If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

whelan2 wrote: »
    We dont use sugar in our house- have one bag for the puncture repair man, have it about 2 years - no salt used either. Kids wouldnt know any different, do many people still take sugar in their tea?

The mart in Ballinasloe only has pepper cellars on table. Thought it a very good move. Pure habit a lot of it. Putting it on before tasting the seasoning first.

I take no sugar in tea but would in coffee (when l drink it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

whelan2 wrote: »
    We dont use sugar in our house- have one bag for the puncture repair man, have it about 2 years - no salt used either. Kids wouldnt know any different, do many people still take sugar in their tea?

Gave up sugar in tea after getting about 3 new fillings in my teeth about 7/8 years ago. Went to the dentist two weeks ago, mortified to admit it had been 7 years since I had been in...the dentist was more surprised I hadn't a single new cavity. Could drink 4-8 mugs of tea a day. Used to put 2 spoons of sugar in them, amazing the difference it makes changing one thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone watching Christy Moore on lls?

Love his music but he's a bit tempermental. Seen him live a few years ago after he eventually turned up with no apology. Then gave out to the audience for clapping along with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭mayota

A legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Cantankerous bowsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Floki wrote: »
    Seems to be a bit of a golden age of innovation going on.

We're at the start of the second Ag revelution due the tech coming in the next 2 decades.
    Robotics and precision ag will change alot of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I wonder what's with the Longford jersey on Will Ferrell on the Late Late?

Hard to look at Gibson without thinking exactly what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭giveitholly

I wonder what's with the Longford jersey on Will Ferrell on the Late Late?

Hard to look at Gibson without thinking exactly what he is.

Think will Ferrell has relations from Longford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Think will Ferrell has relations from Longford

They're after discussing it there now. Gibsons mother is from Longford it appears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Muckit wrote: »
    Love his music but he's a bit tempermental. Seen him live a few years ago after he eventually turned up with no apology. Then gave out to the audience for clapping along with him.

"Meet the new boss, ..."

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Saw the clip of him singing lisdoonvarna by god hes gone wicked shook

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Just saw the thats farming snapchat of the sale of in calf heifers in balla mart, makes me wonder should i give up this dairy dream and head west and give the sucklers another shot.

Top price was €3050 for a tank of a simmental, halter trained but i cant imagine her running well on soft ground either, or grazing to 1500/1600kg

I have to admire those farmers confidence between a sh#t year weatherwise a fodder crisis looming and there spending this type of money on heifers, youd buy a lot of nice frieisan bull calves for that money

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭naughto

Just saw the thats farming snapchat of the sale of in calf heifers in balla mart, makes me wonder should i give up this dairy dream and head west and give the sucklers another shot.

Top price was €3050 for a tank of a simmental, halter trained but i cant imagine her running well on soft ground either, or grazing to 1500/1600kg

I have to admire those farmers confidence between a sh#t year weatherwise a fodder crisis looming and there spending this type of money on heifers, youd buy a lot of nice frieisan bull calves for that money

I was at it average was 2k per animal.
    A lot I though where in two good of condition so close to cafing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

When your talking to Suckler men (like myself), there's no such thing as nice frieisan bull calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I look at these prices and wonder what the hell am I missing. Pampered, overfed heifers and lads paying for future earnings that may or may not be there. I'd rather go to a clearance sale and buy a youngish cow showing her true bone and milking ability.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    When your talking to Suckler men (like myself), there's no such thing as nice frieisan bull calves.

A neighbour was talking about the low profit from sucker cows, and another lad suggested he buy a few friesian cows to fatten, and see how they went.

"To be honest, I couldn't bear to look at then" was the reply!

Hard fatten. Better off if he bought a few dry sucklers hed have better luck!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    A neighbour was talking about the low profit from sucker cows, and another lad suggested he buy a few friesian cows to fatten, and see how they went.

Twud be the equivalent of telling a dairy lad to milk simmentals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Twud be the equivalent of telling a dairy lad to milk simmentals
    We would if they were making more money than the other options. I'm not wedded to any one breed and have a number of breeds and Xbreeds here. As long as they perform, colour doesn't put money in the bank.

A relation who is beef farming loves friesians as he reckons he makes more money per head than beef cattle. As he says, a few coloured for the front field and the money makers on the rest of the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I'd nearly be the same myself. I gave long enough looking at the pointy feckers. I have a few blue cows out of bf cows and there about as pointy as I'm willing to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭limo_100

lads was just wondering to I have to cut the top of a hedge? The hedge belongs to me and is along a lane. I have the side of it clipped in of the lane but I dont want to cut the top of it

You might as well cut it, to be honest. Otherwise it'll just grow up and go gappy, and down the line you'll end up getting a lad in with a saw head.
    I hate cutting Holly trees in the hedge, as I like the evergreen look of them.
    But you end up with a hedge that you can't set the hedge cutter and drive on, always stopping and lifting it, so some compromise has to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭limo_100

You might as well cut it, to be honest. Otherwise it'll just grow up and go gappy, and down the line you'll end up getting a lad in with a saw head.
    I hate cutting Holly trees in the hedge, as I like the evergreen look of them.
    But you end up with a hedge that you can't set the hedge cutter and drive on, always stopping and lifting it, so some compromise has to be made.

Im not worried about that tbh Its a neighbour that wants it cut he gives me nottin but hassle all year round reports me for everything and hes the only one that uses the lane and wont pay anything towards it. I got a council phone call to cut it I told him the top of the hedge was mine and I wont be cutting it because no one drives on top of the hedge. I was just making sure I'm right in that the bushes are my property to do with as i please. Its mainly young ash theres thats growing

limo_100 wrote: »
    Im not worried about that tbh Its a neighbour that wants it cut he gives me nottin but hassle all year round reports me for everything and hes the only one that uses the lane and wont pay anything towards it. I got a council phone call to cut it I told him the top of the hedge was mine and I wont be cutting it because no one drives on top of the hedge. I was just making sure I'm right in that the bushes are my property to do with as i please. Its mainly young ash theres thats growing

Ah! That's a different matter.
    Let it grow to the sky. Perhaps plant a few Leyllandi as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

What was the reason gave that your neighbour wants you to cut it for?

Also what did the council say on the phone and what was their reason for wanting you to cut it for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Floki wrote: »
    What was the reason gave that your neighbour wants you to cut it for?

Also what did the council say on the phone and what was their reason for wanting you to cut it for?

Probably just looking to be awkward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Hard fatten. Better off if he bought a few dry sucklers hed have better luck!

Especially when the odd one might end up being in calf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Especially when the odd one might end up being in calf!!
    Buy one get one free :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Reggie. wrote: »
    Probably just looking to be awkward

Could be blocking sunlight from their dwelling?
    Could be overhanging further up than car height?
    Could have been growing out before the op cut the ditch tearing wrapped silage bales being transported on the lane?

Use a lane here to get to leased land and I don't own the land either side and I just went ahead and cut the ditches back off the lane out of my own pocket. The one landowner owned all the ditches though.

Heard tell of another landowner in another county who was green in politics and never cut their roadside ditches citing protection of birds and wildlife when it was just an excuse for tardiness. It got so bad on this narrow country lane that the whole parish was giving out about them and damage to cars, lorries, tractors. Eventually with pressure from the council they relented and asked a hedgecutting contractor to give it a light trim.
    As soon as the contractor started people were stopping telling the contractor to cut it back to the scut as it would be 10 more years before the hedge would be cut again. The contractor being from the same parish had that idea anyway and cut it right back. Moral of the story a properly maintained cut thick bush attracts more wildlife than a neglected bush and protection of wildlife can be used as an excuse for being a mean lazy hoor.