Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Big news.

http://www.newstalk.com/Statement-from-Newstalk
    Newstalk has now concluded the process which reviewed the circumstances that led to George Hook’s comments on rape recently. The station confirms that George Hook will be stepping down from his lunchtime slot. He will return to the station in December 2017 when he will take on a new weekend show. Newstalk will shortly be announcing a replacement for the lunchtime show.

I would love if that weekend show was in place of Chris O'Donoghue. I think that would be justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Thing I don't understand is this petition.

Isn't the whole point of a petition that people literally sign their name to support a cause?

Isn't it slightly silly that we don't know who they are?

I think the article about in the Irish Examiner I read said "we have seen a copy of the letter". If one of the main presenters had signed it we would know by now. It was mostly researchers and producers. I suspect the "presenters" were people who have filled in as presenter once or twice and Dill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

What an odd move by Newstalk. Fire him from one show, but say he will be coming back with a new show in December? Make a decision!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Big news.

I would love if that weekend show was in place of Chris O'Donoghue. I think that would be justice.

Doesn't make much sense that.. is that Newstalk backing George by not fulling letting him go, or a partial repremand. Or is it George saying f you all I dont need this crap at this stage of my life and newstalk trying to hang onto him while also appearing to make a statement by removing him..?

Will be more publicity for a while either way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Johannabax

I've enjoyed George's shows. Definitely I don't always agree with him but it was refreshing to have someone with an actual opinion of their own. It was also good to hear from someone a lot older than myself as they have a different life experience. I don't think he should lose the show and if he does it will just lead to too much of the same shows. You can't really have a debate if everyone agrees. We know we're all brainwashed at that point. He apologised, it wasn't exactly what he meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    What an odd move by Newstalk. Fire him from one show, but say he will be coming back with a new show in December? Make a decision!

They want to keep him happy and the sponsors of one of their biggest daily slots. Seems straight-forward. What were his audience numbers like? That might play a part too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Does anyone get let go at Newstalk/Today Fm. It always seems to be a move to a weekend spot and then they disappear after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

he'll be on before Global Village. i can only hope!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,025 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

New presenter to be announced shortly.

I hope its Al Porter.

That'll teach ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

"A replacement for his lunchtime show will be announced shortly"

So says the news on Moncrieff.

BPKS wrote: »
    New presenter to be announced shortly.

I hope its Al Porter.

That'll teach ye.

Please let it be Anton Savage,I miss him on the radio!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I think Newstalk should drop Global Village (who listens to it anyway) and replace it with something entertaining on a Saturday evening ......

I'm thinking...George Hook's Movies & Booze programme. George would be happy out talking about old/new movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,025 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I think Newstalk should drop Global Village (who listens to it anyway) and replace it something entertaining on a Saturday evening ......

I'm thinking...George Hook's Movies & Booze programme. George would be happy out talking about old/new movies.

He doesnt drink though does he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

he'll be on before Global Village. i can only hope!!

It would be the greatest crossover segment ever. I would tune in every Saturday just for that.

BPKS wrote: »
    He doesnt drink though does he?

He does drink but my father would describe him as a 'harmless drinker'

He likes the odd glass of wine... He could always invite a few drink experts onto his show.
    I drink with food and little more. It is not part of my social life. If I drank any less I would be teetotal. Two pints of stout would render me insensible. Wine is certainly my favourite tipple and I enjoy a glass with dinner but I am just as likely to drink a pint of milk.

I hate pubs and the bonhomie and round-buying. Just recently I have tried a Dark and Stormy before bed. It is a favourite in Bermuda — rum and ginger beer. I become monosyllabic and sleepy when drunk, so I never reach intoxication.

Do I ever get a hangover? What is a hangover? The best hangover cure? No alcohol — no hangover. My favourite drink would be a sauvignon blanc from New Zealand. I could imagine not drinking. I would have been happy during Prohibition.

http://www.independent.ie/life/alcohol-and-me-the-truth-rosanna-george-hook-al-porter-gerald-kean-and-a-host-of-other-famous-people-come-clean-35135292.html

He does, unless he gave it up very recently.
    Yeah, he regularly talks about how he takes a nightly gin for his gout (or was it his itchy scrotum?). I try to blank such details out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

zorro2566 wrote: »

That would be amazing! Anton always did a great job with serious stories alongside the more light hearted magazine type stories so to hear him on NT with full control of his own output (which didn't happen with TodayFM) would be a real treat and a genuine ratings bump for the slot.

I highly doubt it will happen though, but one can only hope. Hook takes Chris' weekend slot, Anton takes Hooks' spot and maybe give Moncrief his half hour back to allow him to do his half hour long interview, which was usually the highlight of the Moncrief show (the show was never really the same without it)

It would also sort out Communicorp's branding problem, with TodayFM being the music magazine type station and NT being the serious discussion and personality driven station.

Yeah, he regularly talks about how he takes a nightly gin for his gout (or was it his itchy scrotum?). I try to blank such details out.
    I'll miss George, but dear God, I won't miss him discussing his itchy scrotum....jaysus, way too much info :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Jamiekelly wrote: »
    That would be amazing! Anton always did a great job with serious stories alongside the more light hearted magazine type stories so to hear him on NT with full control of his own output (which didn't happen with TodayFM) would be a real treat and a genuine ratings bump for the slot.

I highly doubt it will happen though, but one can only hope. Hook takes Chris' weekend slot, Anton takes Hooks' spot and maybe give Moncrief his half hour back to allow him to do his half hour long interview, which was usually the highlight of the Moncrief show (the show was never really the same without it)

It would also sort out Communicorp's branding problem, with TodayFM being the music magazine type station and NT being the serious discussion and personality driven station.

Anton was a decent stand-in presenter but when he took over the D'arcy slot full time I found it got a bit dull. I think the man is so skilled at PR that he never lets anything slip out about himself so the show felt competent but without any bite.

Tbf, I think D'arcy had become so incredibly moany in that slot that when Savage came in it felt like a breath of fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

It's a shame that social media shafts a man for his opinion, in this case George actually got shafted for in fact something he didn't say. Political correctness gone wrong here. George's opinion should have been discussed and maybe that discussion alone would if even to prevent one victim of this heinous crime been attacked would be worthwhile. A really good guy is George! and an opertunity missed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Big news.

VERY first thing I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

zorro2566 wrote: »

His day job really should disbar him from currant affairs broadcasting, especially with Carr Communications association with Fine Gael. There's a clear conflict of interest.

George's opinion should have been discussed
    Should it though?

Back when bank robberies were reasonably common occurences, nobody to my knowledge ever claimed that although robberies were always wrong, and it was never the fault of the bank tellers, that traumatised bank tellers had to accept any element personal responsibility.

That would be a bizarre claim for anyone to have made,

Five years ago, a stone's throw away from where I live in Dublin, a journalist was killed by a single-punch blow to the neck. He was inebriated and walking home, when put upon by a drunken maniac. No right-thinking person would have ventured to suggest that the journalist who was walking home, inebriated, but minding his own business, should have incurred an iota for of personal responsibility.

No civil human being should even indulge such nonsense.

My own mother lives in rural Ireland, and hasn't locked our kitchen door in my lifetime. The milkman, the man who milks the cows, the postman, and friends and neighbours, know just to push the door and come inside.

Now, that house has in fact been burgled, but they didn't come in through the kitchen door (assuming it to be locked). In my mind, it makes zero difference whether they push in the door or break it down. The victim does not bear any responsibility for the trespass and crimes of another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

To paraphrase, "(S)he who wields the sword, seldom wears the crown" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I think Newstalk should drop Global Village (who listens to it anyway) and replace it with something entertaining on a Saturday evening ......

Global Village is one of the worst shows on NT. Crap.

seachto7 wrote: »
    Global Village is one of the worst shows on NT. Crap.
    It also doesn't belong in this thread.

Disucssion of GV and its content belongs elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It will be a woman. Hook scandal got a lot more attention because of all male weekday line-up. No way they are going to replace him with a man. I think it will be Sarah McInerney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

George's opinion should have been discussed
    Should it though?

Back when bank robberies were reasonably common occurences, nobody to my knowledge ever claimed that although robberies were always wrong, and it was never the fault of the bank tellers, that traumatised bank tellers had to accept any element personal responsibility.

That would be a bizarre claim for anyone to have made,

Five years ago, a stone's throw away from where I live in Dublin, a journalist was killed by a single-punch blow to the neck. He was inebriated and walking home, when put upon by a drunken maniac. No right-thinking person would have ventured to suggest that the journalist who was walking home, inebriated, but minding his own business, should have incurred an iota for of personal responsibility.

No civil human being should even indulge such nonsense.

My own mother lives in rural Ireland, and hasn't locked our kitchen door in my lifetime. The milkman, the man who milks the cows, the postman, and friends and neighbours, know just to push the door and come inside.

Now, that house has in fact been burgled, but they didn't come in through the kitchen door (assuming it to be locked). In my mind, it makes zero difference whether they push in the door or break it down. The victim does not bear any responsibility for the trespass and crimes of another.

Utter nonsense!
    Minimising risk is locking the door, minimising risk is not walking home alone drunk. Going drunk to a strange building with a strange man completely unknown to the victim, the whereabouts of the victim unknown to her friends or the group that she was with is not adhering to any code of safety or responsibility whatsoever.

I regularly milk the cows too! If the bull is running with them I never take the risk that heel attack, we do not leave the safety of the tractor when on our own, even though he's a quite aul fella but we have a rule and that we all have a responsibility for safety and he could attack that rule minimises risk to us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭scotchy

meeeeh wrote: »
    It will be a woman. Hook scandal got a lot more attention because of all male weekday line-up. No way they are going to replace him with a man. I think it will be Sarah McInerney.

Please Newstalk NOOOOOOOooooo.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛