If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are ye eatin'? (NOW WITH DRINKING!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Haven't had decent savoury mince in so long. Tried a few packet sauces, but they didn't have a great flavour. I feckin love savoury mince, especially over mash. You have made me crave savoury mince tonight. Imagine if there was a takeaway that served Shep/Cott Pie, Savoury mince and all our other homemade faves.:D

It's comfort food. I used to work when I was very young starting off in a place that did take away stuff like that. Lasagne, spag bol, pies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

It's comfort food. I used to work when I was very young starting off in a place that did take away stuff like that. Lasagne, spag bol, pies.

We need that sort of takeaway, but I fear the Irish are gone too snobby for it. It amazes me to think that if I don't feel like cooking a decent dinner, my only takeaway option is effectively junk food. Imagine if I could order up a steak in guinness pie and mash right now? Jaysus I'd be over the moon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,279 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I was eating a salmon darne with fresh coleslaw and roast potatoes but the wife started ranting so now I'm eating a pint of Carlsberg.

Or two.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ben & Jerry's Phish Food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Fish fingers, beans and sweet potato fries

Washed down with mi wadi orange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

My brother cooked me spag bol tonight - delicious but feeling quite full now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

We need that sort of takeaway, but I fear the Irish are gone too snobby for it. It amazes me to think that if I don't feel like cooking a decent dinner, my only takeaway option is effectively junk food. Imagine if I could order up a steak in guinness pie and mash right now? Jaysus I'd be over the moon!

I think these will start and get quite common here. I hope so anyway. Healthy, home made takeaway would be great. Although I would say that some takeaways, indian and Thai for example, can have some options that wouldn't be all that bad.

When I was growing up a local carvery pub used to do takeaway. You had to go over with your own plate. So funny. It stopped when management changed.

Where I live now, the local pub used to sell of slabs of cooked meat at the end of Sunday carvery. The chef used to give it away after he'd close up too. Many a time my husband would come home after a few drinks with a parcel of beef and chicken in foil. Handy for pies.

Anyway, apologies for the tangent. Brie and bread with strong coffee.

Chicken and sweetcorn sandwich on brown. Pint of milk.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Some sausage sandwiches for lunch. They were OK, nothing special.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,520 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Pastry & coffee

Cmod Science, Health, and Environment

Mashed potatoes, Brocoli, Smoked Cooley

Dessert was Warm Apple pie and Ice cream

Washed down with a nice big glass of original (not that new crap) lucozade :D

It was fish n chips all round from the chipper tonight. Two fillets and a smoked cod. Added mushy peas and bread and butter. Cheesecake afterwards. Lots of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

On my third Guinness, gonna tuck into some rice and lentil curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

It was fish n chips all round from the chipper tonight. Two fillets and a smoked cod. Added mushy peas and bread and butter. Cheesecake afterwards. Lots of milk.

I was with you till you said milk, lol, the devil's juice !!

I had a Tesco bean burger, some roasted cherry tomatoes and Uncle Ben's vegetable pilau with garlic bread. Some Chianti, but not a fava bean in sight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭yabbav

73Cat wrote: »
    I was with you till you said milk, lol, the devil's juice !!

I had a Tesco bean burger, some roasted cherry tomatoes and Uncle Ben's vegetable pilau with garlic bread. Some Chianti, but not a fava bean in sight :)

Something key is missing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

yabbav wrote: »
    Something key is missing

?????? :)
    Edit to say I bet it's meat ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

27 million glasses of wine.

Ok, 3, but may as well be 27 million.

I heart wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

73Cat wrote: »
    ?????? :)
    Edit to say I bet it's meat ??

I'm thinking chips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Just ordered sashimi again. Extra soy sauce, and wasabi, and soy sauce. :)

Wonder what my fortune cookie will say this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

im locked should stop posting on boards now

Had takeaway tonight as I didn’t have time to cook anything

Salad burger, chips, portion of curry sauce and some onion rings :)

Washed down with Club Orange

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,520 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Bar-b-q steak

Cmod Science, Health, and Environment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Having some drinks while posting this and waiting for the next UFC 217 fight to start. Dick Strawbridge and his dirty scrambled-egg-scraps concealing moustache doing something with swords is on UTV in the background.

Don't be judging me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Holy communion ... a delicious slice of the body of christ ... nyom nyom nyom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Some Andes Creme de Menthe Thins. They are pretty much the only chocolate I can eat here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A can of 7up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

About to tuck into a roast dinner. Roast chicken (for the husband), roast spuds,stuffing, honey glazed carrots,peas,bread sauce,Yorkshire pudding and loads of tick,tick gravy. Sherry trifle to follow, 'cause I'm an old fashioned girl. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Pulled pork nachos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Snaktastic cheese and onion crisps - they are the bomb