Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

The main guy talking has serious delusions of grandeur, dropping the name of his group over and over throughout the video. At one stage i was was waiting for him to start shilling merch.

No question this guy is guilty of disgusting behaviour but the these i imagine the only time these vigilante groups get this excited is when they find 20 pound note down the back of the couch or when they're taking part in call out video's.

Scauldy bunch.

I thought that. He comes across as a real bully and probably a nasty type himself. This Creaven guy deserves everything coming to him but the man who sat down next to him to have a "man to man" talk gave me the chills as well.

Also, what was the man off camera on about when he said the English police weren't like the Irish police and added let me tell you? Does he think the Gardaí turn a blind eye to paedophilia or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

foxatron wrote: »
    Is that his actual fb page? Only one i could see was private.

His normal page is still up, but the fake Jimi Cee one is gone. I assume police took it down as he made friends with 52 teenage girls , who weren't all decoys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

It's his actual page. Are we still not allowed to use names?

His fake one now seems to be down. I get "content unavailable" when I click on it.

His real one is still up and active though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Reati

Strazdas wrote: »
    I can't help thinking this will seriously unravel some day, such as a suspect running away and being knocked down by a car or responding with violence to being confronted. This vigilante phenomenon is very recent but one horrible incident could bring the shutters down on it.

Same, seen as I've watched a few of the stings and that main lad is very confrontational and aggro.

One such video "Your F*cked, you realize that". Your are "filthy, dirty, vile, ****ing disgusting" etc

All true stuff but the police don't talk like this to someone who is accused for a reason. I'm shocked that a good lawyer can't get them off. I'm also so surprised they admit everything and talk to these people. It's a mad thing to watch. Never seen these kind of videos before.

I'm torn because we actually do need people exposing these people. They have some pictures on they Facebook page of the Team. Seems like they are out on a jolly.

Love the catchphrase though "We're Predator exposure and we've exposed your ****ing ass"

Candie wrote: »
    It's almost comical.

An entree of this guy attempting to commit a crime against a child with a side order of his wife is probably a gold digger.

You couldn't make it up.

I didn't mean she was a gold-digger just that he was no looker and with a beautiful wife and seemingly affairs with others, he must have something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

lots of eejits doing a count down of how many friends he still has on FB....and calling every one still on the list a scumbag also...isn't the internet great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

I didn't mean she was a gold-digger just that he was no looker and with a beautiful wife and seemingly affairs with others, he must have something

must have a few quid, sure women just leech off men...:rolleyes:
    Not many of them educated or working in this day and age. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Reati

Wehn we talk about crazy things to get off on.

"given a suspended sentence after the judge accepted that his back problems would cause him "considerable discomfort" in prison."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/11/12/paedophile-avoids-jail-bad-back/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Omackeral wrote: »
    Pot, kettle.

No, not really. The first post was in response to someone who nastily alluded to someone being a paedophile sympathiser/apologist/supporter. That is petty and it is juvenile.

The second post referred to the core of people on the internet (or in discussions in general) who don't seem to have the developed the mental capacity to see beyond black and white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,082 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It's a comment by an eastern European lady on his most recent post (her comment is from about an hour ago, there are 200+ comments).

Her bio states "single girl seeks fun".

Not a wild stretch of the imagination in assuming X, Y and Z may have been used by him at some stage for "fun".

Reati wrote: »
    Wehn we talk about crazy things to get off on.

"given a suspended sentence after the judge accepted that his back problems would cause him "considerable discomfort" in prison."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/11/12/paedophile-avoids-jail-bad-back/

Isn't there usually something in the law that allows for them being spared prison if it's going to cause suffering beyond incarceration?

If he would truly be in agony in prison, he should at least be under house arrest and wear a bracelet, but I don't see that mentioned. Also the judge said:
    He warned Chappell that if the offences had been committed after 2003, when the law changed, they would have attracted long prison sentences.

Which implies that forms part of the reasoning for a suspended sentence.

I'm not saying I agree with the sentence, but there's probably more to the reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

I agree it is a bit confrontational the way there snare these rotten humans. I know they deserve jail but they also deserve for their whole lives to be ruined which in effect this group is doing. I cant help but smile at the fact that these people are being exposed online which i think is much worse than 12 months in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I really didn't like the main hunter guy. There's a way to do this kind of thing if you're going to do it at all and to just take so much joy and revel in a miserable situation is just wrong. "Merry Christmas ya filthy animal"... like what? There's no need to be such a gowl like.
    Also he kept referring to him coming over and "meeting our girls"..
    His concerns should be about all underage girls not just the ones that fall within the parameters of the UK.
    Methinks someone watches too many tv crime shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The main guy talking has serious delusions of grandeur, dropping the name of his group over and over throughout the video. At one stage i was was waiting for him to start shilling merch.

No question this guy is guilty of disgusting behaviour but the these i imagine the only time these vigilante groups get this excited is when they find 20 pound note down the back of the couch or when they're taking part in call out video's.

Scauldy bunch.

He keeps alternating between thinking he's a police officer, an investigative reporter for the BBC and Jeremy Kyle. He's an embarrassment to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Strazdas wrote: »
    He keeps alternating between thinking he's a police officer, an investigative reporter for the BBC and Jeremy Kyle. He's an embarrassment to listen to.

Im sure the parents of the young girl he was grooming would have a different view of him.

S.L.F. wrote: »
    must have a few quid, sure women just leech off men...:rolleyes:
    Not many of them educated or working in this day and age. :pac:

Ah you're twisting my words, money and power are known aphrodisiacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Is anyone allowed post the name of the fake profile? Now that his real name has been released?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Mixed feelings on these groups. I wouldn’t go as far as saying they do a good job, because that isn’t always the case, but if it’s protecting children to a certain extent then generally speaking the outcomes of their actions are positive.

I can’t help get the feeling though that they are all bullies, who have found a legitimate way to pick on people who society will never feel sympathy for; while at the same time receive plaudits for taking out predators - which is fair enough.

There are two different groups operating in the north, and I’ve watched a few of their videos. They both contain the same theme and employ the same methods. They begin calm but assertive before become passive aggressive; and sometimes they become verbally abusive.

They call themselves “child protection enforcers” and target suspects in groups of 8-10 people. As far as I know some of them don’t work full time but instead earn money through “donations” which to me should raise a few eyebrows.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Stab*City wrote: »
    Im sure the parents of the young girl he was grooming would have a different view of him.

Huh??? There was no girl.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,388 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

But at that stage as far as Mr Vigo knew, there was no 'real' girl involved, just a pretend account run by one of his mates. Fair enough if (and they probably will) find actual victims, but I still think this laying of a trap is a bit dodgy. Thought crime and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

There is no young girl? Unless it's a different case you're referring to?

humberklog wrote: »

He was chatting to 3 decoys and another girl.
    His fake profile is friends with 52 teens.

We can assume he was chatting to or grooming at least one real girl with parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Maybe the intentions are good and getting these weirdos locked away is always a blessing but the whole thing still doesn't sit well with me.

How can someone be charged with an intention. There was no actual girl in this particular case. Vigilantism at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

anna080 wrote: »
    I really didn't like the main hunter guy. There's a way to do this kind of thing if you're going to do it at all and to just take so much joy and revel in a miserable situation is just wrong. "Merry Christmas ya filthy animal"... like what? There's no need to be such a gowl like.
    Also he kept referring to him coming over and "meeting our girls"..
    His concerns should be about all underage girls not just the ones that fall within the parameters of the UK.

He's hoping Ross Kemp will see the video and ask him to be mates.

I had to laugh at his TV-cop-drama-inspired interrogation technique, and also when they asked the guy if he realised that what he had done was wrong, and would he agree not to do it again if they let him go, and then they said "Tough, we're not letting you go." His heart must have broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

armaghlad wrote: »
    Mixed feelings on these groups. I wouldn’t go as far as saying they do a good job, because that isn’t always the case, but if it’s protecting children to a certain extent then generally speaking the outcomes of their actions are positive.

I can’t help get the feeling though that they are all bullies, who have found a legitimate way to pick on people who society will never feel sympathy for; while at the same time receive plaudits for taking out predators - which is fair enough.

There are two different groups operating in the north, and I’ve watched a few of their videos. They both contain the same theme and employ the same methods. They begin calm but assertive before become passive aggressive; and sometimes they become verbally abusive.

They call themselves “child protection enforcers” and target suspects in groups of 8-10 people. As far as I know some of them don’t work full time but instead earn money through “donations” which to me should raise a few eyebrows.

Are they equal opportunity vigilantes, or are they trying to target outsiders, such as Irish and Muslims?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Ah you're twisting my words, money and power are known aphrodisiacs

Indeed. Two of the greatest knicker droppers in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,967 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

humberklog wrote: »
    spurious wrote: »
    But at that stage as far as Mr Vigo knew, there was no 'real' girl involved, just a pretend account run by one of his mates. Fair enough if (and they probably will) find actual victims, but I still think this laying of a trap is a bit dodgy. Thought crime and all that.
    There is no young girl? Unless it's a different case you're referring to?
    He was chatting to 3 decoys and another girl.
    His fake profile is friends with 52 teens.

We can assume he was chatting to or grooming at least one real girl with parents

who in the name of jaysus are ye all taking about now? who is Mr Vigo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

I see all the real tough cases have taken to Facebook...

"F*****g peado f**k"

"He sent pictures of his d**k to what he though was young girls and he admitted it.
    He is a filthy scumbag are you one too?"

"BETTER HOPE I DONT COME ACROSS YOU IN DUBLIN YOU DIRTY B*****D."

Shakespearean quality if ever I saw it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

How can an imaginary girl have parents? Unless they're imaginary parents. But then how do imaginary parents have views? Imaginary views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,967 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Maybe the intentions are good and getting these weirdos locked away is always a blessing but the whole thing still doesn't sit well with me.

How can someone be charged with an intention. There was no actual girl in this particular case. Vigilantism at best.

well there was the whole sending pics of his mickey to what he thought was 13 year old girl.