Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibrahim Halawa acquited(mod warning in op-Heed it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Jawgap wrote: »
    First Up wrote: »
    The passport stuff is neither here or there.  A lot of people have more than one and they use them  as and when it s most convenient or useful.  A lot of Americans carry a European passport for ease of travel (and in case they get hijacked) but that doesn't stop hem running into a US embassy if trouble starts.   If you were sitting on remand for 4 years in a US Federal prison, I suspect you might fish out your Irish one.

Nobody has described him as an "innocent abroad".  You have decided to believe he traveled to protest so no point in bothering you with facts and evidence to the contrary.

"The passport stuff is neither here or there"  - eh? It's at the very heart of the situation!! I know his supporters want it glossed over, but did he or did he not travel as an Egyptian?

Plus his supporters have persistently tried to portray him as an innocent abroad.....a young Dublin lad who went on a family holiday and got swept up in events, when the reality, as suggested by the evidence, is that he travelled with the purpose of placing himself at the heart of the protests.

And btw, the number of US citizens holding dual nationality is less than 500000, or about 0.3% of the citizenry......so the vast, vast majority actually don't carry EU passports (and the number declines even more significantly if you exclude people who have dual citizenship by virtue of being born abroad while their parents were serving in the military)....when you apply to be naturalised you have to forego any other citizenship (you just leave it a few months and apply for your second passport back).

And yeah, "hijacking" that's the reason to have a different passport :rolleyes: - this isn't the 1970s/80s anymore.......

I'm sure I would try to play my Irish passport if I was thrown in jail in the US......but how far do you think I'd get with the consul? would the ambassador come down herself and negotiate my release?
    If he traveled to protest, don't you think he would have done so on his Irish passport as his get out of jail card?
    The ambassador didn't try to get him out of jail.  She tried to get him out of the mosque alive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

"The passport stuff is neither here or there" - eh? It's at the very heart of the situation!! I know his supporters want it glossed over, but did he or did he not travel as an Egyptian?

So he violated the "you can only use a passport in a way Jawgap or random people on the internet approve of" law?
    No, sorry, I can't find that one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

So he violated the "you can only use a passport in a way Jawgap or random people on the internet approve of" law?

No, he violated the law as articulated by DFA - if you travel on a non-Irish passport as a dual citizen you may be, lawfully, denied Irish consular assistance if you get into trouble. Whether you get it is at the discretion of the authorities in the country in question.......

......oh and by the way, you need to look harder.......under Egyptian law dual citizenship is not recognised.....so again, it underlines the achievement of the Irish consular staff in getting the authorities to acknowledge him as an Irish passport holder. Legally, they could've just said "not interested, goodbye."

First Up wrote: »
    If he traveled to protest, don't you think he would have done so on his Irish passport as his get out of jail card?
    The ambassador didn't try to get him out of jail.  She tried to get him out of the mosque alive.

Yes, if he wanted to protest why not travel on his Irish passport? If you identify yourself as Irish why not travel on your Irish passport?

My issue isn't with him protesting, it's with us being taken for mugs......this whole family holiday story doesn't pass the sniff test.....I'd have more respect if him and/or his supporters were honest about his motive and means of travel.

The idea that he was just your typical Dublin teenager on a bit of holiday back to the ol' family hometown, who got a bit carried away is garbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Halawa used his Irish passport tactically as it lends more weight as a neutral, inoffensive document.

Thus, provides legitimacy to his "holiday" story.

He travelled as an Egyptian with his Egyptian passport, optically, this legitimises his reasons for travel.

When things went pear shaped, the "Irish card" was pulled out to demonstrate that he was on holiday and was innocently caught up in the situation he voluntarily put himself into.

Its like putting a Man Utd jersey on over a Liverpool jersey. When Liverpool were winning it was all good but as soon as Man Utd started winning, you ****ed away the Liverpool jersey and started shouting louder with the Man Utd one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's funny that we're now at the stage where the big argument is whether an Irish citizen used his dual nationality passport to travel or not.

A few days ago people were insisting that he's a muslim terrorist and that he burned the tricolour and ripped up his Irish passport.

It's funny that we're now at the stage where the big argument is whether an Irish citizen used his dual nationality passport to travel or not.

A few days ago people were insisting that he's a muslim terrorist and that he burned the tricolour and ripped up his Irish passport.

Ok, for a start I never suggested anything mentioned in your second paragraph......

....and as for your first paragraph.....there's no argument, it's a matter of fact he travelled out on his Egyptian passport and only pulled the Paddy-card out when he realised that he was playing with the big boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

All seemingly true. Your point being?

quintana76 wrote: »
    All seemingly true. Your point being?

All disproven so all that's left for people to clutch at is what passport he flashed at the airport.

Not at all, there's much more to the story than that......and all of it by his own admission or that of his supporters.

Did he not attend a "day of rage" protest? Make video'ed public statements? Look for Irish consular assistance?

Did his supporters not take the advice of DFA? Did they circulate the "family holiday" story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭EMPunk

Ok, for a start I never suggested anything mentioned in your second paragraph......

....and as for your first paragraph.....there's no argument, it's a matter of fact he travelled out on his Egyptian passport and only pulled the Paddy-card out when he realised that he was playing with the big boys.

Why even reply to that garbage ???

See the problem with these eejits is you put forward a well written fact based circumstantial assessment of the situation but in their "liberal" warped minds they read it as if it was the drivel he posted in the second paragraph , they are the real fascists and racists of this world

Not at all, there's much more to the story than that......and all of it by his own admission or that of his supporters.

Did he not attend a "day of rage" protest? Make video'ed public statements? Look for Irish consular assistance?

Did his supporters not take the advice of DFA? Did they circulate the "family holiday" story?

If you have any proof that he’s a “terrorist and that he burned the tricolour and ripped up his Irish passport”, I’d love to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I nearly chocked on my cornflakes this morning reading Lynn boylans piece in the IT..."a prisoner of conscience"

Since when?
    He was involved in a protest denouncing the current government which isn't a smart thing to be doing in a military state.

If you have any proof that he’s a “terrorist and that he burned the tricolour and ripped up his Irish passport”, I’d love to see it.

If you have any proof I made such an assertion I'd love to see it......in fact perhaps you'd be honourable enough to either show where I made any such assertion (or anything like it) or be good enough to admit the above post is mis-directed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

I nearly chocked on my cornflakes this morning reading Lynn boylans piece in the IT..."a prisoner of conscience"

Since when?
    He was involved in a protest denouncing the current government which isn't a smart thing to be doing in a military state.
    The irony of this is too rich for words.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

So they are sending the government jet for this extremist ?
    boggling ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

So they are sending the government jet for this extremist ?
    boggling ..

almost seems like a hijacking doesn't it ? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

I see the shady fcuker need a new passport before he can come back to Ireland
    I wonder why ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Smart and Lynn Boylan? Contradiction in terms. She supports via Halawa an organisation that would not let her leave the house without her husband's permission. Then again there might be some merit in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I wonder why ???

Misplaced it perhaps, considering he was in prison for 4 years it is understandable, maybe it's out of date? Maybe he never had one. You shouldn't abuse him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I wonder why ???

The Passport issue is a very Red Herring,as it was never of any importance and still is'nt.
    The Mark Humphries blog even states this.

http://markhumphrys.com/halawa.html#censored
    There have been claims that there was a video of Ibrahim Halawa destroying his Irish passport.
    I never saw such a video.
    I never saw any evidence that such a video once existed.
    (Such as a broken link to it, dangling in old comments somewhere.)

In the absence of evidence, I never believed this story. I stick to facts. All claims that I promoted this story are lies. It is a distraction from the main issue, which is that Halawa supported the Muslim Brotherhood. Pushing this story just allows pro-Halawa people dismiss the entire anti-Halawa case.

Humphries is both accurate and fair in relation to this allegation.

He does refer to the photo displayed on the Hawala's own Social Media outlets,which is a temporary one issued in Nov 2013 on the assumption that his original passport was misplaced by the Egyptian authorities.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/michaelsegalov/egyptian-presidents-uk-visit-condemned?utm_term=.jnWYXexW2G#.xdm6qRQgW0

https://img.buzzfeed.com/buzzfeed-static/static/2015-11/4/11/enhanced/webdr01/original-25013-1446652853-4.jpg?downsize=715:*&output-format=auto&output-quality=auto

The Buzzfeed article is equally noteworthy for the first-hand accounts given by the Sisters,which contain some claims which appear to have been forgotten as the years passed...

Setting the scene is the,by now,usual "Family Holiday" account...
    In May 2013, the four siblings, whose parents are Egyptian-born, had made their annual family trip to Cairo to spend time with relatives. But a few weeks later, Sisi launched his coup and Morsi was ousted from power.

So...May,June,July,August 14th...quite an extended vacation period indeed.
    There was an outdoor hospital in the square, where the doctors at the protest were volunteering to help," Omaima recalled, looking down as she spoke, visibly hurting.

"One officer said to everyone that if we don't leave the hospital immediately, they'd burn us all to death. I said to one of the officers, 'We can't leave, there are people here injured. Let us help them out.'

She said the officer went back inside and shot each wounded civilian in front of her eyes, telling her, "There are no more people injured, you can leave now."

I am assuming,that the numerous Legal representatives who have attached their organizations to the Hawala campaign will be eager to follow up on what is an Eye Witness to Murder statement ?
    "There were a thousand people inside, petrified, it was chaos," said Omaima. "Live bullets were fired, whilst the four of us were stood together, and Ibrahim, my younger brother, threw us to the wall. He stood holding us in his arms, with his back to the police opening fire. He was protecting us, taking a shot to the hand, aged just 17."

After the siege ended, around 500 people were taken from the mosque by security forces. The sisters said they were both sexually assaulted by the officers en route to the vans that were waiting to take them to the Tora Military Camp, where they were refused medical attention and water.

While 30 other women were released that night, the Halawa sisters were kept in incarceration.

There are a number of accounts of the Hand Injury suffered by Ibrahim Hawala,however this appears to very specifically saying that he "took a shot to the hand",which I presume will have left a scar or other disfigurement.

It is also,the first time we are tod of the Sexual Assault allegations,again of no small importance to a Lawyer contemplating a case against the Egyptian State.

Again,it must be stressed that the Buzzfeed article is from 2015,but the relative lack of follow-up on the serious allegations is somewhat puzzling of itself ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Divelment wrote: »
    We had huge protests in Ireland over water charges, we had anti austerity protests, I was at the water protests and there was a definite feeling at the time that it could all kick off at any moment and that street riots would ensue. I remember being up at the front of the protest and Merrion Street was completely closed off and there was the Public Order Unit facing off against probably 100,000 water protestors, there were 3 lines of Gardai squaring up to the public in between the Westmoreland end of Merrion Street and Leinster House, just in case it all kicked off.

My point being that political protests are, or at least should be, part and parcel of living in a modern democracy. Talking or addressing a crowd at these protests is not a criminal offence IN IRELAND, and should never result in a person being kept in 3rd world prison conditions for a period of 4 years awaiting trial.

Fixed your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I just can't get over how vocal his detractors are... Where are they usually and why do they think he's the biggest threat in Irelands history?

You're making the mistake of comparing the justice system of Ireland to that of Egypt. They're only too happy to throw people in jail on suspect "evidence" in mass trials (lumping a few hundred people into one trial) in front of glorified kangoroo courts.
    The fact that Ibrahim Halawa was prosecuted or even acquitted doesn't mean much in the face of such a farcical system.

http://www.jurist.org/forum/2015/01/mohamed-arafa-egypt-judiciaryphp.php
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/menna-elnaka/a-corrupted-justice-court_b_9601608.html
    https://www.fairtrials.org/egyptian-ruling-shows-contempt-for-fair-trials/

Also, let's not forget, the Brotherhood was legally elected and overthrown by the military. So Ibrahim protestet against a military coup that overthrew a democratically elected government.
    So many legal eagles would be the first to bleat "the system is the system, we may not like it, but them's the rules", so we cannot protest too much about what Mr Halawa did.
    I see absolutely zero grounds for a lawful prosecution, as the state isn't lawful to begin with ad the one he protestet about was. We may bleat "Yeah, But! But! MUSLIMS!!! Passport!! Iman!!", but in the end we may not like it, but that is entirely irrelevant.

The Egyptian constitution allows for the military for intervene if it is for the good of the country. That is their system. The MB were moving to completely change the constitution from a secular one to an Islamic one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Army_of_One

and why do they think he's the biggest threat in Irelands history?
    They read Mark Humphreys blog as gospel.

They've told lie, after lie, after lie. From day 1 the sisters have spread lies and misinformation in the Irish media. Why do that if you have nothing to hide??

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The Passport issue is a very Red Herring,as it was never of any importance and still is'nt.

Of course it is important because it runs to whether he was entitled to consular assistance or not......but I get why his supporters want the detail of his travel arrangements glossed over, because legally speaking he travelled as an Egyptian, and got into trouble as an Egyptian, not as an ordinary south Dublin teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

This video featuring links from RTE's Prime Time confirms the links to the Muslim Brotherhood for me.

https://youtu.be/Z2WOTko7UeA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Of course it is important because it runs to whether he was entitled to consular assistance or not......but I get why his supporters want the detail of his travel arrangements glossed over, because legally speaking he travelled as an Egyptian, and got into trouble as an Egyptian, not as an ordinary south Dublin teenager.

Screw entitled, if a citizen is being held on trumped up charges and being denied a trial, you do everything you can to help them not hide behind legalities . Fair play to all involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,963 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

If any of the Blog was deemed fake by the Clonskeagh Mosque I’m sure Doctor Ali Selim would have had the Solicitors on the case after all this is the same individual he threatened to sue any media organisation using our Blasphamy laws if they published the Charlie Hebdo cartoons!