Could you live in a world without computers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Computers do all that :rolleyes:

Yas...airbags,anti skid and abs....all computers

Electronic injection produces infinely more feul efficent engines (air/fuel ratios,hence the much loathed oxygen sensors)....which by natural conclusion can lead to faster cars??

I would've taught this would be basic info tbh??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Nowhere near the standred of modern cars,safer,smoother,more efficently run??

No, but they still worked and got us from A to B. So we could survive with cars without computer assistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Good damn it, that fake Stephen Hawking joke was really funny. Did no one see it or what's the craic. Sort yourselves out AH.

People just used their brains ;)

Whatever they did it was much more difficult without computers, which was my point.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Good damn it, that fake Stephen Hawking joke was really funny. Did no one see it or what's the craic. Sort yourselves out AH.

I was laughing so much I couldn't click the thanks.

Knew there was a reasonable explanation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

I can't imagine how much harder it was studying for degrees, masters, doctorates, etc. before widespread usage of the internet. Nightmare compared to now.

Na, it's not a nightmare. It is/was actually much more challenging and hence satisfying - sitting in a library and actually read books you won't find quoted or even mentioned on the internet and which you have to find in the first place is a joy. But maybe that's just me.
    Besides, all the research you do over the internet is - at least in academia - more or less a rehash of the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Yas...airbags,anti skid and abs....all computers

Electronic injection produces infinely more feul efficent engines (air/fuel ratios,hence the much loathed oxygen sensors)....which by natural conclusion can lead to faster cars??

I would've taught this would be basic info tbh??

Funny, mpg has only increased marginally over the years. By now we should have cars doing close to 100 mpg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Pubs would be filled with people shite again.

Jaysus, you swallow that Hawking sh1t too :confused:

Your average car contains 10-15 mini computers/ecu.....hope you've a descent bike to get about

And don't forget going up the hills as well

Carry wrote: »
    Na, it's not a nightmare. It is/was actually much more challenging and hence satisfying - sitting in a library and actually read books you won't find quoted or even mentioned on the internet and which you have to find in the first place is a joy. But maybe that's just me.
    Besides, all the research you do over the internet is - at least in academia - more or less a rehash of the same.

I've the height of respect for anyone with a PhD, even more so those that did it without the internet. Fair play :)

I'm as bookish as the next man (in year 4 of Phd) but you need to ditch those rose tinted glasses. Anyone I speak to that researched back in the day extols the value of the internet. And your comment about academic research over the internet being a 'rehash of the same' is nonsense tbh.

We had to come up with a lot of our own ideas, phraseology, and hypotheses based on our lectures, library reading and research.

We still have to do all that. Or that's how I spend my time anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Funny, mpg has only increased marginally over the years. By now we should have cars doing close to 100 mpg.

It's increased 6 fold since the 70s??
    (Going by what we were taught anyways)

A 1.6 petrol in the 70s vs 2017 is miles apart in effectiency (despite the 4 stroke engine being v.inefficent)

But sure look....you head out and work away with a spluttery troublesome carb ,if that's what your happy with

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

For me, it's not heavy use. 85/90% is online. I'm faculty in one uni and part-time Phd in another, so plenty of access fortunately

I've the height of respect for anyone with a PhD, even more so those that did it without the internet. Fair play :)

Me too. I don't have a PhD, just a MA. It shows my age that I did it without the internet. There was no internet.

My highest respect though goes to my ex-partner who did his PhD (summa cum laude) as a mature student without the internet, just because he refused to use a computer (he was a bit of luddite). He mainly used his brain to think for himself.

Why, thank you very much!

Me too. I don't have a PhD, just a MA. It shows my age that I did it without the internet. There was no internet.

My highest respect though goes to my ex-partner who did his PhD (summa cum laude) as a mature student without the internet, just because he refused to use a computer (he was a bit of luddite). He mainly used his brain to think for himself.

That is impressive, although I don't get why someone would equate internet usage with not thinking for yourself. I get the article online, print it (maybe I'm the Luddite!) and then I am done with the online element. I will be using my brain just like your ex-partner did. The internet doesn't read the article for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Not nowadays to meet emissions regulations you wont

Wouldn't you need a computer to read the emissions ?

I'm as bookish as the next man (in year 4 of Phd) but you need to ditch those rose tinted glasses. Anyone I speak to that researched back in the day extols the value of the internet. And your comment about academic research over the internet being a 'rehash of the same' is nonsense tbh.

No. It's not nonsense and I don't wear rose tinted glasses as a principle. Google (or any other search engine) is selective, you still need to do analog research, if you take your studies seriously.

And as I mentioned in an earlier comment: Life (and studying) is certainly easier with the internet, I wouldn't want to live without it, but you need to have the brains to know that not everything on the internet is valuable or reliable.

No. It's not nonsense and I don't wear rose tinted glasses as a principle. Google (or any other search engine) is selective, you still need to do analog research, if you take your studies seriously.

And as I mentioned in an earlier comment: Life (and studying) is certainly easier with the internet, I wouldn't want to live without it, but you need to have the brains to know that not everything on the internet is valuable or reliable.

Never said I don't do analog research. Nor did I say that I think everything online is valuable or reliable. But never mind.

It's increased 6 fold since the 70s??
    (Going by what we were taught anyways)

A 1.6 petrol in the 70s vs 2017 is miles apart in effectiency (despite the 4 stroke engine being v.inefficent)

But sure look....you head out and work away with a spluttery troublesome carb ,if that's what your happy with
    Early 80's 1.6 32mpg 2016 1.6 40 mpg if you drive like a granny.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I'm in social studies (business in particular). Fair play to you on doing a Phd in quants. It's a foreign language for me

Agreed. Not everything is available on the internet and what is, by that very fact, is known and well used. I had, for example, to seek out 18th Century letters in Germany to see the birth of a theory and to get a feel for the process that led to it, for a PhD. I still can't find that material on the internet.

Of course the internet is wonderful and I love it but it's not the be all and end all.

Indeed it gets my goat at times when I refer to a study on a subject and someone posts "post a link" when the study is published in hardcopy only or is only available in a particular archive.