Irish bride-to-be pleads with hotel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

....... wrote:

Not upset at all, however your posts are borderline trolling in their content. The thread was about what the bride attempted. The weekend past would demonstrate that you are clueless and antagonistic describing football as a little interest. Which takes me back to thinking you are trolling and nothing else.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

....... wrote: »

Its not a case of them not been interested in the wedding but they have made prior commitments by taking part in a team sport and commiting themselves to it. They have no control over the fixture lists as its decided by others.

....... wrote:

That's the thing football doesn't interest me, I do however recognise for a sizeable majority of the population it does hence I would be foolish in describing it as a "little interest" unless of course I had an alterior motive for doing so. Troll away if that is what you are at. I'm feeding you no longer. ; )

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

But if the match was reschedeuled due to draws/weather etc then they were not to know. I would be pretty sure they had a look at their fixture list and worked around it and said yes to attend the wedding but this was all last minute. Some leagues etc will tell you that you cannot change the dates they have set so its just dumb luck that the reschedeuled game fell on the same day as the wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

You must know a lot of people :rolleyes:
    A lot of women are interested in football as it happens. Maybe your looking in the wrong places.

Are you from Mayo by any chance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

What a mess she got herself into. Slot of hotels have minimum numbers at certain times. My own sister was short a couple for her numbers and they let her away in the end. If it was me... I'd have asked for the extra 18 meals to be served in the bar to whoever wanted them courtesy of the bride... sometimes it's nice to be nice

That's a great idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Are they players or supporters

Tigger wrote:
    Are they players or supporters

Players.

Well if matches were to be rescheduled due to weddings/parties/holidays/sick/injuries/christenings/communions/confirmation
    we'd never see a match.

Anyone who has any knowledge of the GAA would know that to have a wedding at this time of the year is taking a risk with guest numbers

My opinion has completely changed after actually listening to it
    She is in no way some out of control bridzilla
    I thought the hotel have been fairly stingy
    Yes the couple signed a signed a contract, but a gesture or token of goodwill could have been made, as the bride, groom and 112 guests will still be arriving to try make this a special day

The hotel are in no way going to be out of pocket by 2000.00euros.

I also thought the manager reading out the email(which was more than likely written in the moment) was poor form too. He couldn't wait to read it out. At the end of the day the lady is still his customer. Yes she should not have written it, but he was very unprofessional reading it out to humiliate his customer, who lets face it, was only asking for a token or gesture. She seemed genuine, upset but not crazy

Who wouldn't have contacted the hotel to ask for something in this circumstance, honestly.

Poor form from her guests who are cancelling( not true friends obviously), and poor form from the hotel

I also thought the manager reading out the email(which was more than likely written in the moment) was poor form too. He couldn't wait to read it out. At the end of the day the lady is still his customer. Yes she should not have written it, but he was very unprofessional reading it out to humiliate his customer, who lets face it, was only asking for a token or gesture. She seemed genuine, upset but not crazy

So you have no issue with attempted blackmail as this is precisely what the bride to be attempted until her bluff was called. Maybe had she spoken to the hotel first instead of threatening them with 'Whineline' she would have been dealt with sympathetically. She is not a victim!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

He was not unprofessional reading it out. She sent it. She lied. She contacted the media. She was called out.
    In the industry I work in we have people threathening to leave awful social media reviews all the time over things that we literally cannot change, one bride wanted a refund on an item she got for her wedding and honeymoon. Used it and when events were over wanted a full refund in exchange for not posting a nasty review.

We will take on all constructive feedback or legit unhappy clients but clients being nasty and trying to blackmail and threathening to damage reputation in order to be reimbursed for something that's no fault of the business? No way, they'll be called out on it on whatever platform they choose to shame us on

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    So you have no issue with attempted blackmail as this is precisely what the bride to be attempted until her bluff was called. Maybe had she spoken to the hotel first instead of threatening them with 'Whineline' she would have been dealt with sympathetically. She is not a victim!

Blackmail? Cmon
    I didnt say I didn't have an issue with the email. having worked in customer services in a previous life, I've read a million emails like that, but it never stopped me from being fair, and offering a gesture of goodwill, despite the drama contained within an email

Yes the couple signed a signed a contract, but a gesture or token of goodwill could have been made, as the bride, groom and 112 guests will still be arriving to try make this a special day

If this was the case there would be no need for contracts.

What happens at next wedding when couple ring hotel to say 6 guests wont be coming because they had a funeral . Are the hotel supposed to say ok no bother, sure we'll knock it off the bill. I don't thinks so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Well as already pointed out much earlier in the thread, each to their own little interests.

If 12 or 16 or whatever number guests cancelled on your wedding last minute for their embroidery league speed sewing finals you might not be too impressed either.

In 6 months no one will give a damn about the wedding, but those people will still have people coming up to them and saying 'omg! You were in the speed sewing finals! Your ladder stitch is amazing, can you teach me?'

Similarly those lads will miss a wedding, but do you think they'd be telling their kids about? Some wedding with people no one has heard of since or the time they got to the county final?

When faced with a decision, always go for the one that will make better memories.

Blackmail?

So if not blackmail, what would you call the threat of 'Whineline' and the suggestion that a friend works for Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

Who wouldn't have contacted the hotel to ask for something in this circumstance, honestly.

Poor form from her guests who are cancelling( not true friends obviously), and poor form from the hotel

The hotel have already catered for that 2000 by purchasing stock and have it on site. Yes, they can reuse it, but that's not their problem. Their end of the contract was upheld.

She was an awful chancer by writing that email.

She and her groom opted to spend that 2000 euro, whether or not her guests turned up is irrelevant, it's money allocated and spent. Assuming, of course, she's not one of those awful people who relies on gifts to fund a wedding they can't afford.

As for her friends cancelling, if she's ever been underhanded to them the way she was to the hotel with the email threat, I don't blame them. But that aside, maybe they're not great friends, and maybe they just value sport more. That's their prerogative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

I've read a million emails like that, but it never stopped me from being fair, and offering a gesture of goodwill

No business is under any obligation to do that, especially after being threatened by some idiot trying to pull a fast one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

That happened.

Ah here would you ever give up and go away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

My opinion has completely changed after actually listening to it

Away with you. If the hotel gives in on this, it will get a reputation as an easy touch where bridezillas can book any old number of guests and negotiate the bill on the day. Staff are hired, based on the number of guests. Would you like it if you were a waiter there and got short notice that you wouldn't be required?

Modern weddings are a fundraiser for the ego (mainly) of the bride where extravagance and waste are paid by the guests. A lot of these couples will be among those who complain the can't afford the new levels of deposit required to buy a home. Delighted for her.