Leo varadkar +LCD Sound system+ abortion = ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Way I see it is a group of yanks came along to some foreign country, asked what the trending news was, looked it up, saw that leader of said foreign country was dithering about the issue.

Problem is, the yanks were looking at some report from months ago - if they bothered to check they'd have seen that there's a new leader and one of his first decisions is to prioritise the referendum on the eight and have it held as soon as possible.

But that's yanks for you.

It's an awful shame he's from the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

It's an awful shame he's from the UK.

Fecking Brits, coming here, wearing tote bags....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,039 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

20Cent wrote: »
    Sounds like Leo was the rude one. Goes backstage and blanks one of the band.

We only have this guy's version of what happened. He may have given Leo daggers....I certainly wouldn't go over and say hello to someone whose body language was a bit hostile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

pilly wrote: »
    It really depends whether Leo was invited back stage or if he invited himself.

This is it in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I mean it would make sense if Varadkar had blocked the chance of a referendum but he hadn't. Just some clown having a go because someone else tells him to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,039 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I mean it would make sense if Varadkar had blocked the chance of a referendum but he hadn't. Just some clown having a go because someone else tells him to.

There's a bit of attention seeking about his tweet, Varadkar probably has zero recollection of the incident or non incident last night. He probably meets hundreds of people a day as Taoiseach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Varadkar has not set a definite date for the referendum as of yet and is playing the media game by refusing to express a view.

He has in the past expressed anti abortion views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Strazdas wrote: »
    There's a bit of attention seeking about his tweet, Varadkar probably has zero recollection of the incident or non incident last night. He probably meets hundreds of people a day as Taoiseach.

I doubt that, he obviously made a point of going backstage to meet the band, perhaps he's a fan, or maybe not and he just wanted to watch from backstage. I don't think he'd have liked it down the front anyway, I was at the thursday night gig, very sweaty, very crowded and very rowdy. I enjoyed it immensely but I'm not sure Leo would have.

Al Doyle didn't do his research before tweeting that and now has egg on his face as a result.
    Varadkar has not set a definite date for the referendum as of yet and is playing the media game by refusing to express a view.

That's a bit unfair. The referendum weill happen. He has said he wants to see the wording of the referendum before he decides, he's a doctor, I think that's a fair position to have until we have the actual specifics of the referendum. Do you not?

Anybody who expresses their opinion on the referendum before we see the wording is either psychic or an idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Anybody who expresses their opinion on the referendum before we see the wording is either psychic or an idiot.

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭caff

Strazdas wrote: »
    Height of rudeness IMO. If I was performing in another country and the PM of that country came backstage, I wouldn't dream of publicly referring to him (or her) as a "tosser" no matter what my political opinions were. This individual would do well to remember he was a guest in our country.

Personally I am glad that I live in a country where you can happily call its leader a tosser to their face and not get locked up or deported

caff wrote: »
    Personally I am glad that I live in a country where you can happily call its leader a tosser to their face and not get locked up or deported

He isn't saying that that's what should happen. He's saying that this guy should have had a bit of respect when meeting the leader of another country and probably shouldn't have resorted to throwing insults on twitter before he even educated himself on the issue at hand.

Calling someone a tosser to their face isn't exercising free speech, it's just personal abuse.

caff wrote: »

He didn't call him it to his face though. He tweeted it. No guts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Never heard of them. Now that I have, have no desire to hear of them again.

You're missing out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I looked up their music as I had never heard any of their songs. Jesus, they're terrible shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,997 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not sure Pumpkin, what Leo's father being of Indian extraction has got to do with anything. Neither the Repeal Referendum or maybe you think it justifies the lad calling Leo a tosser?

I looked up their music as I had never heard any of their songs. Jesus, they're terrible shite.

That songs not great but they have some belters and they are epic live. Go listen to the Sound Of Silver album for their best stuff. They are a blend of punk rock, disco, electro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

They're massively overrated. Have some alright songs but never understood why people lose their minds over them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Water John wrote: »
    Not sure Pumpkin, what Leo's father being of Indian extraction has got to do with anything. Neither the Repeal Referendum or maybe you think it justifies the lad calling Leo a tosser?

Nothing at all. Partly trying to be funny, but partly making fun of yet another attempt to market Leo Varadker as "the cool young energetic progressive Taoiseach".

The media are going on about it a lot. But when you try and apply that or market that to working class lads or rural lads, they either make fun of it or they flat out dislike it.

Oh look, there's Leo at the ploughing championships. Economy is still bum though. Screw Fine Gael.

For that reason, Leo Varadker will cost Fine Gael, especially outside Dublin in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

**** the 80's right back to hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

MadYaker wrote: »
    That songs not great but they have some belters and they are epic live. Go listen to the Sound Of Silver album for their best stuff. They are a blend of punk rock, disco, electro.

That's a great song. Yis have no taste lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

I can't believe it but I actually feel bad for Leo.

Imagine meeting a band you really like and then later on they tell everyone that your a bit of a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Nothing at all. Partly trying to be funny, but partly making fun of yet another attempt to market Leo Varadker as "the cool young energetic progressive Taoiseach".

The media are going on about it a lot. But when you try and apply that or market that to working class lads or rural lads, they either make fun of it or they flat out dislike it.

Oh look, there's Leo at the ploughing championships. Economy is still bum though. Screw Fine Gael.

For that reason, Leo Varadker will cost Fine Gael, especially outside Dublin in the next election.

I think a lot of people are getting weary of the attempts to present a certain image of varadkar.

Can we all just agree now that Pascal Donohue is a fan that LCD sound system are no longer cool or relevant..yeah, they were good in 2007 with a few pills in you, but they should never have reformed..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

On mobile and so poor link but Caroline Downey of MCD has tweeted that this didn't happen. She then followed up by tweeting a picture of the band including the Al lad posing with Varadkar all smiles.

This lad is a tool, acting the big man on twitter about something that never happened

https://twitter.com/CarolineAtMCD/status/914168643574915072

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

The plot thickens.
    I call it LcdGate.

Brilliant, what a little snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Never heard of them. Now that I have, have no desire to hear of them again.
    LCD Soundsystem have been around since 2002, and you've seriously never heard of them??

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

LCD Soundsystem have been around since 2002, and you've seriously never heard of them??

I haven't either!

Nope. I asked the young uns here today ( some teens and others 32 to 45 age bracket) and none of them had even heard of them.