The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Has anybody ever gotten food in the Linen Weaver? (Withserspoons)

Just looking at some of their deals eg. Thursday Curry or Tuesday Steak. Seems good value. Anybody try it?

It is what it is. Grand for a cheap night and a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Edible but basic..cheap drink more than makes up for it.😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Just looking at some of their deals eg. Thursday Curry or Tuesday Steak. Seems good value. Anybody try it?
    I actually quite like it! It is a bit hit and miss though. I personally wouldn't try the steak, but I've had the tikka masala a couple of times and I think it's tasty. The fish and chips was pretty good too. It's cheap and cheerful, but I think it would be a good spot for a cheap night out with beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Harika

pwurple wrote: »
    Ffs, a sommelier should be able to describe a wine. What was it I wonder?

I'd probably hope I had the balls to tell a sommelier that, and ask to have it replaced, but I know, sometimes you're not in the mood to make a fuss.

There was at least a good one in Aghadoe-Killarney, he knew what he was recommending although some guys let him open at least five bottles of wine, without deciding on a wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Harika wrote: »

I really enjoyed it when I was in a week ago. Seems to have sorted out all the niggly problems from the opening few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

New coffee and brunch/lunch place opening/open on North Main Street, right next to the cinema, looks like a nice menu

http://www.priorycoffee.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

leahyl wrote: »
    New coffee and brunch/lunch place opening/open on North Main Street, right next to the cinema, looks like a nice menu

http://www.priorycoffee.com/

Opens Thursday at 8am as per Twitter.

Great to see something new in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

yep great to see another coffee house

I would cynically agree with you, but for the North Main Street it is good news. As since Dunnes is gone, it is a ghost town. Leaving the old Dunnes car park, feels like entering Chernobyl. Hopefully this is a sign of revitalising of the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Had a look at the menus there. Quite expensive. 8 Euro for a toastie and 12 for a breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I'm actually not sure if that priory place will be offering all the menus in the North Main Street branch - apparently they have another cafe in Youghal, so maybe the brunch menu on their website is just for there, because that place on North Main Street is pretty small to be serving brunch. Might be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

I've eaten several times at the Linen Weaver and I think it's great.

They have a massive choice of food and drinks and everything I've had has been good.
    My OH can be very fussy but even she has been happy with nearly everything she got.
    The only thing she wasn't happy with was the garden peas she got with the Fish & Chips.

It's not "fine dining" but it's great value and service is pretty good.

Ordering via the app is very handy too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

leahyl wrote: »
    I'm actually not sure if that priory place will be offering all the menus in the North Main Street branch - apparently they have another cafe in Youghal, so maybe the brunch menu on their website is just for there, because that place on North Main Street is pretty small to be serving brunch. Might be wrong though.

Yeah, looking at the menus and naming it looks like it's the Youghal place that does fish and chips and the brunch menu.

The north main street one looks to be only the "coffe co" menu, so sandwiches and salad boxes. Still though, a nice addition to the area.

Went to Flame on Washington street yesterday, not something I'm likely to do again.

Things they didn't have:
    - A full menu for everyone
    - Chop sticks for everyone
    - Clean tables
    - Cutlery and napkins in the container for it on the table (had to ask for them, twice)
    - Most of the drinks on the menu (they had coke and water)
    - Cones for the free ice cream (but we could get some in a take out container...)

What they did have was thoroughly mediocre beef teriyaki and crispy chili beef.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Any recommendations for a nice steak in Douglas tomorrow, early evening? Preferably nowhere too noisy. Asking a lot I know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

northgirl wrote: »
    Any recommendations for a nice steak in Douglas tomorrow, early evening? Preferably nowhere too noisy. Asking a lot I know..

Barrys...early eve is quiet there, been there meself a few times and steak is dead on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

I see that Miyazaki will open a restaurant sometime next year. The take-away is great but seems like this new venture will be "upmarket" I wonder will it work in Cork, I suppose it depends where he locates it? I will try it, but if its expensive....the take-away will do fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

nlrkjos wrote: »
    I see that Miyazaki will open a restaurant sometime next year. The take-away is great but seems like this new venture will be "upmarket" I wonder will it work in Cork, I suppose it depends where he locates it? I will try it, but if its expensive....the take-away will do fine.

Location yet to be chosen.

I would imagine it will be expensive if "upmarket". And thank feck. There are enough noodle bars and burrito joints in Cork for a lifetime. We are really lacking upmarket places for some balance.

We were in spitjack again during the week, upstairs this time. I hadn't realised the upstairs area was so stunning with the huge windows looking down to the bar. Really beautiful space there.

Very impressed with their drinks again this time. Had their version of a moscow mule, in the copper cup as it should be too. Great ginger kick to it, their bartender is awesome.

i had the beef again, can't get enough of it. Tender, juicy, delicious, perfect, just yum. My companions kinda baulked at how rare it is, and the waitress told me they get loads and loads of them returned, so checked was I sure I wanted it. if you don't like rare beef get the lamb shank, that is very well done. But if you DO like rare, it is a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

Tried the new Eco location in glanmire today for some early dinner.

Menu is identical to the douglas restaurant.

Honest Opinion is if you like Eco in douglas the food is to the same good standard here. Portions are big, Food is good, price is reasonable enough. Snickers Cake was particularily good today :D

For me its alot better than the douglas location as there is plenty of space, you are not stacked on top of each other like the douglas location. They are also operating a bar there and had the match showing etc. But the Bar area is seperate from one side of the restaurant so there was no noise spilling over into the dining area. Good setup with plenty of parking available.

Honestly think it will do really well there.
    Heard that Eco may be opening in Ballincollig, in the space vacated when the Gatelys closed Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

nlrkjos wrote: »

you cannot do Japanese restaurant properly if it is not high end. These places require some pretty serious Japanese chefs and produce they use is not cheap. I for one am looking forward to a proper Miyazaki restaurant and have no doubt it will do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

BailMeOut wrote: »
    you cannot do Japanese restaurant properly if it is not high end. These places require some pretty serious Japanese chefs and produce they use is not cheap. I for one am looking forward to a proper Miyazaki restaurant and have no doubt it will do well.

Just had an amazing squid tempura in Miyazaki.
    One of the better value dishes I've had there. It came with a gorgeous dashi dipping sauce with fermented radish and ginger. Best thing I've had there. €10.50 for a very generous portion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

Just had an amazing squid tempura in Miyazaki.
    One of the better value dishes I've had there. It came with a gorgeous dashi dipping sauce with fermented radish and ginger. Best thing I've had there. €10.50 for a very generous portion.

i very much look forward to miyazaki opening a restaurant - as it stands, some dishes can't be take out and with little space to sit it makes the experience difficult.. i hope its sooner than later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭snotboogie

BailMeOut wrote: »

It's risky, every high end restaurant in Cork serves essentially exactly the same food, a decent sit down Japanese restaurant is a massive departure from what we currently have. I can't wait to try myself.

Went to Koto this weekend, I have no idea how it has the TripAdvisor ranking that it does, the food is the worst of the Asian Street food iterations that I've tried, we had noodles that made Ramen look adventurous, an ok meat and rice dish and a Tom Yum Goong that was genuinely the worst noodle soup dish I've ever seen. I think I have tried all of the Asian Street Food places and Kubo is by a mile the best in the city (just due to their noodle dishes) and Khao in Mallow is by an ever greater distance the best in the county. I'd like one of these places in the city try something a bit different rather than just copy the Ramen (Neon) menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

sporina wrote: »
    i very much look forward to miyazaki opening a restaurant - as it stands, some dishes can't be take out and with little space to sit it makes the experience difficult.. i hope its sooner than later

The tiny space is great though, makes it more authentic :pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,169 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Went to Spitjack last weekend for lunch, was impressed.
    I had the ITALIAN PORCHETTA and herself had the Chicken Sandwich and a glass of Marqués de Puerta Vella.

Service was great, food and wine were very well received.
    Portions were decent, hers maybe even a bit big, but mine was very filling.

Would definitely go back again and try the breakfast menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭JackieChang

Was looking at justeat and found a new spot on McCurtain st. called "The Hand of Fatima". Greek/Middle eastern food. Anybody know anything about this place? Food is right up my alley. Might sample it tonight.

Oh my, that's my street too! Do report back if you end up going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭JackieChang

nerwen wrote: »
    Oh my, that's my street too! Do report back if you end up going.

Drove down mccurtain street twice. Couldn't find it. Very odd.

Here's the just eat link: https://www.just-eat.ie/restaurants-TheHandofFatima-Cork/menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well 21 McCurtain St is 9/10 doors on from Crowleys music shop.