Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Donut shops, EVERYWHERE!

Happy to see it. Makes a change from the self-absorbed self-improvement and physique-concerned food culture of the 2010s. Long live the carefree days of the 90s and 2000s when nobody was informed on nutrition because the Internet didn't get that big until 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

Happy to see it. Makes a change from the self-absorbed self-improvement and physique-concerned food culture of the 2010s. Long live the carefree days of the 90s and 2000s when nobody was informed on nutrition because the Internet didn't get that big until 2008.

Jesus. Everybody thinks the internet didn’t get big until they started using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

the police love doughnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Doughnuts are great. I fail to see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Load of these shops have popped up in cork city.
    Tbh the doughnuts look awful. But then I don't eat doughnuts so maybe there's no appeal for me.

Jesus. Everybody thinks the internet didn’t get big until they started using it.

Well in Ireland wiress broadband became common in 2008. In 2006 and 2007 many had broadband through a wire to their desktop but 2008 was when wireless broadband became common. The internet was not used for hours a day like it is now before wireless broadband. In the days of dial-up download speeds were slow for most people and most people were worried about running up big bills so they limited internet usage. Broadband came to Ireland in 2003 but had low take-up until prices dropped. In 2000, 2001 internet usage per person per day was still very low from what I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

anewme wrote: »
    Before donuts, there was cupcakes! that fad seems to be almost gone thank God. Hated those cupcakes with the syntethic icing, what was wring with an aul fairy cake.
    You beat me to it! This exact post was what I signed in to write. The ganky hyper sweet icing, all looks and no taste at all, the idea of a grown up actually wanting to eat anything that sickly without it being made trendy first...all they ever did was make me miss my Nana's fresh baked buns.

I'm away from home so I'm missing this fad but I'm assuming it went something like: someone realised that if you take a sugar and flour recipe, put something pretentious in the ingredients and make it look fancy, you can charge people through the nose for it and they'll be picking the crumbs out of their neckbeards and check shirts for ages. Then loads of copycats come along until the whole of Dublin looks like Springfield after homer gives away the recipe for flaming Moe's, then they start to close and soon everyone wonders how they ever paid a fiver for one of those.

I'm as guilty as anyone by the way, huge fan of the dublin burrito scene before I moved away.

As for the next fad, there is already a Cornish pasty place in Temple bar, used to be where little ass is now, but there's huge room for pretentious expansion of that.

My guess is, for desserts, churros: same ingredients as doughnuts (so plenty of mark up room) but with a hint of Europeanness and the option to put chili and chocolate together...

For mains...I'm thinking they'll ruin something like Irish stew or bacon and cabbage next.

Regarding American culture, someone mentioned diners, I fully agree. More especially, I'd like to see a place that specialises in American sandwiches, like Philly cheese, Italian beef, French dip, poboys, etc.

Not a hipster place, just a place that does some of these well without charging an arm and a leg, as is the case in America. If we're going to get America fat, we may do it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

When will they come up with a trendy sugary snack that is made up of chocolate n seagull bits . Just getting rid of a large swat of annoying squawking birds and shoveling it into American accent irish birds gobs. Preferably till they choke on their turd helping while giving out to their other half that they need to start some other costly annual slim/quick /syn diet trend. thus killing two birds by adding another few stone.

Anyone for a junkie pot pie? Some kinda Sweeny todd like situation except all the rancid meat gets grinded up and fed to drug dealers in prison. That way they can literally feed off peoples misery.

Vote me to make sanity great again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

When will they come up with a trendy sugary snack that is made up of chocolate n seagull bits

Another one of those times I regret hitting "last page" instead of viewing the thread from the beginning...

I meant to try that donut place in Dundrum when I was there last. Was halfway home when I remembered and was actually annoyed with myself. Hope the fad doesn't pass until I can give them a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Best ever donuts were the Lidl fresh cream and jam ones. Think the pack of 6 (or maybe 8) was about €3. Don't know if they are still doing them. The specialist shop ones are way overpriced.

Also, used to get the 5 pack of jam donuts in Tesco which were really nice. Now and again, there would be a bonus 6th one in the pack......was like winning the lotto :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Shout out for the Nine One One Donut place under the UCD library back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

431022.jpeg

431021.jpg

431020.jpg

It takes 45 minutes just to get inside this place in Portland, Oregon at busy times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A packet of custard donuts from Tesco for €1 is all I need in my life.

People paying €24 for 12, because marketing told them to :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Donuts in cork there is loads of these places as well but in the last few months they have All started to close down as there is only so many donuts one can eat like!!!.

I have tryed loads of then and I am like meh I don't get the dad i reather cookies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

GaGa21 wrote: »
    Aungier Danger too.....the queues outside their newly opened shop for a free donut was sad. I do love donuts but not for 3euro.

You shudda put it on the Bargain Alerts thread. Plenty over there who would stand out in Hurricane Ophelia for a free donut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

aXEZxEg_700b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

I'd murder a donut right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Well in Ireland wiress broadband became common in 2008. In 2006 and 2007 many had broadband through a wire to their desktop but 2008 was when wireless broadband became common. The internet was not used for hours a day like it is now before wireless broadband. In the days of dial-up download speeds were slow for most people and most people were worried about running up big bills so they limited internet usage. Broadband came to Ireland in 2003 but had low take-up until prices dropped. In 2000, 2001 internet usage per person per day was still very low from what I recall.

Ahhh where do I start with this !! :rolleyes:

Hahahahahhahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Yeh. When can we get a proper American diner

Saw Simon Delaney on TV3 on Monday morning (I’d been watching the weather updates) and he was asking the same. Apparently his book is filled with diner meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

OP if you don't like it then donut go in there.....sorry :o

My mam and brother like offbeat doughnuts in dundrum. Jesus the queue is insane when I go. I like their maple pecan one, tried a Boston creme too but the chocolate on top was sickeningly rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

They'd be useless here because where would you get the big long wobbly colourful 1950's American car with 5.7L engine and 3-speed automatic gearbox that you'd need to visit one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

My foreign girlfriend said she noticed all the donut shops and said we are becoming Americanized. I then told her that we're becoming the fattest country in Europe. She wasn't surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Americanized.

Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

laugh wrote: »

It takes 45 minutes just to get inside this place in Portland, Oregon at busy times.

'mericans init. Do they have anything with cheese on it?

D3V!L wrote: »
    Ahhh where do I start with this !! :rolleyes:

Hahahahahhahahahaha

If you can piece together a more succinct synopsis of irelands internet history during the 2000s I'd like to hear it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I like an auld donut - but jaysus the price of them. It would be cheaper to get a crack habit:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

laugh wrote: »
    431022.jpeg

431020.jpg

Mmmm, big black cock donut!

Do you have anything that looks like a fanny?:D

If that cock was on aungier street it would cost about a fiver. It's what, a quid there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
    It's still there, but its part of the Rolling Donut Franchise. Prices have increased of course

Have they? The Rolling Donut stand is as cheap and tasty as ever. Only donuts I like, to be honest. Simple and tasty. "Gourmet" donuts never taste as good as they look. I'm not the biggest donut fan in general.
    Effects wrote: »
    Boojum went rapidly downhill a few years ago. Doesn't stop people lapping it up.

It's literally exactly the same now as when it opened, quality-wise. It's not a hard thing to monitor either, being pretty simple fare.
    sugarman wrote: »
    Burritos peaked about 5 years ago with Boojum, Little Ass, Pablo etc.. following on but ince then its been all burger places opening ...Counter, Bunsen, Box, Wow, Jo, Five Guys etc..

Jo'Burger has been opened in its first location for at least ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

theteal wrote: »
    I'm calling it. Ceviche will be the next trend!

I had some ceviche not so long ago. My god it was amazing. Home made too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,210 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

OffBeat do a Black Forest doughnut.

It is delicious and I can feel the diabetes triggering as I'm eating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Probably the greatest invention ever made.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Probably the greatest invention ever made.

I'd probably agree with this.
    Can also be eaten at any time of the day. Like you'd never say that you'd have a croissant for dessert, but you'd easily say that you'd have a donut for breakfast.

Versatile food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Americanized.

Hmmm.

Autocorrect in my phone. Damn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I'm calling the next fad in the food industry;

novelty venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Have you heard of hobbies?

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Have they? The Rolling Donut stand is as cheap and tasty as ever. Only donuts I like, to be honest. Simple and tasty. "Gourmet" donuts never taste as good as they look. I'm not the biggest donut fan in general.

I remember them costing €1.50 for a bag of 5 at one point

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I'm calling the next fad in the food industry;

novelty venues.

A cat café is either opening or opened in Smithfield.

poxy cats everywhere while I'm trying to eat, nice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,515 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Thought there was already a small chain of faux-1950's American diners?

Do we really need more shyte food options?

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭illdoit2morrow

I was in America recently, they have a thing called a pizza, absolutely delicious.

It consists of dough, topped with tomato sauce, cheese and other random toppings.

It'll be the next big thing here I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Do you eat the cats?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Stop appropriating American culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭GaGa21

Best jam donuts are the superquinn own bakery....now supervalu ones. Delish!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No yank coffee chains either.

Drink your tea ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

2008? You mean 1994, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

joe stodge wrote: »
    A cat café is either opening or opened in Smithfield.

poxy cats everywhere while I'm trying to eat, nice...

Lucky for you they don't allow food! It's just €15 to pet cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,457 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

tenner for three donots

lol

people will buy anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,515 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Do you eat the cats?

Yeah, it's like the lobsters in a tank in a fancy seafood place, just pick the one you want.

I'll have that fat ginger lad.

2008? You mean 1994, right?

The internet only really came into publicly-available existence in 1994 but was slow as feck for years afterwards and wasn't used heavily by most of the population for many years afterwards. Even by 2000, "going on the internet" wasn't something most people just did the way they do nowadays. Not many teenagers for example had their own computer with unlimited internet access in their rooms in 2000, or 2003 for that matter. A common feature in many households I'm sure was a jotter of who used the internet and at what time, to track responsibility for large phone bills.

Anyway this thread is about donuts!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Ever heard of Eddie Rockets?