If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I'd say you only ever have any lad work for you once 😂😂

I was going to say did he do a degree in QS before the accountancy. That's like a stunt a QS i know would always pull. For every 44 blocks per bale laid he would deduct the 4 in wastage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

47kg of rock salt got for the ladies. That should do them til Spring anyway!
    Also got chicken wire to fence off our GLAS trees, frigging hares have half of them eaten so have to replant a good lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Grueller wrote: »
    Average 14000 per day. Never track my steps running and also run about 30 to 40 miles per week at the moment. That will probably increase up to close on 50 by spring.

Have you something in the pipeline for Spring.....running wise? 50m a week is a lot, even for marathon training!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Parishlad wrote: »
    Have you something in the pipeline for Spring.....running wise? 50m a week is a lot, even for marathon training!

Be hard on the joints

Reggie. wrote: »
    Be hard on the joints

Maybe Reggie....and time will tell I suppose. However, it makes me laugh when I say to someone that I ran x number of miles and the response is...'ooh, that's very bad for your joints...' The same people wouldn't walk up the stairs for you and are likely to have a lot more health issues because of lack of exercise than too much of it.

True but I have relatives that run a lot of marathons and the likes. Suffer from problems with thier knees and hips but keep going. It's a thing if they stop they won't get going again I reckon. Like everything...its grand in moderation but some lads are built for long distance running no question

Reggie. wrote: »
    True but I have relatives that run a lot of marathons and the likes. Suffer from problems with thier knees and hips but keep going. It's a thing if they stop they won't get going again I reckon. Like everything...its grand in moderation but some lads are built for long distance running no question

That's true and maybe some are luckier than others. Long distance running is definitely hard going and, as you say,
    if you stop at all it can be hard to get going again. But after a day or so, aside from sore muscles, you are normally fine again.

Walking down stairs the day after a marathon can be a sight to behold though!!:D

That's true and maybe some are luckier than others. Long distance running is definitely hard going and, as you say,
    if you stop at all it can be hard to get going again. But after a day or so, aside from sore muscles, you are normally fine again.

Walking down stairs the day after a marathon can be a sight to behold though!!:D

Witnessed many a "john Wayne" waddling across a barracks after a marathon or ironman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I was going to say did he do a degree in QS before the accountancy. That's like a stunt a QS i know would always pull. For every 44 blocks per bale laid he would deduct the 4 in wastage!!

I'm a qs 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Also got chicken wire to fence off our GLAS trees, frigging hares have half of them eaten so have to replant a good lot.

White emulsion paint supposed to deter hares too. Painted on the bottom of the saplings.
    Nothing like a physical barrier though I'd think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Grazon

Long shot but would any one have a number for aidan bane in headford I'm looking for a few bales of straw.

White emulsion paint supposed to deter hares too. Painted on the bottom of the saplings.
    Nothing like a physical barrier though I'd think.

Ah now, I'd definitely be carted off to the madhouse if I started painting saplings! Sure it's better to do a job right first time and can always move the wire when they're big enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I spent a few years working against QS and a few years with QS. Some difference

But your man though he was throwing the saddle and feck that. He was paid the price it was agreed less e100. A lot of other lads would have told him to F off and never paid him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,583 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Cut some sections of yellow drainage pipe and slip them over each sapling.

Water John wrote: »
    Cut some sections of yellow drainage pipe and slip them over each sapling.

We have 450 of them?! :pac::eek:

If you did 50 tomorrow, you'd only have 400 left. Just codding.

Water John wrote: »
    If you did 50 tomorrow, you'd only have 400 left. Just codding.

Chicken wire was only €40, my sanity is worth a wee bit more :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭Grueller

Thinking of doing the Manchester marathon next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We have 450 of them?! :pac::eek:

It'll keep you out of mischief for a while

whelan2 wrote: »
    It'll keep you out of mischief for a while

True! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did you ever get checked out that you are running properly? Someone was telling me they weren't running properly at all causing pressure on their joints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Grazon wrote: »
    Long shot but would any one have a number for aidan bane in headford I'm looking for a few bales of straw.

@CloughCasey1 neighbours!

Funny man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I spent a few years working against QS and a few years with QS. Some difference

But your man though he was throwing the saddle and feck that. He was paid the price it was agreed less e100. A lot of other lads would have told him to F off and never paid him

Working for a main contractor now compared to how I learned as a subby... Poor subbys getting away with noting now :p

Poacher turned gamekeeper!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ah now, I'd definitely be carted off to the madhouse if I started painting saplings! Sure it's better to do a job right first time and can always move the wire when they're big enough :)

With us it's deer...they'll go up on their hind legs to get a nice nibble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Dozer1

was down in Kerry at a match Saturday, drove through the ballaghisheen pass, fabulous drive not a pothole to be seen credit to the Kerry crowd they know how to keep the place well. Never seen a football pitch as bad as the one they played on though stumps of rushes everywhere and no water in the toilets or showers....but the munster council lad made sure everyone paid going in though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Dozer, here's a thread on which to post your complaint.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057811247

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I was the same learning curve.