Primetime Special: Nightmare to let

• 03-11-2017 10:18AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭

RTÉ Investigates spent six months examining standards in the private rental sector. Undercover researchers found dangerously overcrowded accommodation and sub-standard buildings with multiple fire safety breaches. Three multiple occupancy buildings with more than 120 tenants have since been closed after inspection by Dublin Fire Brigade.

There was a 100% failure rate in four districts - Kilkenny, Louth, Offaly, Limerick city and county.

Anyone watch it last night? was pretty disgusting the way all those people were crammed into those buildings..like something from Dickensian times...some unscrupulous landlords out there taking advantage of how desperate some people are for accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Some landlords are shysters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Nothing short of a disgrace really

In desperate times the wealthy always exploit the poor.

Criminal charges should be brought against those Landlords (endangering life), but will it?.... Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,740 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

We shall not speak bad of 'the market'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Wouldn't you love to stand in the Dáil and ask all those who could reasonably be referred to as a landlord to raise their hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

cantdecide wrote: »
    Wouldn't you love to stand in the Dáil and ask all those who could reasonably be referred to as a landlord to raise their hand.

They are all Landlords

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

They are all farmers and teachers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Green Effect Technology trading as Global Academics with directors Mr Jason Orr and Mr Joshua Cantwell launched an injunction against the broadcast of the show, effectively claiming that they would be "unquestionably guilty" of the claims asserted by the footage. I can't find very much about these two gentlemen but it is clear from the footage that they are greedy, law-breaking, exploitative men and have a particularly vulnerable market in the international student market within which they flog their wares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

grahambo wrote: »
    In desperate times the wealthy always exploit the poor.

Criminal charges should be brought against those Landlords (endangering life), but will it?.... Not a chance
    There is supposed to be a boom on at the minute though isn't there. Hardly desperate times.

But yeah, 3 days of the usual debates on radio 1 and newstalk, the odd twitter meltdown and back to business as usual on Monday.

Green Effect Technology trading as Global Academics with directors Mr Jason Orr and Mr Joshua Cantwell launched an injunction against the broadcast of the show, effectively claiming that they would be "unquestionably guilty" of the claims asserted by the footage. I can't find very much about these two gentlemen but it is clear they are greedy, law-breaking, exploiting men and have a particularly vulnerable market in the international student market.

Have they any connection to one of those international colleges teaching English etc, I wonder?

There is supposed to be a boom on at the minute though isn't there. Hardly desperate times.

Is there? Over 8,000 homeless and rising, shur everything's grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I presume a Revenue official will be pressing the intercom button at Mr O'Neil's mansion in Kilkenny this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

There was a time when local authorities built a fair number of houses each year to meet demand and provide competently built and durable housing for people who were not able to provide their own housing and , more importantly, for people who lacked the basic skills and money to maintain and keep in good repair an average house such as many built by the private sector in recent decades.

Most people who were landlords have sold out and been replaced by multi-owned companies and arrangements designed to hide the true ownership and lines of responsibility so that in the event of a lawsuit penalties cannot be imposed on the true owners as there are many layers of ownership and agencies to go through to get to the real owner and try and get justice done.

I was shocked at the state of the electric systems in those houses and the water ingress allowed in close proximity to live wires etc. If someone touches a light fitting in those circumstances they could be killed. How an owner would not lose his entire wealth in a compensation claim is beyond me and it must be that several untraceable people own the house and are sufficiently protected by layers of company and other joint ownership so as not to give a toss what happens.

I hope that this is only an extreme case and the worst that RTE could find but I fear that with the mass exodus of single house small-time landlords from the sector and the now accurately perceived unfairness of government tax treatment and the real risk of losses due to overholding and the difficulty of getting rid of non paying tenants in a reasonable time makes the small-time landlord business a very risky proposition. Only well heeled legal professionals can now afford to enter the landlord business or people of similar calibre with similar qualifications or expertise. The days of the non professional single house owner ( besides his own dwellingplace) are numbered. The risks and worry for the highly taxed rewards are too great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Have they any connection to one of those international colleges teaching English etc, I wonder?

http://globalacademicsireland.com/#contact

This entity has the same address as the company which launched High Court proceedings. Accommodation prices; http://globalacademicsireland.com/accommodation/

doolox wrote:
    I hope that this is only an extreme case and the worst that RTE could find but I fear that with the mass exodus of single house small-time landlords from the sector and the now accurately perceived unfairness of government tax treatment and the real risk of losses due to overholding and the difficulty of getting rid of non paying tenants in a reasonable time makes the small-time landlord business a very risky proposition. Only well heeled legal professionals can now afford to enter the landlord business or people of similar calibre with similar qualifications or expertise. The days of the non professional single house owner ( besides his own dwellingplace) are numbered. The risks and worry for the highly taxed rewards are too great.

.... But but 'the market'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

They are all farmers and teachers.

Oi! none of them are teachers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

They are all Landlords

About 20% are landlords LINK

This entity has the same address as the company which launched High Court proceedings. Accommodation prices;

Jesus, why hasn't this industry been shut down already, I've met many of these students

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

...and what was the point in "door stopping" yer man at his mansion standing at the automatic gates?? it was obvious he was never going to come out....why didn't the reporter do that when the guy was at one of his premises ?? would have loved to see his face drop when confronted

philstar wrote: »
    ...and what was the point in "door stopping" yer man at his mansion standing at the automatic gates?? it was obvious he was never going to come out....why didn't the reporter do that when the guy was at one of his premises ?? would have loved to see his face drop when confronted

they wanted to show what yer man was living in compared to the slum he was running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I saw a bit of it. I bet those feckers aren't declaring a penny of that income and paying tax either. Absolute criminal behaviour.

When I think of the amount of money and time I have put into making places sound electrically, with plumbing, installing fire and carbon monoxide systems, meeting every bloody regulation going, bending over backwards for tenants, and making 0 money off it, in the distant hope that sense might come back to the sector long term. 

And these god****es flout the whole lot of it, and roll in money, while making things worse for the rest of us. 

Makes my blood boil.

they wanted to show what yer man was living in compared to the slum he was running

they could still have shown his mansion..and confronted him in Crumlin ?

pwurple wrote: »
    I saw a bit of it. I bet those feckers aren't declaring a penny of that income and paying tax either. Absolute criminal behaviour.

When I think of the amount of money and time I have put into making places sound electrically, with plumbing, installing fire and carbon monoxide systems, meeting every bloody regulation going, bending over backwards for tenants, and making 0 money off it, in the distant hope that sense might come back to the sector long term. 

And these god****es flout the whole lot of it, and roll in money, while making things worse for the rest of us. 

Makes my blood boil.

unfortunately you are cursed with a conscience

amcalester wrote: »
    About 20% are landlords LINK

Isn't that only what they've "declared"

Bare in mind people in the Dail are the biggest crooks in the country.

I'd find it very hard to to believe only 1 in 5 is a Land lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'd wager there are plenty more who are landlords indirectly through investments holding companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Not surprised at an English teaching school business being involved in this. Most of them are dodgy to the core.

The conditions were shocking in those places but I'm kind of torn. Most people who come to ireland to work and learn English wouldn't dream of living like that and are prepared to spend the extra money to get something better or leave. I'm not saying it's not exploitation, it absolutely is and these Slum Lords should be prosecuted by local authorities and revenue. But I can't help feeling there has to be a small element of personal responsibility. The brazilians interviewed who had lived in these places had presumably moved out because they were not prepared to live like that any longer.

Dublin City Council came out of that show VERY badly. I wonder will heads roll? No actually we don't do consequences for those in public office.

Bare in mind people in the Dail are the biggest crooks in the country.

I'd find it very hard to to believe only 1 in 5 is a Land lord

Actually it has increased to 25% according to this article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

I'm going to jump straight in here and get to the point: Unless all of you contact you local TD, community activists, college groups, and political parties and demand that this situation is addressed immediately, then frankly you're wasting your breath.

If you think this situation isn't acceptable in modern day Ireland, then get off your arse and do something about it.

How many people here would actually take part in a march to demand changes to this third world living standards that many of us have had to deal with it Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭__..__

Can the housing charities please step up and go to every one of these slums that they hear of and offer the people in them accommodation.
    Surely you can't find this and then turn a blind eye to it after a few words on the TV.

philstar wrote: »

Giving gingers a bad name:rolleyes:

#notmyking