Black Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I've never met one, never met an Irish black teacher either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I've come across a black guard. Here's proof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Allinall

There's hundreds of them patrolling around Parnell St, - all plainclothes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There is a female Guard that appears on Crimecall every so often. I think she may be Asian.
    My mother always says if she knocked on the door you'd tell her to go away because she can be hard to understand and doesn't really look like a Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

They're all blackguards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

6541 wrote: »
    Also another observation, I live in rural Ireland and l don't think an ethic minority Garda could make an arrest of any of the bucks around here.

Wesley Snipes would be able to (if he wasnt in prison)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

darkdubh wrote: »
    There was a black guard who used to present Garda Patrol in the 80's, well to be specific he was mixed race.

He was just a sallow skinned Irish man.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Lack of black Gardai.

What an utterly ridiculous comment. You mean to say that because there are no or very very few black Gardaí that the garda organisation as a whole is deeply racist? So by your ridiculous way of thinking, the nursing fraternity is deeply racist also as there are very very few black nurses either, plenty of Asian, Phillipino. South American etc but very few black.

Go away and have a good talk with yourself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The Dark Knight.

I laughed out loud reading that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Would love to see Will Smith and the shouty little fecker walking up and down Parnell St. bating the fck out of all the dealers in Dr quirkys.
    Buachaillí dána!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

I don't see why there would be more than a couple-as recently as the mid 90s you could probably have fitted every black person in the country in a double decker bus. It wasn't until 2000-2002 when the asylum-seeker pregnancy scam was in full swing that seeing a black person on the street was no longer relatively rare. Those kids are just at school leaving/third level age now so you'll probably see a fair few entering the gardaí in the coming years.

sabat wrote: »
    I don't see why there would be more than a couple-as recently as the mid 90s you could probably have fitted every black person in the country in a double decker bus. It wasn't until 2000-2002 when the asylum-seeker pregnancy scam was in full swing that seeing a black person on the street was no longer relatively rare. Those kids are just at school leaving/third level age now so you'll probably see a fair few entering the gardaí in the coming years.

Are all blacks asylum seekers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I think swimming is part of the training at Templemore so that explains why there's very few.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Allinall wrote: »
    Are all blacks asylum seekers?

Do you have basic reading comprehension skills or do you just want to be a "hey teacher, he said a bad word" prick? Which part of my post is untrue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Not really.

The best person should be picked for the job regardless of their colour.

No point putting in a few black or brown lads just to mix it up a bit and look good for the PC crowd if they aren't up to the job.

Not being up to the job never stopped them recruiting white fellas.

In fact it seems to be a requirement...so maybe that's why there are almost no ethnic minorities.

sabat wrote: »
    Do you have basic reading comprehension skills or do you just want to be a "hey teacher, he said a bad word" prick? Which part of my post is untrue?

All of it.

You're saying there were only 75 black people in ireland in the mid- nineties.

Wrong.

You've narrowed down the "asylum seeker / pregnancy" scan to a two year time frame.

Wrong.

That covers your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

According to Garda figures 15% of guards are foreign nationals , that would mean there are 22,500 non nationals!:D

I work in the prison service and have two black colleagues. Also two female Chinese colleagues. There's also Dutch, Romanian and Carlow officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

There should be a few if they meet the main criteria of either:
    a) Being over 6 feet tall
    b) Playing GAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭nilescraneo

I work with Gardai daily and I've seen Romanian, Lithuanian, Russian, Israeli and Chinese full time members of AGS, and one or two black reserve Gardai. There was a Nigerian Reserve Garda in based in Listowel a few years back IIRC. I'm sure it's only a matter of time before more join full time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

I've seen one, he had a huge truncheon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

According to the garda's own figures 5763% of the force are of non irish ethnicity. The other 9552% of guards are perfectly happy with this. 110% happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

They're all blackguards!
    Very good. :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

In fairness, it is not too hard to find once you check online, they give a breakdown of native area of birth:
    Total Force size = 12,800
    Irish = 12,765
    British = 875
    Other EU = 672
    African = 35
    Asian = 23
    Australian = 9
    American = 7
    Arctic = 3
    Subterranean = 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

amcalester wrote: »
    No, but I've seen some very very very dark blue Gardai.

That's true. I thought my uncle Tommy was being arrested by a black Garda. But when I looked at him closely, he was just very very very very very very *VERY* very very very dark blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

delly wrote: »
    In fairness, it is not too hard to find once you check online, they give a breakdown of native area of birth:
    Total Force size = 12,800
    Irish = 12,765
    British = 875
    Other EU = 672
    African = 35
    Asian = 23
    Australian = 9
    American = 7
    Arctic = 3
    Subterranean = 1

You could be white African though... afrikaner like!

Wtf is subterranean, that's someone that lives underground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The three Eskimos found him while digging out ice for an igloo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

You could be white African though... afrikaner like!

An Orc ! .......or the ex Garda commissioner as she prefers to be known

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Omackeral wrote: »
    I work in the prison service and have two black colleagues. Also two female Chinese colleagues. There's also Dutch, Romanian and Carlow officers.

I know if they speak slowly you can understand the Chinese, Dutch and Romanians, but how do you know what the Carlow boys are saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

archer22 wrote: »
    Not being up to the job never stopped them recruiting white fellas.

In fact it seems to be a requirement...so maybe that's why there are almost no ethnic minorities.

WTF are you talking about, did you even read the first line of my original post?

Just to refresh your memory I said the best person suited to the job should be picked regardless of colour.

Maybe point out where exactly I said only whites should be picked even if they aren't good enough.