Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Fair play to you. Best of luck with em. There's lads around here dreaming.......looking for 400 or 450 for friesian Bull weanlings!

If you drop the calves to me at 3 months old, I'll buy you a few pints!

Bring a €100/hd for heifers and bulls and I'll buy you a few pints!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

We're competing against French stock for the sale of ours to Britain...or should I say "not competing" against them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

What are not in calf cows in good condition making roughly,straight out of the parkour at the moment does anyone know?
    Either in the factory or the mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

sunsnow i sent a few in last week half were paid at 3.20 per kg and other half at 3.1 per kg all out of parlor. reasonable condition 260-320kg dead weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

alps wrote: »
    We're competing against French stock for the sale of ours to Britain...or should I say "not competing" against them

Why send them to the U.K. when the Irish are falling over themselves to buy atm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Passed the herd test, first hurdle done. Dec now and hopefully a clear out before calving. Dung sample came back for a cow with rumen fluke. Have cows a dose for worms as well and dries vaccinated with rotavec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mooooo wrote: »
    Passed the herd test, first hurdle done. Dec now and hopefully a clear out before calving. Dung sample came back for a cow with rumen fluke. Have cows a dose for worms as well and dries vaccinated with rotavec

Neighbour just went down again. Some 12 reactors. 3 farms bounding each other that can't seem to shake it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Neighbour just went down again. Some 12 reactors. 3 farms bounding each other that can't seem to shake it.

Do they have any other animals on the farms besides bovines?
    I wonder would there be some sleepers among them if they did.

Sickener. We were read on the severe scale so they seemed clean enough. What would be an inconclusive on a normal reading would be a reactor on the severe reading. Have the department been out to check for badgers etc? Any deer about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Neighbours were finally depopulated. Last 8 or 10 animals. 3 oldest cows walking with lesions. No reactions to blood or skin tests while everything else went down. Your neighbours could have a similar problem. Dept refused to depopulate mu neighbour though he and they knew he had at least one animal that was beyond reacting to the test. This is his second depopulation this decade.

Floki wrote: »
    Do they have any other animals on the farms besides bovines?
    I wonder would there be some sleepers among them if they did.
    A dog, a cat and a horse. The other two farms the same though one has a chicken flock for eggs. Nothing obvious there anyway.
    Sickener. We were read on the severe scale so they seemed clean enough. What would be an inconclusive on a normal reading would be a reactor on the severe reading. Have the department been out to check for badgers etc? Any deer about?
    The badgers are down to a 'manageable' population according to the guy I was talking to when inspecting badgers here last year. Whatever that means but I think it means reducing overcrowding and reducing the stresses that go with that. No deer, thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Who?

Who?

The mechanic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

The mechanic.

Sound..... Serious outbreak for a herd of his size

Yeah and a 2 week old baby as well. Some people get more than their fair share of troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone get their silage tested yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote:

Arrabawn were meant to do it for free, no sign of yet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

whelan2 wrote: »

Yep mixture of haylage at 69 dmd to rocket fuel at 83 dmd dm from 23 to 58% and crude p from 11 to 19.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yep mixture of haylage at 69 dmd to rocket fuel at 83 dmd dm from 23 to 58% and crude p from 11 to 19.5

Hope you have them stacked in their relevant heaps Mahoney....we spent 3 night going through poor dry scutchy type stuff till we got back to good tack....some hit on the milk tank...it was a costly day we stacked them in front of good silage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

alps wrote: »
    Hope you have them stacked in their relevant heaps Mahoney....we spent 3 night going through poor dry scutchy type stuff till we got back to good tack....some hit on the milk tank...it was a costly day we stacked them in front of good silage...

Yep have done,introduced some good silage with z grazed grass during week,solids and Ltrs up

Are ye putting stock in sun/mon lads or what are yer plans.? Calves on outfarm will be coming to the yard as river running below the fields. Calves at home have shelter where they are. With temps up is nearly prefer to keep em out as may have to house cows.

My plan is to house Monday morning. May not have power for scrapers or milking by Monday evening though.

House all stock?

No, just cows. No shelter where they are, the drys have plenty of shelter.
    Plus I only have 120' of feed space atm so there will be lots of pushing and shoving which I don't like:(

My plan is to house Monday morning. May not have power for scrapers or milking by Monday evening though.

Have you a generator yourself or someone you can call on with a generator on a tractor?

I bought a generator myself today and bought cables to run off it. It'll run the milking machine and tank. Put the oil and petrol in it and started it up. Going grand. Went to plug in the cables and they're too small. Now with shops shut tomorrow I have to wait till Monday morning to get the correct cable to run from the generator to the ...cut off switch. Getting tight for time here and wexford and Waterford looks to be getting hit every bit as bad as cork and Kerry.

The last bad storm Darwin we had no power for six days.
    Seriously dreading this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Have you a generator yourself or someone you can call on with a generator on a tractor?

I bought a generator myself today and bought cables to run off it. It'll run the milking machine and tank. Put the oil and petrol in it and started it up. Going grand. Went to plug in the cables and they're too small. Now with shops shut tomorrow I have to wait till Monday morning to get the correct cable to run from the generator to the ...cut off switch. Getting tight for time here and wexford and Waterford looks to be getting hit every bit as bad as cork and Kerry.

Seriously dreading this.

From my reading of the storm i doubt it'll be as bad as your saying

Seriously dreading this.
    No generator. I'll have to wing it. I'm planning to milk around 10 on Monday and that's it till Tuesday morning, assuming we have power.

Hope your right but I don't want to be without power again for days and cows to be milked.

There's been no downgrades. If anything it's stronger than they thought it would be at this stage.
    Be as prepared as you can be for the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

They're forecasting 17mph winds for the midlands and not much rain, are you getting similar, relieved to hear it myself, 33 of us going to belgium monday morn for a few days to see where our groups lambs go and see a few farms......and we won't be drinking any alcohol :D

Didn't know what we were going to come back to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow