Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Yea right. Did anyone read the article about the 10 best ways to get on the dairy gravy train?? Jesus wept.
atlantic mist wrote: » dwag would you not get a robot, there all the rage over here
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Ah no. They were all the rage over here until price crashed. Average CoP for robots is usually in the 33-35cpl mark. Do Lely salesmen ever point this out to prospective victims? There's so many robots for sale now that one has to sell the farm to offload...
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » A lady milker handed in her notice this morning...she's going doing the AI course and has a job already lined up. That was my suggestion a few months back! Anyhow we're hiring a milker/yardperson if ye know anyone looking for a start... Or!!! someone get over here and make a half decent offer on dairy farm. I'll give 350/400 acres to play with...
C0N0R wrote: » Dwag, this could be an idiotic question, but is a low input system possible in your situation? Or does weather and milk markets discount that? I better clarify, when I say low input I mean spring calving grass based system.
Mooooo wrote: » Was there a poster here with a robot? Pity didn't stick around if so. I think the British farming forum have a good thread on robots, warts and all approach by most
MF290 wrote: » Did you have fluent French when you first went over or did you pick it up as you went?
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Still picking it up. Language is never a barrier.
charolais0153 wrote: » Had u any french or some from secondary school
Timmaay wrote: » Grass still flying outa the ground, despite feck all nitrogen the last 2 months! I need another 80odd cows lol.
visatorro wrote: » Il drop down the twenty incalfs I housed last week, they'll tip thru it for you! I won't even charge!!
Timmaay wrote: » 1100e and you'll never have to see them again.
whelan2 wrote: » Think dairy stock are going to be very expensive for a while
Timmaay wrote: » I was expecting that also, supposedly plenty of lads converting from beef or tillage around and snapping up big numbers of incalf heifers, however 1250e seems to be the going rate on done deal, and plenty of them there. Obviously lots of existing dairy farmers knocking out plenty of excess heifers still.
yewtree wrote: » I know of deals between 1400-1500 for feburary calving crossbred stock in calf to ai. Good stock are hard to come by. I would wonder at the quality of some of the stock on done deal.
Keepgrowing wrote: » Where's the margin/profit in selling heifers at €1250. That's below cost of rearing
alps wrote: » Meanwhile, merchants are scratching their heads wondering how Glanbia will give rebates of €10/t to €30/t off feed prices. Margins in feed are relatively tight, typically between 2.5% and 3.5%, or about €7.50 to €8.50/t net. The rebates that Glanbia is offering for next year are bigger than the net margin made by competing merchants and co-ops and bigger than the discounts on feed obtained by buying groups. The above taken from The Dealer in today's IFJ........would make you concerned about his capacity to research a topic.....or else that calculator is giving trouble again...
Water John wrote: » Would be interesting if it is below cost selling by Glanbia?