Irish bride-to-be pleads with hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd imagine the whole thing was just a bluff based on the whole thing never getting near the radio, so why did she agree to go on air I wonder?

I don't know how Liveline works, but I imagine they call in advance to confirm and schedule a 'live on air' call, so why didn't she just tell them she wasn't interested in going on air and wanted to forget about it. I doubt they'd have continued the discussion with just the hotel's side.

They'd probably just have cancelled the whole thing and found something else to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

I can't find a link to this podcast on liveline's site, but it has every other discussion - was it taken down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

I can't find a link to this podcast on liveline's site, but it has every other discussion - was it taken down?

See post #356 in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

gramar wrote: »
    If ever there was a wedding to appear in hello magazine or whatever the Irish equivalent is, then this is it.

Ireland's Own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

drake70 wrote: »
    Ireland's Own?

Miss Flanagan investigates the Case of the Missing Guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

In fairness, I doubt she really thought through what she was doing, the real damage she could have caused to the hotel's reputation, knock on effect on employees etc.

She just threw out this stupid "I'll ring Joe" threat that half the nation seems to think will instantly turn everything their way. Nine times out of ten it remains an idle thread. This time it went too far. Maybe it will make a few people in future think about what they're doing when they start to threaten businesses like this over every minor thing.

But I think she just got ridiculously het up and handled the whole thing very badly. I would imagine she's mortified now and this will really over shadow her big day. I actually do feel sorry for her.

In fairness, I doubt she really thought through what she was doing, the real damage she could have caused to the hotel's reputation, knock on effect on employees etc.

I think she was very silly but I'm sort of feeling sorry for her now. I don't know if this is on twitter or Facebook but I'd hate to see our reaction & comments ruin her big day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Reminds me of about 10 years ago; I worked in a place that did kids' parties. One woman throws a fit cos they won't accept her 3yo cos he's too young, this is the woman who booked the party, btw, so she'd have been told the T&Cs.

"I'm calling Gerry Ryan," she says, "I'm going to slate ye on air". "Go ahead," says the boss. So she phones Gerry, gets on air, Gerry talks through her grievance and then says "We had my kid's birthday there a while ago. They don't take 3 year olds." and hangs up. Good laugh, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I'm still struggling to figure out where the sum of 2000 comes from.

The hotel's brochure says €65 per person. Best I can work out is:

(18 * 65) + (18 * 50) = 2070

So she's assuming 50 euro per guest of a gift.

She's out a grand to be honest. You never ever plan on getting anything from guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Caliden wrote: »

She's out a grand to be honest. You never ever plan on getting anything from guests.

Apparently people do: they now count on the cash from guests to pay for the wedding. I'd rather have a wedding I can afford and then make a profit from it, but horses for courses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Well the way im reading is that she expected the money from teh guests to pay for the wedding.And its backfired on her.You shuld get married cause you love the person,not cause you can make a buck.[Or not in this case]

Cut your cloth and all that.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Caliden wrote: »

I wonder is she factoring in all the bits of the wedding when she is coming up with that sum ie: she got the total cost and is dividing it by 130. So say when she adds up the cost of the photographer, hotel, outfits, DJ/Band, cake, random other bits, she gets a figure of about 14.5k, that comes out at about 111 per head and in that instance the 'cost' of having 18 guests there would be about 2k.

However, she's not at a loss by these people not coming, because even not factoring in the cost of meal per head, she'd still have had to pay full price for all the other stuff; photographers don't adjust their price depending on how many guests are going to be there, nor do bands etc. She's agreed to pay for 130 dinners, so what's really happening is she's paying for 18 dinners that aren't going to be used.

Unless of course, she's done something daft like arranged her budget assuming she's going to be getting "x" amount in gifts from each guest, then maybe there's going to be a shortfall in the projected profits gifts, and maybe they're planning on using those to pay for the honeymoon and she's realised that there's a 2k gap that needs to be made up, so she tried to claw back money from the hotel.

Either way, she's very foolish to have gone about things the way she did. I do feel slightly sorry for her though, because the wedding is on Saturday and I'd say the atmosphere will be awkward as balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I wonder how many of those people who agreed to attend and then cancelled because of the match (and other reasons) would send a gift anyway?

If I was in that situation (and I'd be definitely be cancelling my attendance if my beloved Limerick FC were involved in an important match, and that's just to watch the game, not play in it), I'd probably be sending a gift, especially if the cancellation was at short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

What a mess she got herself into. Slot of hotels have minimum numbers at certain times. My own sister was short a couple for her numbers and they let her away in the end. If it was me... I'd have asked for the extra 18 meals to be served in the bar to whoever wanted them courtesy of the bride... sometimes it's nice to be nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

It's unfortunate for her that guests cancelled for such a flippant reason but the financial loss is the dinners they won't eat (together with any other individually tailored aspects of the occasion). In any event, she made a poor error of judgment by threatening the hotel with being exposed on the radio. However, the hotel reputation has been enhanced, the girl is sorry and the guests who didn't attend know how much trouble they've caused. No one has died. Moving on should be the only course of action and it shouldn't be held against the bride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

What a mess she got herself into. Slot of hotels have minimum numbers at certain times. My own sister was short a couple for her numbers and they let her away in the end. If it was me... I'd have asked for the extra 18 meals to be served in the bar to whoever wanted them courtesy of the bride... sometimes it's nice to be nice

she could have turned herself into a hero, ask a local OAP group to turn up and they be fed in the bar? shed be on the radio and companies would be flooding her with free shiiit

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

It's unfortunate for her that guests cancelled for such a flippant reason but the financial loss is the dinners they won't eat (together with any other individually tailored aspects of the occasion). In any event, she made a poor error of judgment by threatening the hotel with being exposed on the radio. However, the hotel reputation has been enhanced, the girl is sorry and the guests who didn't attend know how much trouble they've caused. No one has died. Moving on should be the only course of action and it shouldn't be held against the bride.

I'd imagine the lads on the team won't see it as a flippant reason.

They might take the view that they won;t miss the match for a flippant reason like a wedding !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

these lads are team mates of her husbands right? Presumably he knew there was some risk in holding it on a weekend in September?

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

I have just re listened and to be fair thats a terrible email.And its backfired spectacularly on her.I think if she had gone in herself and explained,the hotel by the sounds of it would have helped her.

The manager of tht hotel sounded like a fair guy,she just went in all guns blazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

....... wrote:

Pointed by you, several times. Have you still not realised that a wedding is really only important to a B&G and perhaps their immediate family. I assume the repeated "little interests" jibe is to solicit a reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

loyatemu wrote: »
    these lads are team mates of her husbands right? Presumably he knew there was some risk in holding it on a weekend in September?

Part and parcel of playing competitive Club football. Important games can be held at short notice at this time of year with no real regard for those playing or trying to organise their lives. They would have known of the potential risk and that, if it did clash, the players wouldn't attend.

An interesting point that I haven't seen mentioned is that those playing should have plenty of time to attend the Wedding Ceremony.

Even if it started as late as 3pm (I don't think I've been to one as late) and it dragged out until nearly 5pm (most nearer 1 hour than 2), they could still be back in Cavan almost 2 hours before the match. So it's really all about the meal / money.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

....... wrote: »
    Well as already pointed out much earlier in the thread, each to their own little interests.

Would you ever stop being so f*cking patronising? You clearly have no concept of or appreciation for the sacrifice and discipline and dedication that people put into team sports, especially ones based around teams that play together from childhood, or how powerfully symbolic that can be to a parish or a whole town. You're delighting in your own cluelessness and it's really f*cking annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Would you ever stop being so f*cking patronising? You clearly have no concept of or appreciation for the sacrifice and discipline and dedication that people put into team sports, especially ones based around teams that play together from childhood, or how powerfully symbolic that can be to a parish or a whole town. You're delighting in your own cluelessness and it's really f*cking annoying.

The poster was described as a wind up merchant earlier, it's safe to say the description was appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Radiant Cool Crazy Nightmare

....... wrote: »
    Well as already pointed out much earlier in the thread, each to their own little interests.

I reckon from all the little digs that shes the bride!

I can see why she was disappointed but on the other hand I would in no way expect senior club players to miss a championship match (at any stage) for a wedding. It's even more unlucky in that its arranged with such a late throw in (otherwise they could have made the reception) and on a Saturday rather than a Sunday. Sport is what life is all about for many people (even watching never mind playing).

However if she was inviting senior club players she should have arranged the wedding at a time of year where there was no chance of them being involved in an important club game. When arranging a wedding you should be making sure not to clash with big sporting evening (world cup etc), big gaa weekends where lots of guests will want to attend (latter stages of the championship and finals etc which are easy to avoid as they are their dates are well set in advance) or in her case probable weekends of big local matches.

Thinking of these things is part of arranging a wedding, ok its easier when you are into sport as you would want to avoid these things for your own sake as you would be watching but surely her husband could have advised her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Just ignore it. Their 'little interest' is looking for a reaction, don't give it to them.