Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Do ye think there will be many Mayo supporters on the hill? I have a hill and I'm wondering if I should try a swap. I'm delighted to have it, don't get me wrong

I have a hill ticket and have no intention of swapping. At least ill be with friends and family instead of being scattered all over.
    North Mayo tickets have been for the hill the last few years
    I dont know why.

I was in the hill in 2013 and it was good. Its not rough just wedged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

any squad or 26 named, presume its the same

Just the first 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

I have a hill ticket and have no intention of swapping. At least ill be with friends and family instead of being scattered all over.
    North Mayo tickets have been for the hill the last few years
    I dont know why.

I was in the hill in 2013 and it was good. Its not rough just wedged.

Dublin won in 2013
    They are all full of the joys of summer when they wln/are winning ........

Two and a half hour All Ireland preview on The OTB roadshow on Eir Sports One now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,374 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

If Mayo win I plan on heading home to Castlebar after the game, well after all the fun in over in Croke Park

I have not driven to Castlebar from Dublin in probably 15 years.

How long will it take, are there many bottlenecks ?

Is Athlone Ballyhanus Claremorris better than Mullingar Longford Charlestown ?

Is M6 to Galway and up to Castlebar better still ?

If Mayo win I plan on heading home to Castlebar after the game, well after all the fun in over in Croke Park

If we win you have to go through Ballaghaderreen to help support those caught on the wrong side of the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Mayo for Sam. Dublin for the Zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Not trying to sound smart but worry about that when Mayo win. You will get there no problems I can guarantee you if they win 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Vaughan will be eaten alive at full back. Surely he won't be playing there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Last years replay finshed just before 7 and I was having a pint in Castlebar just after 9:30. The longest quick drive ever. But I was in a taxi straight away on Dorset St and had my car parked at the Spawell. I don't think the radio went on the whole journey.

I prefer Athlone, Roscommon, Tulsk, Ballaghdeeren, Castlebar myself. Far less chance of a bottleneck than the Longford way anyway and a better final road than Bhaunis way.

No need to worry about the drive home if we win. The pubs probably won't close.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Two and a half hour All Ireland preview on The OTB roadshow on Eir Sports One now.

A good bit of craic. I can see how Brady might annoy people but I love the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

PARlance wrote: »
    A good bit of craic. I can see how Brady might annoy people but I love the man.

He's a funny fecker and was in quare rowdy form.

Ah it was great fare!Charlie Redmond is a great laugh.

He's a funny fecker and was in quare rowdy form.

Pure divilment in him. There always was too.

Always remember him twisting Whelans ear in 06, literally. He was a lunatic but as soon as Ger started to get a bit worked up, he would be over to calm him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Pure divilment in him. There always was too.

Always remember him twisting Whelans ear in 06, literally. He was a lunatic but as soon as Ger started to get a bit worked up, he would be over to calm him down.

I don't know if you saw it on the TV broadcast but when the second panel were walking out Tomás was ahead of Brady and stopped at the couch, then DB shoulder charges him.

Was gas. Sort of **** he'd only get away with.

Could well be your best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Ye've a big step up in quality to face on Sunday, but the path taken to the final means the team will be perfectly primed for the game of their lives.
    If (and I expect this will happen) it's undecided with 10 minutes to go, it will come down to force of will. Unlike last year, ye need to not alone believe, but make it happen. Luck will, as always, play a part, but the leaders will need to say enough is enough, we're not losing this one and expend every last bit of themselves to seize it. Go n'eiri libh and may we see Sam on the mall Monday night!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭covey09

seligehgit wrote: »
    Could well be your best option.

id go the N5 and beep going through every town on the way home.......Dare to dream....Hon Mayo

irishgeo wrote: »
    Vaughan will be eaten alive at full back. Surely he won't be playing there.

By who?

Tellyium wrote: »
    Ye've a big step up in quality to face on Sunday, but the path taken to the final means the team will be perfectly primed for the game of their lives.
    If (and I expect this will happen) it's undecided with 10 minutes to go, it will come down to force of will. Unlike last year, ye need to not alone believe, but make it happen. Luck will, as always, play a part, but the leaders will need to say enough is enough, we're not losing this one and expend every last bit of themselves to seize it. Go n'eiri libh and may we see Sam on the mall Monday night!!!

Dublin have a bigger step up in quality to make
    And 2 of there players have never faced it

covey09 wrote: »
    id go the N5 and beep going through every town on the way home.......Dare to dream....Hon Mayo

Yea, arriving at the border on the main road in a convoy of others would be more fun than sneaking in the back door between Headford and Glencorrib.

And anyway as another poster said the pubs won't be shut until late.

covey09 wrote: »

Stupid me!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,285 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Long time lurker, first time poster :) The ticket situation seems to be particularly dire this year. No sign of one yet, am heading up anyway. Any suggestions of a good place to watch it if no ticket appears? Would rather avoid Drumcondra. Thinking Rathmines maybe, should be a good few Mayo heads around there.

Although there might be a lot of Mayo people in Rathmines I very much doubt it would be a fruitful exercise seeking a ticket there.

Far better off heading in very early to town up towards Croker,the usual locations Barry's hotel,Gills,The Big Tree,Quinn's.You could check with the gardai on duty at the barriers,tickets on occasion may be handed in if they can't be offloaded to a genuine supporter.

You could chance it out at the sevens in Crokes.Found it a waste of time myself in the past.

Go into the usual prematch spots and ask everyone
    You will get lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Take it easy on the road. Garda will be about today and tomorrow.

This gave me goosebumps :D just lovely

https://twitter.com/DeclanWhooley/status/907527833093902337

Brady wants all 3 of our FF line to get yellows for kicking the ball away as Cluxton is about to kick it out... :)

I've been thinking about this a bit
    We should do what cork did to us
    Have someone throw an extra ball on
    Will get away with it for the first few minutes

And then if we are winning coming due the stretch do EVERYTHING we need to
    Kick balls of the tee
    Kick balls into the stand to prevent quick frees

Obviously not if there is only a point in it and free is brought into kicking range
    But in there half slow it all down
    Rick
    Pull
    Foul

Too nice for too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

km79 wrote: »
    I've been thinking about this a bit
    We should do what cork did to us
    Have someone throw an extra ball on
    Will get away with it for the first few minutes

And then if we are winning coming due the stretch do EVERYTHING we need to
    Kick balls of the tee
    Kick balls into the stand to prevent quick frees

Obviously not if there is only a point in it and free is brought into kicking range
    But in there half slow it all down
    Rick
    Pull
    Foul

Too nice for too long
    eduardo-berizzo.jpg

Plus Rochford could follow this guy's example. Do managers get sent off in GAA?

eduardo-berizzo.jpg

Plus Rochford could follow this guy's example. Do managers get sent off in GAA?

Kerry selector Mike Hassett got sent from the sideline in the SF replay.