The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

LED flasher relay fitted to the R1.
    Got it in Bikeworld this morning.

Got rid of those hot and dangerous balast resistors and did some soldering on the back end of the R1 today.Bit of heat shrink tube added too.

Safer and more secure connection for the LED tail/indicator light unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Got rid of those hot and dangerous balast resistors and did some soldering on the back end of the R1 today.Bit of heat shrink tube added too.

Safer and more secure connection for the LED tail/indicator light unit.

Good work stewy.
    Have you seen those self feeding soldering irons that Lidl had?
    I got one a while back just to see what it was like and find it excellent.

blade1 wrote: »
    Good work stewy.
    Have you seen those self feeding soldering irons that Lidl had?
    I got one a while back just to see what it was like and find it excellent.

Never heard of it until now.
    Sounds like a handy gadget to have?

Never heard of it until now.
    Sounds like a handy gadget to have?

I love it.
    Gives a lovely even coating of solder and gives you one hand free.
    IMG_20170920_184832.jpg

IMG_20170920_185209.jpg

When were they on sale?

Roughly 4/5 months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Soldering is OK, but you'd really want to start getting into crimping when dealing with electrical connections.
    Solder joints can and will fail from vibration.
    If you don't want to get into proper crimps (not the pre-insulated ones which are no good) then consider these solder joints which seal and shrink and solder at the same time.

I have these ones that I have used when I have removed connectors from regulators and joined the wires instead and stuff like that.
    I think I got them on eBay.
    Also very handy to have.
    IMG_20170921_115314.jpg

Gave the R1 yoke a bath and some ACF50 today. Just need to get the heel guards annodised black again.

Now to give her a quick evening blast.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Those fingerless mechanic's gloves are great.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

you can diy the anodizing if you can be arsed - good vids on youtube

Brake cleaner in Lidl for 3 euro.
    Its good stuff.

Anyone have the Ultimate Speed battery?
    What's it like to charge a flat car or bike battery?
    ULTIMATE SPEED Car Battery Charger
    https://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/www_lidl_ie_3x/hs.xsl/productPageFinder.xml?listId=132&articleId=2560&type=offerdatelist&rdeLocaleAttr=en&productId=2560&countryCode=IE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I have that... Does what it says it should

But for a flat battery it won't start charging, I had to trick it with connecting two batteries in series, it won't charge something with less than 4V I think it is.. But I'd have to check the manual to be sure of that number

I have that... Does what it says it should

But for a flat battery it won't start charging, I had to trick it with connecting two batteries in series, it won't charge something with less than 4V I think it is.. But I'd have to check the manual to be sure of that number
    Tell me more please about two batteries in series.:)

Have a flat car battery here and wouldnt mind charging it.

Tell me more please about two batteries in series.:)

Have a flat car battery here and wouldnt mind charging it.

Connect negative on one battery to positive on the other and then one end of your charger on each of the batteries

If your good battery has 12V and your other has nearly 0V, it'll end up reading like 6V to the charger and it'll start charging

I actually used a laptop charger first to get the bike battery to around 3.6V and then did the series thing with a car battery and the charger eventually got it to high enough it would charge on its own

I didn't leave any of this going without watching it for heat / fire.. No idea if there's any risk but I didn't risk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Whilst changing the tyres a few weeks back I noticed a bit of play in the front wheel. I replaced the front bearings. It took about 45 mins total. Bike has just passed 40k. Like the rear I replaced them with KOYO bearings. Im lead to believe they are a good reliable brand.

Yuk
    2la4g42.jpg

So fresh and so clean
    2i1zgb4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭conor2469

I changed the exhaust on my bike. It came with a Remus can but I reckon the bike needs to be re-jetted to suit as it popped and crackled on overrun quite a bit and would barely tick over from cold. I put the standard exhaust back on and it runs and ticks over perfectly, although it sounds very sedate now!

36597054714_3f1dd4cae1_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

I finally sorted out my speedometer on the sv at the weekend.

After waiting for a new rotor to arrive it turned out the the connector was unplugged lol

Got the Lidl charger so we'll see how it goes.
    IMG_20170928_151934.jpg

did you have any trouble starting to charge the dead battery or was it not dead

It wasn't dead.
    My main concern is actually my car.
    A couple of times I left the dash cam on over the weekend while away and came back to a car that wouldn't start.
    Type of car I have,I can't jump start it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

For €20 that charger is a steal. Will probably be all gone by Monday.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

By doing something, I dropped my bike for the first time today.

Was going to top up the oil until I get her fully services, popping it up on to the centre stand, foot slipped and next thing I know she's very gently falling on to her side.

Thankfully it's on the path right next to the garden, so it was a very soft landing.

Next thing I know I'm having a mild panic as I see liquid dripping from a tube by the kickstand, an even bigger panic sets in as I try desperately to remember what the hell it's for and have I gone and severed something.

Thankfully it's the overflow tube and panic ended, but still a fecking shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Sonics2k wrote: »
    By doing something, I dropped my bike for the first time today.

Was going to top up the oil until I get her fully services, popping it up on to the centre stand, foot slipped and next thing I know she's very gently falling on to her side.

Thankfully it's on the path right next to the garden, so it was a very soft landing.

Next thing I know I'm having a mild panic as I see liquid dripping from a tube by the kickstand, an even bigger panic sets in as I try desperately to remember what the hell it's for and have I gone and severed something.

Thankfully it's the overflow tube and panic ended, but still a fecking shock.
    The crash wings should help with the damage anyway.
    BTW they shift better not 100% filled, leave a little gap between the full line and the oil line.

Lots of laps today in Mondello.
    Thanks to Chris Gray for the few pointers on my lines.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

CJhaughey wrote: »
    The crash wings should help with the damage anyway.
    BTW they shift better not 100% filled, leave a little gap between the full line and the oil line.

To be fair to it, there's not a mark on the bike at all. Plus it gave me a good excuse to give her a good clean.

Of course now I've got to try and get some of the fairing off. Somehow the arrow on the Rev meter has slipped over the pin and isn't showing the Rev properly. More of a minor annoyance really, but a pain to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I used harpic max 10 on the exhaust. Holy shít, that stuff is great. Plenty of water to wash it off and a quick going over with autosol and the pipes look almost like new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭johnmolly92

Put a new D.I.D chain on the SV over the weekend. Loving the gold on silver.

erTqNwi.jpg?1

I dont think the front sprocket cover has been cleaned out since the bike was new, couldn't believe the amount of gunk sitting in there.

jvI96hI.jpg

029Z84P.jpg