Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Yea right.

Did anyone read the article about the 10 best ways to get on the dairy gravy train??
    Jesus wept.
    I certainly wouldn't ,10 years ago I'd of taken u up ,settled here now married ,daughter in school and I'm happy and content with what I have .....most of the time anyway !!!
    A serious opportunity for someone tho and sure France is only across the pond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

dwag would you not get a robot, there all the rage over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

dwag would you not get a robot, there all the rage over here

Ah no.
    They were all the rage over here until price crashed. Average CoP for robots is usually in the 33-35cpl mark. Do Lely salesmen ever point this out to prospective victims?
    There's so many robots for sale now that one has to sell the farm to offload...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Ah no.
    They were all the rage over here until price crashed. Average CoP for robots is usually in the 33-35cpl mark. Do Lely salesmen ever point this out to prospective victims?
    There's so many robots for sale now that one has to sell the farm to offload...

Dwag, this could be an idiotic question, but is a low input system possible in your situation? Or does weather and milk markets discount that?

I better clarify, when I say low input I mean spring calving grass based system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

A lady milker handed in her notice this morning...she's going doing the AI course and has a job already lined up. That was my suggestion a few months back!
    Anyhow we're hiring a milker/yardperson if ye know anyone looking for a start...

Or!!! someone get over here and make a half decent offer on dairy farm. I'll give 350/400 acres to play with...

Did you have fluent French when you first went over or did you pick it up as you went?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Was there a poster here with a robot? Pity didn't stick around if so. I think the British farming forum have a good thread on robots, warts and all approach by most

C0N0R wrote: »
    Dwag, this could be an idiotic question, but is a low input system possible in your situation? Or does weather and milk markets discount that?

I better clarify, when I say low input I mean spring calving grass based system.

No, unless you're totally, irretrievably, irreconcilably brainwashed into grass based systems. Approx 7tdm/ha grass grown here with irrigation...
    Can get 22-27 ton dm with maize and catch crops. That decides it.

Mooooo wrote: »
    Was there a poster here with a robot? Pity didn't stick around if so. I think the British farming forum have a good thread on robots, warts and all approach by most

There's a poster has one but seems to spend his time over on milk price thread moaning about Coops...maybe it's the robot that drives him to it.

MF290 wrote: »
    Did you have fluent French when you first went over or did you pick it up as you went?

Still picking it up.
    Language is never a barrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Still picking it up.
    Language is never a barrier.

Had u any french or some from secondary school

Latin to leaving cert was as far as it went for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Grass still flying outa the ground, despite feck all nitrogen the last 2 months! I need another 80odd cows lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »
    Grass still flying outa the ground, despite feck all nitrogen the last 2 months! I need another 80odd cows lol.

Il drop down the twenty incalfs I housed last week, they'll tip thru it for you! I won't even charge!!

visatorro wrote: »
    Il drop down the twenty incalfs I housed last week, they'll tip thru it for you! I won't even charge!!

1100e and you'll never have to see them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,811 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Think dairy stock are going to be very expensive for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Could become reality in the spring. Not sure how long I can carry on here. I'll keep you in mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Scanning in am. Fingers crossed.

Also got a call from dept today that a neighbour is down and we have 2 tests to do. Ffs typical, we just demolished our old crush last week to make way for the maize. New handling set up hasn't been delivered yet

whelan2 wrote: »
    Think dairy stock are going to be very expensive for a while

I was expecting that also, supposedly plenty of lads converting from beef or tillage around and snapping up big numbers of incalf heifers, however 1250e seems to be the going rate on done deal, and plenty of them there. Obviously lots of existing dairy farmers knocking out plenty of excess heifers still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

I was expecting that also, supposedly plenty of lads converting from beef or tillage around and snapping up big numbers of incalf heifers, however 1250e seems to be the going rate on done deal, and plenty of them there. Obviously lots of existing dairy farmers knocking out plenty of excess heifers still.

I know of deals between 1400-1500 for feburary calving crossbred stock in calf to ai. Good stock are hard to come by.
    I would wonder at the quality of some of the stock on done deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

yewtree wrote: »
    I know of deals between 1400-1500 for feburary calving crossbred stock in calf to ai. Good stock are hard to come by.
    I would wonder at the quality of some of the stock on done deal.

Where's the margin/profit in selling heifers at €1250. That's below cost of rearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Where's the margin/profit in selling heifers at €1250. That's below cost of rearing

There is no margin selling at €1250, but a lot of lads ignore their own labour, land cost and orginal cost of calf so it leaves a margin after cash costs.

The only money i see in replacements for the seller is sellind as calves at 3 weeks of age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I assume most lads sell around this time of year, perhaps with weather lads are sgrsif of bringing in more stock for winter? . Won't go clear til Dec all.going well here, I assume the odds of picking up calved good stock in spring would be poor enough?

14/1500 is a very fair price, and a good heifer is well worth the extra few 100e when you look at how much milk she will hopefully put in the tank over her lifetime, however it's down to supply and demand and there appears to be plenty of decent looking stock for less on done deal at the sec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

what centres should cow cubicles be at..?? holstein friesian cows.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Meanwhile, merchants are scratching their heads wondering how Glanbia will give rebates of €10/t to €30/t off feed prices. Margins in feed are relatively tight, typically between 2.5% and 3.5%, or about €7.50 to €8.50/t net.

The rebates that Glanbia is offering for next year are bigger than the net margin made by competing merchants and co-ops and bigger than the discounts on feed obtained by buying groups.

The above taken from The Dealer in today's IFJ........would make you concerned about his capacity to research a topic.....or else that calculator is giving trouble again...

alps wrote: »
    Meanwhile, merchants are scratching their heads wondering how Glanbia will give rebates of €10/t to €30/t off feed prices. Margins in feed are relatively tight, typically between 2.5% and 3.5%, or about €7.50 to €8.50/t net.

The rebates that Glanbia is offering for next year are bigger than the net margin made by competing merchants and co-ops and bigger than the discounts on feed obtained by buying groups.

The above taken from The Dealer in today's IFJ........would make you concerned about his capacity to research a topic.....or else that calculator is giving trouble again...

Anyone that believes merchants are working off 2.5-3.5% margins are more than a little gullible!

True.

But you're a little naive (or lucky) if everything turns a profit in the ranch. Ask tillage and livestock farmers to explain more...

Holstein fresh calved heifers are being sold here for ~ €900/hd. Milking 35+ litres but without a calf. Rearing replacements is not a very rewarding business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

alps wrote: »

On principal now farmers shouldn't buy from Glanbia now unless they're getting the same rebate as the chosen few, after all, those paying the full price will now be subsidisng the needy dairy farmers,
    I won't be be buying off them anyway while they're at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Would be interesting if it is below cost selling by Glanbia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Water John wrote: »
    Would be interesting if it is below cost selling by Glanbia?

Get a grip man. Read a few labels get a few prices they are not selling below cost or close to it.