Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Let's just get rid of the police then completely in that case.

Yeah, cause thats exactly what I said :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

S.L.F. wrote: »

The amount of male predators of young men and women in positions of power who have been highlighted in the media is alarming.

I too blame the glass ceiling for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

and as asked earlier in the thread, why would these 10 random people be happy to go out of their way to pretend to be a child exactly? at least in the police's case they get paid for it and it's part of their job description, but what person would want to go out of their way to pretend to be a child, especially for free? if i'm honest it's actually disturbing that someone would be happy to do that. whatever about it being part of the job and being paid for it.

Perhaps it's as simple that one or more of these people have been directly or indirectly impacted by such behaviour? Or perhaps its just a willingness to devote time and effort to help control a criminal activity which destroys children's lives?
    Chief Constable Simon Bailey realised that it may be better to work with these groups to keep them on side and insure his staff can do their job without trouble. i completely understand his point of view. these so-called "anti paedophile" groupps ultimately care about 1 thing and it's not being anti paedophile.

Please elaborate on you assertion as bolded. From the figures I detailed the anti paedophile groups appear to have a significant role in provisioning evidence for the purpose of conviction of child sex offenders. That is signifigantly 'anti - paedophile' in my opinion ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,296 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

He's hoping Ross Kemp will see the video and ask him to be mates.

I had to laugh at his TV-cop-drama-inspired interrogation technique, and also when they asked the guy if he realised that what he had done was wrong, and would he agree not to do it again if they let him go, and then they said "Tough, we're not letting you go." His heart must have broke.

I think he's been watching Dog the Bounty Hunter. Ol' Dog would always go in all metaphorical guns blazing... and then have a heart to heart with the perp, before sticking them in the slammer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

It would be extremely easy to destroy someone's life using these vigilantes. What's to stop someone taking your photos off social media, setting up a fake account to chat to adolescents, then using some false pretext to have you at the rendezvous? You'd be announced as a paedophile to the whole world before you could even say wtf, I thought I was meeting Bob for a pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Pedo hunter coming up on Claire Byrne live now. Might answer some of the questions being asked about them here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

sabat wrote: »
    It would be extremely easy to destroy someone's life using these vigilantes. What's to stop someone taking your photos off social media, setting up a fake account to chat to adolescents, then using some false pretext to have you at the rendezvous? You'd be announced as a paedophile to the whole world before you could even say wtf, I thought I was meeting Bob for a pint?

It's extremely easy for one of these predators to destroy a child's life ... children being children are vulnerable. Adults at least should have some sense of right and wrong. Unfortunately not all do ...

gozunda wrote: »
    He hasnt shown what he has said is correct either ....

He's the very same poster who cries ''proof proof'' when the shoe is on the other foot. I just knew he'd be against this in one way another. Chap is forever saying ''if you know something, inform the authorities.'' These guys actually have. They've done that from the off. They probably are sick to death of sh*t like this happening in their country so they took a well researched, pro-active and legal method of combating it. They gave the perp no chance of a tip off so that he could cover his tracks and now everyone that knows of him knows he's a dirty nonce in the making and not to leave their kids near him. Bravo.

these groups aren't needed full stop. the police not being able to do enough doesn't justify these groups existing.

Well it seems they bloody well are. This fella would've still been carrying on today if it weren't for these guys.

these groups have chosen to get involved in this for the attention.

If that's true, which you can't prove either way Mr Proofseeker, so what? It highlights these dangerous predators for what they are, opportune would-be rapists. Of course you'll see a negative in that though.

I’ve often seen comments on YouTube defending them, did not think I would see that here! Shocking really

Neil, people on here will defend just about anything my man. Some of whom are on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Is there really such a thing as citizens arrest?
    Is the video really usable in court? Surely you could argue you were in fear for your life?

Any way those Drogheda one were creepy especially that Niall one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

The police "not being able" to do enough? One person could easily operate 50 sock puppet Facebook accounts from behind a desk - they were happy to do this against groups like Occupy and Anonymous. They're perfectly capable, they just don't bother.

They do, they just don't stream it. They then investigate the alleged paedophile to see if he has any links to other paedophiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

mada82 wrote: »
    Is the video really usable in court? Surely you could argue you were in fear for your life?

Any way those Drogheda one were creepy especially that Niall one.

Where is there a drogheda one?

Why would these 10 random people be happy to go out of their way to pretend to be a child exactly? at least in the police's case they get paid for it and it's part of their job description, but what person would want to go out of their way to pretend to be a child, especially for free? if i'm honest it's actually disturbing that someone would be happy to do that. whatever about it being part of the job and being paid for it.

A multitude of reasons

-Probably because they are sick to the back teeth of cases involving children being defiled, like most decent folks are.
    - Perhaps they know of people's children who have been harmed or potentially were going to be harmed. Maybe they themselves were targets as kids.
    - Possibly because the police aren't doing enough or can't do enough.
    - Or maybe they just hate sexual predators and they have the actual balls to go confront them and turn them over to the authorities with relevant evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

mada82 wrote: »

I think there might be in the UK, but nothing specific in the ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Check out the silent justice Facebook page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

I think there might be in the UK, but nothing specific in the ROI.

From the video posted last night from silent justice ireland, yes their is a 1997 act

Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Omackeral wrote: »
    A multitude of reasons

-Probably because they are sick to the back teeth of cases involving children being defiled, like most decent folks are.
    - Perhaps they know of people's children who have been harmed or potentially were going to be harmed. Maybe they themselves were targets as kids.
    - Possibly because the police aren't doing enough or can't do enough.
    - Or maybe they just hate sexual predators and they have the actual balls to go confront them and turn them over to the authorities with relevant evidence.

All fair enough, but why pretend to be children? Why not try to track down actual paedophile groups that are currently abusing children as we speak, and trying to save them?
    Rather than ensnaring brain dead 50 year olds on the internet who are deluded enough to think a 13 year old girl wants to sleep with them
    I won't say what they're doing is 'bad' or useless, but they're not the gods gift to society youre making them out to be

Open to correction on this but I think you're allowed to hold someone who is suspected of committing a crime. So I dunno if it's officially called Citizen's Arrest but I think that's the powers the likes of security guards and such have. I'm not 100% on that but it's my understanding. Happy to be educated on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,806 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

wakka12 wrote: »
    All fair enough, but why pretend to be children? Why not try to track down actual paedophile groups that are currently abusing children as we speak, and trying to save them?
    Rather than ensnaring brain dead 50 year olds on the internet who are deluded enough to think a 13 year old girl wants to sleep with them
    I won't say what they're doing is 'bad' or useless, but they're not the gods gift to society youre making them out to be

And why not go after drug dealers in the same manner? I would imagine that would be ripe territory for a sting, in fact far easier to set up than one on paedophiles.

wakka12 wrote: »

I'm not making them out to be God's gift. They have a cause for concern and they're acting on it in a legal way. Not all of these abusers or would-be abusers are brain dead either, chap from this topic has (well, had) a fairly high up job and travelled a lot for instance. There's no one type of predator. Could be any range of age or social standing.

Anyway, if they tried to track down active pedophile rings, you'd have the same people saying they should leave it to the police.

Strazdas wrote: »
    And why not go after drug dealers in the same manner? I would imagine that would be ripe territory for a sting, in fact far easier to set up than one on paedophiles.

Because dealers generally sell to adults who have full responsibilities for their actions. Children don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,955 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

In Russian there are still anti gay vigil aunties roaming the streets, and not so long ago it was same here. I'm not saying we'll have a paedo Prime Minister anytime soon, but the only defence RTE guy has is that Lady Gaga song
    '' Baby I Was Born This Way ''
    Even today in parts of this world we live parents send their children off to be cured of being gay.Maybe RTE guy is wired the way he is because of the make up of his biology or genetics.

In Russian there are still anti gay vigil aunties ...

Just picturing middle aged women running around holding candles and splashing holy water on gay lads in Russia. Should be a sketch show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Time and resources would be my guess..

10 'vigilantes are probably happy to do shifts fishing with the fake profiles on their own time without getting paid... now imagine asking cops to do the same... id say theres overtime pay and working hours issues....

And yet when they were hunting activists and whistleblowers in the days of Occupy, Anonymous and other related groups, they had no problem doing this (referring specifically to the British cops here, not the Gardai). GCHQ's JTRIG has a dedicated, round the clock division whose job it is to manipulate public opinion online through sockpuppeting and hacking with regard to political and current events stories.

If they can afford to do this, they can afford to hunt actual criminals who pose a genuine threat to public safety as opposed to a threat to powerful people getting away with corruption. Just saying.

Let's just get rid of the police then completely in that case.

Actively ignoring that the police were called in this case and that the pedophile was handed over to them, with a multitude of hard evidence. Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,955 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

In Russian there are still anti gay vigil aunties roaming the streets, and not so long ago it was same here. I'm not saying we'll have a paedo Prime Minister anytime soon, but the only defence RTE guy has is that Lady Gaga song
    '' Baby I Was Born This Way ''
    Even today in parts of this world we live parents send their children off to be cured of being gay.Maybe RTE guy is wired the way he is because of the make up of his biology or genetics.

He is that way because of his genetics. Who would choose to be a paedophile and have the possibility of what happened to him happening? Regardless its a mental illness that needs to be treated