Man jailed for collecting dead mother's pension

A bit ridiculous.. I'm a fan of the idea that prison is there to rehabilitate you.

How many mothers does this guy have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

People,

In a calculated manner he deliberately stole €150k of our tax money. If any of us stole £150k from an employer or shop etc we would do 5-10 years. Women with kids expect a suspended sentence.

No sympathy from Partyguinness.

Oops69 wrote: »
    And still not a single banker in jail .

What exactly would you jail a banker for?

A bit ridiculous.. I'm a fan of the idea that prison is there to rehabilitate you.

How many mothers does this guy have?

Prisons do not rehabiltiate. Most offenders re offend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life. Note tho: 16 years doing it is too much!

I expect the usual response of "I pay my taxes and that person is frauding the system!" but as an OAP I know says... He worked his life paying taxes and he'd rather his family continue to get it for a while before having to stop.

But for those who can't hit the quote button fast enough it should be noted that you can't do that these days. OAP's are required to go to their local garda station every 6 months to show id and sign a form to say nothing has changed. In actual fact it's a form to see if you're still alive. Also the picture social services card has put a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

If he serves 9 months then at a rate of 220 a week over the 16 years then that's over 10k per month of jail, over 20k/m if he gets remission and is out in 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭737max

Prisons do not rehabiltiate. Most offenders re offend.
    They're very good for making cautionary tales of people who defraud their fellow citizens in the same way as Scolds would be elevated in a cage or thieves put in stocks.
    preventing a 150,000 loss to the social welfare systems becoming a 30 billion loss to social welfare ssytem by thousands of fraudsters is important.

I'm more worried about the other clients of the welfare system who can't be served by the welfare system because all the moment has leaked away to fraudsters like this man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life.

I expect the usual response of "I pay my taxes and that person is frauding the system!" but as an OAP I know says... He worked his life paying taxes and he'd rather his family continue to get it for a while before having to stop.

But for those who can't hit the quote button fast enough it should be noted that you can't do that these days. OAP's are required to go to their local garda station every 6 months to show id and sign a form to say nothing has changed. In actual fact it's a form to see if you're still alive. Also the picture social services card has put a stop to it.

Having worked doesn't give you the right to break the laugh and rob off others, whataboutery is not a valid response the lad is morally and legally in the wrong.

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life.

There you go...I'll press the quote button.

That attitude is exactly what is wrong with the country and the older generation. This 'Sure what harm is he doing. It's not like he killed anyone. Sure poor aul Mike worked hard all his life' attitude.

The type of attitude we saw from politicians, planners etc etc for decades. This sense of entitlement- sure steal €150k. It's only a white collar crime- no harm done. No victims.

That is the type of gombeen little me fein attitude we need to excise from the country's mentality.

But the fact he got away with it for 16 years is a damning indictment on the system at the time.

Having worked doesn't give you the right to break the laugh and rob off others, whataboutery is not a valid response the lad is morally and legally in the wrong.

I know and I do agree.
    Life isn't fair tho. We could talk about doing the right things, having good morals etc. But there is "the ideal world" and the real world if you get me.

There is a con to most things in life. Some can fraud the system by claiming false rent allowance for example while another business owner can fiddle his books to barely pay any tax.... Same story just different characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Agricola wrote: »
    Yeah, you'd think when her 113th birthday rolled around, suspicions would have been raised :D

You beat me to that reply,I was going to put 110th birthday:)

737max wrote: »
    They're very good for making cautionary tales of people who defraud their fellow citizens in the same way as Scolds would be elevated in a cage or thieves put in stocks.
    preventing a 150,000 loss to the social welfare systems becoming a 30 billion loss to social welfare ssytem by thousands of fraudsters is important.

I'm more worried about the other clients of the welfare system who can't be served by the welfare system because all the moment has leaked away to fraudsters like this man.

Don't get me wrong. I am glad he is jailed- I was just saying that prisons do not equate re rehabilitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

absolute joke. Suspicions werent raised that there was a 113 year old claiming a pension? how doesnt she have to show up herself? furthermore, placing someone who has committed this crime into prison, when there are dangerous scum roaming the streets... :rolleyes:

we have nowhere near enough prison spaces, I wouldnt be locking someone up for this offence, at least not for too long, maybe 1-2 prison sentence, community service and let him pay back a percentage of his income...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭737max

For a 64 year old man with an average of about 13 years left in his life I care little about rehabilitation.
    If this was a 19 year old with another 60 years in him I'd care about rehabilitiation but only in the interests of society in general.

Prisons do serve a purpose.

I know and I do agree.
    Life isn't fair tho. We could talk about doing the right things, having good morals etc. But there is "the ideal world" and the real world if you get me.

There is a con to most things in life. Some can fraud the system by claiming false rent allowance for example while another business owner can fiddle his books to barely pay any tax.... Same story just different characters.

Yes there is the ideal world and the real world but just resigned acceptance should not be the response or attitude.

There you go...I'll press the quote button.

That attitude is exactly what is wrong with the country and the older generation. This 'Sure what harm is he doing. It's not like he killed anyone. Sure poor aul Mike worked hard all his life' attitude.

The type of attitude we saw from politicians, planners etc etc for decades. This sense of entitlement- sure steal €150k. It's only a white collar crime- no harm done. No victims.

That is the type of gombeen little me fein attitude we need to excise from the country's mentality.

But the fact he got away with it for 16 years is a damning indictment on the system at the time.

I know you won't agree with this... But spoiler warning: all that stuff that happened "before" is gonna happen time and time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Just shows the respect he has for his own mother and her memory for me.
    Exploited her death to line his own pocket fraudulently. Grade A asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Again the Public (dis)Service has let down the tax payers.....we deserve better.
    Was nobody policing it.....sure it's only taxpayers money..I know who I'd put in Jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Masala

Some huge inconsistencies in the application of sentences....maybe his council should cite this case from yesterday in their appeal

http://www.thejournal.ie/pensioner-stole-avoids-jail-3643797-Oct2017/

I know you won't agree with this... But spoiler warning: all that stuff that happened "before" is gonna happen time and time again.

I am not entirely sure what you are saying I won't agree with but yes social welfare fraud happens all the time and will continue as long as people can get away with it. But my point is that we as a society should not just turn a blind eye and accept it as part of everyday life. Yes it goes on all the time but it should be rightly punished.

It's called corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Norman_Bates_in_Psycho_1960.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

You want to talk about white collar crime! Let's wait and see how David Drumm gets on next year in court, before we hang draw and quarter this pensioner!

I'm sorry but what has David Drumm got to do with a pensioner stealing being jailed for stealing €150k?

Oh that's right....absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Macy0161

rangler1 wrote:
    Again the Public (dis)Service has let down the tax payers.....we deserve better. Was nobody policing it.....sure it's only taxpayers money..I know who I'd put in Jail
    Try to encourage people to report fraud, it's a hate campaign.
    Try to put in place a public services card to help combat fraud, it's an abuse of civil liberties.
    Try to share info (such as death information?) between state bodies, what about data protection?

Yet it's the states fault this happens?

Mad how the dept took 16 years to realise the woman was dead
    I don't think they realised she was dead. She died in 1997, when databases were fairly primitive.

Suspicions only seemed to have been raised when the pension was no longer collected and, presumably, the DSP sought a death certificate.
    People,

In a calculated manner he deliberately stole €150k of our tax money. If any of us stole £150k from an employer or shop etc we would do 5-10 years. Women with kids expect a suspended sentence.

No sympathy from Partyguinness.
    Prison costs something like 60k per year.

I'm not sure what would be gained by throwing 600k at this crime, revenge? Is it really worth that?
    Idbatterim wrote: »
    Suspicions werent raised that there was a 113 year old claiming a pension?
    I am pretty sure that poster was joking ... she wasn't 100 when she died.
    how doesnt she have to show up herself?
    It's pretty common for family members to collect pensions on behalf of elderly people, especially if the elderly person is incapacitated. In fact, the Department of Social Protection encourages bank transfers instead of collected payments.

Jaysus....when you think of it. The ****er had the neck to walk into the local post office every week for 16 years and collect his dead mother's pension.

That takes some neck...and there people on here feeling almost sorry for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

begbysback wrote: »
    Actually it seems he did have precious record, though 67 and half blind, for a crime that ended in 2013 of his own accord - unlikely to offend again, alternative method of punishment would be more suitable

how did he end it of his own accord ?

he got caught did nt he ?

its just shameful that it took till now to prosecute him ?

Prison costs something like 60k per year.

I'm not sure what would be gained by throwing 600k at this crime, revenge? Is it really worth that?

Following on from that logic- no jail for economic crimes that do not exceed the cost of the prison sentence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Just looking at the five stages of grief (Elizabeth kügler-Ross, On Death and Dying, 1969) it seems that Mr. Bobey just got stuck at step 1. and was unable to make progress with the grieving process.

1. Denial.
    2. Anger.
    3. Bargaining.
    4. Depression.
    5. Acceptance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Macy0161 wrote: »
    Try to encourage people to report fraud, it's a hate campaign.
    Try to put in place a public services card to help combat fraud, it's an abuse of civil liberties.
    Try to share info (such as death information?) between state bodies, what about data protection?

Yet it's the states fault this happens?

And it's happening all the time, apologising for one scandal while they're creating another.
    This waste of taxpayers money cannot be allowed to continue, we're all working too hard to see this wilful waste