Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

You going to show up Sunday & let Marty beat you over the 10k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

OOnegative wrote: »
    You going to show up Sunday & let Marty beat you over the 10k?

Can't take another beatin from Martyboy so I might do Hollymount 10k instead, hold on maybe Snailsong might be doing that, can't have that decrepit ancient fecker beat me... I'll take my chances with Marty...:)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I love this log :o I love when there's an update and can't wait to read what you've squeezed in between flying around the planet. All the joking etc, but still knocking out a 19 min 5k. It's great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

OMG I saw one of those creatures only yesterday!!!! Looked to me like he had actually cut the ends of his jeans himself :rolleyes: but this guy had white socks on :eek: believe me, he'd have been better with none :D Who comes up with this ****??!!!!

White socks on show is all the rage now didn't you know, all the young lads are going for this look. The socks have to be whiter than white and the jeans end just above them... Vanish oxi action for whites is now top of every irish mammy of boy(s) shopping list, i kid you not :eek:

TBL what's Hollymount like, i've heard it's hilly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Time for a little rant about the latest male "fashion", saw a lad in London walking down the street with his slacks/pants only coming down to above the shin, about 6 inches above his ankle. Now this looked ridiculous by itself but he was also not wearing any socks and had a pair of leather loafers on. What the fcuk is that all about, not only did he look ridiculously stupid but it looked ridiculously uncomfortable! The only time I've seen the likes of that before was 40 years ago in school when a lad used to get the cast offs from his older but shorter brother or in college when I was trying to show off my 12 hole doc martens with red laces. (but in both cases at least socks were worn) :)

TbL

Here's a guide for you in case you decide to follow the trend , wouldn't want you making the wrong choices and looking ridiculous. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Decrepit, ancient and still recovering from Sea2Summit last weekend. Not sure if I'll go to Hollymount, I was there last year alright. Ariana, the 10k is hilly enough. It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too...
    Bogger, I think the Leenane 5 mile race is on Sunday so I might do that. Must confirm date. Expect ridiculous hills, atrocious weather and fantastic cake. I like to support this. It's for the ambulance, you might need them some day.
    Alternative plan, come to Westport parkrun and I'll pace you for 19:45 if I'm fit. I know the course well, this will be my 99th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

ariana` wrote: »
    White socks on show is all the rage now didn't you know, all the young lads are going for this look. The socks have to be whiter than white and the jeans end just above them... Vanish oxi action for whites is now top of every irish mammy of boy(s) shopping list, i kid you not :eek:

Clearly I'm not 'down' with the young folk.... I might just resign myself to the fact that tang is in fact right and I am in fact, old - possibly as old as TBL himself....
    snailsong wrote: »
    It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too...
    I know the course well, this will be my 99th.

Yiz can shove your 10K race where the sun doesn't shine :D:D has equality not reached the West yet??! (it hasn't reached the East either but that's a debate for another forum!).

Congrats on your nearly 100th parkrun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Decrepit, ancient and still recovering from Sea2Summit last weekend. Not sure if I'll go to Hollymount, I was there last year alright. Ariana, the 10k is hilly enough. It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too...
    Bogger, I think the Leenane 5 mile race is on Sunday so I might do that. Must confirm date. Expect ridiculous hills, atrocious weather and fantastic cake. I like to support this. It's for the ambulance, you might need them some day.
    Alternative plan, come to Westport parkrun and I'll pace you for 19:45 if I'm fit. I know the course well, this will be my 99th.

If ya updated your own log we could congratulate/wish you well on your 99!!! :D:D

Clearly I'm not 'down' with the young folk.... I might just resign myself to the fact that tang is in fact right and I am in fact, old - possibly as old as TBL himself....
    It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too...
    I know the course well, this will be my 99th.

Yiz can shove your 10K race where the sun doesn't shine :D:D has equality not reached the West yet??! (it hasn't reached the East either but that's a debate for another forum!).

Congrats on your nearly 100th parkrun!!!

I think this started back in 1965, before Katherine whatshername caused a scandal by running in the Boston Marathon. It was widely believed that if women ran more than 4 miles they'd no longer be able to have babies. Having a women's 4 mile race might have been progressive at the time. The event built up a tradition as being one of the top women's events in the West. So they kept it up. And they started letting women into the men's 10k. And you're still not happy :D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I think this started back in 1965, before Katherine whatshername caused a scandal by running in the Boston Marathon. It was widely believed that if women ran more than 4 miles they'd no longer be able to have babies. Having a women's 4 mile race might have been progressive at the time. The event built up a tradition as being one of the top women's events in the West. So they kept it up. And they started letting women into the men's 10k. And you're still not happy :D .

In fairness you said it was so the women could get back to make tea & sambas for the men!!! :pac: this explanation sounds a lot better alright...:)

Apologies for the log hijack C!

I love this log :o I love when there's an update and can't wait to read what you've squeezed in between flying around the planet. All the joking etc, but still knocking out a 19 min 5k. It's great :D

Tnx Hannibal S, hopefully there'll be more quality on the running front over the next few months :)

TBL what's Hollymount like, i've heard it's hilly?

I was a wannabe Mod when I was growing up and used to wear off white tennis socks to try and look cool, I never thought that it'd make a reappearance 35 years later! As SS said Hollymount is a well organised but challenging enough course.
    The Muppet wrote: »
    Here's a guide for you in case you decide to follow the trend , wouldn't want you making the wrong choices and looking ridiculous. :D

Tnx, that is exactly the type of garb he had on, didn't think it was fashionable, comfortable or winter appropriate. The only lads you see in Connemara with pants above their ankles are usually in their 60's and the said pants are held up with baling twine and smeared in cow ****e :)

Hey P, good to hear you've not featured in the obituaries pages yet :)
    Definitely won't do the 5k this weekend, but might take you up on your pacing offer. You doing the Fields?

TbL

Yes, most likely doing the Fields. Havent run a 10k since that race last year but might do the Beleek Woods 10k in Ballina in the meantime.

Working tomorrow so the coast is clear if you're going to Hollymount.

I ran 19:45 in the parkrun today since it was in my head. Away next week, RD the week after, then probably my 100th. Pace you any time after that.

Friday: plan called for 5 miles easy. Postponed this in the morning and in the evening Mrs TbL told me she was bringing the kids into town for the Christmas lights been turned on and Santa visiting Eyre Square. This really grinds my gears, Christmas crap a couple of weeks after Hallowe'en is just ridiculously early and a complete joke but I was summoned into town, told to get into the spirit of things as we were gonna traipse around the Xmas market. Ba humbug, no run. My kids were in the queue for the Ferris wheel just after it got stuck, another few minutes earlier and it would have been a long night!

Saturday: planned 5 miles for day turned into a 4 mile nursing home special as I ended up watching the young lad soccer training.

Sunday: plan was to race the Ballindeereen 10k that doubled as the county championships. Was confident that I'd beat my 43 high from the Connemara 10k 5 weeks ago but wasn't entirely sure what I should aim for. Got some guidance (that I didn't follow) and arrived with plenty of time to register and get a warm up done with my buddy. Wasn't really feeling the love this morning but the body seemed to be mainly niggle free. Was chatting to a few at the start line when I saw MartyBoy just in front of me, sidled up behind him and had a quick chat. He said he was targeting 41 minutes so I knew he was really targeting 40 and that he'd sail away ahead of me. I'm happy enough to be behind MartyBoy at the minute (well I'm not really I'm just being polite :)) but I'll be trying to put him under more pressure at the Fields of Athenry.

The announcer started with the usual race instructions and then said to be careful that there was a crew up the road filming a movie, with MartyBoy in the cast it musta been a horror movie :)

The race got going shortly thereafter and MartyBoy took off like a bat outta hell, after quarter of a mile I looked at my watch and I was six minute mileing and Marty had already opened up a decent gap, I pulled the pace back and secretly hoped he'd be hit with a camera boom or something :)

After slowing down too much I'd to pick it up slightly again and first mile came in at 6.28, felt ok but it was down a bit of a decline, a few minutes later and with nostrils full of the smell of rancid cow sh1te I started to feel the effort. There were a few drags and the effort level was rising and I wasn't convinced I'd the stomach for either the smell or the remaining battle.

I read recently that Paula Radcliffe used to count to a hundred to distract herself from the increasing effort. "One, two, three...", fcuk this if I've to count to a hundred as well as running I'll be walking in a minute. Decided to just try and reel people in. Passed 5k in 20.33 all the time picking off people and not been challenged by anyone else. Found the second half of the course tougher, it was a slog to finish and I'd no kick at the end. Was actually surprised that I did equal splits over the first and last 5k

Finished with the watch showing average pace of 6.34 and was immediately disappointed. I'd managed 8k in 6.30 two weeks ago and thought I'd be closer to that average. Clocked 41.06 which is a big improvement over the last 10k but...

Was sitting in my car afterwards when Dublin Runner came over to say hello. He looks in great shape and I hadn't seen him at the start, we'd a bit of a chat and he said that his partner E heard my name called out for the first over 50 prize!! Though she was joking but ambled back to check, sure enough all the decent over 50's must have gone to Hollymount. When I went to collect it the organiser looked confused and said that it'd been collected. She had a chat with someone else and came over and said that it was picked up by MmcG (MartyBoy!!) Not only did the fcuker hand me my ass he stole my prize :) I hope it's a pair of false teeth or a voucher for incontinence nappies :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That's Brilliant - (all of it).

Great time btw, your getting into great shape.
    DR's missus must be great with names - I only met her once but got a nice shout out from her at a race.

Did you ever find out what the prize was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

That's Brilliant - (all of it).

Great time btw, your getting into great shape.
    DR's missus must be great with names - I only met her once but got a nice shout out from her at a race.

Did you ever find out what the prize was?

1x asics water bottle
    €20 voucher for gotta run (formerly amphibian king)
    1 gotta run T.. (some dirt on it- it wasn't me!!!)
    Packet of bloxs energy chews
    Packet of sports beans ☺
    Pair of socks(UK 6-8.5 ☺)
    €20 cash.....

martyboy48 wrote: »
    1x asics water bottle
    €20 voucher for gotta run (formerly amphibian king)
    1 gotta run T.. (some dirt on it- it wasn't me!!!)
    Packet of bloxs energy chews
    Packet of sports beans ☺
    Pair of socks(UK 6-8.5 ☺)
    €20 cash.....

Thanks Marty, I think I'll turn professional now!

Comfy looking couch, you should spend more time on it between now and the Fields :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Well done yung man.

There I was thinking I might head West just to scalp the Lemon. I'm a long way off though! Well done C :)

Well done on the time and congrats on the first octogenarian prize. Hope we'll have a big smackdiwn at the Fields. Dud I mention I got a first 50 t shirt last year. Oh maybe I did...:D

Monday: planned rest day, I was in Dublin staying in Ballsbridge and I had notions of doing a 4 mile nursing home special around the leafy surrounds of D4 but I'd a very tight glute and IT band that was causing me knee pain so I spent 30 minutes stretching instead.

Tuesday: planned 5 mile easy, if a small package to pick up in Stephens Green and when I saw the traffic I decided I'd be quicker to run in, changed in my running gear and killed two birds with one stone!

Wednesday: planned session but I pushed it out a day as I wanted the knee to benefit from another easy day, got 5 miles very easy done around a local loop in noticeably colder weather.

Thursday: having switched yesterday's and today's runs around I was up for a session today:

Wu/cd with 1 mile @ 6.50, off 3 mins, 5 x 3 mins @ 6.30 off 90 seconds.

Headed to Dangan early this morning to get this done, very cold and it'll soon be time to dust off the base layer. Got the warm up done and started on the 6.50 mile out and back on part of the path along the river. Couldn't believe the struggle I was having with this and I'd to increase the effort a fair bit to hit the planned pace. Jogged up to the track to do the quicker stuff wondering how the hell I was gonna manage 6.30 pace. Today's session was a tale of two halves, struggled with a single mile and sailed comfortably through the 5x3 mins @ 6.30.

The watch definitely lies on the track, as Double D will confirm, and I'd say the paces were closer to 6.20-6.25. Felt very good on the reps, and the breathing never got ragged so happy with that.

I've really enjoyed the last months training despite the low mileage, that in the past would have had me thinking I was under training. I've raced 5/6 times in the last two months and really enjoyed that too. I've dropped weight (slowly) even with the low mileage and I feel I'm getting stronger and less niggle prone. If I can keep this going and slowly add the mileage sub 3 should be just a handy jog :)

1 mile @ 6.47

Reps pace:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

So ya made a balls of the session looking those paces or your showing off?! Been the same with faster bits, first one is hell but once that's over the others are comfortably manageable. Watch the knee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

The watch definitely lies on the track, as Double D will confirm, and I'd say the paces were closer to 6.20-6.25. Felt very good on the reps, and the breathing never got ragged so happy with that.

I've really enjoyed the last months training despite the low mileage, that in the past would have had me thinking I was under training. I've raced 5/6 times in the last two months and really enjoyed that too. I've dropped weight (slowly) even with the low mileage and I feel I'm getting stronger and less niggle prone. If I can keep this going and slowly add the mileage sub 3 should be just a handy jog :)

1 mile @ 6.47

Reps pace:

TbL

If you were running approx 750m of the track it was spot on and the watch was being ambitious, 800 and we know you are just showing off ;)

Definitely wasn't running two full laps, I'd say they were all between 750-780 metres.

In any case I was happy enough in that I could have done another couple at that pace if required.

Ps. Don't take that as an invitation/license to break my balls next week :)

TbL

The way things are going it'll be a mere formality for us both to go sub 3 next year. Probably tang and Marty too. Just a case of who gets around to it first. :D

Friday: the plan called for a rest day but I switched this with the planned 5 miles easy for Saturday. Early morning bog standard run around a local route, it was cold out and I needed a hat and base layer to keep warm. 5 miles very easy.

Saturday: travelled to London as I was going to the Palace/Stoke game in Selhurst. A friend of mine has a box there so I got to see the match in style. I knew it was gonna be cold when the Crystals (the Palace cheerleaders) came out in leggings!! Stoke were all over them but lost to a last minute poxy goal. No run.

Sunday: plan called for 1 mile wu/cd with 4 x 2 mile reps @ 7.00 off 4, 3, & 2 mins recovery.

Wasn't in the humour for this as I'd a mini eggs chocolate hangover from serious over indulgence at the match yesterday. Got the warm up done and started on the first 2 mile rep, this was mainly downhill with a strong breeze at my back and I'd to do this in reverse for the last rep so I knew I'd struggle to hit 7.00 pace. Decided to do the first rep a bit quicker knowing I'd leak pace on the last rep.

Challenging enough session, a bit of quicker stuff bundled into the longest run I've done in weeks made this tough enough. Was happy to have it done and was satisfied to see that I didn't fold on a tough enough last rep. Don't think I'd have fancied doing another rep though! The rain started lashing down just as I started the cool down and I was glad to get back to the house.

Away in London from Tuesday to Friday so I'll have to plan well to get the runs in.

Rep pace:

TbL

The way things are going it'll be a mere formality for us both to go sub 3 next year. Probably tang and Marty too. Just a case of who gets around to it first. :D

I couldn't break 20 for a 5k this year!!!!!! Sub 3 will be waiting !!!!!
    Friday: the plan called for a rest day but I switched this with the planned 5 miles easy for Saturday. Early morning bog standard run around a local route, it was cold out and I needed a hat and base layer to keep warm. 5 miles very easy.

Saturday: travelled to London as I was going to the Palace/Stoke game in Selhurst. A friend of mine has a box there so I got to see the match in style. I knew it was gonna be cold when the Crystals (the Palace cheerleaders) came out in leggings!! Stoke were all over them but lost to a last minute poxy goal. No run.

Sunday: plan called for 1 mile wu/cd with 4 x 2 mile reps @ 7.00 off 4, 3, & 2 mins recovery.

Wasn't in the humour for this as I'd a mini eggs chocolate hangover from serious over indulgence at the match yesterday. Got the warm up done and started on the first 2 mile rep, this was mainly downhill with a strong breeze at my back and I'd to do this in reverse for the last rep so I knew I'd struggle to hit 7.00 pace. Decided to do the first rep a bit quicker knowing I'd leak pace on the last rep.

Challenging enough session, a bit of quicker stuff bundled into the longest run I've done in weeks made this tough enough. Was happy to have it done and was satisfied to see that I didn't fold on a tough enough last rep. Don't think I'd have fancied doing another rep though! The rain started lashing down just as I started the cool down and I was glad to get back to the house.

Away in London from Tuesday to Friday so I'll have to plan well to get the runs in.

Rep pace:

TbL

Did you sabotage the run to some extent?? Not feeling the love from the start and giving yourself a way out of hitting pace for the last rep??
    It's still a very solid run, it's just the wording that caught my eye. Do you think if you did a 7 min pace for the first rep, you might of hit last rep??
    Just throwing it out there :)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    I couldn't break 20 for a 5k this year!!!!!! Sub 3 will be waiting !!!!!

Did you sabotage the run to some extent?? Not feeling the love from the start and giving yourself a way out of hitting pace for the last rep??
    It's still a very solid run, it's just the wording that caught my eye. Do you think if you did a 7 min pace for the first rep, you might of hit last rep??
    Just throwing it out there :)

Nah Marty, I thought I'd be in the range of 7.10-7.20 range for the last rep, I was holding (just about) onto 7 min pace until the last half mile where the uphill got steeper and the wind seemed stronger, so all in all happy with the session.

Did I see you running around town in my prize t shirt :)

TbL

Nah Marty, I thought I'd be in the range of 7.10-7.20 range for the last rep, I was holding (just about) onto 7 min pace until the last half mile where the uphill got steeper and the wind seemed stronger, so all in all happy with the session.

Did I see you running around town in my prize t shirt :)

TbL

If it was a nice one I'd have it ☺

Monday: plan was for 5 miles easy, Monday is usually my day off and I didn't realise I'd a planned run and took the rest day. I did do a S&C session, I don't like these as they usually involve a fair amount of effort and pain. I thought they'd be getting easier but I seem to have a lot of lazy under used muscles!

Tuesday: planned rest day but as I was heading to London for the rest of the week I wanted to get the session planned for Wednesday out of the way. Plan was for 2 mile wu/cd with 15x60 seconds hard off 60 seconds jog. I actually scoffed when I saw this session, "ha does he not know I coming back into form, piss easy session!"

Set off early morning to get this piss easy session done in Dangan. Was a bit stiff and sluggish on the warm up and I hit the track for the faster stuff. Christ this was hard, I was gulping and gasping towards the end of the 60 seconds and had to really concentrate to try and keep some decent running form. Typically the 60 second jog recovery seemed to go in a blink of an eye. My heart rate usually drops back down on the recovery in other sessions but it remained stubbornly high through this session. Delighted to see the back of that session and was happy that the paces stayed relatively consistent for the 15 reps. Won't be happy if I see that session on the plan again!

Might try and squeeze a race in at the weekend

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I had that same session today. Couldn't manage active recovery between all the sets. Had to walk a good bunch of the recoveries. killer session.