Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,974 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

No one can defend RTE guy. He is wired that way, is it his fault he carries this attraction to younger girls? What is going on physically and mentally with guys like him?

it is not his fault that he is attracted to young girls. it is his fault when he acts on it or attempts to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

If the "professionals"in the UK did their job correctly in the past the working class would not need to take this action to protect their children

If they weren't fame seeking vigilantes then they'd simply send screenshots of the convo to the police. The tip would not big ignored no matter how bad the police were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The rte producer doesnt seem too bright either.

The fake girls profile looked clearly fake.

Also these "catch a predator" style shows have been around for years.
    "Arrested Development" even satirised it years ago

Yeh I always feel a bit bad when I see the videos on fb, all the guys on those vigilante sights who are caught barely have a brain stem between them and its really obvious.
    I don't feel bad they're caught I just feel bad that the smarter ones are probably getting away with it, and the stupid ones are the ones being humiliated on fb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

I've watched a few more of these "Silent Justice" videos and I have to say, despite their name, they make an awful lot of noise.

One video in particular was telling. They confronted this aul fella at this gaff and he admitted to everything.

The main guy said "his colleague" was in consoling the wife.

This absolute mouth of a colleague then comes out of the gaff saying "how the Mrs is in bits in there" etc. etc. before going on to read the "chat logs" at the top of her voice.

In the midst of all this, the perps Mrs. comes out, and despite just finding out her fella is a potential kiddy fiddler somehow has the presence of mind to say "hang on, who are you guys again - do yous have ID"?

The mouthpiece (having claimed to be consoling said wife) then goes on her spiel to say "we are silent justice, we are here to expose people like your husband".

The wife then says "ok, you've done, that...please lets just leave it to the police now" which is more than reasonable.

Mouthpiece then proceeds to enter an argument / shouting match with the wife saying "this is how Silent Justice works, WE ARE READING the CHAT LOGS". And continues to argue with her (showing little consideration for someone she was shouting about being "broken" mere moments ago.

The guy then ends the broadcast saying "the family are clearly in distress". Yes, cos you are taking a terrible situation and contriving to make it even worse.

Yes, it's good these paedos are being exposed, but there is something else at play here. These groups are dangerous, and like paedos, have no real place in our society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

Say, for argument's sake, he only did his disgusting business on his mobile. It was taken from him by the mob. He could argue that they could have done anything with it in the time it took for the police to arrive and take possession of it. He could have kept saying "what are you doing with my phone" to further make his case.

The correct approach would have been to leave his phone with him until the police arrived and took it into evidence.

If he's done stuff on his work or home computer he's goosed either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

I was looking at a Kevin instead of Kieran. Called him a nonce fook too. Sorry Kevin my bad :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Say, for argument's sake, he only did his disgusting business on his mobile. It was taken from him by the mob. He could argue that they could have done anything with it in the time it took for the police to arrive and take possession of it. He could have kept saying "what are you doing with my phone" to further make his case.

The correct approach would have been to leave his phone with him until the police arrived and took it into evidence.

If he's done stuff on his work or home computer he's goosed either way.

All texts, including the actual message, and calls are held by the service provider. If it was over What's App or Facebook I'm sure they'd have no issue receiving time stamps for the messages, etc. I would say it's highly unlikely that excuse could be used. Probably should have been left to the police though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Reati

They were on TodayFM there a bit ago. Paraphrasing here...

The most interesting thing they said (and it's back to my points on getting off in court) was the police have told them to stop as they risk the investigations and chances of conviction.

Seemed to imply they don't have any support from police but as it's not ilgeal thay can't stop them.

Said it's not entrapment based on the law and how they do things. I.e the person who is grooming needs to add the fake account (no idea how that works) and suggest the meet up and sex acts etc

Said the Live stream is to expose the person on the widest scale possible so everyone knows "the pedo next door"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Chrongen wrote: »
    Mate, your posts are really quite petty and juvenile.

Which posts did you fail to understand? I willl try my best to help you with comprehension if I can.

If you wish to debate please do so. Put forward some logical argument if you wish. Counter another posters logic. But don't expect stupid and irrelevant questions to be answered. That's what Whataboutery is. But I expect you already know that.

Although I'm not really surprised to meet another member of attack the poster band. The mod has already had to warn your alter ego from similar behaviour. I will ask you just once to politely keep your insults to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What significance does RTE have in this?
    The thread title seems to indicate they have some responsibility for this guy's actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,330 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ladders2 wrote: »
    most people reading this thread pay their ray darcy licence, so ipso facto they did pay for the rte employee to travel to leeds

Leave the Internet son

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The thread title seems to indicate they have some responsibility for this guy's actions.

I think a few posters have covered this. Something along the lines that he works there. And that RTE is the usual medium where such stories break. Take a look back to see the replies in full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It doesnt indicate they are responsible.

It just makes headlines because he is in a prominent position.

If he was a plumber from Navan, we would have never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 aivilo

Maybe the intentions are good and getting these weirdos locked away is always a blessing but the whole thing still doesn't sit well with me.

How can someone be charged with an intention. There was no actual girl in this particular case. Vigilantism at best.

He sent pictures of his dick to what he thought was s 13 year we old girl. Thank **** these guys caught him before he raped a real 13 year old CHILD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,823 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Reati wrote: »
    They were on TodayFM there a bit ago. Paraphrasing here...

The most interesting thing they said (and it's back to my points on getting off in court) was the police have told them to stop as they risk the investigations and chances of conviction.

Seemed to imply they don't have any support from police but as it's not ilgeal thay can't stop them.

Said it's not entrapment based on the law and how they do things. I.e the person who is grooming needs to add the fake account (no idea how that works) and suggest the meet up and sex acts etc

Said the Live stream is to expose the person on the widest scale possible so everyone knows "the pedo next door"

I believe this type of online vigilante activity is not allowed in the vast majority of countries. There must be some loophole in UK child grooming laws that allow this type of evidence (which is clearly gathered under extremely dubious circumstances) to be admissible in a court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Who?

The title clearly says 'RTE paedophile exposed'

As if they owned him.

It doesn't matter where he works really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I really think that regulation of Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram and other Social media is needed and it needs to be done soon.

I'm not defending this sicko in any way but facebook in particular is a disgrace and is totally faceless and you cannot contact them at all no matter what reason. Here on boards.ie if there was something written about me which maybe libellous etc. then I have the option to contact mods and there is some human who will give it attention wheras facebook have done everything going out of there way to ensure they are impossible to contact and are unaccountable unless of course you want to buy their advertising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

The independent has two lads from Drogheda caught over the weekend. Not as widespread but it's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I feel incredibly sorry for his loved ones though. People are going to town on his FB page (his real one). Must be very upsetting and confusing for his friends and family to be in this situation. I can't even imagine.

Yes, I know the family of a convicted child molester. They had no idea and did not back him up when it came out. His ex-wife drinks heavily now and his two sons (who were in their 20s when it came out) hotfooted it to Oz to get away from it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

You're full of sh1t.

Signed,

A woman

This made me lol.

20Cent wrote: »
    Jaysus more upset about the guys who caught him than the actual pedo. Good work by those guys got him off the streets and exposed.

It's sadly the way of the world now. This group could've just as easily kicked the snot out of this dirtbag and reported him to the police after. They didn't do that. They got a would-be predator off the streets via the police and didn't use violence. That's a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,823 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    The independent has two lads from Drogheda caught over the weekend. Not as widespread but it's there.

One wonders if they will be charged with anything though? The Irish and UK judicial systems are different and so are the laws. The vigilantes being able to operate successfully in Britain doesn't mean they can do so here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Chrongen wrote: »
    I wonder if these vigilantes have some kind of mechanism set up whereby they get paid as they view count goes higher. I'll bet they do.

YouTube pay them for ads viewed. These guys are scum also. They couldn't care less about the kids or families involved.

The title clearly says 'RTE paedophile exposed'

As if they owned him.

It doesn't matter where he works really.

It just means he works there and is part of their organisation/institution.

The front page of the Herald today is "RTE man in child sex sting"

If he was a plumber from Navan, it wouldnt be front page of the Herald, although it might be somewhere further back.

There wouldnt be a fraction of the discussion about it either.
    Just the way the world is and news is in general.

If he was a plumber from Navan, it wouldnt be front page of the Herald, although it might be somewhere further back.

Says a lot in itself.
    Personally it would not matter to me where he works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

foxatron wrote: »
    I was looking at a Kevin instead of Kieran. Called him a nonce fook too. Sorry Kevin my bad :/

Yeah, feel sorry for a certain person with a very similar name working in a similar field for different TV station. :( Hope he doesn't catch any shit.

Says a lot in itself.
    Personally it would not matter to me where he works.

It's probably not so much where he works than it is trying to give the impression he might be someone everyone is familiar with. Specially in the wake of other scandals involving TV people.

I bet every headline about this includes the fact he works for RTE.

"RTE producer appears in court on charges of attempting to meet child groomed online" - Independent

"RTÉ staff member due in court in Leeds charged with planning to have sex with teenage girl" - the journal

"RTÉ producer charged with grooming girl for sexual activity" - Irish times

"RTÉ employee accused of attempting to engage in sexual activity with girl under 16" - Irish Examiner

I bet every headline about this includes the fact he works for RTE.

"RTE producer appears in court on charges of attempting to meet child groomed online" - Independent

"RTÉ staff member due in court in Leeds charged with planning to have sex with teenage girl" - the journal

"RTÉ producer charged with grooming girl for sexual activity" - Irish times

"RTÉ employee accused of attempting to engage in sexual activity with girl under 16" - Irish Examiner

None of these headlines are indicating that RTE are responsible, I dont know how you could interpret that