So this Hurricane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Why post about it - your asking for trouble and being irresponsible by doing it.

If they really believed that there was nothing wrong doing it - why now delete the post and issue an apology - attention seeking a little?

Because of the backlash they got.

I agree, don't go into the sea during a hurricane, point is the hurricane was quite a distance away down in the Atlantic Ocean when they went swimming. There was about as much chance of them being ravaged by a great white shark as there was them being in jeopardy due to the storm

Also, attention seeking? Isn't that why nearly all businesses now have social media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

me_irl wrote: »
    If there's one thing to be said about this thread, it's knowing who to add to my Ignore List!

I think I've only ever added one person to my ignore list. Thankfully though that person is not on here making comment like some are - didn't think you could get more annoying people as him but this thread proved I was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Wouldn't at all go chancing it because winds can change with... well... a blow of the wind I guess, but if this proves accurate wow that's as close a miss as possible for Dublin, Wicklow and Kildare.

https://twitter.com/MetEireann/status/919943910285348864/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

22448498_10213619495697177_1778713243627758391_n.jpg?oh=5f8aa4754d06da43af2b47fd4026a290&oe=5A678845

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

scamalert wrote: »
    everyone's treating it as it will last for 2 months.pathetic :cool:

You do realise that when the storm has gone that there will still be homes and businesses without electricity right? ESB workers working to the bone at mad hours just to restore it just for the likes of you?

Nothing wrong with being over prepared. It's the ones that don't prepare in any way, go out when you're told not to unnecessarily or treat this like a hyped up joke that are the idiots.

When you're told to stay at home (unless absolutely necessary), then you stay the fúck at home. That's why some were buying a few days worth of stuff. When are some people going to get that basic fact through their damn skulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,533 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It was a good thing the shops/anchor tenants announced they were closing early enough this morning because if they didn't I could have just seen loads of parents bringing the kids out to entertain them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

22448498_10213619495697177_1778713243627758391_n.jpg?oh=5f8aa4754d06da43af2b47fd4026a290&oe=5A678845

That made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,533 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Kilcorney church near Millstreet in Cork!

22449831_1129455543851904_8919455551924227445_n.jpg?oh=24c0e01984cab4d3e3cebb6d1336e466&oe=5A6CF423

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It's tame enough where I am in Galway now. The place got a bit of a battering earlier but it seems to be okay now.
    Absolutely infuriating seeing people diving off Salthill pier. Bloody hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Re: happy pear, let's not be too hasty in saying we should warn them about being in dangers way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

it's still really windy in Cork. It calmed for a bit, then started up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Seen this fecking eejit standing over at the beach. What's wrong with people.

Bodhi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

So, when is this storm supposed to hit Mayo... I'm at home with countless children because the school is closed and we had worse wind last week (i judge it by the rattles of my sitting room stove door...not one rattle yet.)
    Just wondering if it's safe to take out the bins yet...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

That made my day.

eh double standards much? Were you not berating people for saying the storm wasnt as bad as they thought it was going to be despite lives being lost, yet a train driver making light of it by trying to get another day off has "made your day"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

https://www.ventusky.com/?p=53.3;-8.8;5&l=gust

A visual way of following the weather system

Re: happy pear, let's not be too hasty in saying we should warn them about being in dangers way..

I presume they have some special bean salad that prevents drowning. After all, they have ones that prevent cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Lads ye've no clue. The night of the big wind is coming. This will pass today leaving a huge depression behind just as night falls and there will some gusts of winds to fill the void. WARNING. I'VE ISSUED SEVERAL WEATHER WARNINGS NOW AND THANK GOD I DID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Patww79 wrote: »

Yeah it's been poor all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

dbagman wrote: »
    eh double standards much? Were you not berating people for saying the storm wasnt as bad as they thought it was going to be despite lives being lost, yet a train driver making light of it by trying to get another day off has "made your day"?

Completely different scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Worst weather in 50 years me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,654 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It was very tame here on the outskirts of Galway City. It made the constant wall to wall coverage feel a bit surreal, but, before someone jumps down my throat, I know we got off lightly compared to elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Kilcorney church near Millstreet in Cork!

22449831_1129455543851904_8919455551924227445_n.jpg?oh=24c0e01984cab4d3e3cebb6d1336e466&oe=5A6CF423

That's awful!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

Completely different scenario.

absolute rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I presume they have some special bean salad that prevents drowning. After all, they have ones that prevent cancer.

That's the one. A percentage of every one sold is donated to sending mountain gorillas to college to become nurses as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭tigger123

cbyrd wrote: »
    So, when is this storm supposed to hit Mayo... I'm at home with countless children because the school is closed and we had worse wind last week (i judge it by the rattles of my sitting room stove door...not one rattle yet.)
    Just wondering if it's safe to take out the bins yet...

Was it you that was wondering about the gig? I need closure ... what happened?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭glynf

I heard they were permanently shrouded in an impenetrable cloud of self-righteous smugness that shielded them from abnormal cell growth, let alone a few choppy waves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭gifted

Arghus wrote: »
    It was very tame here on the outskirts of Galway City. It made the constant wall to wall coverage feel a bit surreal, but, before someone jumps down my throat, I know we got off lightly compared to elsewhere.

I agree...here in Oranmore and wasn't the worst.

And yet despite the absolute nationwide destruction there is w@nkers still swimming in the sea in Galway :mad: Lives put at risk going out in rescue helicopters to help the selfish cúnts. Rescue them and jail the fúcking morons. Their stupidity and recklessness needs to be punished.