Al Porter Scandal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Malayalam wrote: »
    It should probably be career destroying. One would surely tell a child that if a teacher puts their hands inside their pants that this is wrong, and that teacher should lose their job. One would surely tell a teenager that if the coach put their hand inside their underwear that this is sexual assault and that coach should lose their job. Surely you would say to your friend home from work in the office whose boss or colleague has put their hand inside their underpants that this is assault and that the one who did it should lose their job. If it happened on the bus or the luas or in the queue for the grocery checkout then the person who did it should be prosecuted for sexual assault. Cheesus, it's not that hard. People should not insert their hands into other people's knickers uninvited.

There is a massive difference between child abuse and the groping of another adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

You seem to be extremely tolerant about sexual harassment/sexual assault.

Most people are not. Most people are disgusted and repelled by the allegations.

Who made you spokesperson for "most people" ?

Most people I know couldn't give 2 flucks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It should probably be career destroying. One would surely tell a child that if a teacher puts their hands inside their pants that this is wrong, and that teacher should lose their job. One would surely tell a teenager that if the coach put their hand inside their underwear that this is sexual assault and that coach should lose their job. Surely you would say to your friend home from work in the office whose boss or colleague has put their hand inside their underpants that this is assault and that the one who did it should lose their job. If it happened on the bus or the luas or in the queue for the grocery checkout then the person who did it should be prosecuted for sexual assault. Cheesus, it's not that hard. People should not insert their hands into other people's knickers uninvited.

Exactly. It seems some people want to downplay the serious allegations for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

There is a massive difference between child abuse and the groping of another adult.

At what age do they transition to it being okay? You mentioned being very young in your grope experiences. So, I can tell my twelve year old that they should wait to 16 to be groped. 18? That at 20 if someone puts their hand down your drawers you should lighten up about it.

As someone who was once trapped in a locked train carriage alone with a deranged inividual furiously masturbating at them, I'm just grateful he did not actually touch me, and did not think that an oul fumble inside my underwear would hardly add much insult to the escapade.
    Meh.

Swanner wrote: »
    Who made you spokesperson for "most people" ?

Most people I know couldn't give 2 flucks..

Ask most people you know what they think of sexual assault and get back to me on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

M5 wrote: »
    I guess Jimmy Saville can now be pardoned, as he too could be described as having a flamboyant personality?

Hold on now, comparing this in any way to Jimmy Saville is ridiculous.

Saville was an all out sexual predator with a preference for children and those that could not give their consent. He was a sick twisted and evil individual.

Porter is very young and younger still when these events occurred. Id be of the opinion that most 'celebrities' and comedians are fairly insecure individuals attracted to fame and making people laugh to try to validate their own self worth. He allegedly sexually assaulted some individuals in the manner of someone who didnt understand how to relate to other people correctly through flirting etc - they all attest that he stopped when asked to. Ive been on the receiving end of this from men and women and havent thought too much about it beyond feeling pity for the person and perhaps an insult under my breath as i walked away. He didn't rape anyone this is not in any way comparable to Jimmy Saville, Harvey Weinstein etc etc.

Is this being investigated by the guards? If I felt myself to be the victim of abuse that's where I would go, not to twitter. This level of abuse shouldn't take four years to gather the strength to come forward either, smacks to me of a bunch of jealous peers who didn't like his success and wanted to take him down a peg. From seeing him on tv a few times I would be in no way surprised if there wasn't some truth in the allegations but I'd bet my two front teeth that a person who goes to tweet rather then the guarda station is likely to add legs to a tale too.

Balmed Out wrote: »

Saville was an all out sexual predator with a preference for children and those that could not give their consent. He was a sick twisted and evil individual.

Porter is very young and younger still when these events occurred. Id be of the opinion that most 'celebrities' and comedians are fairly insecure individuals attracted to fame and making people laugh to try to validate their own self worth. He allegedly sexually assaulted some individuals in the manner of someone who didnt understand how to relate to other people correctly through flirting etc - they all attest that he stopped when asked to. Ive been on the receiving end of this from men and women and havent thought too much about it beyond feeling pity for the person and perhaps an insult under my breath as i walked away. He didn't rape anyone this is not in any way comparable to Jimmy Saville, Harvey Weinstein etc etc.

Is this being investigated by the guards? If I felt myself to be the victim of abuse that's where I would go, not to twitter. This level of abuse shouldn't take four years to gather the strength to come forward either, smacks to me of a bunch of jealous peers who didn't like his success and wanted to take him down a peg. From seeing him on tv a few times I would be in no way surprised if there wasn't some truth in the allegations but I'd bet my two front teeth that a person who goes to tweet rather then the guarda station is likely to add legs to a tale too.

The savile comparison came about due to the allegation regarding porter sexually assaulting a patient in a mental health facility.

I think the victim was in hospital recovering from depression. The Sunday times covered it yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

M5 wrote: »
    I guess Jimmy Saville can now be pardoned, as he too could be described as having a flamboyant personality?

Are you from that Kerry town where they celebrated that rapist caught on camera? It certainly sounds like the same thought process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

At what age do they transition to it being okay? You mentioned being very young in your grope experiences. So, I can tell my twelve year old that they should wait to 16 to be groped. 18? That at 20 if someone puts their hand down your drawers you should lighten up about it.

As someone who was once trapped in a locked train carriage alone with a deranged inividual furiously masturbating at them, I'm just grateful he did not actually touch me, and did not think that an oul fumble inside my underwear would hardly add much insult to the escapade.
    Meh.

I was in my teens and early twenties but the boys would have been about the same age. It's a very different situation than if a vulnerable child is groped by an adult. I was thinking more along the lines of night club or evening entertainment situations anyway, since that was the context of these events. Bit of a difference between someone grabbing your arse in a nightclub and someone shoving their hand down your pants when you are doing your shopping in Dunnes.

The savile comparison came about due to the allegation regarding porter sexually assaulting a patient in a mental health facility.

I think the victim was in hospital recovering from depression. The Sunday times covered it yesterday.

Haven't read it but would I be correct that as I understand it there are / were no complaints made to the Guards or the hospital and he himself denies it? If yes I would tend to ignore.

professore wrote: »
    Are you from that Kerry town where they celebrated that rapist caught on camera? It certainly sounds like the same thought process.

Not joining the flock of sheep who grab a pitch fork for a witch hunt or take as gospel everything some stranger writes on the internet would seem to me to be the opposite of the sheep mentality that went on in Listowel. Try to think for yourself.

Haven't read it but would I be correct that as I understand it there are / were no complaints made to the Guards or the hospital and he himself denies it? If yes I would tend to ignore.

Grand so, ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

I think his schtick is quite funny. He used the trope of being a flaming queen to make cutting comments. It worked. I found it hilarious to be honest.

For whatever reason, whether he was drunk out of his mind or knew exactly what he was doing, he decided to stick his hand in a stranger's jocks in the toilets, copping a feel and presumably made a habit of it.

You'd think he'd give a genuinely remorseful apology about being completely wrong but his apology or rather explanation tellingly offers no such remorse and is akin to 'twas only campy banter lads' and a worryingly deluded 'I didn't mean to offend anyone'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Thing is, he didn't actually deny it.

He gave a classic, "I'm sorry if I offended anyone" statement. In a perfect world, this would be read as a nice person being genuinely concerned that someone was offended, rather than admitting to having done anything.

However in the modern world we know this is a roundabout way of saying, "Yeah I did that, but I didn't think I was doing anything wrong".

If you're looking for an example of a denial, George Takei is a better one. He just flat out denied the allegation, and it goes away. And that's because in order to issue a denial you need to be pretty sure that the incident didn't occur.

If you deny an allegation and more evidence comes out, then you may as well start digging your own grave.

This is why a nonpology with no flat denial is usually taken as an admittance, not necessarily of criminal guilt, but at least that the incidents occurred.

seamus wrote: »

He gave a classic, "I'm sorry if I offended anyone" statement. In a perfect world, this would be read as a nice person being genuinely concerned that someone was offended, rather than admitting to having done anything.

However in the modern world we know this is a roundabout way of saying, "Yeah I did that, but I didn't think I was doing anything wrong".

If you're looking for an example of a denial, George Takei is a better one. He just flat out denied the allegation, and it goes away. And that's because in order to issue a denial you need to be pretty sure that the incident didn't occur.

If you deny an allegation and more evidence comes out, then you may as well start digging your own grave.

This is why a nonpology with no flat denial is usually taken as an admittance, not necessarily of criminal guilt, but at least that the incidents occurred.

He also mentioned the excuse of a flamboyant and outrageous persona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Mark Tighe of the Sunday Times was very moved by the individual in the hospital. The chap was in there because of acute depression and extreme weight loss - very bad shape to be subjected to what has been alleged.

Interestingly, when presented with this guys account, Al's people threatened an injunction and an on-the-record rebuttal from another well-known personality but in the end, neither materialised and they didn't even release a statement.

jooksavage wrote: »
    Mark Tighe of the Sunday Times was very moved by the individual in the hospital. The chap was in there because of acute depression and extreme weight loss - very bad shape to be subjected to what has been alleged.

Interestingly, when presented with this guys account, Al's people threatened an injunction and an on-the-record rebuttal from another well-known personality but in the end, neither materialised and they didn't even release a statement.

When people see those details it is quite shocking that other people are seeking to downplay the seriousness of the allegations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

His statement really does stink of "it was just bantz". Pathetic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

433975.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

When people see those details it is quite shocking that other people are seeking to downplay the seriousness of the allegations.

Maybe some of us are starting to suffer from witch hunt fatigue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭jack hackett

Cant say that I am one bit surprised over these revelations about Al Porter, he has a constant sleazy tone to him, he cant go one minute without turning it blue, there was that dimension to Gerry Ryan but he was more rounded in that regard whereas with Al Porter it defines him.

From day one I said that todayfm made a massive mistake taking on Porter and its totally backfired on them now and I'm delighted for them, they have some good solid options such as the likes of Muirean O Connell but they went with a guy who was all hype and now look where it got them...tv3 must be fuming, blind date was their big show of the year and it has been nothing but a disaster, one contestant was a thug who beat up an innocent man and the host turns out to be a sex pest??

Having said that, its hard not to feel (no pun intended) a bit sorry for Alan Kavanagh, he was on the crest of a wave, radio show, tv show, all his panto and comedy gigs and now his career is destroyed forever, no media outlet will touch him now and his panto career is ruined, they cant let a sex pest out in front of kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

This really does need a through Garda investigation, the time when so called "celebs" could use their position to abuse and bully others has come to end.

seamus wrote: »

I wouldn't draw the same conclusion. Sounds to me like an acceptance that he accepts something (though not necessarily what he is accused of) happened which could cause but wasn't intended to cause offense. From what I think your saying anything other then a complete refutation is an acceptance of guilt.

I am very uncomfortable with this trial by media where no actual investigation is carried out. It seems likely he misbehaved to some degree but if he admits that internet warriors will just presume the difference between what he admits and does not admit to must also be true but he cannot make a complete denial as there is some fabric of truth behind the claims.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭jack hackett

Maybe tv3 can commission another remake, this time Al Porter could do a remake of Jeremy Beadles show, you better watch out, Porter's about.... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Fully accept that they are not identical circumstances. I used the comparison to illustrate the ridiculousness of the excuse

While not identical, theee are plenty of parallels in behavior, the abuse of position, the unacceptable groping, the attempted whitewash, the assumption that the rules don't apply etc etc etc.

Most of the parallels are of course dowm to the "apology"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Al's defense seems to be from the school of thinking "Sure I was only having a laugh, they were big strong straights lads, Im only a little campy queen, what harm was I doing"

I think anyone defending him or saying it shouldn't finish his career, is probably coming at it from the same angle. Personally I wouldn't equate this with a woman dealing with a sexpest because I don't see the male victim here as vulnerable and powerless in the same way a woman would be with a male attacker. But obviously that's neither here nor there. No-one should have to put up with shít like this from the Al Porters of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

I've heard of him recently but never watched any of his comedy. I'm female and I've been groped in clubs and situations like that. I wouldn't really consider it to be sexual assault, more like nuisance behaviour from an arsehole. I've definitely groped guys too though, I mean I haven't grabbed a randomer's dick while walking around the place but I have groped guys I've been chatting to while drunk when I was younger, never considered what I was doing to be sexual assault and never had any complaints. Al Porter just seems to be a bit of an idiot, and putting your hand down someone's pants is a step too far but I don't think it should be career destroying.

and this is the thing. this behaviour by an large, seems to be acceptable if you are female.

i think if Al Porter was female and called Alison and did the same thing to men, it would be laughed off and accepted as normal in 99% of occasions.

it shouldnt be like that, men and womans actions should be treated and judged equally but it isnt and i think we are a long way off that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

why didn't any of them deck him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

AnneFrank wrote: »
    why didn't any of them deck him ?

Because this 20 year old guy that nobody ever heard of could make or break their careers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Having said that, its hard not to feel (no pun intended) a bit sorry for Alan Kavanagh, he was on the crest of a wave, radio show, tv show, all his panto and comedy gigs and now his career is destroyed forever, no media outlet will touch him now and his panto career is ruined, they cant let a sex pest out in front of kids

Who? :confused: