Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm Ophelia - General Discussion/Local reports - See MOD NOTE Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Mr.S wrote: »
    Do you really need to?

This is only my 3rd week in the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,748 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

siobhan08 wrote: »
    just recieved word I have to go into work in the morning nice and early (7am) in a leisure centre. will be like a ghost town as people will probably be following advice and staying at home if possible and the schools that should be in for lessons wont be :mad::mad::mad:

Your boss is a self important tool. It's a fu;king leisure centre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

gozunda wrote: »
    Afaik employers are responsible for compensation where any employe is killed on the way to work. Hopefully that won't be a scenario - but no harm to remind employers of this ....

Where in law did you read that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I work in DSP - been told the offices are closed nationwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

GarIT wrote: »
    All warnings have been saying that it is not safe to go walking. Deaths of pedestrians are expected.

I'm all on for the precautionary approach - but gong on about expected deaths is total crazy talk.

A pedestrian could die during a normal windy day. The highest wind speed in Dublin is 15 m/s - as per YR.

12 m/s is not unusual in coastal Dublin and people go kite surfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Gael23 wrote: »
    This is only my 3rd week in the job

Your LIFE is more important ffs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

I work in DSP - been told the offices are closed nationwide

Priv sector got ye covered :cool:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Wife runs a creche(Dublin) shes shutting tomorrow, Im in work till 7am hopefully light traffic and me tucked up in bed when its here.

North Leitrim

Just started to drizzle rain but that’s about it. Not even a slight breeze.

Should we all give a rough location when we’re posting weather updates?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,666 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

All Bus Éireann services are cancelled nationwide tomorrow until at least 2pm. Situation will be reviewed throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Gael23 wrote: »
    My boss rang me to say if anyone doesn't feel safe travelling in the morning it's ok

Come Tuesday it will be "well Paul, Dave and Joanne all managed the trek in".

I am seeing the true culture within my organisation when it comes to their staffs health and safety. Thankfully (and coincidentally) this is my last week working for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Come Tuesday it will be "well Paul, Dave and Joanne all managed the trek in".

I am seeing the true culture within my organisation when it comes to their staffs health and safety. Thankfully (and coincidentally) this is my last week working for them.

Ya, I'll be having some serious sh1t to say in work after this. My guess is managers be tucked at home with laptops whereas normal staff are in for business hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

All schools in NI shut tomorrow.....breaking news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 masterbenji08

love_love wrote: »
    This seems to have the most up to date info:
    https://twitter.com/merrionstreet

I haven't heard anything from my department yet (in Dublin) but I've already decided I'm not going in, it's not worth the risk.

Nothing from my department in Dublin either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

I'll be expected into work tomorrow by my employer rain, hail, shine or hurricane irma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Ninthlife wrote: »
    I work in Revenue..just told not to come in tomorrow

Grand. A few nixxers so with you shower in your beds.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

sword1 wrote: »
    I presume that is a wind up
    Oasis1974 wrote: »
    It's a tropical storm not a nuclear holocaust :)

Yes, a 'hot-incident' would've require multiple frequent clothing changes, duct-taped windows, filtered air and minimum 3wks of food/water supplies. Strict avoidance of hair conditioner and gradual uptake in iodine levels.

This event (although short in duration), could make travel and essential utilities unavailable during, but also for some time afterwards, depending on location (esp. elevation and exposure). I know a lad that does tree removal/chainsaw services, has hired a few extra lads for the next 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Full Marx

How do you know civil service is shutting down? I haven't heard anything yet.

Nothing about my Department yet either... In Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

There are still plenty of fishing boats off the southwest coast, they are all fairly big boats, but I'd say it would be mental out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Excuse my ignorance but does a storm like this build up slowly or start violently very quickly?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭love_love

Some civil service info (from personal sources):

PeoplePoint closed
    OGP in 3 Spencer Dock told not to attend (C&AG and OGCIO are also in same building, would imagine same advice would apply)
    15 Lower Hatch Street which houses DFAT & Ombudsman for Defence also closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Looks like all outdoor staff in Cork County Council have been told not to go in tomorrow - will probably be widespread water outages too tomorrow as electricity at many plants will be interrupted and staff will not be there to reset until Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Bus Eireann out until at least 2pm nationwide

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/919681074376200193

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭outsourced_ire

Press release from BE on service cancellations tomorrow:

https://www.facebook.com/corksafetyalerts/posts/1128998133897645

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Feckoffcup

Such an over reaction, worst thing that will happen is power outages and some minor building damages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 masterbenji08

love_love wrote: »
    Some civil service info (from personal sources):

PeoplePoint closed
    OGP in 3 Spencer Dock told not to attend (C&AG and OGCIO are also in same building, would imagine same advice would apply)
    15 Lower Hatch Street which houses DFAT & Ombudsman for Defence also closed

I'm in PeoplePoint..can I ask where you heard they are closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hunter456

spud82 wrote: »
    Stupid question but does anyone know what time the hurricane hits Limerick tomorrow?

between 11 and 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,422 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

2244hrs update from Met Eireann

RED STATUS WARNING IN EFFECT. Tomorrow Monday will be very stormy as Ex-Hurricane Ophelia, tracks northeastwards over the country. Violent and destructive gusts are expected with all areas at risk - especially the south during the morning, and the midlands and east in the afternoon. Moreover, heavy rain and storm surges may cause flooding, especially near coasts of the south and east. There is potential risk to lives and property. Highest temperatures 15 to 18 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Hastentoadd

I am no weather expert. So can someone put it in laymans terms. What are the indications? Is the East going to have severe hurricane level winds. How about the midlands? Whats the story with the West? As I understand it the eye of the storm will pass up the west coast. Will that mean the most significant winds will be close to the eye? Then the west side of Ophelia has the strongest winds. So is it more the midlands, Dublin that will be affected.