Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Why hasn't Spacey been arrested on suspicion of attempting to abuse a child?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭AllForIt

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Why hasn't Spacey been arrested on suspicion of attempting to abuse a child?

Why hasn't his accuser reported him to the police instead of tweeting about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

Ah here.

Seriously he was 14 years of age. A young man should not have to endure a assault from a scrum bag like Spacey.

Edit he was not even a man. He was a child

A child who chose willingly to hit some party that he knew was full of booze, drugs, and gays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

Meanwhile, the number of women who have accused former President George Bush Senior of groping them now stands at 5:
    The number of women accusing former President George H.W. Bush of groping them has grown to five, with two of them saying he did so during photo shoots in Maine.

The women include two actresses, a Pennsylvania journalist, a best-selling author raised in Bangor and a former Maine Senate candidate.

http://www.pressherald.com/2017/10/27/fourth-woman-says-president-george-h-w-bush-groped-her-in-photo-shoot/

Maybe he picked up some bad habits when he was in the Skull and Bones society back in his Yale days. That's the rich kids club where you must lie in a coffin naked reciting your entire sexual history while the other members masturbate to it.
    Nothing weird or perverted about that at all... :eek:

America's self appointed Grand master of morality, Stephen Colbert had some eyebrow raising comments on the whole matter:
    “Oh come on, not him. He’s the Bush we like!” Colbert joked. “He’s a 93-year-old grandpa who’s been married to the same woman for 72 years! What is that? That’s the uranium anniversary.”
    “He’s a very nice guy, I’ve met him, he’s lovely,” Colbert said of the 41st president. “We like H.W., don’t we?” he asked his audience. “We don’t want to hear this stuff.

https://www.thedailybeast.com/stephen-colbert-doesnt-want-to-believe-bush-sr-gropes-women-oh-come-on-not-him

And therein lies the problem, Stephen. People like you DON'T want to hear this stuff. Especially when it's your buddies doing it. And you'll take it a step further and actively cover up sexual harassment when it suits you.

This is a textbook case of an enabler playing down sexual abuse. The same guy who milked the allegations about Trump is suddenly making excuses...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭twinytwo

The thing that gets me about Weinstein(And others like him)... having done this for 20 years or whatever... not one "man" in hollywood in all that time ever kicked his ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

twinytwo wrote: »
    The thing that gets me about Weinstein(And others like him)... having done this for 20 years or whatever... not one "man" in hollywood in all that time ever kicked his ass.

I'll put it to you like this. Imagine John Gilligan in his prime, but instead of drugs he was involved in movies. But the underworld connections and muscle were very much still a phone call away. And pretty much every cop in Hollywood was in his pocket. That means they could plant drugs or child pornography on you at any time. Or cook up some story to have your family destroyed.

Would you still stand up to him?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Doesn't matter what Spacey did at this point...
    As let's be honest, no criminal charges will be brought against him, sure he might get blackballed now but he is already a multi millionaire.

But even then.. Even if he gets black balled he could still be a money man behind TV or film productions. You'll never hear about it of course.

Hollywood is one sick town.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I'll put it to you like this. Imagine John Gilligan in his prime, but instead of drugs he was involved in movies. But the underworld connections and muscle were very much still a phone call away. And pretty much every cop in Hollywood was in his pocket. That means they could plant drugs or child pornography on you at any time. Or cook up some story to have your family destroyed.

Would you still stand up to him?

Yes

Meanwhile, the number of women who have accused former President George Bush Senior of groping them now stands at 5:

http://www.pressherald.com/2017/10/27/fourth-woman-says-president-george-h-w-bush-groped-her-in-photo-shoot/

Maybe he picked up some bad habits when he was in the Skull and Bones society back in his Yale days. That's the rich kids club where you must lie in a coffin naked reciting your entire sexual history while the other members masturbate to it.
    Nothing weird or perverted about that at all... :eek:

America's self appointed Grand master of morality, Stephen Colbert had some eyebrow raising comments on the whole matter:

https://www.thedailybeast.com/stephen-colbert-doesnt-want-to-believe-bush-sr-gropes-women-oh-come-on-not-him

And therein lies the problem, Stephen. People like you DON'T want to hear this stuff. Especially when it's your buddies doing it. And you'll take it a step further and actively cover up sexual harassment when it suits you.

This is a textbook case of an enabler playing down sexual abuse. The same guy who milked the allegations about Trump is suddenly making excuses...

I'm pretty sure you're massively missing Colbert's point.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭Hamlet.

Doesn't matter what Spacey did at this point...
    As let's be honest, no criminal charges will be brought against him, sure he might get blackballed now but he is already a multi millionaire.

But even then.. Even if he gets black balled he could still be a money man behind TV or film productions. You'll never hear about it of course.

Hollywood is one sick town.

Hopefully not, as he's a brilliant artist.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I'm pretty sure you're massively missing Colbert's point.

That society tend to enable abusers they like ? While out of the same mouth condemning others they dislike for the same crimes?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Asus X540L wrote: »
    A child who chose willingly to hit some party that he knew was full of booze, drugs, and gays.

You seem to know an awful lot about this party

That society tend to enable abusers they like ? While out of the same mouth condemning others they dislike for the same crimes?
    Have you ever heard of sarcasm?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Being gay in British arts culture is not an issue. Hell, it's nearly encouraged! :pac: In Hollywood though it's like being gay in professional sport. Certainly no American A list male has come out while in the midst of their career as far as I know.

Zachary Quinto, Wentworth Miller, Neil Patrick Harris, Luke Evans, Sarah Paulson, Ellen Page, and I suppose Jim Parsons can count as A-List.

That's a few off the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Zachary Quinto, Wentworth Miller, Neil Patrick Harris, Luke Evans, Sarah Paulson, Ellen Page, and I suppose Jim Parsons can count as A-List.

Complete aside, I had no idea Luke Evans was gay.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,144 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Me either :o but still fancy him

Matt Bomer out and proud and his career on the up

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Hardly A list, Spacey would never have won the roles that won him Oscars if he had been openly gay. It wasn't the accepted thing in the 90's and possibly not today either. There was the story recently of Matt Bomer being passed over for the Superman role because he's gay. There is still a way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Me either :o but still fancy him

Matt Bomer out and proud and his career on the up

Yeah but Spaceys heyday was 20 yrs ago, the attitude was completely different then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I said A list, not merely acting in popular programmes and films - you know someone who's name is above the title and can open a film on their own.

Luke Evans is Welsh so obviously doesn't count anyway - if you are foreign and gay that's fine - you're now a bit exotic if you're American you gotta be "straight" to hit the real movie star type heights. Oh yeah one of that list is Doogie Howser MD!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

You seem to know an awful lot about this party

Don't think there was ever a party full of young actors that didn't have those things.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

It would be a risky game for him to play as it's based on an assumption that no-one else will come forward.

His statement just seemed strange in general. Panic written all over it.

Well, there is a lot to come out. (no pun intended! :D) Guess that is why HOC are finishing with him. Anybody who knows anything about Spacey knows what he is really like. It's a mystery how he has gotten away with it for so long.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

silverharp wrote: »
    do you think, if it had been about a 14 year old girl we would have got the Harvey treatment. As it was the press focused on his coming out until it was pointed out that that wasn't the takeaway.

The mainstream media supinely accepted Spacey's PR version - it was the social media backlash re his conflating the accusation of paedophilia with his coming out as a gay man which has caused outrage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Colbert mainly ridicules republicans and conservatives, so here he was been sarcastic.

If he was defending Bill Clinton, he probably would have been serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Spacey groped Tony Montana.... who now claims he has PTSD as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,278 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

eviltwin wrote: »
    Hardly A list, Spacey would never have won the roles that won him Oscars if he had been openly gay. It wasn't the accepted thing in the 90's and possibly not today either. There was the story recently of Matt Bomer being passed over for the Superman role because he's gay. There is still a way to go.

Sadly, yes. McKellen outed himself in '88 or so, during Maggie Thatcher's reign. There was, for a long time, a question as to whether he could play straight or not. Films like The Ballad of Little Jo showed he could. But he was never a major star, at least not until he was nearly 60 and had made Gods and Monsters, playing an openly gay character. And getting an Oscar nod.

Even in the early 00's, Bomer was suspected of being gay-he wasn't out, but he wasn't going to be cast as Superman either. He did go on to play Superman in an animated movie, however.

Evans came out of the closet very early in his career, then 'went back into the closet'-claiming to have a girlfriend, and that he was straight. Then he came out again.
    I'm seeing a very similar thing with Ezra Miller-who's playing Flash in the Justice League film. (A movie I don't care for). He outed himself as either gay, then the indistinct term 'queer'-and then he seemingly went back into the closet.
    Now I don't know what he's claiming-though he's also a massive stoner from what I can see. So who knows what he spouted while high.

Speaking of 'an Open Secret' Andy Dick is a notorious groper and sex fiend. He would grope women, whip out his penis and try to rub it on your face (male or female), and grab guys by the packages (he's bi-wonder if he will use it as a defense)-he had no idea of personal space, forcing his hands inside of people's clothing to fondle them. Yet he gets support from 'Trump bashers' like Judd Apatow-even having him play himself, and mock his history in one of Apatow's shows.

Well, finally someone had enough-and fired him after he sexually harassed crew members.
    But this guy has groped and assaulted girls under the age of 18. And constantly gets allowed onto projects and shows.
    Hell, he didn't even care when he was kicked off of Jimmy Kimmel's show. He tried to grope Ivanka Trump.

https://www.vox.com/culture/2017/10/31/16583374/andy-dick-sexual-harassment-allegations-history

Accusations are flying around about Jeremy Piven now too-claiming he groped a playboy playmate.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's possible for younger A list actors in Hollywood to come out now, but it certainly wasn't possible 20 years or more ago. But that doesn't excuse the fact that quite a few major, middle aged, established actors are still hiding in the closet. It's all about the money - that's the bottom line in grubby Hollywood, and if coming out is seen to hurt your bankability at the box office you are pressured to stay in the closet. Look how long it took Jodie Foster to come out.

And then Hollywood moralises and preaches about equality and LGBT rights. Give me a break! Utter hypocrites.

But it's not just about gay and lesbian actors. The Weinstein revelations show very clearly just how women are treated by the Hollywood system. Utterly revolting. Again, rank hypocrisy. Also all their talk about saving the environment when they zip around the world in private jets and are ferried around in gas guzzling limousines with a carbon footprint the size of a small city. And they take us, the movie going plebs, as complete fools.

But no longer. I think the dam on Hollywood dirt is finally beginning to crumble and the Internet has played a key part in this. The average Joe and Jane Soap now has access to infornation that was unheard of when the official media called all the shots. At this stage, much more is to come.

As for Spacey, the incident with Rapp back in the 1980s is far from isolated. It's been alleged that he is a sexual predator of dozens of young men and boys and this went on for decades. Vile individual.

The whole Hollywood edifice of vice and abuse needs to come crashing down. The cesspit needs to be purged.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Its possible Rose McGowan could spend more time in prison than Weinstein!

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2017/1031/916377-rose-mcgowan/

The US is a daft country where anything goes.

Any trial of Weinstein will involve his lawyers cross examining victims and dragging them through the mud. Its unlikely he will spend a day in prison.

Good point.

Obviously once a woman alleges she has been sexually assaulted that should give her immunity from drugs charges.

Those two things are completely linked. Sure don't we know, drugs laws are a real barrier to women speaking out about sexual abuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,278 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I must say, Matt Lauer doesn't come across too well in this. As Feldman notes, he told the police who the abusers were-they were only interested in Michael Jackson as a suspect.
    Seemed Lauer had his mind made up before ever Feldman spoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

It seems Twitter is inadvertently giving away who the #irishweinstein is with a suggested search!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

In the video he's clearly being sarcastic and joking. Unless you think Stephen Colbert is also calling for the cover up of sexual assaults by Papa Smurf and Colonel Sanders?

Do you think Stephen Colbert is enabling sexual assault from him buddies Papa Smurf and Colonel Sanders? Do you think Stephen Colbert is covering up for a basket ball playing dog that asks his assistant to come to the trailer and as Stephen put it, "Check for ticks, if you know what I mean."

I'm guessing you didn't even watch the video. :pac: