Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

What he was planning to do was absolutely horrible. No 13-year-old girl should EVER be made watch Leeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

FCIM wrote: »
    I see all the real tough cases have taken to Facebook...

"F*****g peado f**k"

"He sent pictures of his d**k to what he though was young girls and he admitted it.
    He is a filthy scumbag are you one too?"

"BETTER HOPE I DONT COME ACROSS YOU IN DUBLIN YOU DIRTY B*****D."

Shakespearean quality if ever I saw it!

I saw that...hilarious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Good thats he's caught. But really hate those kind of vigilante groups, they're completely unprofessional. You just know they're getting off on being famous for catching criminals rather than anything about childrens welfare, well they probably care but its definitely secondary. otherwise they wouldn't act the way they do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

FCIM wrote: »
    I see all the real tough cases have taken to Facebook...

"F*****g peado f**k"

"He sent pictures of his d**k to what he though was young girls and he admitted it.
    He is a filthy scumbag are you one too?"

"BETTER HOPE I DONT COME ACROSS YOU IN DUBLIN YOU DIRTY B*****D."

Shakespearean quality if ever I saw it!

Don't forget about the knobs posting about how many friends he has left :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

He's hoping Ross Kemp will see the video and ask him to be mates.

I had to laugh at his TV-cop-drama-inspired interrogation technique, and also when they asked the guy if he realised that what he had done was wrong, and would he agree not to do it again if they let him go, and then they said "Tough, we're not letting you go." His heart must have broke.

With a bit of Jeremy Kyle thrown in : "You're a dirty paedophile" etc. The ironic thing is that the biggest creep by far in the interaction is the one doing the interrogating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Have there been any publicised incidents involving these "vigilantes" where the fictional victim is an underage male?

who in the name of jaysus are ye all taking about now? who is Mr Vigo?

Lol...not sure about the rest of them, or Mr Vigo...but I'm talking about the rte guy that was caught last night in Leeds. There was no 13 year old girl. It was a fake profile set up, he wasn't talking to a 13 year old at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Stab*City wrote: »
    I agree it is a bit confrontational the way there snare these rotten humans. I know they deserve jail but they also deserve for their whole lives to be ruined which in effect this group is doing. I cant help but smile at the fact that these people are being exposed online which i think is much worse than 12 months in jail.

They deserve to have their lives ruined, he would have ruined the 13 year old girls life, and her family's/ But I really detest the live stream on social media. Seeing as his name and profiles are mentioned, his family could easily be abused online and suffer humiliation and shame. They shouldn't suffer for their father/husbands crimes.

The police do this in a professional and discrete manner and this is why its best left to the police and not these knob heads

Don't forget about the knobs posting about how many friends he has left :rolleyes:

And the one...youll be making a few appearances in Leeds yourself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Are they equal opportunity vigilantes, or are they trying to target outsiders, such as Irish and Muslims?

They seem to be very protective of "OUR" girls... Also, they don't seem to think the Gardaí consider active paedophiles to be serious criminals... all going by what they said in their video.

Creaven deserves to rot in jail and have his life ruined and the people who caught him have done good work to a point... I wonder do they need to get off on their work so much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,082 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

anna080 wrote: »
    I really didn't like the main hunter guy. There's a way to do this kind of thing if you're going to do it at all and to just take so much joy and revel in a miserable situation is just wrong. "Merry Christmas ya filthy animal"... like what? There's no need to be such a gowl like.
    Also he kept referring to him coming over and "meeting our girls"..
    His concerns should be about all underage girls not just the ones that fall within the parameters of the UK.

I agree with you to an extent, but these guys are witness to days / weeks etc of dirty messages intended for kids from these guys. We don't see or live through receiving that filth, they do. So I would give them a bit of leeway when losing their heads a bit when the guy starts lying to them on camera.

I would also keep an open mind about why someone would start such a group. There could be a high % chance that it was as a result of someone close to him being affected by Paedophilia.

Based purely on the video. I wouldn't invite him around for tea. But we only see 40 odd mins of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

I'm extremely shocked one of these loons hasn't copped the job one of his friends does... God help Facebook and the poor friend if and when they do...

Could be any number of reasons for people not dropping him as a friend. Perhaps they don't know, particularly if they live outside Ireland as this isn't going to be big news anywhere else - most people don't know what RTÉ is if they don't have at least strong connections with Ireland. Perhaps they believe in innocent until proven guilty (my mind is already made up on this one but it's harder to judge someone if you know and perhaps like them). Or perhaps they don't really use Facebook or have forgotten they friended him.

It shows how worrying vigilantism can be though - this guy has been caught and suddenly idiots think that means all his family and friends are guilty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭circadian

I don't agree with the openly public approach and livestreaming of this kind of thing. If these groups have gathered evidence then surely that should be forwarded to the authorities to investigate.

What happens when they get it wrong? (Wasn't there someone recently hounded out of a small town as they were mistaken for a known offender?) Think about it. An innocent person is approached on the street, accused of all sorts, authorities called and everything is streamed in real-time online.

So now this person is fighting a legal battle to prove their innocence, while having their home raided, possible repercussions with their employer, social standing destroyed and possible breakdown of their home life. What are the checks and balances for these groups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

humberklog wrote: »
    Huh??? There was no girl.

Ya in this instance. Who knows if there are not real girls on his FB friends list who are of similar age.

I know I agree with you alright it's a weird one I guess. The same as that "to catch a pedophile" program in the states. I don't know how their laws differ but those lads seem to get booked and incarcerated fake profile or not.

It's kinda like having a dog that's sick or something, you know he's eventually going to bite someone so best put him down before he does so.

I guess their ploy has proven he's a sick dog, like it or not, normal people don't get on a plane in the hopes they have relations with a child!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Chrongen wrote: »
    How can an imaginary girl have parents? Unless they're imaginary parents. But then how do imaginary parents have views? Imaginary views?

Read between the lines bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I wonder if these vigilantes have some kind of mechanism set up whereby they get paid as they view count goes higher. I'll bet they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭mel123

How can someone be charged with an intention. There was no actual girl in this particular case. Vigilantism at best.

There has to be laws for intent, if there was no ability to charge people, then these type of people could be allowed get away with what their intentions are, and by then its far far to late. Its the same as intent to murder, the intention is there, but for one reason or another, the crime wasn't carried out. There is still an accountability for actions that were planned to be carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Chrongen wrote: »
    How can an imaginary girl have parents? Unless they're imaginary parents. But then how do imaginary parents have views? Imaginary views?

he had 52 young teen friends on facebook. he was chatting with 3 decoys.

Its quite likely he was chatting and grooming real girls with real parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

wakka12 wrote: »
    Good thats he's caught. But really hate those kind of vigilante groups, they're completely unprofessional. You just know they're getting off on being famous for catching criminals rather than anything about childrens welfare, well they probably care but its definitely secondary. otherwise they wouldn't act the way they do

If the "professionals"in the UK did their job correctly in the past the working class would not need to take this action to protect their children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

anna080 wrote: »
    I really didn't like the main hunter guy. There's a way to do this kind of thing if you're going to do it at all and to just take so much joy and revel in a miserable situation is just wrong. "Merry Christmas ya filthy animal"... like what? There's no need to be such a gowl like.
    Also he kept referring to him coming over and "meeting our girls"..
    His concerns should be about all underage girls not just the ones that fall within the parameters of the UK.
    Methinks someone watches too many tv crime shows.

If they put as much effort into finding jobs as they did with peados i imagine they'd just be spectators like us rather then the bunch of tramps they are.

*Emphasis on the "IF"

The group and how they seem they seem to enjoy the whole process comes across as the second most awful thing about this video which by all accounts is pretty amazing considering the most awful thing is a guy had arranged to meet "a child" for some nefarious activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Be great if they could arrest the bloke doing all the talking as well, the absolute head melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,958 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

They guys on the video are a bit dum de dum, a bit simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Stab*City wrote: »
    Im sure the parents of the young girl he was grooming would have a different view of him.

There is no girl, the group set up a fake profile and they were the ones exchanging texts with the suspect ie the RTE guy caught.

Once they have the photo and arrange a time/place to meet the suspect, then they pounce, Im glad he was caught, how many times has he done this previously I wonder.

Here is whats ahead of him , life is ruined now, Job gone, possible 2 year custodial sentence, sexual offenders register, wife will no doubt divorce him.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/new-crackdown-on-child-groomers-comes-into-force

''Merry Xmas, you filthy animal''

WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Fake News

Just when you thought RTE couldn't reach a new low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Jaysus more upset about the guys who caught him than the actual pedo. Good work by those guys got him off the streets and exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Reading through some of the comments on this thread by some people  are very naive " we don,t know if he would of acted on his impulses etc " what grown man talks to & grooms a 13 year old girl on the internet then proceeds to arrange to meet that same 13 year old girl in real life if he,s not intending to act on his impulses ? the only error the group kinda made in my view is publishing any information that would identify him to the public as when its goes to court his lawyers could & will likely say/argue in his defence " he was trialed by the media " etc which could soften any prison sentence .[/font]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

They guys on the video are a bit dum de dum, a bit simple.

The rte producer doesnt seem too bright either.

The fake girls profile looked clearly fake.

Also these "catch a predator" style shows have been around for years.
    "Arrested Development" even satirised it years ago

The rte producer doesnt seem too bright either.

The fake girls profile looked clearly fake.

Also these "catch a predator" style shows have been around for years.
    "Arrested Development" even satirised it years ago

No one can defend RTE guy. He is wired that way, is it his fault he carries this attraction to younger girls? What is going on physically and mentally with guys like him?