Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Chrongen wrote: »
    No, not really. The first post was in response to someone who nastily alluded to someone being a paedophile sympathiser/apologist/supporter. That is petty and it is juvenile.

That may be your twisted interpretation but that is complete bollocks. . The poster you lauded wasn't shy of making direct hominem attacks in the very post you commented on. Something which you ignored yet something a mod called out. I see from the comment below you are evidently of the same mien.
    Chrongen wrote: »
    The second post referred to the core of people on the internet (or in discussions in general) who don't seem to have the developed the mental capacity to see beyond black and white.

In short you appear to be saying that if you don't agree with a poster - then they are wrong. Take your digit out of its receptacle and put forward your own argument if you wish to engage in debate. Otherwise keep your insults to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,259 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I bet every headline about this includes the fact he works for RTE.

"RTE producer appears in court on charges of attempting to meet child groomed online" - Independent

"RTÉ staff member due in court in Leeds charged with planning to have sex with teenage girl" - the journal

"RTÉ producer charged with grooming girl for sexual activity" - Irish times

"RTÉ employee accused of attempting to engage in sexual activity with girl under 16" - Irish Examiner

. He is an RTE producer - staff member- employee. None of them describe him as an 'RTE paedophile' though

The RTE thing works on a few levels. It's nothing to with blaming the broadcaster itself.

- It's a descriptor, much in the same way innocent Shane Geoghegan down in Limerick was often described as rugby player Shane Geoghegan or Graham Dwyer was called architect Graham Dwyer.

- It's ironic that those who bring the news are gonna have to report on one of their own.

- It's a straight up attention grabber. It makes you click a link to see who it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Says a lot in itself.
    Personally it would not matter to me where he works.

News organisations make money by capturing attention and stating that he works for RTE will garner far more attention than "Irish man accused of grooming" or whatever.

Also it clearly does matter to you where he works, do you normally comment on these "catch a preditor" style incidents or is this the first time?

. He is an RTE producer - staff member- employee. None of them describe him as an 'RTE paedophile' though

It would be bad journalistic practice to describe him as a paedophile and they could be sued for libel without clear proof, but Boards.ie doesnt need to follow those standards.

Thats why most of the headlines say "is charged" or "accused".

Also your initial gripe was about where he works as opposed to labelling him a "paedophile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭arctictree

RTE have stated that he is 'suspended'. Now would this be with or without pay? Wouldn't surprise me if he's still being paid.

arctictree wrote: »
    RTE have stated that he is 'suspended'. Now would this be with or without pay? Wouldn't surprise me if he's still being paid.

Tom Humphries was being paid by the IT for years until he was actually charged.

You cant fire someone on accusations alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

If he was a plumber from Navan, it wouldnt be front page of the Herald, although it might be somewhere further back.

It's not really unusual. One of my secondary school teachers was all over the front pages back around 2003 or 2004 when sent to prison for touching up a lad in the year below me. Same with all the priests that were caught. None of them famous, except for this. None of them would have gotten a mention anywhere other than the local paper if they were a plumber. RTE producer is seen as a highfalutin job. Same with Tom Humphries. You get into these positions, more attention will come upon you if you do something like this. It's not new!

Laois_Man wrote: »
    It's not really unusual. One of my secondary school teachers was all over the front pages back around 2003 or 2004 when sent to prison for touching up a lad in the year below me. Same with all the priests that were caught. None of them famous, except for this. None of them would have gotten a mention anywhere other than the local paper if they were a plumber. RTE producer is seen as a highfalutin job. Same with Tom Humphries. You get into these positions, more attention will come upon you if you do something like this. It's not new!

We're making the same point.

concerned citizens get on with what they have to do without seeking attention on social media. for example if i have evidence of a crime, i pass my information on to the police, job done. no comment afterwords, no nothing. i get back to my life unless asked to testify in court.

That's ok - that's how you would approach the issue. The group in question had a different approach. Are you right and they are wrong? Dont believe it is that simple tbh.

Take for example a fairly normal housing estate. A group of parents become concerned that a person is hanging around their children and making inappropriate advances. The contact the Gardai - however the Gardai have noting to go on and are not able to do anything.. The parents set up a sting operation are able to record incriminating evidence and catch the paedophile and hand him over to the relevant authorities.

There may be times when keeping your head down and having a qite word to the police or whoever is the best option. However in this instance the group were able to gather evidence and hand over the perp. If these groups break the law and get violent etc then they will become subject to the ramifications of the law themselves.

Strazdas wrote: »
    One wonders if they will be charged with anything though? The Irish and UK judicial systems are different and so are the laws. The vigilantes being able to operate successfully in Britain doesn't mean they can do so here.

Irish laws are irrelevant if he broke the law in the uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,259 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It would be bad journalistic practice to describe him as a paedophile and they could be sued for libel without clear proof, but Boards.ie doesnt need to follow those standards.

Thats why most of the headlines say "is charged" or "accused".

Also your initial gripe was about where he works as opposed to labelling him a "paedophile"

He is described as an RTE producer because he produces for RTE - a perfectly correct descriptor.
    He doe not paedophile for RTE which is what the title suggests.

Sensationalist headline for the red top generation who should have a wee look at themselves if this is what it takes to get them interested in a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Knowing what we've read about the sexual harassment stories in the news coming from showbiz,
    I wonder just how many people like him are in the media.
    Entertainers and possibly news media folk now it seems.
    Really disturbing in my opinion.
    And there could be a lot more stuff like that in showbiz we don't know of.
    Not pleasant at all.

Chances are that cases like these will be forgotten about in the future.
    Reminds me of the sex abuse scandals of the catholic church.
    Entertainment industry probably has a lot of skeletons in it's closet too.
    A lot of the time it's people who are obvious sleazebags but also some who i wouldn't expect.
    Vigilante types like the ones who exposed the lad are doing some good at least.
    Even if you don't like them.
    Now if they didn't do what they did, he probably wouldn't have been caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It just means he works there and is part of their organisation/institution.

The front page of the Herald today is "RTE man in child sex sting"

If he was a plumber from Navan, it wouldnt be front page of the Herald, although it might be somewhere further back.

There wouldnt be a fraction of the discussion about it either.
    Just the way the world is and news is in general.
    Indeed and RTE themselves are never behind the door in mentioning where someone appearing in court works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Omackeral wrote: »
    I've no love for innocent people being hit by vigilantes but this chap was far from innocent. They had the transcripts from his conversations to hand. Yes they could have just handed it to the police but this video shows him admitting things on film and catching himself out. That could prove useful.

Also, I think their work here was fairly thorough, they knew his flight times and which hotel he was going to. They did their research. In other words I think they're more than just a group of scumbags out for a fight. They're gruff and rough sounding but fcuk it, they got a result and got the police to arrest a would-be predator. I wouldn't be having a go at them.

they could have simply videoed it on a camera and given it to the police. instead they streamed it on social media for attention before calling the police. nope i think we know what this group are really after. just because they got this guy doesn't legitimize them, they still should not be trusted as far as they could be thrown.
    PARlance wrote: »
    Completely agree with that, there's no need to live stream it.

I stated I was in favour of such groups earlier and I still am to the extent that they are more proactive than the Police. But they do seem to be in it for the attention and livefeeds are dangerous. The mob mentality they attract are dangerous. If these groups were in it solely for catching people, they would be keeping absolutely everything under wraps and not alerting the people they're trying to catch.

The only defence I can think of re the publicity is that they're doing it so the Police have no option not to act or work with them.

the police already have to sort of work with them anyway to keep the peace. if the police were properly funded then they wouldn't need to as they would be able to arrest these people should they cause any trouble. in the polices case it's a case of needs must.
    My main sympathies lie elsewhere, and quite a motivation not to try and groom a child don't you think?

there seems to be no actual evidence that the tactics employed by these groups reduces such criminality in any way. in fact, it likely sends these people underground, for which we should be very worried.
    The guy who does most of the talking mentions the fact that the guy is from Dublin and Ireland quite a lot, and over to harm one of "our" girls, shouldn't really matter, the fact that he wants to harm an underage girl is the point, not where she is from.

agreed 100%.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

20Cent wrote: »
    Whoever ends up in a video is there to meet a child and will have exchanged messages with someone they think is a child. No sympathy, no legitimate reason for an adult to meet up with a child they don't know.

you are completely missing the point of what he said. he is saying that they are highly likely to get the wrong person. someone simply arrives at the same time as the suspect and the rest is history. this is very simple to understand if you read it.
    20Cent wrote: »
    This case wasnt a lynch mob accusing an innocent person. Your example is someone doing it wrong and they should be punished for it. Left to the police yet man would still be doing it.

his example was a mob accusing an innocent person. now that person was clearly a cheating dick, but that's not a crime.
    gozunda wrote: »
    That's ok - that's how you would approach the issue. The group in question had a different approach. Are you right and they are wrong? Dont believe it is that simple tbh.

Take for example a fairly normal housing estate. A group of parents become concerned that a person is hanging around their children and making inappropriate advances. The contact the Gardai - however the Gardai have noting to go on and are not able to do anything.. The parents set up a sting operation are able to record incriminating evidence and catch the paedophile and hand him over to the relevant authorities.

There may be times when keeping your head down and having a qite word to the police or whoever is the best option. However in this instance the group were able to gather evidence and hand over the perp. If these groups break the law and get violent etc then they will become subject to the ramifications of the law themselves.

i'm the right one, as i do what i need to do and that's it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

They couldn't care less about the kids or families involved.

Know them well, do you? :rolleyes:

gozunda wrote:

i'm the right one, as i do what i need to do and that's it.

As I said thats ok - but the one solution does not always work for every situation. Doesn't make you always wrong or the group right or visa versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

It’s a shame these Facebook vigilantes aren’t brave enough to tackle the Pakistani/Muslim child rape gangs in the likes of Birmingham or Rotherham because they know they would get the heads bet off them if they tried anything with those Peados!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Holy shït..

There's a poster here who thinks it's ok to fancy kids as long as you don't act on it.

That's enough boards for one day.
    Phone in bin
    Bin in wheely bin
    Sit and wait for bin man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

you are completely missing the point of what he said. he is saying that they are highly likely to get the wrong person. someone simply arrives at the same time as the suspect and the rest is history. this is very simple to understand if you read it.

They have photos of him ffs.
    Meet at x what are you wearing etc.
    Not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

YouTube pay them for ads viewed. These guys are scum also. They couldn't care less about the kids or families involved.

I wouldn’t call the lads from Dark Justice scum they do the exact same as the group last night.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 Vlad Kelly

Little doubt that he'll suicide himself shortly. His life is in tatters. Dreadful man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It’s a shame these Facebook vigilantes aren’t brave enough to tackle the Pakistani/Muslim child rape gangs in the likes of Birmingham or Rotherham because they know they would get the heads bet off them if they tried anything with those Peados!

Ive seen a few muslim/west asian men caught, can't remember if it was them or that silent justice one in ireland
    I don't think they care about race

Peatys wrote: »
    Holy shït..

There's a poster here who thinks it's ok to fancy kids as long as you don't act on it.

Phone in bin
    Bin in wheely bin
    Sit and wait for bin man

Not only that- but a small number of other posters seem to agree. Call them out on it and its gets nasty.

Truly deeply sickingly scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭BowSideChamp

Tom Humphries was being paid by the IT for years until he was actually charged.

You cant fire someone on accusations alone

Wasn't he supposed to be over there to cover the Leeds football match for RTE?

I just hope the Gardai have obtained a warrant to seize his computer. I'm fairly certain the contents of which is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Not only that- but a small number of other posters seem to agree. Call them out on it and its gets nasty.

That really is frightening.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Peatys wrote: »
    Holy shït..

Phone in bin
    Bin in wheely bin
    Sit and wait for bin man

I wouldn't say it's okay- it's not okay at all. But I have every sympathy for those who are attracted to children and don't act on it. Honestly what an absolute torturous existence that would be. But once you act on it, and that includes viewing images, my sympathy ceases and you can honestly go to hell.
    There are people out there who live with this and get help for it. Anyone who recognises that this isn't right and gets help for it is beyond brave in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Well, an attraction to children is disturbing and needs to be dealt with through psychological evaluation and counselling and preventing them being around children. But you do have to remember that it is something they were born with, they didn't choose to be like that. So what are you gonna do, execute somebody on the spot if they say they're attracted to children? They need help. Not only being ostracised for something they can't help

Same way we treat any dangerous mental illness, remove from society so they cannot harm, and give them mental help. You don't just abuse other people with mental illnesses who are danger to society do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

wakka12 wrote: »
    Ive seen a few muslim/west asian men caught, can't remember if it was them or that silent justice one in ireland
    I don't think they care about race

The vigilantes are often racist themselves. I was reading on one of the British forums today that they are usually white, unemployed, racist and invariably have criminal records (sounds suspiciously like the types that gravitate towards the far right).