Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Dublin team is unchanged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Tellyium wrote: »
    Ye've a big step up in quality to face on Sunday, but the path taken to the final means the team will be perfectly primed for the game of their lives.
    If (and I expect this will happen) it's undecided with 10 minutes to go, it will come down to force of will. Unlike last year, ye need to not alone believe, but make it happen. Luck will, as always, play a part, but the leaders will need to say enough is enough, we're not losing this one and expend every last bit of themselves to seize it. Go n'eiri libh and may we see Sam on the mall Monday night!!!
    Mayo fans are delusional, you scraped by Cork, nearly bottled it against a sub par Roscommon and beat a very weak Kerry team. You will be doing well to still be in the game at half time, all these close predictions are farcical. Dublin will walk this. Mayo are a weaker team than last year and Dublin stronger, as well as being probably the most fine tuned fitness machine to have ever graced GAA. . There is no team getting near Dublin for at least 3 years. Wake up, just enjoy the day out. Bet down for Dublin to win by 10 or more points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Mayo fans are delusional, you scraped by Cork, nearly bottled it against a sub par Roscommon and beat a very weak Kerry team. You will be doing well to still be in the game at half time, all these close predictions are farcical. Dublin will walk this. Mayo are a weaker team than last year and Dublin stronger, as well as being probably the most fine tuned fitness machine to have ever graced GAA. . There is no team getting near Dublin for at least 3 years. Wake up, just enjoy the day out. Bet down for Dublin to win by 10 or more points!

I reckon if we can hang in there a little longer than Carlow we'll be in with a fighting chance.
    That weak Kerry team beat Dublin in Croke Park this year.

Back to space, or Germany, with ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Dublin will walk this. Mayo are a weaker team than last year and Dublin stronger, as well as being probably the most fine tuned fitness machine to have ever graced GAA. . There is no team getting near Dublin for at least 3 years. Wake up, just enjoy the day out. Bet down for Dublin to win by 10 or more points!

Ah the once a year posters in the GAA forum are gracing us with a visit :D
    Thanks for your valuable insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Long time lurker, first time poster :) The ticket situation seems to be particularly dire this year. No sign of one yet, am heading up anyway. Any suggestions of a good place to watch it if no ticket appears? Would rather avoid Drumcondra. Thinking Rathmines maybe, should be a good few Mayo heads around there.

Watching it in Drumcondra/Ballybough/Dorset Street is a must without a ticket.

I usually go to McGraths, The Cusack Stand, Meaghers or the Red Parrot when it's a match i have no ticket for.

If I didnt have a ticket I would just watch it at home to be honest. A clear view, not paying for overpriced plastic cup pints and a nice home made dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,285 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Watching it in Drumcondra/Ballybough/Dorset Street is a must without a ticket.

I usually go to McGraths, The Cusack Stand, Meaghers or the Red Parrot when it's a match i have no ticket for.

Ya I've never not had a ticket before so it'll be a new experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

franklyon wrote: »
    If I didnt have a ticket I would just watch it at home to be honest. A clear view, not paying for overpriced plastic cup pints and a nice home made dinner

Don't overestimate some of us. I'd much sooner trust Feerick's with a cheap cut of meat than I would myself with anything. :o

Still no luck for me anyway, will have to rely on the Up for the Match competition tonight as a last resort, even though it's probably a money-spinning fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Rumours last night was that Barry moran is starting in full forward and DOC and Durkan are on the bench to come in later when we need pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

naughto wrote: »
    Rumours last night was that Barry moran is starting in full forward and DOC and Durkan are on the bench to come in later when we need pace

Big bird has crossed my thinking BUT he has no game time
    If we were going down that route wouldn't work just be stuck in there
    Unless kick outs are all going king and big bird drops out to middle as well

PARlance wrote: »
    I reckon if we can hang in there a little longer than Carlow we'll be in with a fighting chance.
    That weak Kerry team beat Dublin in Croke Park this year.

Back to space, or Germany, with ya.

Lol i'll post one more time tomorrow! as i said, enjoy the day out and the somewhat lonely long journey home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

naughto wrote: »

Barry Moran hasn't played a competitive match for Mayo in over a year. I think it would be a bit crazy to start him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Anyone for the twin towers up front?

Not really unless the ball delivery is diagonal and of an exceptional level the mobile Dublin full back line will eat them alive for pace.

Pretty incredulous about this notion of Big Bird starting tomorrow,he's no game time in God knows how long.We'd have a serious lack of pace inside.

Thought any left of field move would involve Paddy starting with himself or Leeroy starting in the middle with Seamie not starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Ya. I reckon it would be crazy to bring barry in now.
    Just heading out the N5. Here we go again! It's a wonderful feeling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Barry Moran is no Kieran Donaghy . Look how much return he got out of that Dublin Defence. League or championship .
    Has to be Daft stuff .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Only if it's those two giants who were supposedly drafted into the squad last year.

Anyone else's stomach in bits? Forcing myself to eat.
    Safe journey to everyone heading up tonight and tomorrow.

Very very nervous if the truth be told,pretty awful evening in Dublin.Quite a drop of rain.

Heading to the gig in the Harcourt Hotel.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Very very nervous if the truth be told,pretty awful evening in Dublin.Quite a drop of rain.

Heading to the gig in the Harcourt Hotel.

Did you get sorted for a ticket? If not think they are giving away a few inthe hotel tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Yeah, I've felt better myself. Would murder a pint right now but won't be able to get one until I'm in Drumconrda tomorrow.

franklyon wrote: »
    Did you get sorted for a ticket? If not think they are giving away a few inthe hotel tonight.

Ah I'm grand myself but I'm frantically trying to get my uncle a ticket,he's a hard core supporter who travels to all the games but is based in Dublin.He's very down about having no ticket.He has supported the boys since his days as a gasur in the early 50s!

Great crowd here,should be a great night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Safe travels to all. Horrible night out there now, cold too. The forecast is supposed to be good for tomorrow, but I'd be packing the poncho and an extra geansai just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

Do you have the lotto numbers there too while you're at it :D:D::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Yeah, I've felt better myself. Would murder a pint right now but won't be able to get one until I'm in Drumconrda tomorrow.

Pre-shower pints are where it's at.

---

Well lads, I'm off out now and no boards til home.
    Best of luck tomorrow.

I think we're in for a treat no matter what way it falls. We'll be talking about this game for years to come.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I'll join Bonnie in wishing everyone here good luck tomorrow, hoping for a great game at the least. Mad jealous of anyone who's going, but I'll have to settle for raising a pint in the Auld Shillelagh in London for you.

Safe travels there and back again.

DB doing us "proud " on up for the match :D

Pre-shower pints are where it's at.

---

Well lads, I'm off out now and no boards til home.
    Best of luck tomorrow.

I think we're in for a treat no matter what way it falls. We'll be talking about this game for years to come.
    Agreed - reality of the state of the game in the country and how Dublin weren't even challenged for the last 3 years! Should there be Dublin North & south teams to give the other counties a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

km79 wrote: »

I wonder how many pints he's had so far today?

Im sure john casey is delighted to hear brady telling the country about their
    spooning in tne seminary in maynooth.