If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Grueller wrote: »
    In Lietrim with its population of 12 people, fairly good I would say!!!! ��

But that 12th person is waaaaaaaaaaaaay over the other side of the county :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Designated family day so oh chose Galway markets. haemorrhaged Cash.

Catching up on jobs now. Setting up site for the morning and putting blocks out for the garage. Another hour and I’m calling it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Catching up on jobs now. Setting up site for the morning and putting blocks out for the garage. Another hour and I’m calling it

It usually a rob for what it is but I haven't been in yet this year for a snoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Floki wrote: »
    Guy Martin is on CH4 now rebuilding a ww1 tank with the help of jcb.
    For anyone that's interested.

Big fan of Guy Martin. He's a cool customer. And mad as a bumblebee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,796 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A neighbour's son is building a house across the road from here via direct labour. He spends every night loading blocks onto the scaffolds around the house. OH and I helped him twice during the week. We brought the 50b and loaded the 4 way bucket with blocks.
    I'm kept busy over the last few nights feeding this fella. Unfortunately his comrade decided to choke himself yesterday in the teeniest gap between the gate and the wall. A cat would find it hard to fit through it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Reggie. wrote: »
    Got this planted yesterday

Super job Reggie - place looks good.

Base price wrote: »
    A neighbour's son is building a house across the road from here via direct labour. He spends every night loading blocks onto the scaffolds around the house. OH and I helped him twice during the week. We brought the 50b and loaded the 4 way bucket with blocks.
    I'm kept busy over the last few nights feeding this fella. Unfortunately his comrade decided to choke himself yesterday in the teeniest gap between the gate and the wall. A cat would find it hard to fit through it :mad:

Thankfully I’m not doing it direct labour. We hadn’t planned for the shed but had to do one for the heating system and my builder is too busy to do it so my neighbour is going to build it but I’d have to set things up. He will be slow but good to send some cash his way.

How often do you have to feed during the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,796 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Thankfully I’m not doing it direct labour. We hadn’t planned for the shed but had to do one for the heating system and my builder is too busy to do it so my neighbour is going to build it but I’d have to set things up. He will be slow but good to send some cash his way.

How often do you have to feed during the night?
    He is 16 days old today so he is on tad at the minute but I will put him on oad during the week when he is nipping better at meal.
    A dairy farmer friend had cows that were caught by a neighbours roaming bull. He phoned me asking to take the bull calves off his hands as he didn't want to rear them. Have 4 older ones from the same farm that are nearly off milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Thankfully I’m not doing it direct labour. We hadn’t planned for the shed but had to do one for the heating system and my builder is too busy to do it so my neighbour is going to build it but I’d have to set things up. He will be slow but good to send some cash his way

Block layers really love themselves. Wanting the blocks stacked for themselves.

When I had them in here last year he did all his own moving them. I moved about 200 of them once with the tractor but made him load the pallet.
    I have a single block grab for moving bales and first day he came to block lay I asked a friend to call down at 930am to borrow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,212 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Al Porter seems to be in a lot of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,299 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Passed some lads doing round bale lucky dips yesterday.

Just outside dungannon.

Jesus the field was in ****e, the bales before wrapping were all ****e, the tractors were destroyed with muck.

Drawing bales to top of field to wrap.

It can’t become anything but ****e in bales, things muse be awfully desperate to spend that sort of money making what could never be good feeding. I actually felt really sorry for him looking at the whole thing.

And then he has a destroyed field at the end of it all.

I presume the idea would be leave them the minimum time and then try and feed - would 4 weeks be ready for feeding, or will they just rot.

whelan2 wrote: »

But you’d know rightly by listening to him that he has something fuucked up going on in his head. He’ll be no loss to TodayFM anyway.

_Brian wrote: »
    But you’d know rightly by listening to him that he has something fuucked up going on in his head. He’ll be no loss to TodayFM anyway.

I couldn’t stand him at the beginning but I thought he grew into the role.

Bring back Anton at 9am. And muirean at 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »

What did he say?

ganmo wrote: »
    What did he say?

Its not what he said, it's what he did

I couldn’t stand him at the beginning but I thought he grew into the role.

Bring back Anton at 9am. And muirean at 12

Be a good lineup, then D&D at a time more appropriate for them.

Ohhh dear, just watched some of tue exposure video recorded by the vigilante group in the UK that caught the RTE producer going to meet a 13yo girl over the weekend.
    They were remarkably professional and restrained in their dealings.

Block layers really love themselves. Wanting the blocks stacked for themselves.

When I had them in here last year he did all his own moving them. I moved about 200 of them once with the tractor but made him load the pallet.
    I have a single block grab for moving bales and first day he came to block lay I asked a friend to call down at 930am to borrow it.

He’s a neighbour- plasterer by trade but a jack of all trades. Only getting him to keep the mother happy. I’d be lucky if he did two courses a day.

He come in handy when I’m in Oz to scrape slats and have a cuppa with the mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

ganmo wrote: »
    What did he say?
    He groped a number of men and also a patient at a mental hospital, apparently.

Plenty of berries on this holly tree on outfarm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    Ohhh dear, just watched some of tue exposure video recorded by the vigilante group in the UK that caught the RTE producer going to meet a 13yo girl over the weekend.
    They were remarkably professional and restrained in their dealings.

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Grid. wrote: »
    BqfaixZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Spent the day yesterday in Dublin with the missus xmas shopping... Did almost 20k steps in the day. Do any of the rest of ye track your steps??.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Herself got me a fitbit last christmas and l used it for about 3 weeks until l started getting a rash (on my wrist!) So its been dumped in drawer ever since. It was synced to app on phone. I do recall a few days of 20000 but anything over 10000 is good

Muckit wrote: »
    Herself got me a fitbit last christmas and l used it for about 3 weeks until l started getting a rash (on my wrist!) So its been dumped in drawer ever since. It was synced to app on phone. I do recall a few days of 20000 but anything over 10000 is good
    Got a garmin forerunner 25 for eldest lad for christmas, works out at 98 euro delivered on amazon. Cheapest I could get it here was 115. I just have an app on my phone 20k steps most days

He’s a neighbour- plasterer by trade but a jack of all trades. Only getting him to keep the mother happy. I’d be lucky if he did two courses a day.

He come in handy when I’m in Oz to scrape slats and have a cuppa with the mother.

3 lads and a labourer put in 1485 blocks into the footings of the “stables” in 1 day. There was a serious bust on

Paid 50c in the ground. And 60c above ground per block. He tried to do me 1000 blocks on his count that were never delivered.

So I charged him for borrowing my consaw and wheelbarrow and deducted it from the final payment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Spent the day yesterday in Dublin with the missus xmas shopping... Did almost 20k steps in the day. Do any of the rest of ye track your steps??.

Yep, I don't wear a watch so use a clip on pedometer as one. Average about 8/9k steps per day if I don't get a walk in at night. When I was on work exp in Dublin I was averaging about 25-28k steps a day, walked through two pairs of boots :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Grueller

Average 14000 per day. Never track my steps running and also run about 30 to 40 miles per week at the moment. That will probably increase up to close on 50 by spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

3 lads and a labourer put in 1485 blocks into the footings of the “stables” in 1 day. There was a serious bust on

Paid 50c in the ground. And 60c above ground per block. He tried to do me 1000 blocks on his count that were never delivered.

So I charged him for borrowing my consaw and wheelbarrow and deducted it from the final payment
    I'd say you only ever have any lad work for you once 😂😂