Posters in montessori school for Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Back in the day, we had a figure of a crucified, near-naked man in the classroom.

such barbarity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Back in the day, we had a figure of a crucified, near-naked man in the classroom.

I never felt that was a healthy thing for children to see, either.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

As usual with an outrage thread, I was expecting to disagree with the OP but them decorations are extremely inappropriate. Who onceqrth though they were suitable

They're brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

God help the kids coming around my street on Halloween night, this type of thing is all over the gaff. If the children in this school are upset of course remove them but I would say this is being driven by the parents and the kids are probably fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

They're probably not too upset, I don't think it's good for them, mentally, to normalise such scenes though. In the same way they shouldn't be exposed to horror films. At least if the parents want to eliminate stuff like that they can choose not to take such young children trick or treating to streets/homes with similar decorations. There isnt a lot of choice if it's in their childrens Montessori school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Could be trying to tell the parents your kids are chucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

eviltwin wrote: »
    I would say this is being driven by the parents and the kids are probably fine.

So the parents went in and put up the decorations, wtf?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So the parents went in and put up the decorations, wtf?

No, I'd say the parents are the ones who are upset and the kids probably aren't bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I think they're deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Great posters. I like the second one. If it had been hung better without the creases it might even look realistic as if it was a pane of glass with bloody hand prints.

I think the kids should do a project where they do drawings of their favourite serial killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Fine for 8 year olds, but 4 year old? I can't imagine who thought that would be a good idea.

"And in the following poster you can see a leg sticking out of a toilet." Toilets are scary enough at that age without throwing dismembered body parts into the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Great posters. I like the second one. If it had been hung better without the creases it might even look realistic as if it was a pane of glass with bloody hand prints.

I think the kids should do a project where they do drawings of their favourite serial killer.

On liveline there was a case a few months back of a primary school teacher from Kildare I think who was suspended and then sacked from his post.

One of the reasons was that he got the class doing a school project about a serial killer in America. Can't remember which serial killer in particular! Allegedly he would lower he blinds and turn off lights while he taught them.

He was on joe Duffy complaining of unfair treatment by his former employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,445 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I was half expecting this to be some rant about misogyny and "why always witches" or some nonsense but bloody hell that is a few notches too high for 4 year olds.

Hopefully they show them clips of The Walking Dead and people being torn apart to teach anatomy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

I think when you're at an age when you completely and utterly believe a bearded jolly old fat man personally delivers gifts to every child around the world in one night in December, that when their teeth fall out a fairy visits at night with cash, then I'm not sure posters of dismembered body parts and torture porn is appropriate for Halloween celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

For those who are saying they are harmless and good craic, I doubt ye have children. It is amazing the little things that will make a small child white with terror and sleepless for ages. Even the thoughts of some weird odd things can be too much for some children, not because they are damn snowflakes, but because they are naturally more sensitive, introverted, gentle, and suggestible due to their vivid imaginations. Cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭angryIreGamer

bloody hell, what next - complaints about showing 3 year olds Mel Gibsons Passion of the Christ.

Nothing wrong here. Itll help the kiddies build character.

No, I'd say the parents are the ones who are upset and the kids probably aren't bothered.

You don't have much experience with very many young kids do you.

What makes you think that?

Because you seem to think that they're all the same.

Do I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,927 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

When I was that age, I was scared of a weird looking monkey drawing on my wall height chart.

Can't even imagine what I would have made of the pictures in the OP :eek:

o1s1n wrote: »
    When I was that age, I was scared of a weird looking monkey drawing on my wall height chart.

Can't even imagine what I would have made of the pictures in the OP :eek:

What are you talking about? You've been told by a randomer on the web (one just trying to be cool by going against the flow) that kids aren't bothered at that age by such trivialities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

It's an absolute shambles the amount of places have 'Montessori' over the door and have no clue what the basic principles of her work with children were.

It's far more in line with her work if children celebrate it as harvest time, time to make crafts etc. The children would be allowed to dress as historical figures as opposed ghoulish or scary characters.

If the other staff won't take that crap off the walls and doors then a parent needs to step up. I'd genuinely rethink that place as a Montessori for a child, because they haven't a clue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

My son would find'em a mild curiousity. At the moment he's looking forward to seeing skeletons outside on the way in. And disappointed when they've been taken in before we leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Totally inappropriate for the age group. Children's Hallowe'en decorations have always tended towards more cartoonish, with good reason. Children have very active imaginations and anything too gory can really freak them out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Meh, kids have been seen worse during their own birth. :pac:

They probably see the same stuff around everywhere, plus, we have no idea how they were introduced to the kids in the Montessori.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Meh, kids have been seen worse during their own birth. :pac:

They probably see the same stuff around everywhere, plus, we have no idea how they were introduced to the kids in the Montessori.

3/10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Them posters are actually blank and it's your brain filling them with images from your subconscious and/or memory. Sickos.

*Maybe binge watching Mindhunter was not a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Malayalam wrote: »
    For those who are saying they are harmless and good craic, I doubt ye have children. It is amazing the little things that will make a small child white with terror and sleepless for ages. Even the thoughts of some weird odd things can be too much for some children, not because they are damn snowflakes, but because they are naturally more sensitive, introverted, gentle, and suggestible due to their vivid imaginations. Cop on.

Don't doubt it :)

They will see far worse in woodies or heatons, and in gardens when they go trick or treating. As per eviltwin earlier (who I know is also a parent) my garden is probably not the place for young children on halloween night if this is considered too OTT.

They are literally seeing these posters in all supermarkets, DIY stores, housing estates, 2 euro shops so I don't see the big deal. They're pieces of plastic.

Edited to add: that's not to say that if the kids are finding them too much they shouldn't be removed; of course they should, but I would be curious if the kids find them bad, or just their parents.