Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Been hearing stories of issues he had when he was a teenager himself.

Back then he fancied much older women.

Would love to give the first hand stories - they are very funny, but can't

No problem posting your short stories about a fictional man named Bob. I'm sure the folk in the thread would be interested...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

gctest50 wrote: »
    Have you any source for that information or is it just in your own head ?

If the police needed assistance in their work (and they don't), the last people on earth they would go to would be a bunch of scumbag chavs with criminal records like these vigilantes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Strazdas wrote: »
    If the police needed assistance in their work (and they don't), the last people on earth they would go to would be a bunch of scumbag chavs with criminal records like these vigilantes.

Police didn't seem to know about this fella.
    Uptil now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

did you miss this ?

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-41203273

Police admit they may have to work with "paedophile hunters" after figures obtained by the BBC revealed a rise in their evidence being used in court.

Figures show 11% of court cases in 2014 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland for the crime of meeting a child after sexual grooming used vigilante evidence, rising to 44% in 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Or, we could require the police and the courts to actually do their jobs - that way, vigilantes wouldn't be needed.

Police forces have a whole book of laws to enforce, not just the ones get most attention at a particular time. Short of half the population being in the force there just isn't the time to dedicate to everything .

Not sure vigilantes are the answer though . While it's grand for a lot of things (patrolling estates where there are lots of burglaries or gangs causing trouble maybe) and works when you see some things like this but what happens when more groups spring up then they are encroaching on each others "turf" or criminals start doing it to put a legitimate face on their activities or to drive rivals out of areas so they can have them to themselves. If it goes down that road it's short term gain for long term pain. It's not solving things.

Can't be beyond the realms of possibilities that peadophiles will get involved with these groups to help fly under the radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,259 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

did you miss this ?

If they do officially work with them you can be damn sure the rush to Facebook for the pointless titillation of the perpetually outraged will be a thing of the past.

I think you will more likely see internal police squad conducting the online work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Since the gangs probably really only care about the shock value and clicks/likes/views I'm sure it won't take long for them to realise that they can make infinitely more cash by blackmailing the perp.

Chrongen wrote: »
    Since the gangs probably really only care about the shock value and clicks/likes/views I'm sure it won't take long for them to realise that they can make infinitely more cash by blackmailing the perp.

That's why they broadcast the video live. To avoid that being thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Or they're not just in it for the shock value/clicks/likes/views/cash. They think they're doing the right thing by children. Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Peatys wrote: »
    Or they're not just in it for the shock value/clicks/likes/views/cash. They think they're doing the right thing by children. Probably.

Then why not stay anonymous and just pass their findings on to law enforcement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

did you miss this ?

Your quote is misleading....what that police spokesperson said was that it would also prove to be complex to work with these groups. Read between the lines.

did you miss this ?

The idea that police need the assistance of vigilante groups is clearly complete nonsense. In all of the criminal activities they investigate, they work alone and not alongside members of the public (for a load of legal reasons that should be perfectly obvious to anyone). The vigilantes have forced themselves onto the main stage of 'crime solving' unwanted and uninvited by anyone.

Police didn't have a clue about this fella going to Leeds to rape a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

BoroMan32 wrote: »
    Disgusting.

One look at his fake Facebook page and you'd know he belongs behind bars.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

He's getting a rake of abuse on both profiles atm.

Pm me a link to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Dev84 wrote: »
    Madness. Your logic is typical lefty liberal portect everyone except the law abiding hard workers.

nope. it's all across the political spectrum protecting everybody, especially the family of the suspects, and insuring suspects gain a fair trial.
    The means are fully justified by the outcome.

they aren't no . the abuse of family of suspects by vermin due to social media glory hunters must be stopped.
    What innocent people?

fairly obvious i should think. family. former friends.
    They may be working together soon

may have to. not will have to. so they may decide that they don't have to after all.
    if they do, it will be to insure they can do their job undisrupted by these groups of mostly undesirables. they will still secretly condemn them but will publically put up with them so that they can go and arrest individuals without having a riot situation on their hands.
    the police don't have any time for these groups or the individuals contained within them.
    did you miss this ?

no amount of reposting the same thing over and over again changes the actual facts of what the police really think of these groups and the individuals contained within them.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Then why not stay anonymous and just pass their findings on to law enforcement?

Because these sickos get bail. Would you want this predator living next to your 12 year old daughter or that of your neighbours?

Do you know any of the people in this particular group? Can you share their names with us? Have you got any links to their criminal histories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mebuntu wrote: »
    Just on a point of law. How can you be charged with committing a crime against someone who doesn't exist?

Any legal eagles on here?

Get 10 small baggies. Half fill each with baking powder. Bring them to a nightclub. Get a friend to “tip-off” the Gardai that you are selling drugs. See if they laugh it off as no harm done, or charge you with dealing.

....... wrote: »
    Well so far he hasnt been convicted of any crime that I am aware of.

However, dont let that get in the way of trial by social media.

This is exactly why this type of thing should not be allowed. We have due process for a reason.

He admitted it all in the video ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

we can have a problem with both. people are capible of caring about multiple issues.

Indeed we can - however when the repetitive beating of the drum is "shoot the messanger" "shoot the messanger" I become seriously concerned as to why.
    it actually backs up his opinion. the police cannot say publically that they have no time for these groups, but it is well known that they don't have any time for these groups.

No it is "not well known": Show the stats that this is the case. Otherwise that is your opinion without reference and are evidently projecting your bias as fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

Get 10 small baggies. Half fill each with baking powder. Bring them to a nightclub. Get a friend to “tip-off” the Gardai that you are selling drugs. See if they laugh it off as no harm done, or charge you with dealing.

Charged with what exactly? Baking powder?

Your example is poor since any judge will write the case off. If it even makes it that far. At worst you'll have your time wasted as you're dragged through the civil system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,082 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It's amazing how much sympathy a guy that groomed and traveled to have sex with a 13 can get. It's amazing how much negativity the people that alerted everyone about him can get.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    I have no issue with the video being shown. The look of absolute despair on these peoples faces as they realise their lives are screwed should be a serious deterrent to someone on the verge of stepping over the line from fantasy to reality.

But it should not be live. Should be released only after the suspect is convicted.

A judge is never going to allow that. The paedo would be free then to move in beside and your family without you ever knowing what he was, once he was released.

Fair play to the vigilantes.

The amount of people defending the nonce is sickening, makes you wonder what skeletons they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

....... wrote: »
    Really? There could well be books in peoples homes, anatomy books for example, with pictures of penises, genitalia etc... I cant say Ive ever read a case where someone was charged for showing a child such an image. (obviously context would be different).

Im just interested to know the actual crime committed. We can all agree it sounds wrong - but I wonder what the crime is?

"Sounds"???

Off all the seriously dodgy replies in relation to this issue with regard to adults and children this is the way most disturbing post so far.

If you have to ask there is something seriously wrong.

Morally, ethically and humanely wrong ....

Grayson wrote: »
    There are occasions where they do open themselves up for a civil suit. However the question isn't "Have they broken the law" but rather is this the correct way of doing what they do.

There's an ethical question about whether this guy did anything wrong. He talked with adults and didn't make contact with a child. It may be that he has on other occasions but in this particular case he hasn't. It's like the difference between screaming racial abuse at a black man or screaming it at a black mannequin or a white person in blackface.

Even if we excuse that and assume that the vigilantes were correct in what they did, there's the question about whether or not they took the correct action afterwards. If they had handed over all the information to the police they would have the same effect. Someone would be arrested and charged.

So why turn it into a public spectacle? That's the main difference. They did it because it made them feel good. there's no practical benefit. It's not going to stop any other paedophiles. It'll just make them more careful. And if anyone here can show me proof that their actions in creating a spectacle have prevented any crimes, then I'd like to see it.

Once they had the evidence they should have turned it over to the police and that's it. That is the safest way of doing this. They don't risk damaging any ongoing investigations and they don't risk naming someone who might be innocent.

The simple fact is that these guys do what they do because it makes them feel like heros. they don't care about the potential negative impact of what they are doing all they care about is that they get to slap themselves on the back in front of a large audience.

Why is there big road traffic ad campaigns? Why are there adverts telling people not to use their phones while driving? Why are there ads telling people that the tv license inspector does the rounds?? And so on and so on and so on.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Do you know any of the people in this particular group? Can you share their names with us? Have you got any links to their criminal histories?

There have been several articles about this in the UK press. That Stinson guy who featured in the Ch.4 documentary and was the head of the first main vigilante group was revealed in the wake of the airing of the programme to have spent ten years in prison for arson and it seems many other vigilante members have criminal records.