Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 8th amendment(Mod warning in op)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,776 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just to update with what onne of our senators said today.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ronan-mullen-strongly-criticised-for-comments-on-savita-1.3262015
    Independent Senator Ronan Mullen has been strongly criticised for comments he made today on the circumstances in which Savita Halappanavar died.
    Mr Mullen claimed Ms Halappanavar would not have been in hospital and would not have died if abortion had been available in Ireland when she died in 2012.
    Mr Mullen made the comment in response to questions on RTÉ’s Today with Sean O’Rourke about whether Ms Halappanavar would still be alive if she was given a termination when she asked for one.
    The Senator replied: “If there was abortion on demand she wouldn’t have been in the hospital because she wouldn’t have been pregnant and she wouldn’t have been having a miscarriage.”
    Ms Halappanavar (31) died on October 28th, 2012 at Galway University Hospital, one week after she presented with back pain and was found to be miscarrying her 17-week pregnancy.

The man is scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

spookwoman wrote: »
    The whole system needs to be overhauled. They need to bring in maintenance, I also believe that women also need to take responsibility if they choose to go through with the pregnancy.

They get to choose?

If only!

Grayson wrote: »

So he's scum for being right and stating the uncomfortable truth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The man is scum.

It reminds me of when the RCC canonised a woman who died as a result of her pregnancy. Mullen probably thinks, "That's one less infidel to complain about a lack of godless schools!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

cnocbui wrote: »
    She had a wanted pregnancy and only asked for a termination when she, a healthcare professional herself, knew it was failing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Savitas pregnancy was planned and wanted. They only requested termination when they knew that the foetus was not going to survive. It disgusts me that Ronan Mullen can get away with such comments. Vile cretinous man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

January wrote: »
    Savitas pregnancy was planned and wanted. They only requested termination when they knew that the foetus was not going to survive. It disgusts me that Ronan Mullen can get away with such comments. Vile cretinous man.

Its the smug way he lies that gets me.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

She had a wanted pregnancy and only asked for a termination when she, a healthcare professional herself, knew it was failing.

So she would be alive today if she had bad the termination she asked for?

Yes. She would be. As stated several times by many health care professionals who've reviewed her case.

The 8th amendment killed Savita.

Probably.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/eighth-amendment-played-major-role-in-savita-s-death-1.3261037

and if that's not enough, go read the HIQA report. It's very clear in the report. It can't be guaranteed that she would have lived but it was guaranteed that she'd die without a termination.

It's a clear lie that he said. Savita wanted to be pregnant.

Yes, I got that he was lying about that bit but he was nonetheless correct about her still being alive if she had been able to get the termination she ultimately requested.

No he implied that she had wanted a termination from the start of her pregnancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The NUI graduates who voted for that man really need to take a long, hard look at themselves.

Although half of them are probably priests from Maynooth :rolleyes:

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Hands up, how many pro-choicers needed the likes of Mullen to repulse them off the fence? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

We need more of Ronan Mullen, I'm telling yous, he's a horrible piece of shít but who better to represent the anti-abortion side, he can do nothing but harm to their cause.

Just look at his rotten performance today, he tried to claim that Savita would have terminated her pregnancy early. Then later on when given the opportunity to apologize for that blatant and shameless lie he just got plain ole pathetic/desperate by backing away from his comments and of course by trying to divert.

The NUI graduates who voted for that man really need to take a long, hard look at themselves.

Hey, don't look at me, I only graduated in September 2016. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Yes. She would be. As stated several times by many health care professionals who've reviewed her case.

The 8th amendment killed Savita.

Surely it couldn't happen again though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

As if money was the only thing in consideration though?

Firstly this is basically an invasive surgery. Which can come with all kinds of side effects and emotions. Do you not think a woman might prefer to be in familiar and comfortable surroundings?

Secondly a lot of women change their mind. However since the time and effort to travel to the UK is high for some women in financial or other duress..... some may feel compelled by thinking "Well I am here now, I best go through with it" because they know they might not be able to come back again if they RE change their mind.

Third I am not convinced it even WOULD be cheaper. Ryanair and low fares airlines have us thinking flights are cheap, but when you add up all the associated costs, accommodation, foods, travel from isolated airports no where near the city they are named for and so forth.... it can really add up.

Fourth who even cares what is cheaper? The question is should we as a nation be offering this service at all, or not. That is a stand alone moral and ethical question and to hell with the costs of getting it elsewhere.

Fifth, it might be cheaper for her to travel ALONE to the UK. But why do we want her to be alone when electing for such a procedure. Might she not want people with her? What of the costs of that?

Sixth, you assume the procedure goes well. What if it does not. Said women is then in a foreign country, suffering from medical complications. Would she not be better off at home near her own hospitals, and on her own medical insurance and so forth?

Should I go on, or is this enough to show just how poorly thought out your comment was?

Calm down, its just a small statement of fact. If cost is an issue, what makes you think you're going to be able to get it done in Ireland. You're going to be placed on a waiting list, in which case you'll probably have the baby before you get the abortion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

We did vote to keep the Seanad at least so those of us of higher intelligence can select the best in the country like himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The only reason I vote in Seanad elections is to vote against that stinking piece of excrement.

thee glitz wrote: »

As long as the 8th is there it can happen again.

thee glitz wrote: »

Could happen again next week. As long as their is ambiguity as to where the rights of the foetus ends and the right to life of the woman begins then it could happen again.

The foetus within Savita still had a heart beat. It was slow and getting slower each day but it was still there so even though Savita was getting sicker the doctors didn't know whether she was 'sick enough' that they could perform an abortion without being reprimanded for it.

Sheeps wrote: »
    Calm down, its just a small statement of fact. If cost is an issue, what makes you think you're going to be able to get it done in Ireland. You're going to be placed on a waiting list, in which case you'll probably have the baby before you get the abortion.

Before 12 weeks you can take a pill. 92% of abortions occur before 12 weeks

As long as the 8th is there it can happen again.
    Could happen again next week. As long as their is ambiguity as to where the rights of the foetus ends and the right to life of the woman begins then it could happen again.

The foetus within Savita still had a heart beat. It was slow and getting slower each day but it was still there so even though Savita was getting sicker the doctors didn't know whether she was 'sick enough' that they could perform an abortion without being reprimanded for it.

I thought the POLDPA 2013 might have cleared that up. So the doctors didn't know - I hope the new legislation makes their current decisions easier to make.

It's not that they don't know, it's that their freedom to act is constrained by the constitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Astounded at the ignorance of Mullen's comments today. :eek: What a warped individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Before 12 weeks you can take a pill. 92% of abortions occur before 12 weeks

I was speaking in reference to the post I quoted where the poster was speaking of surgical abortions thanks.

It's not that they don't know, it's that their freedom to act is constrained by the constitution.

I thought there was some level of doubt amongst the doctors, that they were considering law rather than medicine. Given that abortion is legal in some circumstances, and they are performed here, they either didn't know what would happen or did but unnecessarily allowed it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭emo72

im so drunk. but gonna have my say anyway. the citizens assembly suggested abortions up to 12/24 weeks for socio reasons. im sure the political parties baulked at that. i was shocked myself. put exactly that to a referendum. id bet me house on how it would go.