If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Great game of rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Always fun watching the figians play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭limo_100

Floki wrote: »
    What was the reason gave that your neighbour wants you to cut it for?

Also what did the council say on the phone and what was their reason for wanting you to cut it for?

overhanging bushes which is bull****, the council wouldn't come out and look.

Floki wrote: »
    Could be blocking sunlight from their dwelling?
    Could be overhanging further up than car height?
    Could have been growing out before the op cut the ditch tearing wrapped silage bales being transported on the lane?

Use a lane here to get to leased land and I don't own the land either side and I just went ahead and cut the ditches back off the lane out of my own pocket. The one landowner owned all the ditches though.

Heard tell of another landowner in another county who was green in politics and never cut their roadside ditches citing protection of birds and wildlife when it was just an excuse for tardiness. It got so bad on this narrow country lane that the whole parish was giving out about them and damage to cars, lorries, tractors. Eventually with pressure from the council they relented and asked a hedgecutting contractor to give it a light trim.
    As soon as the contractor started people were stopping telling the contractor to cut it back to the scut as it would be 10 more years before the hedge would be cut again. The contractor being from the same parish had that idea anyway and cut it right back. Moral of the story a properly maintained cut thick bush attracts more wildlife than a neglected bush and protection of wildlife can be used as an excuse for being a mean lazy hoor.

He complained after I cut the lane just a p*ick. The lane is a lot lower the the field its probably 6-7foot lower and my hedge on top of that its probably nearly 20foot high from the tarmac and 12-14 from the field. theres no overhanging bushes and all on top is loads of straight ash samplings and whitethorn. he has no dwelling there and the field faces north anyway so only ever blocks sun for me.sure the guy the other side of the lane his hedge is all collapsed because the this p*ick pushed it all into the drain with his tractor. A few years ago he sprayed the hole lane and it took two years to recover.

limo_100 wrote: »
    He complained after I cut the lane just a p*ick. The lane is a lot lower the the field its probably 6-7foot lower and my hedge on top of that its probably nearly 20foot high from the tarmac and 12-14 from the field. theres no overhanging bushes and all on top is loads of straight ash samplings and whitethorn. he has no dwelling there and the field faces north anyway so only ever blocks sun for me.sure the guy the other side of the lane his hedge is all collapsed because the this p*ick pushed it all into the drain with his tractor. A few years ago he sprayed the hole lane and it took two years to recover.

Did the council write or ring?
    Take pictures and respond to the council in writing.

ganmo wrote: »
    Did the council write or ring?
    Take pictures and respond to the council in writing.

ring but I told him Im not cutting another briar this year. He said he'd sent a letter cause he has to for formality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ring but I told him Im not cutting another briar this year. He said he'd sent a letter cause he has to for formality

You should have asked him why he bothered ringing you so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Any CAHL customers their lorry driver Eddie is on winning streak. Sound man

You should have asked him why he bothered ringing you so.

its just hard to think of everything at the time :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any CAHL customers their lorry driver Eddie is on winning streak. Sound man
    Saw that guy. Gas man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Odelay

Took a bad knock to the ribs very sore so went to the VHI Swift Care clinic. It went like this:

Parked 30 foot from the door, free parking.
    Admin took my details.
    Free coffee but no time to drink it.
    Nurse assessed me asking questions and checked blood pressure and temperature.
    Doctor then assessed me physically.
    Given pain relief.
    X-rayed to check for broken rib or punctured lung.
    X-rays read.
    Doc back, nothing broken just bruised ribs.
    Given prescription for pain and anti inflammatory.
    Back to admin, had a chat and paid €47 for x-rays.
    Out the door and into the car.
    Total time, 55 minutes.

I know I'm paying for the VHI but this is my third time to use swift care this year, great service.

Last time I had a rib injury I went to the doctor and he sent me to a&e, took 9 hours..... And then had to pay for hospital parking.... And had to pay a lot more for the doc and a&e fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Is this a private lane with rights of way, or a public road, maintained by the council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Brought the two oldest kids to the rugby match today for first time. They had a ball. Left the car in the red cow park and ride and got luas in. Paid for parking and fit tickets for us all. Think I was the only one actually paying tickets. Everyone seemed to be just hopping on.
    Got off at connolly and paid for dart tickets . It was like sardines.

Watched the match and did public transport back again. Painfully slow. Got to redcow and me ****ing car is clamped. Waiting over an hour now for the prick to drclamp it. €85 and waiting around Ruined a good day.

Parking ticket expired by 20 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

This is how I imagine Whelan2 powerhosing

Check out @thatsfarming’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/thatsfarming/status/931899818171133952?s=09

And now that song is gonna be stuck in my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭dzer2

sea12 wrote: »
    Brought the two oldest kids to the rugby match today for first time. They had a ball. Left the car in the red cow park and ride and got luas in. Paid for parking and fit tickets for us all. Think I was the only one actually paying tickets. Everyone seemed to be just hopping on.
    Got off at connolly and paid for dart tickets . It was like sardines.

Watched the match and did public transport back again. Painfully slow. Got to redcow and me ****ing car is clamped. Waiting over an hour now for the prick to drclamp it. €85 and waiting around Ruined a good day.

4€ for a full day man what were you thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ruined a good day.

Sickening dose, especially with kids with you.

Got caught myself in Trinity grounds. Herself had a student room booked for a week in the summer, wee lassie stayed up there at a summer camp.
    Jeep was logged as having parking privileges, but clamper refused to recognise them. The 2 prìcks at the entrance barrier hut had called them on me.

Likewise, 85 Euro.

Bought a pair of 3 foot bolt cutters the next weekend, and they live in the boot of the car ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Got caught myself in Trinity grounds. Herself had a student room booked for a week in the summer, wee lassie stayed up there at a summer camp.
    Jeep was logged as having parking privileges, but clamper refused to recognise them. The 2 prìcks at the entrance barrier hut had called them on me.

Likewise, 85 Euro.

Bought a pair of 3 foot bolt cutters the next weekend, and they live in the boot of the car ever since.

Would theu cut them

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Likewise, 85 Euro.

Have a battery angle grinder in car:D

Would theu cut them

Feckin sure.
    Only ordinary chain, not tempered or hardened.

Organised mugging.

In my case it was " now your clamped, even though we recognise that your in the right, you must pay for release and then claim it back"

Appeal was rejected. As I suspected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

For some reason that song always reminds me of GTA. Was it on one of the radio stations or in a gay bar or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

For some reason that song always reminds me of GTA. Was it on one of the radio stations or in a gay bar or something?

Vice city maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

dzer2 wrote: »
    Have a battery angle grinder in car:D

Heard tell of a local man cutting it with a hacksaw, cops rang him saying twas tampered with shouldnt have done it etc gonna be fined ge got it welded back 100% beat the shi#e out of it and made it look like scrap, told the cop it fell off no further questions

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Vice city maybe?

You could be right, think it was with the men dressed as the YMCA guys dancing on the stage. I was crap at it, used to go around in the combine and spend ages killing hookers to get my money back :D

4€ for a full day man what were you thinking.

Well I paid the 2€ with the tickets. Thought that was half day rate and it was 2.45 at that stage. Didn't think it would take so long to get out of city.
    Lesson learned. Get a bolt cutter for boot of car

Well I paid the 2€ with the tickets. Thought that was half day rate and it was 2.45 at that stage. Didn't think it would take so long to get out of city.
    Lesson learned. Get a bolt cutter for boot of car

I wouldn't mind but there is loads of parking close enough and you would be out on stillorgan road and on M50 in 20 minutes.

Yea was planning to go into ballsbridge as normal but then the sf ard fheis was on in the Rds do I said I'd keep out of it. Anyway annoying but sur no odd died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Yea was planning to go into ballsbridge as normal but then the sf ard fheis was on in the Rds do I said I'd keep out of it. Anyway annoying but sur no odd died.

You won't get the blame for Gerry Adams announcing his retirement so.

Wise move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Seems likely

Better living everyone

That's going to be compulsory for GLAS 4. :D

God, showing my age but remember Fab Vinnie playing that on MT-USA ...