Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 03-11-17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

In fairness to Heroditas McGregor stressed how the baby being a son was even better as he'd carry on the lineage. It was obvious that he valued having a son over a daughter.

I can see how this might offend people as it seems to lessen the value of a female child.

It's very much the old irish question after a birth 'is it a boy or a child'! If i'm being perfectly honest i'd like to have a son to carry my surname and lineage on!! Irrational and outdated i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭Heroditas

nagdefy wrote: »
    In fairness to Heroditas McGregor stressed how the baby being a son was even better as he'd carry on the lineage. It was obvious that he valued having a son over a daughter.

I can see how this might offend people as it seems to lessen the value of a female child.

It's very much the old irish question after a birth 'is it a boy or a child'! If i'm being perfectly honest i'd like to have a son to carry my surname and lineage on!! Irrational and outdated i know.

Thank you!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Conor mc Gregor is a classless gimp. Along with anyone who talks about UFC for that matter.

All mé féin, what good does he do for society? Nothing. Zilch.

How a tallaght knacker got that accent in such a short space of time is beyond me.

Even worse above all that,his homophobic slur makes me ashamed to be Irish. Glad he doesn't get one cent from me the complete fúckwit.

Ask him how electricity works tubs

I like UFC and MMA in general. Why does he have to do anything for society?
    What do you do?
    Its not very classy of you to call someone who has made a success of themselves a knacker.

"Tubs" you say. Would you be a jealous southsider by any chance?

Or an attempt at a troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I can imagine Joe Duffy Monday morning

"I've a woman on from Clontarf, she isn't happy wizz a way Conor McGregor was doing the referring thing of the masculinity of his boy and the fact that he was wishing the legacy stuff wiz the boy and that she would be expecting him to be doing the gender neutral type stuff that the PC brigade that do be doing the tweeting on the twitter these days do be doing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

What colour is his working? :pac:

See through.

Conor mc Gregor is a classless gimp. Along with anyone who talks about UFC for that matter.

How a tallaght knacker got that accent in such a short space of time is beyond me.

Even worse above all that,his homophobic slur makes me ashamed to be Irish. Glad he doesn't get one cent from me the complete fúckwit.

Be that as it may re. McGregor but your condemnation of him doesn't show much class on your part! I have no time for the sport but you can't label a man as you have without knowing the first thing about him as a person. I have friends who were born in Tallaght and who completed masters and PHDs.

McGregor may or may not know the science behind electricity but he can create plenty of it.

As regards what good he does for his country, you could apply that to many irish 'stars'. Bono for example.

Classless, indeed.

Well done sir.

Oh, fyi (if your brain can comprehend it, he is not even from Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Heroditas wrote: »

Thank you!
    He should be thankful that he has a child who is healthy. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

I'm just wondering out of curiosity, how much is Ryan Tubridy paid a week?

Less than McGregor now :P
    So he gets paid nearly 10k every week for presenting a one-hour show on Radio 1 for 5 mornings and then to do the Late Late on a Friday evening. Don't get me wrong, I watch the Late Late every Friday and quite like Tubriday as a person, I have met him a few times.

I never understood why he is paid that much. Can someone explain?
    I know Joe well, he is a very hard-working man but why are they paid so much?

RTE say, they're paid the going rate & just in case they move elsewhere ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Conor mc Gregor is a classless gimp...

Even worse above all that,his homophobic slur makes me ashamed to be Irish....

So some slurs are bad, but others are fine.

Gotcha.

Arghus wrote: »
    So some slurs are bad, but others are fine.

Gotcha.

Unfairly offensive to gimps and knackers all over the country.

He should be thankful that he has a child who is healthy. !

Now you said it Donkeykong.

Hoping for a male child is still a big thing, i'd have knowledge of it from the farming community. Want to keep land in a family name where it has been for generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Be that as it may re. McGregor but your condemnation of him doesn't show much class on your part! I have no time for the sport but you can't label a man as you have without knowing the first thing about him as a person. I have friends who were born in Tallaght and who completed masters and PHDs.

McGregor may or may not know the science behind electricity but he can create plenty of it.

As regards what good he does for his country, you could apply that to many irish 'stars'. Bono for example.

I'm no fan of bono but he has done a lot more for the world than this tool will ever do. Shíte talk, smash, grab repeat. If he had done well for himself and had a bit more tact he would be a great role model for young fellas but nope.

I didn't know where he was from I'll admit I thought it was tallaght. Nothing against tallaght. He could be from lisdoonvarna and I'd stíl call his behaviour knackerish (read:homophobic slur)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Autochange wrote: »
    Joe Duffy dosnt really do anything on Liveline. The people calling in do most of the talking. He is just adds in a few lines every now and then such as " thats terrible" Did you report it?" and "stay on the line"
    Not all the time.

Only today a lad said to him, "Your people called me and asked me to talk because I'm involved in the Waterford hospital group". It was a discussion on John Halligan going to N Korea.

I'm no fan of bono but he has done a lot more for the world than this tool will ever do. Shíte talk, smash, grab repeat. If he had done well for himself and had a bit more tact he would be a great role model for young fellas but nope.

I didn't know where he was from I'll admit I thought it was tallaght. Nothing against tallaght. He could be from lisdoonvarna and I'd stíl call his behaviour knackerish (read:homophobic slur)

I used to think exactly the same about his behaviour when he came on the scene first. But i was naive. That's what MMA and UFC thrive on. Without being a loud thrash talking braggart he would never have become the 'notorious' and earned his millions. That's what puts bums on seats.

Muhammed Ali pioneered a more 'benign' form of thrash talking and mouthing in the 1960s. Funny how he labelled Joe Frazier an Uncle Tom on Civil Rights etc and Frazier's son Marvis had to be taken out of school due to resultant taunting and bullying. But Ali is remembered as a hero today and Frazier all but forgotten. As far as i know McGregor's behaviour never resulted in death threats (as Frazier received) or opponent's children being taken out of school due to bullying.

Note to self: Be like Bono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

RobertKK wrote: »
    Who is buying all this?

RayM and his ilk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Missed the show last night and came hear to read up on it. Surprised there is littke talk of ibrahim halawa - just pages and pages of conor mcgregor talk.
    I only seen one or two comments about ibrahim halawa in the last few pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,908 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Go back a bit, theres plenty of chat about him when he was on.

Edit: most of it not too complimentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bossdrum

GiftofGab wrote:
    Missed the show last night and came hear to read up on it. Surprised there is littke talk of ibrahim halawa - just pages and pages of conor mcgregor talk. I only seen one or two comments about ibrahim halawa in the last few pages.

That's probably because Halawa was on at the start of the show and McGregor at the end.
    The majority of comments on each in the thread would logically follow their time of appearance on the show.
    Or are you being sarcastic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

How can people (men) not understand that lineage = son. The son can become an improved V2 of his father. And in McGregor’s case, a UFC champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Its funny how he thinks he could have beating Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

splinter65 wrote: »
    His sisters were all over the media berating us that he was on hunger strikes in conditions akin to a Japanese prisoner of war camp.
    Then he steps through Arrivals at Dublin Airport looking like a film star.
    The family aren’t even bothering to try to keep up the pretence because there’s enough breast beating Bleeding hearts like you who will swallow just about any kind of nonsense as long as no one pushes you about your heroes stance on equality for women and gay people.

God forbid.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

RayM wrote: »
    A lot of people made their minds up about him a long time ago, and nothing he said during that interview was going to change their mind. Tubridy asked the difficult questions, and he answered them. He was a seventeen year old, who got jailed for four years without a trial. He has been found guilty of no crime at all. I'm sorry that you think it's immature and insulting, but I do not believe that people would be this angry about him if he was white and had an Irish name. And of course they're not stupid enough to directly bring his race up - their racism is far sneakier than that.

There you go bringing up his race again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 TommyTucker2

When Halawa's sister started complaining about the mistakes that the state made, which she suggested contributed to delays in her brother being released, he should have questioned her on why SHE was there and her relationship with the Muslim Brotherhood.

4.jpg

The Facebook postings that Mark Humphreys uncovered in his research really paint a different picture of the family holiday.

http://markhumphrys.com/halawa.html#facebook

This is what Somaia said at the protest (She was on stage as well as Ibrahim):
    "And I came here in March to settle down in Egypt because I thought Egypt brought democracy and I believed I would live in Egypt in pride and dignity. After the coup I was looking for a job and did two interviews. And I decided to stop looking for work until we defeat the coup and bring democracy back. I would like to send a message to those who are watching us from home. Join us! Join us to bring democracy and defeat the coup! If you stay at home and something wrong happens to us here you are not going to have the calm life you are expecting. Then the regret will be useless. The Prophet said if somebody helps somebody to kill another even with a word, he will come on the day of judgement and written on his forehead will be 'he is desperate from the mercy of Allah', because silence means you agree that we should be killed. We think the PM and the government are responsible for the blood that will run tonight and also for the people who are mandated to fight us (the army). We expect their visit soon - anytime - but we trust in Allah to be with us. I swear to Allah we are not going to leave the square until we get back the dignity of all the Egyptians, whether they are with us or not! Keep standing in the square and the victory of Allah is coming soon!"

She really has some cheek giving out about the Irish Government not getting her brother returned quicker. They all knew what they were getting into and they are personally responsible for what they said at that protest. It's not the remit of the Irish state to rescue them, when it all goes wrong. And Tubridy should have put that to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,803 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Arghus wrote: »
    I feel that Tubs could actually be quite a good interviewer, but he just seems to lack a bit of back bone or charisma. Which makes him a bad interviewer I guess.

I just need to challenge this...he’s a sh1t interviewer..no ifs or buts..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

There you go bringing up his race again.

Only because the racists are way too careful to mention it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

So if they are not mentioning race then why are you concluding they are racists? That's a fairly straightforward non-sequitur.

Ironically, the only person consistently bringing up the race issue is your good self and you have the guile to call people not mentioning race as racists. :D

Genuine question, casting aside your by now well used racism card and generally being a condescending smart *rse, how informed are you regarding the ins and outs of the Halawa case and, tell me this. if the guy in question, with all the main background facts involved being similar, was a caucasian named Daithi O Cinneide, would you still use said card if this interview and his clear bloody lies (and if you want to call me a racist for calling him out on such lies, that is your perogative as I know full well I am not) incited the same disdained reaction from posters on the thread last night.

I have a friend who was born in Libya, his father a Muslim and although his son (my mate) doesn't affiliate himself to any profound degree to either his father's religion or his mother's religion (catholic), he is extremely learned on this case and has expressed the exact same criticism of Hallawa's aquittal.

Would you call him a racist?

To what extent, in your opinion, can one criticise the protagonist in this case before being halted in their their tracks by the good old racism card.

Methinks you had your "you are a racist " post ready to go the moment you heard he was on the show and the moment someone dare call him out. Oh, here is my chance to get a bit of attention and go against pretty common opinion by using the age old tactic of the racist card.

This "case" has been going on 4 years, and gathered sustained media presence for the last 2 years in particular, so most people on forums such as this would have a vague idea at least of what the nature of the "case" is so they have fair reason to cast personal judgment, for right or wrong on the topic and it has well passed by the racism stage after 4 years. Yes it involves an issue that is borne out of political and religious ideals but, like any political and religious ideals, people have every right to make their mind up, for fear of being labelled.

Covering yourself by saying that "most people on here are racist" when the criticism of that bizarre PR exercise last night started so as not to directly call someone out but gather yourself a few "likes" is immature, lazy and frankly pathetic.

At least acknowledge posts you actually have read that back up this view and allow the posters involved give a reason for said posts/opinions.

And, yes, Ireland has plenty of people who are racists, whether it be because of ignorance, personal dealings or just affiliation to a political/religious ideal but I think people are rightfully, once it has been established they have a vague idea as to the background of this case, entitled to criticise the actions of this guy, the answers he proffered and the ones he didn't do so last night. And, not least, the PC media fawning over him like he is some universally esteemed individual in the eyes of the informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Genuine question, casting aside your by now well used racism card and generally being a condescending smart *rse, how informed are you regarding the ins and outs of the Halawa case and, tell me this. if the guy in question, with all the main background facts involved being similar, was a caucasian named Daithi O Cinneide, would you still use said card if this interview and his clear bloody lies (and if you want to call me a racist for calling him out on such lies, that is your perogative as I know full well I am not) incited the same disdained reaction from posters on the thread last night.

I have a friend who was born in Libya, his father a Muslim and although his son (my mate) doesn't affiliate himself to any profound degree to either his father's religion or his mother's religion (catholic), he is extremely learned on this case and has expressed the exact same criticism of Hallawa's aquittal.

Would you call him a racist?

To what extent, in your opinion, can one criticise the protagonist in this case before being halted in their their tracks by the good old racism card.

Methinks you had your "you are a racist " post ready to go the moment you heard he was on the show and the moment someone dare call him out. Oh, here is my chance to get a bit of attention and go against pretty common opinion by using the age old tactic of the racist card.

This "case" has been going on 4 years, and gathered sustained media presence for the last 2 years in particular, so most people on forums such as this would have a vague idea at least of what the nature of the "case" is so they have fair reason to cast personal judgment, for right or wrong on the topic and it has well passed by the racism stage after 4 years. Yes it involves an issue that is borne out of political and religious ideals but, like any political and religious ideals, people have every right to make their mind up, for fear of being labelled.

Covering yourself by saying that "most people on here are racist" when the criticism of that bizarre PR exercise last night started so as not to directly call someone out but gather yourself a few "likes" is immature, lazy and frankly pathetic.

At least acknowledge posts you actually have read that back up this view and allow the posters involved give a reason for said posts/opinions.

And, yes, Ireland has plenty of people who are racists, whether it be because of ignorance, personal dealings or just affiliation to a political/religious ideal but I think people are rightfully, once it has been established they have a vague idea as to the background of this case, entitled to criticise the actions of this guy, the answers he proffered and the ones he didn't do so last night. And, not least, the PC media fawning over him like he is some universally esteemed individual in the eyes of the informed.

Very well said