BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,914 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Think I'm a week or two behind the rest of you, but this one I watched the other day was one of the greatest TOTP performances in the trashy throwaway and somewhat transgressive tradition of what pop music is supposed to be about! I remember seeing it first time around, wasn't too sure what to make of it :p but stuff like this was proof there was another world existing beyond the narrow dark confines of 80s catholic Ireland. Even if you were not TV or gay it was liberating just to be able to watch something like this.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,731 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Nile Rodgers' new series starts on BBC4 Fri 6 Oct.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b097f5b2

Going to see Chic in the Three Arena next month, can't wait :)

Disco sucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭cml387

More info on Mike Read banning "Relax".
    From the BBC's 50 facts about Radio One
    DJ Mike Read got the blame for banning Relax - but he says the decision wasn't in his power. "I didn't ban Relax," he said, "the BBC banned it. I was just a BBC employee." Defending the decision, he added: "The video did have that big fat Buddha bloke urinating from the balcony into somebody's mouth. Even now, that's not terribly good."

Well they didn't have to play the video, did they?
    Anyway they were quite happy to play "Girls On Film" even though the video for that was unplayable on any television station of the day (they did play it on "The Tube" on a monitor behind the presenters, with Jools and Paula Yates making shocked noises:D).

Skid X wrote: »
    I'm surprised they aren't showing a Radio 1 tribute show this weekend, when its their 50th anniversary.

Bit strange to show one dedicated to 80s Pirates instead!

I thought it would be crawling with documentaries. Maybe it's the fact that there's a lot of "stories" behind some of those DJ's that's makes such a documentary too disjointed to make. There's a number of obvious DJ's who have been written out of BBC radio/music history so hard to tell that story accurately without referring to them.

Think I'm a week or two behind the rest of you, but this one I watched the other day was one of the greatest TOTP performances in the trashy throwaway and somewhat transgressive tradition of what pop music is supposed to be about! I remember seeing it first time around, wasn't too sure what to make of it :p but stuff like this was proof there was another world existing beyond the narrow dark confines of 80s catholic Ireland. Even if you were not TV or gay it was liberating just to be able to watch something like this.

I have to confess I didn't see it as "liberating" in the 80's when I first saw that act. I'm not gay BTW, so maybe it passed me by.

I didn't know what to make of it. Maybe a bit too stereotypical/shock jock is the most attention I gave it.

even today, I'd say the gay community would be divided on such a performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The Radio 1 'Blood on The Carpet' Doc is on Youtube, about the Matthew Bannister era where he cleansed the station of the old guard before bringing in Chris Evans for a bit.

I like it a lot, also the Book 'The Nation's Favourite' by Simon Garfield about the same era is excellent. Obviously dated now, but a great account of that era.

I have to confess I didn't see it as "liberating" in the 80's when I first saw that act. I'm not gay BTW, so maybe it passed me by.

I didn't know what to make of it. Maybe a bit too stereotypical/shock jock is the most attention I gave it.

even today, I'd say the gay community would be divided on such a performance?

I was interested by HD's comments, on first viewing it never struck me as something that would be a memorable performance, but it's all subjective.

Ireland was a grey place in 1984, much closer to 1934 than 2017 - I suppose something like that on a mainstream programme at the right time in a young lads life could make an impression!

I was interested by HD's comments, on first viewing it never struck me as something that would be a memorable performance, but it's all subjective.

Ireland was a grey place in 1984, much closer to 1934 than 2017 - I suppose something like that on a mainstream programme at the right time in a young lads life could make an impression!

Oh sure and sorry, I was too, but probably didn't come across in my post. And just for the record, I'm not dizzying HD's view- if that's what that poster thought at the time, then I've no issue with that.

I know at the time, I thought it "weird", "silly"- and that's more a reflection of the times (and my age at the time) as you say, than anything else.

Boy George hid his sexuality in the early 80's, was hugely popular with female fans, but the Newspapers were always reporting "spats" between himself and the likes' of Marilyn, so there was certainly a growing movement there of acceptance of different sexual persuasions, albeit more subtle than Divine.

Cross-dressing in the 80's was viewed as pantomime- I can see now that a performer going on TOTP's, in the 80's, such as Divine, would be massively mis-understood- but for some, massively reassuring.

Oh sure and sorry, I was too, but probably didn't come across in my post. And just for the record, I'm not dizzying HD's view- if that's what that poster thought at the time, then I've no issue with that.

I know at the time, I thought it "weird", "silly"- and that's more a reflection of the times (and my age at the time) as you say, than anything else.

Boy George hid his sexuality in the early 80's, was hugely popular with female fans, but the Newspapers were always reporting "spats" between himself and the likes' of Marilyn, so there was certainly a growing movement there of acceptance of different sexual persuasions, albeit more subtle than Divine.

Cross-dressing in the 80's was viewed as pantomime- I can see now that a performer going on TOTP's, in the 80's, such as Divine, would be massively mis-understood- but for some, massively reassuring.

Ah yeah, I know what you mean. I agree, that Divine video wouldn't appear to be particularly iconic or groundbreaking. But it's interesting that sometimes the videos or shows that people remember aren't the ones that you would expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,914 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What I said was that I, like the rest of you it seems, didn't really know what to make of it at the time - apart from the fact my parents certainly wouldn't have approved!

In retrospect he/she was way out there and RIP to Divine who, with John Waters (no, not that John Waters, the other one) made some waaaay out there films.

It's trashy, cheap and somewhat crap but it's still better than the wishy washy crap peddled as pop music these days.

It's not about straight or gay or trans or cis or whatever - just that TOTP back in the day could have had any sort of music provided your parents didn't like it. These days my kid wants to listen to Liam Gallagher and I'm trying to explain to him why he's crap :p

The Nal wrote: »
    Disco sucks

I'm a punk.. and a rude boy (but could never afford the clothes for either, and was too young anyway) but I know a great guitarist and producer when I see one and I'll be dad-dancing my heart out in the 3 Arena :p Rodgers' production work was a lot of great rock music not just disco.

My favourite band has been described as noise rock, but also just noise :) and never appeared in any mainsream chart. That doesn't mean I can't like other stuff as well. It's not noise to me, it just is to most people :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,991 ✭✭✭OldRio

Chic, Rodgers, great guitarist and rock music?
    Words I thought I would never see together.

The post disco adoration of Mr. Rodgers I find a little grating. Guitarist, yes. Great guitarist, come on. Disco was and is everything I detest in music.

But music is art and as such is subjective. Therefore my opinion is only as valid as the next person.

As for going to watch Chic. I would rather poke razor blades in my eyeballs.
    Disco deserves a special place in hell. Alongside the so called Country and Western crap that pollutes the airwaves around this part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

OldRio wrote: »

The post disco adoration of Mr. Rodgers I find a little grating. Guitarist, yes. Great guitarist, come on. Disco was and is everything I detest in music.

But music is art and as such is subjective. Therefore my opinion is only as valid as the next person.

Disco deserves a special place in hell. Alongside the so called Country and Western crap that pollutes the airwaves around this part of the country.

Jaysus OldRio,

If you had a scope at my mp3 player you'd be driven demented with the grumpiness:mad: All sorts of mad stuff there.
    Kravitz,Sabbath,Earth wind & fire,The Who,Chic,Third world,Sergio Mendes,Mary jane girls,Zepplin,Fat boy slim,T.Petty,The The,Latin Quarter.....

I could go on but it would drive ya nuts:p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,704 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Iggy Pop on Sky Arts right now in fine form :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,830 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

in a way if you wrote over a billion dollars worth of music on a guitar you could be called a "great" guitarist

BBC 6 Music have live concerts during the Lauren Laverne Show every day this week around Midday, they can be streamed live at https://www.bbc.co.uk/6music and are repeated at the Red Button on a loop for the rest of that day, on at the 6Music website

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/4c5Zk2gdKs98lDX8cWKMsXG/6-music-live-2017

Mon Morrissey
    Tues Mogwai
    Wed alt-J
    Thur Loyle Carner
    Fri Robert Plant

Bugger.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/tom-petty-legendary-rocker-is-dead-at-66/

Tom Petty, the rocker best known as the frontman of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, is dead at 66, CBS News has confirmed.

The legendary musician suffered a full cardiac arrest and was found unconscious and not breathing in his Malibu home Sunday night. He was taken to UCLA Santa Monica Hospital and put on life support, reports TMZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Ah that's awful news.
    So glad to have seen them last time in Dublin but would have loved another chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,731 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I've seen them a few times and I can't describe the boredom I felt each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Poor Tom. Worst news ever.

His tunes are exceptional. American Girl is right up there with the best tunes ever.

F*ck sake. B*llocks anyway.

My mate went to see him in Dublin a few years back. Said it was the best gig he'd ever been to. I was already furious that I didn't go. Now I'll regret it forever. F*ck f*ck f*ck.

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for another repeat of the epic Tom Petty documentary.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00scr6s

It hasn't been repeated in 5 years though:(

Just spotted it's on Netflix, well worth four hours of anyone's time.

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers - Runnin' Down A Dream
    Peter Bogdanovich's epic portrait of one of America's great heartland rock 'n' roll bands.

Hailing from Gainesville, Florida, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers got together in the mid-70s, moved to California and released their self-titled debut album in 1976. The album was a hit in the UK where its concise, rock 'n' roll traditionalism sat well with the emerging punk and new wave scenes.

The film uses extensive interviews with the band and friends like Bob Dylan, Stevie Nicks and Rick Rubin to chart their stubborn, independent-minded and often highly-successful journey towards the present day - breaking up occasionally, stopping off with the Travelling Wilburys, various Petty solo outings and periods backing the likes of Dylan, but fundamentally sticking together as one of America's greatest live and recording rock 'n' roll bands.

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released Mojo, their first album together in eight years, in June 2010.

Peter Bogdanovich's epic portrait of one of America's great heartland rock 'n' roll bands.

Hailing from Gainesville, Florida, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers got together in the mid-70s, moved to California and released their self-titled debut album in 1976. The album was a hit in the UK where its concise, rock 'n' roll traditionalism sat well with the emerging punk and new wave scenes.

The film uses extensive interviews with the band and friends like Bob Dylan, Stevie Nicks and Rick Rubin to chart their stubborn, independent-minded and often highly-successful journey towards the present day - breaking up occasionally, stopping off with the Travelling Wilburys, various Petty solo outings and periods backing the likes of Dylan, but fundamentally sticking together as one of America's greatest live and recording rock 'n' roll bands.

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released Mojo, their first album together in eight years, in June 2010.

Absolutely.
    Will be watching again Friday night and raising a glass.

I wasn't his biggest fan, but remember the huge rush of excitement hearing American Girl for the first time on a super American rock compilation LP my oldest brother had..

Don't Come Around Here No More and the video on MTV (maybe MTUSA?)

Buying Full Moon Fever record and rinsing it.

Stop Draggin My Heart Around with Stevie.

What a loss he is.

Must listen to the recent stuff, which I hear is as good as anything he's done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Thanks Skid, bit of a Netflix free zone around here though :o

Was just thinking about that today. If ever there was a week to run it on BBC4, it's this one. It really is a cracking documentary. I think there may be something in the background, be it legal or financial, as to why the BBC hasn't run it in 5 years.

The guy was a brilliant song writer, and a really cool principled person (re standing up to the record co that tried to milk his growing popularity)

Worth sticking the phones in for these two off his Wildflowers album.

A bit haunting and takes a couple of listens

Tom, you were pure class.

That Tom Petty performance last night on BBC Four was slipped in at the last minute, it was from 1980 from a show called 'Rock Goes To College'. I don't think a repeat is scheduled. I wish the BBC would repeat some of those older shows now and then, man can't live on TOTP compilations alone. Sky Arts has a Tom show on Saturday, details below.

That eagerly awaited Nile Rodgers Doc starts on BBC Four on Friday. Sky Arts has an XTC documentary which was apparently originally commissioned by BBC Four, but which they then turned down. Very odd.

Finally, it's a busy week for Josh Home of Queens Of The Stone Age who achieves the rare double of appearing on Later with Jools and CBeebies Bedtime Story in the same week ...

Thursday
    7am-Midday 6 Music Live - Alt J (Looped) (BBC Red Button)

Midday-Midnight 6 Music Live - Loyle Carner (Looped) (BBC Red Button)

7.30pm & Midnight Top Of The Pops 1984 - August 23rd (BBC4)
    Mike Read and Tommy Vance host the August 23 show, with Alphaville, Elton John, Break Machine, Miami Sound Machine, Tracey Ullman, Spandau Ballet, Rod Stewart and George Michael. Full details here https://www.thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=653476&id=5857838&lid=7

Midnight Songs To Have Sex To (Sky Arts)
    Edith Bowman goes on a musical journey into art, science, history and popular culture as she attempts to answer the question of the best songs to listen to during sex

12.35am Motown at the BBC (BBC4)
    A compilation of studio performances by some of Motown's greatest artists, originally broadcast to mark the record label's 50th anniversary. Featuring Diana Ross and the Supremes, the Temptations, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, the Jackson Five, the Four Tops and Stevie Wonder

Friday
    Midday - 4am 6 Music Live - Robert Plant (Looped) (BBC Red Button)

3pm Discovering Music: The Beach Boys (Sky Arts)
    The career of the American rock and pop group who rose to stardom with their happy, fun-loving songs that were filled with beautiful harmonies

3.30pm Brian Wilson and Friends: A Soundstage Special Event (Sky Arts)
    The Beach Boys co-founder and a group of acclaimed musicians perform in Las Vegas's Venetian Hotel in 2014, with songs including Good Vibrations, Sloop John B and Help Me, Rhonda

6.50pm Bedtime Story - Zog read by Josh Homme of Queens Of The Stone Age (CBeebies)
    Josh Homme reads Zog, by Julia Donaldson. Zog is a little dragon who is having a tough time at dragon school. But one day he meets Princess Pearl, who helps him find his hidden talents and win a Gold Star for being the best dragon.

7pm Trailblazers: Prog Rock (Sky Arts)
    Noddy Holder narrates a look at the combination of personalities and events that gave rise to progressive rock music

7.30pm & Midnight Top Of The Pops 1984 - September 6th (BBC4)
    John Peel and Janice Long introduce performances by Bucks Fizz, Spandau Ballet, Sister Sledge, Level 42, Alphaville and Stevie Wonder. First shown on September 6, 1984. Full details here https://www.thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=653476&id=5857852&lid=7

8pm The Live Lounge Show (BBC4)
    Jay-Z and More: Clara Amfo welcomes Jay-Z to the BBC's Maida Vale studios, where the musician pays tribute to American singer-songwriter Chester Bennington, who died in July, as he takes on Numb/Encore. He and Clara also catch up between tracks to talk about his career so far. Plus, live music by Craig David, Royal Blood, Rudimental and Lorde. Last in the series

9pm & 2.30am Nile Rodgers: How To Make It In The Music Business (BBC4) New!
    New series. Part 1/3 The Grammy-winning record producer, songwriter and guitarist shares a lifetime of experience on how to make it in the music business. He reveals the moment he first picked up a guitar and tells how his talent led him to write his own music alongside Bernard Edwards for Chic. The opening episode also uncovers the source of inspiration for many of Nile's songs, including Le Freak and Lost in Music. Plus, producer Mark Ronson and Duran Duran keyboard player Nick Rhodes describe Nile's use of complex chord patterns and his unique guitar-playing style
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2017/nile-rodgers-how-to-make-it

9pm & 3.30am Rock and Roll (Sky Arts)
    Blood A look at musical families and how blood is thicker than water in the world of rock and roll. Featuring Tegan and Sara, Ruth Pointer and Marky Ramone

10pm The Genius of Funk (BBC4)
    A compilation of performances from the BBC archive, beginning in the 1970s with acts including Earth, Wind & Fire, Kool & the Gang, Average White Band and Herbie Hancock

10.30pm Tony Visconti's Unsigned Heroes (Sky Arts)
    The record producer and musician invites the chosen unsigned artists to London's Union Chapel to put them through their paces during a day of rehearsals ahead of the concert

11pm Top Of The Pops: Big Hits 1982 (BBC4)
    Featuring Adam Ant, Yazoo, Wham!, ABC and the Associates, all breakthrough acts in a golden year for British pop. Madness provide a little two-step with their ska revival, and Junior and Patrice Rushen's R'n'B tracks pack a punch. Pop-infused reggae beats are provided by Culture Club and Musical Youth, while the mods get a nod from the Jam and there's a performance by Tight Fit

11.30pm Brian Johnson's A Life On The Road: Lars Ulrich (Sky Arts)
    Brian heads to San Rafael, California, to meet Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich, who shares candid stories from his band's Wherever We May Roam tour

12.30am Classic Albums: Metallica - The Black Album (Sky Arts)
    Metallica members James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett and Jason Newsted discuss the making of their 1991 self-titled record, which became known among fans as the Black Album and included the hit singles Enter Sandman, The Unforgiven and Nothing Else Matters

12.30am Guitar Heroes at The BBC (BBC4)
    Archive performances of the most iconic artists and bands from the 1960s and 1970s, featuring Pictures of Matchstick Men by Status Quo, the Who's single Long Live Rock, Tunnel of Love by Dire Straits and Lynyrd Skynyrd's classic Sweet Home Alabama. Plus, rare clips of George Benson, Leo Kottke, Link Wray and Tom Petty

1.30am Kings Of 70s Romance (BBC4)
    Lesley Joseph narrates a documentary celebrating unlikely sex symbols from the world of pop in the 1970s, when the songs of Gilbert O'Sullivan, Barry White, Leo Sayer, David Soul and Demis Roussos conjured up images of candle-lit dinners, red roses and cosy nights in. Featuring contributions by Gloria Hunniford and Martha Kearney

Saturday
    6am - 5.50pm 6 Music Live - Robert Plant (BBC Red Button) (Looped)

1.25pm Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Live From Gatorville (2006) (Sky Arts)
    The singer-songwriter and his band perform in Gainesville, Florida, in 2006, with songs including I Won't Back Down and Free Fallin'. Or it's on Youtube in full

3.50pm Queen The Phenomenon (Sky Arts)
    Profile of the rock group, combining archive interviews with performance footage, from their beginnings in the 1970s to the death of lead singer Freddie Mercury in 1991

6pm Tony Visconti's Unsigned Heroes (Sky Arts)
    Same as Friday

7pm Discovering Music: New Order (Sky Arts)
    Documentary charting the rise of English band New Order, from their creation in the wake of Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis's suicide in 1980 to their subsequent 1983 hit Blue Monday

7.30pm Madness: Live at House Of Common (Sky Arts)
    The veteran band headline the festival held on London's Clapham Common, with a set featuring Our House and It Must Be Love

9pm & 1.50am XTC: This is Pop (Sky Arts) New!
    Documentary charting the career of English rock band XTC, who formed in Swindon in 1972 and became one of Britain's most influential yet unsung bands
    http://www.darkasylum.co.uk/news/8210/xtc-documentary-this-is-pop-to-air-on-uk-s-sky-arts-in-october-w
    https://www.change.org/p/bbc-bbc-please-air-the-xtc-documentary-this-is-pop

10pm-12.20pm Sunday 6 Music Live - The Highlights (BBC Red Button)

10.30pm Film: The US v John Lennon (2006) (Sky Arts)
    Film-makers David Leaf and John Scheinfeld trace John Lennon's journey from his years in the Beatles to anti-war activist and icon, revealing the story of why the US government tried to silence him

11pm Later ... With Jools Holland (BBC2)
    The pianist welcomes Brooklyn band the National back to the show after the success of their number one album, Sleep Well Beast. Morrissey makes his sixth appearance on Jools' show, and will be singing tracks from his 11th studio LP, Low in High School. Plus, there will be performances by Queens of the Stone Age, Khalid, Jessie Ware and Marty Stuart. Extended version of Tuesday's Show

12.20am Rock and Roll: Blood (Sky Arts)
    Same as Friday

12.25am Top Of The Pops 1984 - August 23rd (BBC4)
    Same as Thursday

1am Top Of The Pops 1984 - September 6th (BBC4)
    Same as Friday

1.30am EMI: The Inside Story (BBC4)
    A profile of the record company behind whose success lay a very British institution, often at odds with the music it released. EMI had to come to terms with psychedelia, face punk head on and find huge sums of money to feed the excesses of the 1980s. Artists reveal how their demands for more control led to drastic changes at the company, while its former employees recall life in an industry famous for its extravagance. Contributors include Neil Tennant, Glen Matlock, Roger Taylor and Nick Mason

3.20am Iggy Pop Live at Rock en Seine (Sky Arts)
    A 2016 concert by the veteran rock singer, featuring tracks from his album Post Pop Depression as well as classics from his back catalogue

Sunday
    2pm Rodrigo Y Gabriela in Concert (Sky Arts)
    The virtuoso guitar duels of Mexican duo Rodrigo y Gabriela light up the 2016 Baloise Session in Basel, Switzerland.

8pm Tony Visconti's Unsigned Heroes (Sky Arts)
    Same as Friday

9pm & 1.15am Festival No.6 (Sky Arts)
    Highlights of the music, arts and culture event held at Portmeirion in Gwynedd, where the Flaming Lips, Bloc Party and Mogwai were the headline acts

That's more or less it, quite a few Tom Petty Docs and Concerts on Youtube if you are interested.

Here's one from the Old Grey Whistle Test in 1978, ripped from a VHI recording of a BBC Show introduced by Glenn Tilbrook of Squeeze

Sterling work as usual Mr X - if I could thank your posts twice I would!

Must check out the Robert Plant Red Button yoke - hopefully seeing him in December.
    Another show I would never have happened across without your guide..

Out from that, think it will be a very Petty weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭BandMember

UsedToWait wrote: »
    Sterling work as usual Mr X - if I could thank your posts twice I would!

Out from that, think it will be a very Petty weekend.

+1 to the first part, +1 to the last part! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That documentary is a stunning piece of work. Though I only saw the first 2 hours as it is an insanely long doc. But now that I know it's on Netflix this changes things.

'Big In Japan' - love this song.

:blush: