Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jesus, the roaring and shouting over the pensions debacle this morning - "We said it first" "No WE said it first" "NO NO NO WEEEEE SAID IT FIRST"

And Sean had to practically turn the mike off on MaryLou to shut her up.

If they put half the energy they devote to shouting each other down and trying to score points against each other into looking at ways of fixing the problem, it'd be done by next week.

They sound like spoilt kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Radio5

When interviewing Catriona Crowe this morning on the failure of religious orders and Catholic Church in general to allow their archives to be accessible, Sean said that he was declaring a family interest in that his daughter worked for some organisation. I missed what the organisation was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,000 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Radio5 wrote: »
    When interviewing Catriona Crowe this morning on the failure of religious orders and Catholic Church in general to allow their archives to be accessible, Sean said that he was declaring a family interest in that his daughter worked for some organisation. I missed what the organisation was.

I'm guessing it's this: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/lawyer-wins-new-award-for-magdalene-campaign-29521699.html

dulpit wrote: »
    I knew she was a barrister, but didn't know about that. Fair play to her. He must be incredibly proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Two issues bother me about these "character witness" statements:

1. The convicted person is being sentenced for the crime they have committed & the judge is already aware of any previous convictions so what is the point of these character statements? As in this case we have over the last few years seen numerous "pillars of the community" who none the less have committed henious crimes.

2. Surely this discriminates against someone convicted of the same crime but who isn't a so-called "pillar of the community" or doesn't have access to well know, respected, high profile people to submit character references. I thought we were all supposed to be equal before the law!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Callan57 wrote: »
    Two issues bother me about these "character witness" statements:

1. The convicted person is being sentenced for the crime they have committed & the judge is already aware of any previous convictions so what is the point of these character statements? As in this case we have over the last few years seen numerous "pillars of the community" who none the less have committed henious crimes.

2. Surely this discriminates against someone convicted of the same crime but who isn't a so-called "pillar of the community" or doesn't have access to well know, respected, high profile people to submit character references. I thought we were all supposed to be equal before the law!
    Didn't you get the memo? If you are a rich, respected paedophile, you are better than a poor paedophile!

This guy is a Garda SUPERINTENDENT!!!!!! Holy Mother of God is this what a once great force has come to? Spin, spin, waffle, waffle, waffle ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Full on apologist mode.

FFS people need to be sacked for gross misconduct.

Seán needs to go to town on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

Sean's definately getting done for speeding on his way home this evening

If a guy was sitting in a Garda station when he was supposedly out manning a checkpoint & being paid to do it ... is that not dishonest?

People of integrity and honesty do the job they are paid to do regardless of whether or not a boss is watching over their shoulder ... lack of supervision is probably the lamest excuse ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,357 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Integrity is doing the right thing even when no-one is watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Callan57 wrote: »
    This guy is a Garda SUPERINTENDENT!!!!!! Holy Mother of God is this what a once great force has come to? Spin, spin, waffle, waffle, waffle ....

Car crash stuff.

It reminded me of the Roddy Molloy interview about FAS' spending a few years back with PK.

Is it April 1 already :confused:
    "Cultural exchanges with North Korea" ... just what we really need!!!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I wouldn't be a fan, but have to say I thought Halligan handled the interview on SOR show well.

Said all the right things and d came across as sincere.

This thing probably put to bed now..?

[QUOTE
    This thing probably put to bed now..?QUOTE]

Hopefully. I can't take any more of it :mad: - so many important issues and this nonsense just goes on and on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Interesting debate between the various people involved in homeless provision. The 'official' and 'funded' services with full time staff being undercut by volunteers and part timers. But all of this to whose benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Interesting debate between the various people involved in homeless provision. The 'official' and 'funded' services with full time staff being undercut by volunteers and part timers. But all of this to whose benefit?

The cynic in me tells me there’s nice little earners in the ‘homeless industry’

I thought Sean was very obtuse with the council official who I feel has bravery stuck her head above the parapet and spoke honestly about these unregulated and unvetted "heroes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

feminst mental breakdown over some nobody blueshirt on twitter calling policitans stupid bitches Etc .

complete LOLfest.

feminst mental breakdown over some nobody blueshirt on twitter calling policitans stupid bitches Etc .

complete LOLfest.

The real entertainment came from the usually sensible Kate O'Connell on Newstalk.
    Anyone who responds to criticism with "yeah whatever" is not really putting forward a credible argument.

complete LOLfest.

There are not enough women in frontline politics and the dail.

Those that are in seem to get far more personalise abuse than a lot of the males.

There is a hell of a lot of abusive name calling on twitter and I certainly am not amused that it comes from a senior member of a government party. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

complete LOLfest.

He's (somehow) a member of their national executive. I genuinely thought he was just some rabid supporter. Always seems to be going on about "vile women" and "bitches". Sounds like his tone needs to be policed, because he sure as hell isn't doing the anti-choice side any favours.

Did Paul Reynolds just give out the RTE producers home county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Can’t beat a bit of Pugwash :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Can’t beat a bit of Pugwash :)

In that interview Sean asked Thomas why they were going to London to launch the album and Thomas replied that it was because they were being offered the chance to play there, adding that over here musicians in a lot of cases had to pay to play. Or words to that effect anyway. Thought it would at least have begged a follow up question from Sean, but he went a different tack. Very curious to know what Thomas was trying to get at there.

Ridiculous carry on this. I'd regard myself as having a reasonable interest in politics and the whole McCabe saga just makes me switch off at this stage. It has no relevance at this stage to the average Irish citizen. Already we hear those who want to have an election and willing to use this to facilitate it, pulling away from the matter and focusing on housing and health etc. Just like they brought down northern politics on the facile basis of a few bags of wooden pellets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ridiculous carry on this. I'd regard myself as having a reasonable interest in politics and the whole McCabe saga just makes me switch off at this stage. It has no relevance at this stage to the average Irish citizen. Already we hear those who want to have an election and willing to use this to facilitate it, pulling away from the matter and focusing on housing and health etc. Just like they brought down northern politics on the facile basis of a few bags of wooden pellets.

would that be sinn feinn your talking about? not listening to the show but sounds like the drivel been spouted on morning ireland by a shinner

Sean showing his colours this morning!

Abject cynicism Mary Lou jumping to the defence of the Guards ... but I guess a General Election would see her coronation (in the national interest, of course!) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"She travelled on a plane from America to Ireland"

She was hardly going to take the boat, Regina