Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

Enjoyed the Philly McMahon interview. McDevitt always gets the most out of the interviewee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Didn't they say at the start of the World Service (which, aside from some episodes being short has easily been worth every penny and more) that they would try to do podcasts about whatever the subscribers wanted, which is how we got the politics podcast?

I'd love to hear some sort of music effort, I think Eoin said Ken worked for Hot Press or something once? Not so much on good music. Basically I just want to hear Ken's thoughts on rubbish like Coldplay and Ed Sheeran and that.

And I still think whoever suggested the politics pod should be called "Yes we Ken" was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Ol' Donie wrote:
    I'd love to hear some sort of music effort, I think Eoin said Ken worked for Hot Press or something once? Not so much on good music. Basically I just want to hear Ken's thoughts on rubbish like Coldplay and Ed Sheeran and that.

Ol' Donie wrote:
    And I still think whoever suggested the politics pod should be called "Yes we Ken" was right.

Maybe send them a tweet or email then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

Patww79 wrote: »
    Was there much in it? I like Dublin and all but rarely listen to any sporting interview as they're all just pre done lines about 'taking games one step at a time' and praising opponents, and I can only imagine how much further into the bland it goes when you're under orders from Gavins PR man.

Very little about football, mostly about heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Maybe send them a tweet or email then?

D'you know, I think I might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,221 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He's had a fair bit of personal tragedy in his life - brother dying etc, etc - and he's been very open and upfront about it, he's got more to say than the majority of GAA heads flogging a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

Raisins wrote: »
    Does anyone know when Ken had that interview with Roy Keane where he called him out on Saipan? It's in the audio mash up. Is it available anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,886 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Take it to the next level and imagine the interview was with Stephen Cluxton. Although that may run the risk of inducing a persistent vegetative state...

EM1J3v.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,487 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I listened to the Colm Tóibín interview, and it was okay. But I listened to Eamon Dunphy's interview with him on the same topic on his podcast, it was much better, even though they covered the same ground more or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Didn't they say at the start of the World Service (which, aside from some episodes being short has easily been worth every penny and more) that they would try to do podcasts about whatever the subscribers wanted, which is how we got the politics podcast?

Ken could talk about most things and it would be entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Neville Southall becomes a social justice warrior. A week later he finds himself on second captains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Ken went off on one again today. His personal feelings for people can shroud his judgement sometimes. Surely even the most ardent Messi fan would not agree that Ronaldo is "nowhere near" him. They're pretty feckin close in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Neville Southall becomes a social justice warrior. A week later he finds himself on second captains.

I love second captains but by god they've got their politics all wrong.

Don't have a problem with their political views myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Arghus wrote: »
    Don't have a problem with their political views myself.

I do. It's text book student politics. Middle class boys, left leaning and pious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I'm delighted that they seem to distress/trigger the snowflakes of the right, who, as always, can't seem to engage on the merits of what's being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,757 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I do. It's text book student politics. Middle class boys, left leaning and pious

don't listen then

I bet your political leanings would be a right hoot

corwill wrote: »
    I'm delighted that they seem to distress/trigger the snowflakes of the right, who, as always, can't seem to engage on the merits of what's being discussed.

that fu(king word

I love second captains but by god they've got their politics all wrong my political leanings just don't align with theirs at all at all I'm afraid

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

lawred2 wrote: »
    don't listen then

I bet your political leanings would be a right hoot

I'm fairly centre, like a lot of people. Identity politics is well down my list of priorities.

did you get that from a text book?

Ah it’s just funny. I had to unfollow people on twitter because they were retweeting every single one of Neville southall’s attention seeking tweets and then bang second captains gets him on the show.

A barrel of laughs was it anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,886 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

lawred2 wrote: »
    that fu(king word

Should be banned from Internet discussions, along with 'fake news."

I believe you've mixed up what side the snowflakes are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I believe you've mixed up what side the snowflakes are on.

Not in the slightest. For instance, see mewling above.

I'm not sure who you're referring to... I don't left or right, somewhere in the middle, you know sensible. Sensible about immigration, sensible about gender politics etc. Just because a former footballer sends out some tweets about gender identity I don't think it warrants getting him on the podcast to kiss his arse. It's ridiculous.

someone's sensible is another one's insanity.

Everyone thinks their own political views are sensible.

No one has posted here saying it was a worthwhile interview? Is that telling or have people not listened yet?