Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    Been trying to get the hang of reddit for about 3 weeks and it just isn't happening. I can't navigate it at all :(

The layout of that site is annoying tbh.

TA'D that spurs are winning :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Learning to drive at the moment, and realizing how much concentration is requires and how quickly things can change, I've gained a newfound hatred for people who drink and drive, or who use their phones while driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

X scheduled delivery date, still text Tuesday!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I worked out a good sweat working legs in the gym this morning. My bf comes home from work and I’m like LET’S GET A PIZZA MEAL DEAL.

Wtf is wrong with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Just heard on the radio - "I cringe when I see people walking down the street with their phone in front of them, talking into it and making funny faces, as if they're a blogger" EH, IS BEING A BLOGGER SOMETHING TO ASPIRE TO YOU SAD SACK?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,151 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Tired in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've been buying stock for work from my suppliers 10 x of product 1 for 15.00 and 50 x of product 2 for 12 euro. They're being sent from Ireland and postage is 5.99

I found THE EXACT SAME products on eBay. Product 1 was $3.58 for THIRTY and $1.19 for 100 of product 2. Free delivery too.

I hate being ripped off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Automatic doors that don't slide open until your nose is almost pressed up against them.

Places that do takeaway coffee and don't keep the milk jugs topped up.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Got a new pair of runners, afraid to wear them in case they get dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,041 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

kerryked wrote: »
    Automatic doors that don't slide open until your nose is almost pressed up against them.

Automatic doors that open as you walk past them in the winter.
    I don't want to go into your shop and why are you heating the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭GBX

People who stand in doorways and have automatic doors going back and forth while they take a call and are oblivious to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,453 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Social media articles about a certain person and their opinion on how we should do something, as if they are a world authority.

Latest example, Phillip Pullman and how we should teach children to learn.

Ok so he's a known atheist and a famous author, but why should his opinion on education be any more worthy than mine or yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

Seems to be a door theme today but the 3 dozy feckers who just stood in a doorway oblivious to people trying to get in or out of the shop. Jaysus will you fcuking move and not stand there with your jaw on the ground as you stare into space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I have more or less given up on the 'style vs comfort' battle when it comes to footwear, but last year I found some winter shoes that were quite nice and were comfortable. Win win! I bought them in 4 different colours (black, brown, grey and navy) and they saw me through the winter. I started wearing them again recently and noticed the navy ones were quite worn looking and the heel was a bit unstable. I decided it was wise to buy a new pair of the navy ones, and found this year's version of them online, so ordered them. In an idle moment, I thought it would be a good investment to get a new pair of the other colours as well, as I generally struggle to get shoes that are nice plus comfy, so I thought it would be worth getting these now while they're available and storing them for when the original ones fall apart. So I ordered three more pairs. When I went to store these away I discovered that I must have had the same thought process this time last year as I found four pairs of shoes, neatly stored in boxes, waiting for the original pairs to get worn out. So now I have 3 pairs that are in good condition, one pair that are not great but still wearable and 8 pristine new pairs that are just going to take up space in my wardrobe and my life for the next few years! .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

When a client makes a mistake and blames me and my manager apologises on my behalf even though I wasn't even wrong. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Bredabe

A year tomorrow my sib was rushed to her local hospital, she was badly altered, dehydrated and had a bad cough.
    It took two days for her to be seen and two and a half days for her to be admitted. The amount of time she waited for a brain scan and proper diagnosis is another matter.
    TH, we not still there.:)
    TA, reports from there today, STILL THE SAME WAITING TIMES AND LACK OF HEALTH AND SAFETY IN A&E.:mad::(:mad::mad:

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

My cousin, who will refer to any type of crisp as taytos. Including pringles. Pringles are also allegedly a form of tayto.
    She also says "I need to go to my taaaawlet" regardless of whose home or whose bathroom she's using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The obsession wit Kate Middleton's bump and the general media creepy pregnancy fetish. Nobody cares!

People who smoke at doorways, bus shelters etc.

The full luas this morning. I waited for the next one. I refuse to stand just because all you f*cking hives decided to get onto this tram.

The cold finally caught me. Stupid pox bottles coming in and spreading their disease.

My parents not comparing notes so I get the same boring stories twice in the evening.

Having to stretch across bar stools/ bar flies to get my pints and enter my pin etc.

The endless spillage walking from the bar to the table.

Scummy individuals who leave toilets in a mess. Someone has to come in and clean at the end of the night, and they're probably on a low hourly rate - have a bit of f*cking decency.

Anything that starts with "Keep calm".

Baby/princess/ grandchild on board signs.

The amount of unnecessary plastic packaging on food. Especially fruit, which generally tends to have its own skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Learning to drive at the moment, and realizing how much concentration is requires and how quickly things can change, I've gained a newfound hatred for people who drink and drive, or who use their phones while driving.

I remember this. When I was learning, I wouldn't even have the radio on because it was a distraction. You will be amazed how quickly it will all become automatic. If I actually think about what my feet are doing now I panic :P

TA lunching with someone who doesn't want to go until 2. I'm hungry now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    My cousin, who will refer to any type of crisp as taytos. Including pringles. Pringles are also allegedly a form of tayto.
    She also says "I need to go to my taaaawlet" regardless of whose home or whose bathroom she's using.

I think the taytos thing is an Irish country thing. People looked at me funny in Dublin when I used it as a generic catch all term for crisps.

TA for the day year is the state of my skin. Looks like a ****ing teenagers skin. I'm 34 for Christ sake. Acne should be done with by now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I have to do some of my physio and treatments before breakfast and I waited too long to eat today. I had breakfast but I still feel all shakey and jittery and headachy. My C.F. clinic are annoyed with me because I missed three appointments yesterday, I do feel bad but I just couldn't face them, dreading asking for another appointment for tomorrow because I know I will be killed but I have to get a check up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    I think the taytos thing is an Irish country thing. People looked at me funny in Dublin when I used it as a generic catch all term for crisps.

TA for the day year is the state of my skin. Looks like a ****ing teenagers skin. I'm 34 for Christ sake. Acne should be done with by now!
    Nah, I'm 40 and have a big zit on my temple right now. :(

Hollywood. Stop remaking classic films. You’re just proving that you’ve ran out of ideas. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Karsini wrote: »
    Hollywood. Stop remaking classic films. You’re just proving that you’ve ran out of ideas. :mad:

Yeah, what's the deal with the new Lion King remake coming in 2019. There's nothing wrong with the original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Any time I hear the "UBER", it just makes me cringe. I have never gotten used to hearing things like "I'll take an UBER" it just grates every single time. I may be alone in this. It's just a silly silly name for a service like something a child would think of. I may be alone on this one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

No front fingerprint scanner on the Samsung Galaxy S8. Stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Listened to a disturbing podcast and now I feel violently ill.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The missus has gone away for a few days. Me and the kids are setting up barricades as there has been a suspected bogeyman sighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Forgot to post this one as well. I was indicating right trying to get out on to a main road from a one way street, but I couldn't really see what was coming on my right. The car on my left stopped in the road and motioned for me to pull out and lucky I looked right properly because there was a bus coming straight in my direction! Why do people do that! He was basically telling me to drive out in front of a bus.
    I was basically nearly murdered today. That's correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,753 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Without coming across as one of the "u ok hun" brigade...but the sheer meh-ness of nights out these days. Hammered home by the weekend just gone.

Firstly, spending probably too much on my halloween costume- a cosplay-standard Jon Snow rigout that admittedly looked the business-and convincing my usually reluctant GF to join me in the festivities on the Sunday night.

Of course the main bar for the fun was far too packed as to be uncomfortable, and coupled with my costume being super warm to wear, meant I spent the early part of the night dodging shoulders, balancing drinks and ensuring I wasn't smothered. The late bar wasn't bad, and the quality of the night as a whole increased, but still the effort of acquiring the costume etc isn't worth the hassle of the crowds. Between the ages of say 21-28 it was my favourite night of the year, now I'm like feck that I'm staying in next time (as I have done on NYE in recent years, and the odd Stephen's night too barring there isn't a school/college reunion happening).

And then the night was entirely ruined when some fella tried to start a row with me for absolutely no reason whatsoever. Now the young lad in question is around 20, a little slip of a fella, and despite only embarking on his "night out bantz" career, has already gained a bit of a reputation of being a pure and utter gob****e with drink in him. Have seen him kicked out of the main late bar/night club in town on countless occasions already, and my little brother has twice intervened when he appeared to be getting a bit too "gropey" with girls at the end of the night. Seems to be a fella with issues to be honest.

Whatever- I have made a point to actively avoid the lad, and am genuinely a quiet, unassuming person on a night out anyway. Hell, I have to be with my job as a local journalist- can't exactly be appearing in the courts section of the paper I work for :D

Anyway, myself and the OH were waiting for our taxi and as we were walking past said weirdo, he called me a w*nker entirely out of the blue. I was taken aback and just asked him what he had said. Of course the macho man that he is repeated it and I wanted to deck him there and then, but showed constraint and let the OH bring me up to our designated pick-up point. I was understandably annoyed at the random abuse. Taxi pulls up, he waits outside the passenger side and asks the OH "what are doing going out with that a**hole". Yet more pestering of a female to add to his rap-sheet.

Well, didn't my OH only let fly, saying that she is related to his uncle and that the uncle is twice a man he will ever be and that he is going nowhere in his life acting the way he is. He got the fright of his life :D. But it didn't finish there, as his retort just as we were pulling off was "<my family name> are only pricks anyway". Bearing in mind, my Dad was the taxi driver hearing all this (and we would be a well-respected family in the town), that the look of genuine disguist on his face at the slur is something I will never forget.

Sorry for the rant, but it has been playing on my mind all week. Basically, pricks with alcohol in them are the worst kind of human.

And then of course buying a trove of sweets and crisps expecting trick or treaters, only for ZERO to arrive. Feel like a pig eating them now :D