Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 03-11-17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,413 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm not going to comment on the Halawa case, because I don't know what the truth is.

But it makes me laugh that the RTE news says "Ibrahim Halawa has said he has never been a member of the Muslim brotherhood" after his Late Late interview.

So, CIA, MI5/6, if you're listening...If there's anyone you suspect may be involved with terrorism, just get my man Ryan Tubridy to ask them. Then we'll know for sure.

News reports on what a man says in interview shocker...

Jaysus horse I'd recommend you get out a bit if that stuff makes you laugh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm not going to comment on the Halawa case, because I don't know what the truth is.

But it makes me laugh that the RTE news says "Ibrahim Halawa has said he has never been a member of the Muslim brotherhood" after his Late Late interview.

So, CIA, MI5/6, if you're listening...If there's anyone you suspect may be involved with terrorism, just get my man Ryan Tubridy to ask them. Then we'll know for sure.
    Just saw that, it's sad that this was prerecorded and made to look live. The rte news knew this yesterday. I need to watch the interview back, just in case I misjudged it Tbf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Mr. Wexford Doyle

I'm just wondering out of curiosity, how much is Ryan Tubridy paid a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭Heroditas

LLS thread faux outrage and nitpicking at it's finest!!

Don't attempt to put words in my mouth, thank you very much.
    There's nothing outrageous and nitpicking about pointing out the inherent chauvinism of such a statement in a society where women are still pretty much told what their role is in life.
    Again, I'm saying that as a father of two daughters who come home from crèche saying what they can or can't do "because they're girls"
    How many times has a celebrity man ever said the same thing about a daughter of his?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

listermint wrote: »
    News reports on what a man says in interview shocker...

Jaysus horse I'd recommend you get out a bit if that stuff makes you laugh...

Well the jokes on you. I'm outside right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,396 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I'm just wondering out of curiosity, how much is Ryan Tubridy paid a week?

Less than he would be paid if he got a dream gig with the BBC, if there is any solace to be taken from his circa €9.5 k per week

article-2173759-0D20971900000578-935_306x473.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

For a man who is all about the fighting he might consider defending a belt sometime. Maybe its down to a fear that if hes not a champion anymore he wont be so marketable. Hes probably right.

So he gets paid nearly 10k every week for presenting a one-hour show on Radio 1 for 5 mornings and then to do the Late Late on a Friday evening. Don't get me wrong, I watch the Late Late every Friday and quite like Tubriday as a person, I have met him a few times.

I never understood why he is paid that much. Can someone explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

For a man who is all about the fighting he might consider defending a belt sometime. Maybe its down to a fear that if hes not a champion anymore he wont be so marketable. Hes probably right

Nah, Tubridy has the relaxed pose of a confident champ in that photo.

GDY151

Bacause Joe Duffy gets €416,893 a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

sheroman01 wrote: »
    McGregor's Father = Irish Kevin Spacey

Ah no! Did not notice the resemblance until I saw your post!! Was just thinking how handsome he (Conor's Dad) is!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

He has a good agent and the people writing those cheques don't give a toss because it's not their own money they're throwing around.

I know Joe well, he is a very hard-working man but why are they paid so much?

That's quite incredible money Joe Duffy is on considering that there's no chance he'll turn up elsewhere, and he doesn't even turn up in RTE half of the time!

Heroditas wrote: »
    Don't attempt to put words in my mouth, thank you very much.
    There's nothing outrageous and nitpicking about pointing out the inherent chauvinism of such a statement in a society where women are still pretty much told what their role is in life.
    Again, I'm saying that as a father of two daughters who come home from crèche saying what they can or can't do "because they're girls"
    How many times has a celebrity man ever said the same thing about a daughter of his?

The irony of you accusing someone of putting words or opinions in ones mouth when you are doing the exact same thing re McGregor!!

So, what exactly did he say, or how did you make such inferences from same then, that has led to this bizarre reaction.

His statement was a comment about his own child. Who is a boy.

Should he qualify it by stating that if she were a girl I would say the same thing, just to cover himself from, and I repeat, prevent the faux outrage,
    offence taking brigade.

And get on to your creche. What exactly is your creche preventing your "two girls" doing!!

Joe Duffy dosnt really do anything on Liveline. The people calling in do most of the talking. He is just adds in a few lines every now and then such as " thats terrible" Did you report it?" and "stay on the line"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

I love how the baby is trying to upstage him.

That is one gorgeous baby! :)

Autochange wrote: »
    Joe Duffy dosnt really do anything on Liveline. The people calling in do most of the talking. He is just adds in a few lines every now and then such as " thats terrible" Did you report it?" and "stay on the line"

Don't forget "Whoy?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I love the VW camper vans flashing the lights in the Vodafone ad, proper old school communications :D
    Woof woof.
    Skid X wrote: »
    Ooh, I didn't notice that.

Ibrahim Halawa would have gone on his holidays around the same time

He has a lot of TOTP repeats and Mark Radcliffe documentaries to catch up on :D
    But they have Sky Arts in prison now, Joe
    deco nate wrote: »
    Oh I like that too, but working so can't post:)
    Time for a new job.

Oh, come on.

Arghus wrote: »
    Don't forget "Whoy?"

"Lets bring in Mary from Ballygobackwards"

Autochange wrote: »
    .... We have someone on the other line...

GDY151

What colour is his working? :pac:

The irony of you accusing someone of putting words or opinions in ones mouth when you are doing the exact same thing re McGregor!!

So, what exactly did he say, or how did you make such inferences from same then, that has led to this bizarre reaction.

His statement was a comment about his own child. Who is a boy.

Should he qualify it by stating that if she were a girl I would say the same thing, just to cover himself from, and I repeat, prevent the faux outrage,
    offence taking brigade.

"A SON..."
    It was explicit. The fact he mentioned it made it explicit.
    A firm believer in a legacy he said.
    If you can't see how he's reinforced a societal stereotype, well then there's not a lot much more that can be said apart from good luck to you.
    I quoted exactly what he said, how it was a great moment for him to have "A SON". How he's a firm believer in a legacy and how that was provided by his ... son.
    His words.. not mine

"A SON..."
    If you can't see how he's reinforced a societal stereotype, well then there's not a lot much more that can be said apart from good luck to you.
    I quoted exactly what he said, how it was a great moment for him to have "A SON". How he's a firm believer in a legacy and how that was provided by his ... son.
    His words.. not mine

The eternally triggered have arrived

"A SON..."
    His words.. not mine

WTF? Annnddd the problem is?

Sad that some people delve too deep into something that isn't even a thing.

Crazy post tbh!

"A SON..."
    His words.. not mine

Ah heyor, relax, relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Conor mc Gregor is a classless gimp. Along with anyone who talks about UFC for that matter.

All mé féin, what good does he do for society? Nothing. Zilch.

How a tallaght knacker got that accent in such a short space of time is beyond me.

Even worse above all that,his homophobic slur makes me ashamed to be Irish. Glad he doesn't get one cent from me the complete fúckwit.

Ask him how electricity works tubs

Yeah yeah, how terrible, someone has criticised your idol.