Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo varadkar +LCD Sound system+ abortion = ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Western society has become so feeble.

Everyone is outraged by everything.

The need to show more outrage than the next person.

It's like the 'Two Minute Hate' from 1984

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Varadkar yeah fine.

But wtf was Paschal Donohoe doing at an LCD Soundsystem gig.

EDIT: Jaysus he is a genuine fan. Electric Paschal they apparently call him when he went to the picnic to see them.
    Thought he's be more a Red Hurley fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That Doyle guy sounds like a tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What a prat - Doyle that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

You're not in American now, you can disrespect your own head of government all you want, but have a bit of respect for another counties leader, especially when you obviously have no clue what "repeal" means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Delighted, good enough for Varadkar, weaseling his way backstage and he picked the wrong band to try and lick their holes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Fair play to them, too often politicians try to get opportunist photo-shoots.

“Wore a repeal tote bag around my neck”

Is there anything more annoying than an abortion rights campaign being made into hipster fashion trend. He’s the tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭emo72

The gigs were great. Now carry on with the outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

But he is the first Taoiseach in a long time to actually call a referendum on this and not kick it down the road.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

He's right. Varadkar is a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Repeal the USC is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Yeah they can. Most of us seen Enda at the Bruce Springsteen gig, and apart from Enda shredding his air guitar, it got little coverage by the media.

In this case, Leo seems to have wormed his way backstage, presumably using his political status as the leverage to get there, thus removing the "normal fan" argument, and turning it political.

If however the band invited him backstage and attempted to get him drawn in to a political cause of argument, that's a different kettle of fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Leo has been playing the whole 'how do you do fellow kids?' card a bit too much lately. It's backfired on him this time. I can see his new propaganda department are out in force across the interweb this morning.

Looking at his current ratings, I think most people would probably view Leo as a 'tosser'. What's the problem?

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Yeah they can. Most of us seen Enda at the Bruce Springsteen gig, and apart from Enda shredding his air guitar, it got little coverage by the media.

In this case, Leo seems to have wormed his way backstage, presumably using his political status as the leverage to get there, thus removing the "normal fan" argument, and turning it political.

He was probably hoping to setup another photo op but instead had to settle for a selfie with the likes of Paschal Donohoe (who still can't talk properly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

cisk wrote: »
    “Wore a repeal tote bag around my neck”

Is there anything more annoying than an abortion rights campaign being made into hipster fashion trend. He’s the tosser.

Yeah saw someone share that tweet this morning and tbh my first reaction was "I'd walk away from you, cause you are clearly a tosser"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Well he has been ripping Sinn Fein to pieces in the Dail all week so he gets props from me. Well done Leo. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Varadkar's problem is that he cannot see that people generally don't like him. His politics has something to do with it but there's more. Something about the American accent from Castleknock I'd say.

The more he tries to improve his image (with photo ops) the more he keeps embarrassing himself.

The "thrill" at going to Downing St summed him up. . . Vacuous Varadkar.

A person of zero principles and even worse morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

But he is the first Taoiseach in a long time to actually call a referendum on this and not kick it down the road.....?
    Exactly. It goes to show that this guy hasn't a clue what the issue is at all, but thinks he's sticking it to the man wearing a tote bag.

What a tosser.

Well he has been ripping Sinn Fein to pieces in the Dail all week so he gets props from me. Well done Leo. ;)

Nope. Made a fool of himself.

Things he's doing PMQs in the House of Commons.

He's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Did Varadker have a response on his socks, anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Repeal the USC is it?

Ha, I wish, but it's not fashionable enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

dav3 wrote: »
    Leo has been playing the whole 'how do you do fellow kids?' card a bit too much lately. It's backfired on him this time. I can see his new propaganda department are out in force across the interweb this morning.

Looking at his current ratings, I think most people would probably view Leo as a 'tosser'. What's the problem?

Leo is a tosser, my problem is the even bigger tosser who wrote the message, he just assumed "Repeal" was a trendy logo for a bag, he had no idea what it meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Paschal Donohoe (who still can't talk properly)

What do you mean? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

LCD have reached a startling level of uncool here. A gang of pudsy ministers at your gig :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Can't wait to see Leo teaming his Repeal tote bag with an OBEY snapback cap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Hector Mildew

What did he expect wearing one of these..
    12317.png?w=505

I'd walk away too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

He's right. Varadkar is a tosser.

Ya but I suppose he went along for a photo promo, so it was like... ' I'll see your tosser and raise you a tosser'.

Now... I wonder who paid for the tickets?
    FG... or the dept. Of Leo's PR wing.
    Would they pay benefit in kind?
    Like %$#% they would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Never heard of them. Now that I have, have no desire to hear of them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Whoever Leo is, he's an elected representative of the people and that should be respected.
    I would not like or wish to meet Trump but I would not be rude to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

He said that the band's synthesizer Nancy Whang "took him to task" on Ireland's abortion law.

Aside from the stupidity of thinking the taoiseach can just change the law at a whim without holding a referendum I'm impressed that the band has a synthesiser that can talk. I know synthesisers can sample speech and all but they don't usually tend to vocalise their own opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,031 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Water John wrote: »
    Whoever Leo is, he's an elected representative of the people and that should be respected.
    I would not like or wish to meet Trump but I would not be rude to him.

Height of rudeness IMO. If I was performing in another country and the PM of that country came backstage, I wouldn't dream of publicly referring to him (or her) as a "tosser" no matter what my political opinions were. This individual would do well to remember he was a guest in our country.

It doesn't matter which end of the spectrum the politician is as this cuts both ways and demeans democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

When virtual signalling goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

I presume they wanted varadkar to change the constitution there and then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

He was probably hoping to setup another photo op but instead had to settle for a selfie with the likes of Paschal Donohoe (who still can't talk properly)

TBF Paschal has a speech impediment

And, what's that to do with, the price of cabbage?

Never heard anyone having a go at Francie Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Never heard of them. Now that I have, have no desire to hear of them again.

Ah come on, I don't follow that nonsense, but I still knew who Leo Varadkar was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

What a surprise some no name celebrity trying to "stick it to the man" i doubt the idiot even knows what the campaign is about, not the biggest fan of Leo but he's our head of government deserves more respect then to be called a tosser by some hipster nobody who is supposed to be a guest in our country what tosser he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Aside from the stupidity of thinking the taoiseach can just change the law at a whim without holding a referendum I'm impressed that the band has a synthesiser that can talk. I know synthesisers can sample speech and all but they don't usually tend to vocalise their own opinions.

Just what do you think you're doing, Leo? Leo, I really think I'm entitled to an answer to that question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Varadkar's problem is that he cannot see that people generally don't like him.

What makes you think people generally don't like him?

I'm from the big middle of society and pretty much everyone I know is delighted finally a politician wants to give something back to the ones who pay for everything in this country and work their asses off.

Whether he follows through I don't know but saying people don't like his arguments is facile nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Varadkar's problem is that he cannot see that people generally don't like him. His politics has something to do with it but there's more. Something about the American accent from Castleknock I'd say.

The more he tries to improve his image (with photo ops) the more he keeps embarrassing himself.

The "thrill" at going to Downing St summed him up. . . Vacuous Varadkar.

A person of zero principles and even worse morals.

People generally? Really? That's just your own unfounded opinion. All opinion polls in the past two months disagree with you. But sure you know more anecdotally than any actual surveys will ever do.

Yea, I read that. What an absolute nonce of a person.

"Took to task"

Would you ever f*ck off?

This idiot really seems to think the taoiseach can just change the abortion law at a whim. Regardless of your views on either abortion or Varadkar, protesting to him isn't going to make any difference. His idiocy scored a lot of points for him on Twitter with young 'feminists' though. The young ones will be all over him backstage at his Irish gigs now.

I don't know much about the band. Is he American or English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

People generally? Really? That's just your own unfounded opinion. All opinion polls in the past two months disagree with you. But sure you know more anecdotally than any actual surveys will ever do.

People "generally" in his own constituency actually rather like him...to the tune of 8,247 (20% of the valid poll) first preference votes in a Free and Fair electoral process.

https://electionsireland.org/result.cfm?election=2016&cons=112

Is this wrong....should the 20% who voted for Leo V,be arrested and interned pending questioning by P.Flynn...oops sorry Flynt ?

If and when Alek Smart or Peter Flynt stick their names on a ballot paper and see how many "generally" wish to vote for us,then I'll start posting about it....until then I'm afraid,Leo V has the batin' of us.

Damn this oul democracy thing anyway....:( :(:(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Haha, this is hilarious. Al Doyle made a throwaway comment without all the facts and he's getting dogs abuse for it on twitter. He sounds very rattled, I think they had a serious session after the gig in Dublin last night. https://twitter.com/aldoyletweets

Also he's not a yank he's english as far as I know. He has apologised though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

MadYaker wrote: »
    Haha, this is hilarious. Al Doyle made a throwaway comment without all the facts and he's getting dogs abuse for it on twitter.

It was a really poor comment. Not sure what he expected to gain from it.
    MadYaker wrote: »
    Also he's not a yank he's english as far as I know. He has apologised though.

Probably a Corbynite. Sounds like something they'd come out with.

His latest tweet: "I'm glad there's a referendum happening; of course I am. And I'd hate to distract from the real debate in any way."

Yeah of course you'd hate to distract from it. You really seem to hate attention.

His tweets are on a par with Donald Trump for stupidity but his fans are going mad for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

Your Face wrote: »
    Ha, I wish, but it's not fashionable enough.

Wait til you see the new range of Repeal the USC jeggings.