidates by employers.
    also, do you find reading the posts of, and looking at the pics posted by perverts, off your own back and unpaid, normal behaviour? i don't personally.

Yeah whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I suppose the bald facts are that this man, aged 55, travelled to Leeds with the intention of having sex with a 13 year old girl. He booked flights, a posh hotel and soccer tickets for a nice weekend for himself. God knows what he told his wife. These men who essentially trapped him, whilst not the classiest individuals on the planet helped reveal this man as someone who is a live danger to children. This wasn't some 15 year old boy. This is a middle aged man who has been a legal adult for 37 years. Unfortunately sometimes when you are dealing with people who engage in socially repugnant activities you have to resort to unorthodox methods to catch them. I agree the fact that he is Irish should not have been an issue.

Funny enough though it has got me thinking. We do seem to have as a society a problem with pedophilia. The Catholic Church, private individual pedophiles, sports, teachers etc. Wherever Irish religious went they was issues with pedophilia around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

holyhead wrote: »
    Funny enough though it has got me thinking. We do seem to have as a society a problem with pedophilia. The Catholic Church, private individual pedophiles, sports, teachers etc. Wherever Irish religious went they was issues with pedophilia around the world.

Sadly it's not an Irish thing. Worldwide unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

I find it a bit weird that these groups are setting up profiles on over 18s sites. Surely that isn’t how normal pedos track down victims online?

The end result is the same and just as damaging but are these blokes just opportunistic pedos?

That lad on the Claire Byrne show definitely thought he was some sort of super hero though. Didn’t like his attitude at all but fair play to him he has hopefully got 2 pedos put in jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

holyhead wrote: »

Its quite low in Ireland compared to many other countries. Belgium and Germany have quite serious problems as does northern part of England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

most rational people would care about these groups having criminals. i don't want criminals involved in the law in any way.

Most rational people wouldn't be calling the guys in the video with the pedophile the "undesirables" in the situation.

Most rational people wouldn't be doing mental gymnastics to paint anyone as the victim but the potential innocent child.oh what about the pedophiles rights,his family, his friends oooh nooo .

He didn't think about his family, his friends,.... But everyone else should..... Riggggghttt.