Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

George Hamilton has some recall of soccer info! Not even a pause when remembering the teams and stadiums from his youth in Germany!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Haven't listened yet. George is a great man, one that will be appreciated far more when he retires than he is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Haven't listened yet. George is a great man, one that will be appreciated far more when he retires than he is now.

George Hamilton commentating = mute button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Would have been perfect to have dunphy v ken as someone said. Quite disappointed although i knew it was unlikely.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

George is a legend.

Going back to that Liverpool fella, I can see where he's coming from, in Italia 90 we were the most negative, ugly team to watch and it didn't stop people going mental when it was successful, and when Dunphy had the cheek to point it out this he had this big angry mob to deal with.

Ken vs Gilesy on David Luiz is the head to head I would pay to hear.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

That Liverpool guy was poison but it did lead to that awesome Ken monologue about Stoke City back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Apparently Second Captains was namechecked in an Observer guide to the best podcasts last Sunday, it was mentioned on Guardian Football Weekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Glad I wasn't the only one who found that Liverpool guy a bit off. It was just a man rambling about the good old days, without anything to offer.

You get the feeling that they barely scratched the surface of what George Hamilton has experienced over the years. Certainly wasn't the guest or show I was expecting for 1000 but enjoyed it all the same.

Was just thinking they missed a trick not having a special edition of Ken's ghouls for Halloween :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yeah, hated that joyless Liverpool guy yesterday - he was talking pure nonsense.

George is great. Never mind the haters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

lawred2 wrote: »
    Dots1982 wrote: »
    You see irony, I see a queue of posters coming up to have a pop at someone who had critical views of the pod....much as I predicted.

It’s the mood around here...it’s so ingrained that those that do it don’t even acknowledge to themselves that they can’t handle criticism of the pod.

oh come on - just get over yourself will you

Here’s something i noticed i will share with you that you can heed or disregard. This is a discussion forum. Things are discussed, opinions are shared, cases are made and hopefully common ground can be met. The subject of the discussion here is the second captains podcast.

Here are your last 10 or so posts over the past few pages aimed not just at me but a variety of posters:

“oh come on - just get over yourself will you”

“Urm ... wasn't the whole point that this was a lad who freely admitted to knowing fu(k all beyond some dated notions who was using Twitter to learn more and create debate in the process!?”

“what exactly was your problem with that?”

“the interview was framed that way by the lads from the very outset. It's not like they presented him as some authority on any matters.”

“what you've posted is utterly miserable really”

“maybe you've gone mad because nobody asked you to”

“Owen came across as some knob there”

“don't listen then”

“I bet your political leanings would be a right hoot”

“that fu(king word”

”fyp”

“did you get that from a text book?”

“someone's sensible is another one's insanity.”

There is no point from these posts in you being on this discussion forum because you have seemingly no capacity to maturely discuss the subject of the forum.

You’re only tactic from these posts to many different contributors on a variety of subjects is to attack their opinion, stifle discussion that contrasts with your’s and provide endless condescension.

I hope now or someday this penny might drop for you. If it does happy to discuss the podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Dots1982 wrote:
    I hope now or someday this penny might drop for you. If it does happy to discuss the podcast.

Can you honestly not read the condescention in your own posts?

Happy to discuss anything you want pal, as are most here, but just because a vocal group here disagree with you, doesn't a conspiracy against you make.

If you wanna analyse posting behaviour take a look at your own.

I've had plenty of discussions here where posters have agreed or not agreed, where I've defended my piece, o where I've had my opinions handed to me chewed up and spit out; bottom line is there has been open debate. Try not to take it personally that you haven't enjoyed the same.

Pter wrote: »
    Dots1982 wrote:

Can you honestly not read the condescention in your own posts?

Happy to discuss anything you want pal, as are most here, but just because a vocal group here disagree with you, doesn't a conspiracy against you make.

If you wanna analyse posting behaviour take a look at your own.

I've had plenty of discussions here where posters have agreed or not agreed, where I've defended my piece, o where I've had my opinions handed to me chewed up and spit out; bottom line is there has been open debate. Try not to take it personally that you haven't enjoyed the same.

Was talking to another poster so odd to hear from you. Did we swap views in the last few pages?

The posts from the poster i was speaking to ....speak from themselves in terms of the level of argument they are bringing to this forum.

Dots1982 wrote:
    The posts from the poster i was speaking to ....speak from themselves in terms of the level of argument they are bringing to this forum.

So hold on are we allowed to discuss it or is it a private conversation?

You took 13 of his posts, way out of context, from two bullcrap arguments on this thread. Why not look at his last 20 posts? His last 30? Not suit your narrative?

If you want decent discussion how about we all move on from this and actually dicuss the pod, not come on here and post a lame joke (if it was a joke) and then derail any other discussions since about the actual pod that have happened since.

He is right, get over yourself. If you don't like the level of discussion then post elsewhere, add something decent to the discussion, or put up with it.

God this happens every few months some warrior who is unhappy with the level of discussion tries to hold on an thread referendum about on thread behaviour instead of looking at their own posting.

Dots1982 wrote:

So hold on are we allowed to discuss it or is it a private conversation?

You took 13 of his posts, way out of context, from two bullcrap arguments on this thread. Why not look at his last 20 posts? His last 30? Not suit your narrative?

If you want decent discussion how about we all move on from this and actually dicuss the pod, not come on here and post a lame joke (if it was a joke) and then derail any other discussions since about the actual pod that have happened since.

He is right, get over yourself. If you don't like the level of discussion then post elsewhere, add something decent to the discussion, or put up with it.

God this happens every few months some warrior who is unhappy with the level of discussion tries to hold on an thread referendum about on thread behaviour instead of looking at their own posting.

Let’s hear what the poster has to say. He has been putting it about here telling numerous people to shut up in a variety of ways.

So let’s hear from them. In the meantime apologies for derailing the forum if that’s what you feel. I would like to hear what he thinks of his posts from the last few pages when he sees them put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Imo there's always a heathly level of discussion here about the positives and negatives of the podcast.

Disagreement with a poster's point of view doesn't mean that criticism of the show is forbidden - the lads are far from infallible.

For instance: I love second captains, but even I think that segment with Tony Evans yesterday was complete bollocks - and there's a lot of people here saying the same thing

Dots1982 wrote:
    So let’s hear from them. In the meantime apologies for derailing the forum if that’s what you feel. I would like to hear what he thinks of his posts from the last few pages when he sees them put together.

Fair enough if you want to hear from him but does it matter? Can you honestly not skim over his posts, block them or just plain disregard them and carry on?

I suppose I could say the same regarding your posts really (I say that with as little offence as possible intended; I just have a sore spot for thread details) :p

Dots1982 wrote:

Fair enough if you want to hear from him but does it matter? Can you honestly not skim over his posts, block them or just plain disregard them and carry on?

I suppose I could say the same regarding your posts really (I say that with as little offence as possible intended; I just have a sore spot for thread details) :p

Sometimes i ignore posts even though i disagree or they are provocative.

But this poster has been so reductive in his attempts to minimize posts the disagree with his own view, from not just me, that i think he deserved calling out on it.

I’m afraid his posts speak for themselves. Fixing other people’s posts, asking why I bother to listen, telling me to get over myself, telling another that their post was miserable, telling another they got their views from a textbook.

Nah sorry I think he needs to give his account on this.

In regards to the show today. Enjoyed it.

One point: it was nice to hear someone (George) draw the parallel between Irelands decline in form in the group coinciding with coleman’s Broken leg.

Ken, Dion and Sads are frankly useless at appreciating just how important coleman is as both a defensive and attacking weapon to ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

this Liverpool-based imbecile
    that Liverpool fella
    That Liverpool guy
    that Liverpool guy
    that joyless Liverpool guy

Tony Evans lads. It's not that hard. Was the football editor of The Times up to recently enough I think.

But yes he is a professional grump.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I liked how confident George was that Wales wouldn't score, was funny when people were giving out about him being a jinx.

I remember their attempt at the commentary of the Derval O'Rourke race, I knew Eoin would bring it up after George said a sprint can be hard to commentate on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Entering the realm of the weird a bit here. I think it best if we just move on. Apologies to all for any role I've played in derailing this thread.

Everywhere the realm of the weird a bit here. I think it best if we just move on. Apologies to all for any role I've played in derailing this thread.

Best me and the others he was dismissive towards are going to get by way of an apology. Hopefully you post here in a way that fosters discussion from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Seamy Fitz

Ken on RWC was priceless. The "gold Lamborghini" metaphors had me in stitches. It certainly made me feel better about Ireland not getting the RWC.

Seamy Fitz wrote:
    Ken on RWC was priceless. The "gold Lamborghini" metaphors had me in stitches. It certainly made me feel better about Ireland not getting the RWC.

Not a foregone conclusion yet. But yeah pretty much :)

Everywhere the realm of the weird a bit here. I think it best if we just move on. Apologies to all for any role I've played in derailing this thread.

Best me and the others he was dismissive towards are going to get by way of an apology. Hopefully you post here in a way that fosters discussion from now on.

Noted.
    Has the world/this forum gone mad!? Why the **** would I give a flying **** about a ****ing 80s goalkeeper’s ****ing journey towards ****ing Twitter self-discovery.

I'll use this as a reference point.

Anywho...

Really enjoyed Jason Sherlock. He threw me back years mentioning Ballyhea down near Charleville. Was around those parts as a teenager myself for a few years. He captured North Cork hurling perfectly.

I remember kids hanging out of car boots being transported around the place for matches... 6 kids crammed into back seats sitting on each other's laps. Entire juvenile teams would be transported in two or three cars sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,515 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Tony Evans lads. It's not that hard. Was the football editor of The Times up to recently enough I think.

But yes he is a professional grump.

Doesn't he go by Tony Barret also

What was he saying anyway?

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Doesn't he go by Tony Barret also

What was he saying anyway?

Two different Tonys I think

I'm shocked that there hasn't been a grand triggering from the usual outrage brigade on here railing against political correctness and right-on south Dublin leftism after Jayo and the lads suggested that racism was bad yesterday.

They're either less petty than I thought or have stopped listening.

I hate political correctness and had no problem with it. I think we can all agree racism is bad. I also agree with eoin that summer of 95 was such a buzz, I was at every single dubs game that year, great times especially the goal against cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭PhilipsR

You see irony, I see a queue of posters coming up to have a pop at someone who had critical views of the pod....much as I predicted.

It’s the mood around here...it’s so ingrained that those that do it don’t even acknowledge to themselves that they can’t handle criticism of the pod.

I had a look at your posts on the search function. I only looked at the first two pages but it was all negativity. It just seems bizarre that you'd keep listening when you don't have much positive thoughts at all about it.