OOnegative wrote: » You going to show up Sunday & let Marty beat you over the 10k?
Annie get your Run wrote: » OMG I saw one of those creatures only yesterday!!!! Looked to me like he had actually cut the ends of his jeans himself :rolleyes: but this guy had white socks on :eek: believe me, he'd have been better with none Who comes up with this ****??!!!!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Time for a little rant about the latest male "fashion", saw a lad in London walking down the street with his slacks/pants only coming down to above the shin, about 6 inches above his ankle. Now this looked ridiculous by itself but he was also not wearing any socks and had a pair of leather loafers on. What the fcuk is that all about, not only did he look ridiculously stupid but it looked ridiculously uncomfortable! The only time I've seen the likes of that before was 40 years ago in school when a lad used to get the cast offs from his older but shorter brother or in college when I was trying to show off my 12 hole doc martens with red laces. (but in both cases at least socks were worn) TbL
ariana` wrote: » White socks on show is all the rage now didn't you know, all the young lads are going for this look. The socks have to be whiter than white and the jeans end just above them... Vanish oxi action for whites is now top of every irish mammy of boy(s) shopping list, i kid you not :eek:
snailsong wrote: » It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too... I know the course well, this will be my 99th.
snailsong wrote: » Decrepit, ancient and still recovering from Sea2Summit last weekend. Not sure if I'll go to Hollymount, I was there last year alright. Ariana, the 10k is hilly enough. It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too... Bogger, I think the Leenane 5 mile race is on Sunday so I might do that. Must confirm date. Expect ridiculous hills, atrocious weather and fantastic cake. I like to support this. It's for the ambulance, you might need them some day. Alternative plan, come to Westport parkrun and I'll pace you for 19:45 if I'm fit. I know the course well, this will be my 99th.
Annie get your Run wrote: » ariana` wrote: » White socks on show is all the rage now didn't you know, all the young lads are going for this look. The socks have to be whiter than white and the jeans end just above them... Vanish oxi action for whites is now top of every irish mammy of boy(s) shopping list, i kid you not :eek: Clearly I'm not 'down' with the young folk.... I might just resign myself to the fact that tang is in fact right and I am in fact, old - possibly as old as TBL himself.... snailsong wrote: » It's a 3 lap race with a hill up the main street each time. Great tradition, going for over 50 years with a group over from Liverpool each year. There's a separate women only race of about 6k which takes place before the 'men's' race. I'm told it's so the women are back to make the tea and sandwiches for the lads.:D Women are now allowed in the 10k too... I know the course well, this will be my 99th. Yiz can shove your 10K race where the sun doesn't shine has equality not reached the West yet??! (it hasn't reached the East either but that's a debate for another forum!). Congrats on your nearly 100th parkrun!!!
snailsong wrote: » I think this started back in 1965, before Katherine whatshername caused a scandal by running in the Boston Marathon. It was widely believed that if women ran more than 4 miles they'd no longer be able to have babies. Having a women's 4 mile race might have been progressive at the time. The event built up a tradition as being one of the top women's events in the West. So they kept it up. And they started letting women into the men's 10k. And you're still not happy .
Hannibal_Smith wrote: » I love this log I love when there's an update and can't wait to read what you've squeezed in between flying around the planet. All the joking etc, but still knocking out a 19 min 5k. It's great
ariana` wrote: » White socks on show is all the rage now didn't you know, all the young lads are going for this look. The socks have to be whiter than white and the jeans end just above them... Vanish oxi action for whites is now top of every irish mammy of boy(s) shopping list, i kid you not :eek: TBL what's Hollymount like, i've heard it's hilly?
The Muppet wrote: » Here's a guide for you in case you decide to follow the trend , wouldn't want you making the wrong choices and looking ridiculous.
AuldManKing wrote: » That's Brilliant - (all of it). Great time btw, your getting into great shape. DR's missus must be great with names - I only met her once but got a nice shout out from her at a race. Did you ever find out what the prize was?
martyboy48 wrote: » 1x asics water bottle €20 voucher for gotta run (formerly amphibian king) 1 gotta run T.. (some dirt on it- it wasn't me!!!) Packet of bloxs energy chews Packet of sports beans ☺ Pair of socks(UK 6-8.5 ☺) €20 cash.....
ThebitterLemon wrote: » The watch definitely lies on the track, as Double D will confirm, and I'd say the paces were closer to 6.20-6.25. Felt very good on the reps, and the breathing never got ragged so happy with that. I've really enjoyed the last months training despite the low mileage, that in the past would have had me thinking I was under training. I've raced 5/6 times in the last two months and really enjoyed that too. I've dropped weight (slowly) even with the low mileage and I feel I'm getting stronger and less niggle prone. If I can keep this going and slowly add the mileage sub 3 should be just a handy jog 1 mile @ 6.47 Reps pace: 5.57 6.02 6.01 5.57 6.00 TbL
snailsong wrote: » The way things are going it'll be a mere formality for us both to go sub 3 next year. Probably tang and Marty too. Just a case of who gets around to it first.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Friday: the plan called for a rest day but I switched this with the planned 5 miles easy for Saturday. Early morning bog standard run around a local route, it was cold out and I needed a hat and base layer to keep warm. 5 miles very easy. Saturday: travelled to London as I was going to the Palace/Stoke game in Selhurst. A friend of mine has a box there so I got to see the match in style. I knew it was gonna be cold when the Crystals (the Palace cheerleaders) came out in leggings!! Stoke were all over them but lost to a last minute poxy goal. No run. Sunday: plan called for 1 mile wu/cd with 4 x 2 mile reps @ 7.00 off 4, 3, & 2 mins recovery.Wasn't in the humour for this as I'd a mini eggs chocolate hangover from serious over indulgence at the match yesterday. Got the warm up done and started on the first 2 mile rep, this was mainly downhill with a strong breeze at my back and I'd to do this in reverse for the last rep so I knew I'd struggle to hit 7.00 pace. Decided to do the first rep a bit quicker knowing I'd leak pace on the last rep. Challenging enough session, a bit of quicker stuff bundled into the longest run I've done in weeks made this tough enough. Was happy to have it done and was satisfied to see that I didn't fold on a tough enough last rep. Don't think I'd have fancied doing another rep though! The rain started lashing down just as I started the cool down and I was glad to get back to the house. Away in London from Tuesday to Friday so I'll have to plan well to get the runs in. Rep pace: 6.41 7.00 6.46 7.06 TbL
martyboy48 wrote: » I couldn't break 20 for a 5k this year!!!!!! Sub 3 will be waiting !!!!! Did you sabotage the run to some extent?? Not feeling the love from the start and giving yourself a way out of hitting pace for the last rep?? It's still a very solid run, it's just the wording that caught my eye. Do you think if you did a 7 min pace for the first rep, you might of hit last rep?? Just throwing it out there
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Nah Marty, I thought I'd be in the range of 7.10-7.20 range for the last rep, I was holding (just about) onto 7 min pace until the last half mile where the uphill got steeper and the wind seemed stronger, so all in all happy with the session. Did I see you running around town in my prize t shirt TbL