If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we over the annual poppy thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,692 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Jawgap wrote: »
    Sums it up pretty well, imo.....(and better than I could)

https://twitter.com/bbcnewsnight/status/928013704532283399

"A public expression of a private feeling"

How about:

'The poppy is inherently political because it remembers one army. A public expression of a private feeling than can be offensive in countries that were the victims of that army.'

I think Frank Feighan might have shot himself in the foot here.
    For some curious reason, best known to himself, he has been making a great deal of sending one of these to Gerry Adams.

I think the boys were trying to get a reaction in the Dail (á la Frank own outburst in the house) or publically from SF.

They can not now complain when the Easter Lily is worn in the Dail.

Fail lads.

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2017/1107/918220-shamrock-poppy/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

How about:

'The poppy is inherently political because it remembers one army. A public expression of a private feeling than can be offensive in countries that were the victims of that army.'

Is that why the Royal Air Force plastered all over a Tonka?

Plus, it's not any more inherently political than a red rose (as the symbol of socialism) or a daffodil (a symbol of revolution) or even edelweiss (as a symbol of nazism) - if people decide to interpret as being political that's up to them. Not wearing a flower won't change their narrow world-view.

In that ridiculous world those people inhabit, wearing Kenzo would be a political act :D:D:D

For some curious reason, best known to himself, he has been making a great deal of sending one of these to Gerry Adams.

I think the boys were trying to get a reaction in the Dail (á la Frank own outburst in the house) or publically from SF.

Fail lads.

Kneecaps surely?

Is that why the Royal Air Force plastered all over a Tonka?

Plus, it's not any more inherently political than a red rose (as the symbol of socialism) or a daffodil (a symbol of revolution) or even edelweiss (as a symbol of nazism) - if people decide to interpret as being political that's up to them. Not wearing a flower won't change their narrow world-view.

In that ridiculous world those people inhabit, wearing Kenzo would be a political act :D:D:D

How much more 'narrow' can you get than remember only 'Irish' British soldiers of a pointless war and by not wearing other symbols state clearly, 'I will not remember them'?

Kneecaps surely?

How very Enda of you. Brilliant. Anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

The hundreds of thousands of Irishmen who joined the British army, navy or air force were joining the legitimate armed services of a democratically elected government. That is how they earned their living. If nobody did, democracy would have ceased to exist as Hitler would have invaded as he did plenty of neutral countries. The hundreds of thousands of Irishmen were generally good people, from all backgrounds, classes, political beliefs, etc

The difference with the Lily is that few people supported the illegial organisation which bombed Enniskillen who planted bombs in Manchester, Birmingham etc.
    Big difference.

maryishere wrote: »
    The hundreds of thousands of Irishmen who joined the British army, navy or air force were joining the legitimate armed services of a democratically elected government. That is how they earned their living. If nobody did, democracy would have ceased to exist as Hitler would have invaded as he did plenty of neutral countries. The hundreds of thousands of Irishmen were generally good people, from all backgrounds, classes, political beliefs, etc

The difference with the Lily is that few people supported the illegial organisation which bombed Enniskillen who planted bombs in Manchester, Birmingham etc.
    Big difference.

Are we again forgetting a similar list of the atrocities committed by the British Army on this island even while those men and women were over dying for the British?

The Taoiseach, as pointed out, has officially commemorated those men and women already who died, in a fitting Irish service.

He has elected now to remember those men and women with a British symbol, attached very clearly by the RBL to support for the British 'Armed forces past and present'.
    Much as you try, you cannot separate it from that, no matter what your 'private' thoughts or reasons are.

Are we again forgetting a similar list of the atrocities committed by the British Army on this island even while those men and women were over dying for the British?
    During WW2 the British did not kill any IRA members, even though, for example, five people were killed and 70 were injured when an IRA bomb exploded in Coventry city centre just a week or so before ww2. The only IRA members who were killed during WW2 were some executed in Irish prison by DeValera ( thats not taught in schools now ;) ) and Sean Russell, who attempted to co-operate with the Nazis and died in their hands.

He has elected now to remember those men and women with a British symbol,
    A green poppy is not a British symbol. Even a red poppy is more international than that. The idea was first thought up and introduced by a Canadian, American and french person, among others, I think. It is a symbol of Rrembrance, not a symbol of political allegiance as the lily is. People of all backgrounds, faiths, political beliefs can remember and respect those who have served or made sacrifices in the defence of these islands. The Taoiseach has Indian connections, and two and a half million Indians volunteered to serve in WW2 with British forces too. He may also be thinking of them, and respecting their memory.

Big difference.

Irrelevant. Forces of the state can commit questionable acts too. Ask the citizens of Dresden. Any chance of you supplying proof for those unsubstantiated claims you made last night btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

The Taoiseach, as pointed out, has officially commemorated those men and women already who died, in a fitting Irish service.

He has elected now to remember those men and women with a British symbol, attached very clearly by the RBL to support for the British 'Armed forces past and present'.
    Much as you try, you cannot separate it from that, no matter what your 'private' thoughts or reasons are.

True leo has set a precedent. I think Adams will wait until close to Easter before raising it or leave it to Mary Lou.

Unless you have a screw loose the poppy is a divisive issue here in Ireland no matter what part of the Island you hail from. Down south it's not an issue as those wearing it are minimal. the period 1914 to 1918 was a dire period of history with people sent to their death by lying govts as repeated by the Iraq war if not quite on the same scale.That should be the only lesson learned from world war 1.

Forces of the state can commit questionable acts too.
    Certainly. Nobody is denying that. In any county or democracy.
    Ask the citizens of Dresden.
    And ask the citizens of Coventry or London or belfast , where many thousands were killed, a few years before that.
    Any chance of you supplying proof for those unsubstantiated claims you made last night btw?
    done already. Any chance of you supplying proof for your unsubstantiated claims?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Fail lads.

Ah yes, the same Frank Feighan who elbowed an elderly Roscommon hospital protester when Enda Kenny was in town and more recently has aspirations of Ireland returning to the Commonwealth.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ireland-should-consider-rejoining-commonwealth-fg-senator-says-1.2693804

He has a history of a clown like activity to be fair.

During WW2 the British did not kill any IRA members. The only IRA members who were killed during WW2 were some executed in Irish prison by DeValera ( thats not taught in schools now ;) ) and Sean Russell, who attempted to co-operate with the Nazis and died in their hands.

A green poppy is not a British symbol. Even a red poppy is more international than that. The idea was first thought up and introduced by a Canadian, American and french person, among others, I think. It is a symbol of Rrembrance, not a symbol of political allegiance as the lily is. People of all backgrounds, faiths, political beliefs can remember and respect those who have served or made sacrifices in the defence of these islands. The Taoiseach has Indian connections, and two and a half million Indians volunteered to serve in WW2 with British forces too. He may also be thinking of them, and respecting their memory.

You cannot divorce the wearing of a poppy from it's intention by specifying what you think it means when faced with a bit of controversy.
    By all means wear it, if so inclined, but remember what it's intention is.

432895.jpg

the period 1914 to 1918 was a dire period of history.

certainly. And do not forget the invading German forces then. Ever hear of the rape of little Catholic Belgium?

Let us remember those who saved us from German forces in 2 world wars.

And ask the citizens of Coventry or London or belfast , where many thousands were killed, a few years before that.

So forces of the state commit questionable acts. Thats my point.
    done already.

No you haven't. Stop telling porky pies Mary.
    Any chance of you supplying proof for your unsubstantiated claims?

What 'unsubstantiated claims' have I made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,019 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Maybe if and whataboutery. Many in the UK would say that respecting the fallen of 2 world wars is above politics, and you get nearly everyone from all political beliefs, backgrounds, creeds, social classes etc agreeing on one thing.

What do you think of the former vice-president of Fifa warning "controversial footballer" James McClean that the time has come to stop mixing sport and politics?

Is that the Northern Irish ex vice president of FIFA?

certainly. And do not forget the invading German forces then. Ever hear of the rape of little Catholic Belgium?

Let us remember those who saved us from German forces in 2 world wars.

I will remember who I choose not who you dictate. I will remember my ancestors who fought against the terrorists such as the Black and Tans and who led us to independence.

Is that the Northern Irish ex vice president of FIFA?

That's him the lad who through his policies have led to numerous players heading south.

Why should he live in England and pay taxes towards supporting the army if he is such a critic of that army, and justifies the murder of over 1000 members of that army in N.Ireland?
    As someone else said:
    "someone so "principled" he still CHOOSES to earn a living in England!!!

a bit like "Devout Muslims" CHOOSING to live under Christianity!"

Plenty of people from the forces gave their lives so he and others could have their freedom.

Even if he played for his home town team his taxes would go to the same place. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

I think the green poppy is a great idea
    There is a clear difference between its purpose and the fielty the normal poppy implies to the current British forces

It commemorates WW1 and 2 Irish veterans and families
    It’s really only the latter left alive
    It has no affiliation with current British forces

There is a clear difference between its purpose and the fielty the normal poppy implies to the current British forces

Was it not a shamrock with a red poppy in the middle

Yes it is,but it has as much to do with current British forces as the cancer societies daffodil day has to do with st David’s day
    It’s to commemorate and support aswell as support the comeroration of Irish soldiers who fought in the British Army in the two world wars,hence the poppy in the badge

It's a red poppy inside a shamrock. (It really should be a shamrock inside a Red poppy if right was right.)

It has an affiliation to current and past British Armed forces. No matter how much you protest.
    Here is a similar badge used by the UVF, who bombed Dublin and Monaghan with the alleged assistance of the British. See anything familiar?
    432896.jpg

What Varadkar should be doing is commemorating these men and women in an Irish way and not trolling the Dáil with this.

It's a red poppy inside a shamrock. (It really should be a shamrock inside a Red poppy if right was right.)

It has an affiliation to current and past British Armed forces. No matter how much you protest.
    Here is a similar badge used by the UVF, who bombed Dublin and Monaghan with the alleged assistance of the British. See anything familiar?
    432896.jpg

What Varadkar should be doing is commemorating these men and women in an Irish way and not trolling the Dáil with this.

Where is the affiliation with current British forces or indeed any outside the two world wars?

See my earlier post, of the RBL website.

It very graphically shows the contradiction inherent in wearing a poppy of any kind.

You personally can wear one if you want, but a Taoiseach of this country should be aware of the sensitivities inherent in wearing this emblem. (as should anyone wearing partisan, political emblems btw, Easter Lily's incl. Which is why apparently there are rules governing wearing them in the Oireachtas)

The Taoiseach, carrying on from Enda, was attempting to cheaply troll the Dáil.

Threads like this make me realise I could never subscribe to the narrow form Shinner republicanism.....

......it must be exhausting to spend your everyday in high dudgeon and being permanently outraged ;)

See my earlier post, of the RBL website.

It very graphically shows the contradiction inherent in wearing a poppy of any kind.

You personally can wear one if you want, but a Taoiseach of this country should be aware of the sensitivities inherent in wearing this emblem. (as should anyone wearing partisan, political emblems btw, Easter Lily's incl. Which is why apparently there are rules governing wearing them in the Oireachtas)

The Taoiseach, carrying on from Enda, was attempting to cheaply troll the Dáil.

Since when would a nationalist take any heed of what loyalists think?
    Shur they think Ulster is part of Britain :rolleyes:
    We have diplomatic relations with the UK,whose Queen has laid wreaths to Commemorate our dead who fought her predecessors armies
    I can understand the purist opposition to wearing a full British legion poppy indistinguishable from one sold to support current British veterans but opposition to the Irish version which has as part of its symbol a deference to what army these Irish veterans fought under is just too Rigid in my view
    Especially when it’s unique and supports only the Irish dead
    Time to move on from that element

Since when would a nationalist take any heed of what loyalists think?
    Shur they think Ulster is part of Britain :rolleyes:
    We have diplomatic relations with the UK,whose Queen has laid wreaths to Commemorate our dead who fought her predecessors armies
    I can understand the purist opposition to wearing a full British legion poppy indistinguishable from one sold to support current British veterans but opposition to the Irish version which has as part of its symbol a deference to what army these Irish veterans fought under is just too Rigid in my view
    Especially when it’s unique and supports only the Irish dead
    Time to move on from that element

hmm the design of the poppy is the same design as worn on football tops.

they could have followed the Canadian design if they wanted to be different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,712 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

There is already an alternative to the red poppy but the bloodthristy diss it

white.png
    157875187-e1478867902803.jpg