Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Better late than never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Many thanks folks. Sometimes I don't appreciate all the less visible work that get's done and contributes to a result. I headed out today and did a session in Malahide Park to see if a different setting would help with the training mood. It did.

Week 15/19 DCM 2017

Tuesday 26th Sept

Was concerned about the quad after the HM although it was not feeling any worse I had a sense that it could just suddenly let me down. Rang the Physio on Monday and got an appointment this morning. After a pretty exhaustive examination an ITB issue has been diagnosed. I had not realised how sore it was until the probing started. Feel relieved that it is not, for now, something that will stop me in my tracks. After the physio session I could feel and move comfortably through a significantly better range with control. Delighted with this news as it has been on my mind. Back next week and will invest in myself (I listened) for the next few weeks.

13kms (VO2 Max) with 5x600m at 5km pace + 2:15 jog recovery. Got a woodland trail 6km done before picking out a reasonable grass line in the fields for an improvised lap. Had a bottle to hand for a refuel each lap. Ran the 5 legs good and hard and overcooked a few of them but my HR was pretty much spot on: 3:58, 3:59, 3:51, 3:57 and 4:04. Think I ran this session with a bit of belief and passion and needed to burn the frustration of life off. Might not be the most sensible thing after the physio but it's done now.

Feel much better this evening and the training feels real again, as though I am better connected with it. That can't be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

denis b wrote: »
    Many thanks folks. Sometimes I don't appreciate all the less visible work that get's done and contributes to a result. I headed out today and did a session in Malahide Park to see if a different setting would help with the training mood. It did.

Week 15/19 DCM 2017

Tuesday 26th Sept

Was concerned about the quad after the HM although it was not feeling any worse I had a sense that it could just suddenly let me down. Rang the Physio on Monday and got an appointment this morning. After a pretty exhaustive examination an ITB issue has been diagnosed. I had not realised how sore it was until the probing started. Feel relieved that it is not, for now, something that will stop me in my tracks. After the physio session I could feel and move comfortably through a significantly better range with control. Delighted with this news as it has been on my mind. Back next week and will invest in myself (I listened) for the next few weeks.

13kms (VO2 Max) with 5x600m at 5km pace + 2:15 jog recovery. Got a woodland trail 6km done before picking out a reasonable grass line in the fields for an improvised lap. Had a bottle to hand for a refuel each lap. Ran the 5 legs good and hard and overcooked a few of them but my HR was pretty much spot on: 3:58, 3:59, 3:51, 3:57 and 4:04. Think I ran this session with a bit of belief and passion and needed to burn the frustration of life off. Might not be the most sensible thing after the physio but it's done now.

Feel much better this evening and the training feels real again, as though I am better connected with it. That can't be a bad thing.

I've gone out and pushed it on runs or sessions when I probably shouldn't have, but I think the boost in mood was well worth it. Some days you just have to give life a good kicking back. Or feel like you have anyway.

Week 15/19 DCM 2017

Wednesday 27th Sept
    18.1 km MLR at 5:51/km and HR 142. Ran this evenly from slow to faster end of the range.

Out after tea for this and down to Fairview Park and the coast before it got dark. Had the winter hat and rainjacket on as it was wet but it stopped after the first km and was quite mild. Ah well good training for a tropical DCM day.

Ran out nice and easy and turned at the end of the Bull Wall into a a fair wind. The quicker run section would now be into the breeze. Funny thing is it seemed to make the running easier. Probably concentrated a little mmmore and was conscious of what I was doing. Met Mrs Mc at the way back and stopped for a quick chat. Was pretty dark by the time I got back to Fairview Park but hopped the fence to retrace my out route. Run went well and can feel that the ITB is aching. Massaging it as advised.

Friday 29th Sept.
    6.6km Recovery Run at 5:53/km. Nothing special.

Saturday 30th Sept.
    Was really tired and did not want to do this session which involved a race 8-15km. Really squeezed today and had decided to run 3km before the Parkrun to make up a 8km hard run. Timed it well enough arriving to the start already destroyed. Aim was to run at least pb time. Last weeks HM and this weeks V02 Max session were in the mind and body in the most general way. Cannot say I felt it seriously in the legs until the last 2km. Gave this absolutely everything and considering it was not a race I was very happy with the effort. It would have been all too easy to lose the session.

Tacked on some warmup and cooldown kms to make this a decent morning.

8km: 4:24, 4:31, 4:26, 4:32, 4:26, 4:30, 4:38 and 4:13. Think tree cover messed up the 7th.

Week 15/19 DCM 2017 'ctd.

Sunday 1st October 2017

29 km LR at 5:44/km and HR 141
    Was well tired after some tough sessions over the last 8 days but was looking forward to this LR. Thought it would be nice to move along at a slower pace and enjoy being on my feet without too much body stress. The brain alarm woke me just before 7 am and I lay there imagining the weather outside. I could hear the wind but I could hear no rain as the front of the house is sheltered from the south westerlies. Porridge and tea and toast on board and drove into town to start the run near St. Stephens Green.

No rain and it was mild so I ditched the rain jacket and strapped on 2 water bottles. Was going to tackle the first half of the DCM and run close to Terenure before cutting off route and heading back into town. Plan was for 27km but I was happy to tag on a few kms to make a logical route.

I huffed and puffed the first 2 km down to the Lilffey to get yesterdays race out of the legs before ascending the first of 9 kms to the Water Tower past Castleknock. I had intended running at the slower end of the pace range today but once I started climbing both mind and body seemed to be quite happy to push on. Up through Manor Street and along Chesterfield past the forming groups of Sunday runners in the Park and I spot a lad I met at the Race Series HM who I had not seen for over 30 years previously. Small world etc.

Picked up the pace on the downhill sections past Castleknock to Chapelizod without looking at the pace on the watch but noted the net gains. Wanted to double check what time I might naturally gain on this section so that I can use some in advance on 3 particular kms on the climbs
    to this point.

Passed my first DCM route runners along the climb back up from the Liffey. The pace picked up quite naturally and I could feel the wind up through Crumlin to Walkinstown. Pace picked up again on this uphill section to PMP +20. Was enjoying the run now but holding back to protect the training aim as the wind switched around to my back. Finished out the run by diverting back into town by Mount Argus.

A good run to round off the week.

78.8 kms done and dusted but was 3 kms short of programme plan as I had misjudged yesterdays mileage. ITB appears to be improving and it is not as sore to massage.

Enjoy your running folks.

Week 16 DCM 2017

In arrears here. really struggle with getting this weeks training done and missed out on one run. Was really up against it this week and something had to give. Happy enough all the same and it won't be a game changer.

Tuesday 3.10
    11.6 km run at recovery pace with 6x100m strides. Hr fine but technical blip with data on first 3 km.
    Harbouring a persistent bug in right ear and throat that lasted for the next 2 weeks. Think the body is close to its limits. Did enjoy the run all the same.

Wednesday 4.10
    V02 Max session - just could not do this. Mentally, physically and emotionally exhausted so I stood back from this session. Have struggled a little in recent weeks but have managed the sessions. I thought better of pushing my luck today so it was designated as a rest day.

Friday 6.10
    18 km MLR, 5:45/km and HR 141
    A new course and run in the early evening before the Ireland game. Very pleasant run and kept to the designated pace comfortably.

Saturday 7.10
    6km Recovery Run at 6:03 and HR 131. Ran in the right zone to help recovery and felt ok.

Sunday 8.10
    32km LR at 5:50/km and HR 142.
    Not great preparation as we headed out for grub last night and it ended up with a pint or two. Sleep was poor so I was not expecting too much from this run. Road tested the physio strapping system and it lasted for 8km which was fine. Tendon got full support for 25% of the run which definitely helped. I think that my mind melted away on this run at times although it was paced fine with a few faster kms towards the end. Had grabbed a handful of leftover Saturday night jellies belonging to the lads at home which went down well over the last 10 km. Run actually went very well and I headed back to bed about an hour after the run and slept soundly 45 minutes. Up and at it again before lunchtime and felt much better.

Week 17/19 DCM 2017

Tuesday 10.10
    VO2 Max day 13 km with 5x600m at 5km pace: 4:07, 4:03, 4:05, 4:03 and 4:05. Session went well and I had nothing left afterwards. Felt listless for a few hours and body demanded protein. Obliged.

Wednesday 11.10
    Very easy recovery pace run and managed the allocated 10km plus one more as I had misjudged the route length. HR 133.

Friday 13.10
    An 8-10 km tune up race was scheduled in for tomorrow. There was one on in Donadea but it clashed with a long standing Family Relations Hike in Wicklow. Decided to improvise and did a 11.6km run with 7km at MP to get some sort of a feel for the pace. Managed it ok with a couple of seconds faster per MP km than planned. It was warm and I was drenched but the physio strapping stayed on for 8km this time. Slowly but surely there is some progress with the knee but I cant help but feel that there is some other underlying issue.

Saturday 14.10
    On the hills in Wicklow for a very enjoyable and comfortable few hours rolling over a few hills to the south of Lough Dan. A lovely day out in the last warmth of autumn. All the Mountain Ash on the hill were leafless. Have also noticed that my own Mountain Ash at home has been stripped by the starllngs of berries 6 weeks earlier than last year. Fly agaric in abundance in low lying woodland for Enid Blyton and Beserker fans.

Sunday 15.10
    Last longish run in the breezy embrace of a pre-Ophelia disturbance. Enjoyed the run and fair play to Mrs Kennyg71 who leant out the passenger door window to shout encouragement. I don't think Mrs K was driving :eek::eek::eek:
    Run went well at 5:49/km and HR 141 which is fast end of the pace guide. Not bad considering the wind on the return leg.

This is the first run in a while that I felt fairly ok after. The throat/ear appears to have cleared up yesterday after a 2 plus week visit. Taper is very welcome and looking forward to some recovery now.

Week 18/19 DCM 2017 beckons and I am feeling some confidence returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Gill spotted you in distance when driving up the road, and said I recognise that run, it's Denis, had a good hold on her so she wouldn't fall out the window. Good going today, fair wind blowing alright.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Gill spotted you in distance when driving up the road, and said I recognise that run, it's Denis, had a good hold on her so she wouldn't fall out the window. Good going today, fair wind blowing alright.

Fair play to Gill - enthusiastic to the last.

I get slagged mercilessly here at home about not bending the elbows:). Badly need some decent S&C to stop the middle collapsing when I get tired. Saw the Official Race Series HM pics of me and thought about paying for them just to get them off the web :D.

Next Year. Yes, next year things will be different :rolleyes:

Week 18/19 DCM 2017

It has been a long long march but nearly there. Not quite the taper that I was expecting as I do not tend to look too far ahead in a plan. Week by week is fine by me.

Tuesday 17th Oct
    11.5 kms at Recovery Pace with 8x100 m strides. Pace 5:57/km and HR 134 incl strides

Got out early for this run. Felt the pressure building up above the patella again despite the taping. Run went well but I can feel the pressure coming up through the knee when going downhill. Back on to the physio and got an appointment for Friday.

Wednesday 18th Oct
    Last VO2 Max Session with 13km and 3x1600m at 5km Pace with 90% jog recoveries. VO2Legs: 4:20, 4:13 and 4:10 roughly.

Underestimated the wind and had been travelling down west all day. Skipped dinner and got out the door to get this session finished before dark. Moved away from the coast after the first leg as was being buffeted by the wind and just could not get the legs turning over fast enough. Got a fair lap section in Fairview Park for the second and third which required a bit of dodging fallen branches etc. Actually enjoyed this and managed the last 2 legs pretty much on target without clock watching. Was concerned about the extra pressure on the knee but the session went fine.

Friday 20th Oct
    Recovery Pace Run for 8kms with 6x100m strides. Pace 5:48/km and HR 137

Session was fine and visit to Physio confirmed that ITB has really tensioned again. Worked on the problem area and it felt better. I do not seem to be taping the area correctly. Tried a more aggressive and complete approach to taping.

Saturday: A rest day and a sneaky few hours with some very very gentle valley hiking in Wicklow. Wild and beautiful in Glendalough. It was all monasteries and mines today.

Sunday 22nd Oct
    Last MLR and headed out to do 19km (Did 21 km) of the DCM route to the finish. 5:45/km and HR 143.

Met a fellow DCM Traveller en route and we joined up near Terenure. Got lost in conversation as perfect strangers do and enjoyed the company to the point that we got distracted and strayed off course near Roebuck Road. Cause of Diversion: conversation had changed to hurling and the nascent journey of Wexford hurling. Oh Davy has that effect on people.

Met Murph_D on the run in to Ballsbridge. Not sure what he is planning as he was heading against the route :). Taping system worked out very well and held for the complete 21kms as against 4-5 kms for the old system. No pressure discernible on the knee but heading back to the physio in the morning to double check progress. Have learned to invest in myself.

I am feeling pretty good and am glad to be at this end of the training. Need to continue to actively manage hydration during the week and to keep up good sleep routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great block of training Denis best of luck Sunday I’ll be out on the bike supporting. What time are you hoping for M is doing up the spreadsheet so I’ll know where everyone is supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Great block of training Denis best of luck Sunday I’ll be out on the bike supporting. What time are you hoping for M is doing up the spreadsheet so I’ll know where everyone is supposed to be.

I've tried doing that, the problem is the damn waves :( am just gonna rely on the tracker on the day which tells you where everyone is.

Denis the very best of luck!!!! You've had a fantastic training block - likewise will be on the bike so hope to spot you in a couple of places. Have a fantastic run.

Mrs Mc wrote: »

Many thanks for the good wishes. I will take them all :). Yep, I did the best that I could and training went very well, by and large. Sometimes I have to remind myself of that. I am aiming for <3:40:00, not by much though and I will be starting at the very back of Wave 1. See ya on course.
    I've tried doing that, the problem is the damn waves :( am just gonna rely on the tracker on the day which tells you where everyone is.

Denis the very best of luck!!!! You've had a fantastic training block - likewise will be on the bike so hope to spot you in a couple of places. Have a fantastic run.

Thank you AM. Your tracker idea is a good one. I just about rightly belong in Wave 1 so that will make things a little easier in terms of judging time. Will post my number when I receive it. It will be a busy day on the bike :). Did the same last year and enjoyed it more, I think.

Week 19/19 DCM 2017

Update:
    Trying to be as objective as possible here. Training went very well over the 19 weeks. Lost my mojo once or twice during August and early September but the sessions were always done. Have to say that I enjoyed the longer runs and they probably proved to me that I have made gains. I came off pre marathon training with new 5km and 10km pbs and my secondary goal was to then continue with 10 mile and HM pbs. They were soft targets but provided a bit of welcome distraction. A DCM Marathon finish with a pb (DCM 2015 - 3:54) was the single most important goal this year. I am prepared and if weather etc plays ball then I should manage that. I have set:

A Target - <3:40:00
    B Target - <3:45:00
    C Target - <3:54:11

Plenty to aim for in that. The ITB flared up again last week but 3 physio visits and a supporting tape system that works gives me every confidence that I will be fine. It has shown tremendous improvement. Just need to manage the intensity on hills which I normally do anyway. Combination of normal stress and anxiety (nobody is forcing me to do it :rolleyes:) and a chill is under management. That will be fine too.

I am looking forward to DCM and I will enjoy it. Deep down I most want this to be an affirmation experience that encourages further progress.

Monday 23rd Oct
    Went to a physical therapist for the pre marathon rub down. First time, but was good to get the onceover. A few dinks here and there but I am good to go.

Physio next. ITB much improved and no residual tightness left. Practiced the required taping technique which is minimal and unobtrusive. The difference in a week!!!!

Tuesday 24th Oct
    10 km Recovery run without a watch and not because I thought that that would be a good idea. I just couldn't find it. Out on the run I remembered where I had left it :). Legs were heavy and tired with the remnants of a chill since Sunday. Had thought about cancelling this run.

Wednesday 25th Oct
    Taking the rest day that I should have taken yesterday. Enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Wishing you the very best for Sunday Denis, your consistent great training will pay off but the most important job is to enjoy it... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭diego_b

Best of luck for Sunday Denis, hopefully see you at some stage. You've put the miles in for sure and hoping your nail your target and then some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Best of luck! Glad to hear the ITB is improving. I'll be keeping an eye out for you on Sunday too.

diego_b wrote: »
    Best of luck for Sunday Denis, hopefully see you at some stage. You've put the miles in for sure and hoping your nail your target and then some!

Thanks D. Looks like we are part of the <3:40 Squad. Should be quite the rush for the line so :D. Are you heading off in Wave 1? Will chat to you about your plan at some stage. Looked interesting.

Enjoy your day. I think you have been saving yourself for this :D

chickey2 wrote: »
    Best of luck! Glad to hear the ITB is improving. I'll be keeping an eye out for you on Sunday too.

Thanks C. Only keeping the route warm for you for next year ;).

Younganne wrote: »
    Wishing you the very best for Sunday Denis, your consistent great training will pay off but the most important job is to enjoy it... :D

Absolutely Anne and best of luck with your gig. Nerves are dissipating and looking forward to Sunday now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

denis b wrote: »
    Thanks C. Only keeping the route warm for you for next year ;).

Lol, I'm suffering from marathon envy despite saying I wasn't going to do another one! Maybe every second year isn't a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I’ll send you mark’s excel spreadsheet it takes account of the wave start it’s great have as a guide when to move to the next spot and who you want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Best of luck for Sunday, and thanks for reminding me to think about B & C goals!

Not at all. We can compare what we hit, at McGrattans afterwards :D. Absolute very best for Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best Luck Sunday Denis, will be only spectating hopefully see you along the way, have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

The very best of luck on Sunday D, I hope all goes to plan for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Best of luck on Sunday and I'm sure all the training is going to pay off. Hopefully see you for a pint afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

chickey2 wrote: »
    Lol, I'm suffering from marathon envy despite saying I wasn't going to do another one! Maybe every second year isn't a bad idea.

ha, that's what sucked me in.... Next year, C!

Denis... you have been so consistent in your training and your log has always been interesting to read, I expect a full report of fascinating facts from around the course on Sunday :D. And I know you are going to nail that A goal. Very best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Good luck Denis! Great to see the positive attitude, which is helping your training and will get you through the tough patches in the race. You're certainly capable of going well under 3:40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Only the one park to run through tomorrow and most of your sightseeing opportunities should be spent considering the whereabouts of the race line, so probably not much to writeup about tomorrow's long run :)

All the best D, really hope you have a satisfying race and hope to see you at some stage tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,765 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good luck D - I’ve no doubt the A goal is there, provided the body parts hold together (and possibly even if they don’t). See you afterwards, hopefully. All the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of tomorrow Denis!
    PB is in the bag, no pressure:) Have a great race.