Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man jailed for collecting dead mother's pension

• 13-10-2017 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭

Headline on RTE News website today:

Man jailed for collecting dead mother's pension for 16 years

Jaysus - 16 years in jail - that's harsh I thought - then I read it and saw he was sentenced to 18 months. He'd been collecting the pension for 16 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Sure she could hardly collect it herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Sure she could hardly collect it herself.

Yeah op, discriminate much?

Seems harsh.

Edit, nevermind. It isn't 16 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

OP posts without reading the article - 18 months in the clink for 16 years social welfare fraud - with remission etc, it should be about half that. Not a bad return really, plus he gets to be minded for the time he's in lock up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭edireland

About time something was done.

Jays but she went fierce quick in the end tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 993 ✭✭✭737max

what happens to the 35 euro a week council house for the time that he is in Gaol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

How do they know she was dead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Quite sad really, we should have alternative methods of punishment in cases like this. There must have been some previous, if not the jail seems excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

OP posts without reading the article

Poster posts without reading OP. OP's post isnt edited and correctly lists sentence as 18 months. OP points out misleading headline from RTE.

Jail is not excessive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

edireland wrote: »
    About time something was done.

Yeah they've only this year got around to punishing people they catch defrauding the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jays but she went fierce quick in the end tho

All she wanted was a bitta cheeeeese. Terrible sad terrible sad. :(

737max wrote: »
    Jail is not excessive

Actually it seems he did have precious record, though 67 and half blind, for a crime that ended in 2013 of his own accord - unlikely to offend again, alternative method of punishment would be more suitable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

So who is going to collect it now?

I don't agree that jail is an innapropriate method of punishing him. That money which he took could have gone to oncology services or toward treating members of society with addiction problems or soemthing else. He gained while others dependent on the care of society suffered on without.

frag420 wrote: »
    So who is going to collect it now?

I assume the daughter who is a grown adult will continue to reside in the €35 per week council house in Walkistown which was "passed on" from the deceased lady to her son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I suppose I could do it, if he's stuck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Will he still have to pay it back now that he got a prison sentence.

Where did it say they were social-housing tenants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Meanwhile a woman who pretty much did something similar gets a suspended sentence.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/pensioner-who-stole-more-than-200k-in-benefits-from-exchequer-avoids-jail-809700.html

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

And still not a single banker in jail .

Where did it say they were social-housing tenants?
    From the report from last week. Do a search in the internet using your seach engine of choice and you'll find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the fool made the mistake of not racking up a few hundred convictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

begbysback wrote:
    Quite sad really, we should have alternative methods of punishment in cases like this. There must have been some previous, if not the jail seems excessive.

He stole 150k euro. How is jail not a suitable punishment?
    He only got 18 months & only serves 75 percent of his time. The most he can serve is 13.5 months

It he was pick pocketing every week for 16 years & caught you'd expect him to get a much tougher sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

It’s what she woulda wanted...

He made the mistake of not running a company with the courts service as a client.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Mad how the dept took 16 years to realise the woman was dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Mad how the dept took 16 years to realise the woman was dead

Yeah, you'd think when her 113th birthday rolled around, suspicions would have been raised :D

There is software in the HSE and in other state departments which records when someone dies but because departments/offices don't communicate it doesn't get used.
    Although this fraud started 16 years ago so I don't expect it would have caught this situation and most of these old fraudsters will only get caught when their parents are ready to receive a letter of congratulation from the President on reaching their centenary.

A bit ridiculous.. I'm a fan of the idea that prison is there to rehabilitate you.

How many mothers does this guy have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

People,

In a calculated manner he deliberately stole €150k of our tax money. If any of us stole £150k from an employer or shop etc we would do 5-10 years. Women with kids expect a suspended sentence.

No sympathy from Partyguinness.

Oops69 wrote: »
    And still not a single banker in jail .

What exactly would you jail a banker for?

A bit ridiculous.. I'm a fan of the idea that prison is there to rehabilitate you.

How many mothers does this guy have?

Prisons do not rehabiltiate. Most offenders re offend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life. Note tho: 16 years doing it is too much!

I expect the usual response of "I pay my taxes and that person is frauding the system!" but as an OAP I know says... He worked his life paying taxes and he'd rather his family continue to get it for a while before having to stop.

But for those who can't hit the quote button fast enough it should be noted that you can't do that these days. OAP's are required to go to their local garda station every 6 months to show id and sign a form to say nothing has changed. In actual fact it's a form to see if you're still alive. Also the picture social services card has put a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

If he serves 9 months then at a rate of 220 a week over the 16 years then that's over 10k per month of jail, over 20k/m if he gets remission and is out in 9

Prisons do not rehabiltiate. Most offenders re offend.
    They're very good for making cautionary tales of people who defraud their fellow citizens in the same way as Scolds would be elevated in a cage or thieves put in stocks.
    preventing a 150,000 loss to the social welfare systems becoming a 30 billion loss to social welfare ssytem by thousands of fraudsters is important.

I'm more worried about the other clients of the welfare system who can't be served by the welfare system because all the moment has leaked away to fraudsters like this man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life.

I expect the usual response of "I pay my taxes and that person is frauding the system!" but as an OAP I know says... He worked his life paying taxes and he'd rather his family continue to get it for a while before having to stop.

But for those who can't hit the quote button fast enough it should be noted that you can't do that these days. OAP's are required to go to their local garda station every 6 months to show id and sign a form to say nothing has changed. In actual fact it's a form to see if you're still alive. Also the picture social services card has put a stop to it.

Having worked doesn't give you the right to break the laugh and rob off others, whataboutery is not a valid response the lad is morally and legally in the wrong.

At the risk of getting shouted at on here.... Meh there are worse things that a person can do in life.

There you go...I'll press the quote button.

That attitude is exactly what is wrong with the country and the older generation. This 'Sure what harm is he doing. It's not like he killed anyone. Sure poor aul Mike worked hard all his life' attitude.

The type of attitude we saw from politicians, planners etc etc for decades. This sense of entitlement- sure steal €150k. It's only a white collar crime- no harm done. No victims.

That is the type of gombeen little me fein attitude we need to excise from the country's mentality.

But the fact he got away with it for 16 years is a damning indictment on the system at the time.

Having worked doesn't give you the right to break the laugh and rob off others, whataboutery is not a valid response the lad is morally and legally in the wrong.

I know and I do agree.
    Life isn't fair tho. We could talk about doing the right things, having good morals etc. But there is "the ideal world" and the real world if you get me.

There is a con to most things in life. Some can fraud the system by claiming false rent allowance for example while another business owner can fiddle his books to barely pay any tax.... Same story just different characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Agricola wrote: »
    Yeah, you'd think when her 113th birthday rolled around, suspicions would have been raised :D

You beat me to that reply,I was going to put 110th birthday:)

They're very good for making cautionary tales of people who defraud their fellow citizens in the same way as Scolds would be elevated in a cage or thieves put in stocks.
    preventing a 150,000 loss to the social welfare systems becoming a 30 billion loss to social welfare ssytem by thousands of fraudsters is important.

I'm more worried about the other clients of the welfare system who can't be served by the welfare system because all the moment has leaked away to fraudsters like this man.

Don't get me wrong. I am glad he is jailed- I was just saying that prisons do not equate re rehabilitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

absolute joke. Suspicions werent raised that there was a 113 year old claiming a pension? how doesnt she have to show up herself? furthermore, placing someone who has committed this crime into prison, when there are dangerous scum roaming the streets... :rolleyes:

we have nowhere near enough prison spaces, I wouldnt be locking someone up for this offence, at least not for too long, maybe 1-2 prison sentence, community service and let him pay back a percentage of his income...

For a 64 year old man with an average of about 13 years left in his life I care little about rehabilitation.
    If this was a 19 year old with another 60 years in him I'd care about rehabilitiation but only in the interests of society in general.

Prisons do serve a purpose.

I know and I do agree.
    Life isn't fair tho. We could talk about doing the right things, having good morals etc. But there is "the ideal world" and the real world if you get me.

There is a con to most things in life. Some can fraud the system by claiming false rent allowance for example while another business owner can fiddle his books to barely pay any tax.... Same story just different characters.

Yes there is the ideal world and the real world but just resigned acceptance should not be the response or attitude.

There you go...I'll press the quote button.

That attitude is exactly what is wrong with the country and the older generation. This 'Sure what harm is he doing. It's not like he killed anyone. Sure poor aul Mike worked hard all his life' attitude.

The type of attitude we saw from politicians, planners etc etc for decades. This sense of entitlement- sure steal €150k. It's only a white collar crime- no harm done. No victims.

That is the type of gombeen little me fein attitude we need to excise from the country's mentality.

But the fact he got away with it for 16 years is a damning indictment on the system at the time.

I know you won't agree with this... But spoiler warning: all that stuff that happened "before" is gonna happen time and time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Just shows the respect he has for his own mother and her memory for me.
    Exploited her death to line his own pocket fraudulently. Grade A asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Again the Public (dis)Service has let down the tax payers.....we deserve better.
    Was nobody policing it.....sure it's only taxpayers money..I know who I'd put in Jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Some huge inconsistencies in the application of sentences....maybe his council should cite this case from yesterday in their appeal

http://www.thejournal.ie/pensioner-stole-avoids-jail-3643797-Oct2017/

I know you won't agree with this... But spoiler warning: all that stuff that happened "before" is gonna happen time and time again.

I am not entirely sure what you are saying I won't agree with but yes social welfare fraud happens all the time and will continue as long as people can get away with it. But my point is that we as a society should not just turn a blind eye and accept it as part of everyday life. Yes it goes on all the time but it should be rightly punished.

It's called corruption.